Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value Powdered Sugar

Great Value Great Value Powdered Sugar

Try using economical Great Value Powdered Sugar for all your baking needs. From glazes to icing to a fine dusting of sugary sweetness, this confectioners powdered sugar helps you make delicious tasting, attractive desserts. You can use this Great Value sugar in any recipe that calls for powdered sugar. This gluten-free powdered sugar makes delicious butter cream and fondant.
Average Customer Rating:
1.8 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation20%2 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value Powdered Sugar

Good as ever

12/11/2012
By ,
Leicester, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this product for a couple of years now and I find its quality as consistent as ever, contrary to others' reviews here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Great Value Powdered Sugar

It makes delicious, creamy frosting

08/07/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always have a small cake (with frosting) in the refrigerator as my default dessert, so I use a lot of powdered sugar. I bought my most recent package of Great Value powdered sugar in Fremont, Ohio Walmart in July, 2014 and it makes very good, smooth frosting, with not a bit of the graininess to it that other commenters have complained about. Just before I opened it I had gone through a package of C&H powdered sugar that my daughter had bought for me while in the store, not knowing that I preferred Great Value because of the cost. The C&H was very good, too, but it's more expensive so that's why I don't buy it. I have never experienced graininess in the Great Value brand. It makes delicious, creamy frosting, consistently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value Powdered Sugar

What Happened to your Powered Sugar?

06/15/2012
By ,
Atlanta , Ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I make cakes for a living, and have been using this powered sugar for years. The last few months that I have bought it , it has been terrible. Real grainy, my icing has not been working for my cakes. I know of several other bakers that has been having the same problems. Have there been any change in this product??????????????
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Great Value Powdered Sugar

Terrible powdered sugar for buttercream icing

09/30/2012
By ,
Moberly, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this powdered sugar for several different things and they have always turned out ok. When I tried to use it to make buttercream icing it made my icing grainy in texture. When I did research I found the way to fix this was don't use Great Value powdered sugar. Sure enough when I made it with another brand my icing was fluffy and oh so smooth! I will not be buying this sugar in the future for any of my sweet making needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Great Value Powdered Sugar

Not the same!

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From reading other reviews, I've finally figured out why my frosting has been coming out terrible! Great Value powdered sugar has changed and not for the better. Won't be buying this again.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value Powdered Sugar

Makes icing grainy and way to thin!

08/29/2013
By ,
Canajoharie, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this product and been very satisfied with it in past however recently I have had problems with the texture being very grainy and separating in my icing. I bake for friends and relatives and made cakes for my grandsons birthday that I was not happy with. People did not like it and left most of it on the dishes. I have a feeling there is more corn starch than confectioners sugar in this product now and will not be able to continue to use the product as it is. The quality of this product has changed and I , for one, am very dissatisfied with it. I hope you will consider looking into the manufacturing of this product as it has been a much better product in the past and something has certainly changed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Great Value Powdered Sugar

Very disappointed

07/07/2012
By ,
Meridian, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been making cakes for family and friends for a couple of years now and I have always used this brand of powdered sugar. The last batches of frosting I made with this were TERRIBLE. Extremely grainy. Unfortunately I didn't have time to go buy a better brand so I had to use it on my cake, I was SO embarrassed. I am extremely disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value Powdered Sugar

Powdered Sugar Contains Cornstarch

11/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Great Value Powdered Sugar ruined my frosting. There is now cornstarch in the powdered sugar; it no longer makes good frosting. I'll never buy this product again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value Powdered Sugar

Why?

12/21/2013
By ,
Kingfisher, Ok
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this in my icing to decorate cookies but I no longer am able as it makes the icing gritty and grainy. I wish companies would leave well enough alone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Great Value Powdered Sugar

My powdered Sugar is grainy also.

10/04/2012
By ,
Marion
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Okay,,,,,,,,What in the world happened to the powdered Sugar? Mine is also grainy and I have used this powdered sugar to make my wedding cakes. No More, will I use this powdered sugar. I know one of your competetors changed their supplier and it looks as if you may have went to the same supplier as they did!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.