Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Great Value Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

This Great Value Pure Sugar is naturally gluten-free and kosher. It comes from premium pure cane and is extra fine granulated. The 10 lbs of sugar is free flowing and made of the highest quality for all of your cooking needs and is ideal for table use, baking, preserving, canning and for sweetening beverages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.093 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation81%88 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Don't order online

01/10/2014
By ,
Spencer IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered 2 ten pound bags of sugar think I received about 17 lbs total one bag was taped up looking half the size of the other I wouldn't recommend buying this online of course it was smothered in flour guess they was making cookies in the packaging department
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Taste
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Messy delivery

01/06/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The sugar is fine. The issue I have is that the bags come open inside the packing box when being delivered. I have ordered these bags of sugar twice now. I received the second order today. Both orders arrived on a timely manner, however when I opened the packing boxes, which were totally undamaged and in perfect condition, the bags of sugar themselves had come open and spilled into the box. The customer service dept. replaced them without issue. When the first order replacement arrived the bags were packed tightly enough in the box that they had no room to joust around, even still the glue that held the bags closed did not stay totally adhered and the bags were partially open (though they didn't spill). When I went to bring today's package in the house sugar was everywhere on the driveway...I had to empty the boxes outside because the sugar was leaking out of the packing box. I called customer service again and once again they are replacing the bags without a problem. The issue appears to be that the glue used to close the bag is cheap, and extremely weak, so bags come open easily. I hope when I receive the replacement this time it is not the same problem or I will not longer order them. I have posted two pictures for whom ever monitors these comments to see. I have another I would like to post that shows how much was in the bottom... I transferred the sugar from the packing box into another plastic bag and weighed it....a little over 4lbs and that doesn't include what was all over my driveway or what might have already leaked out in transport.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Taste
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

"usually" quite good.

03/14/2014
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I order this, along with other dry goods groceries with free shipping about once every 6-8 weeks for the past couple years. The sugar bag (and flour) was always placed inside a plastic zip-lock bag in case it leaked, & to keep dampness out. The few times the paper sugar bag ever leaked, there was only a few grains in the plastic bag. This last time I ordered it, was the first time they did not pack it in a zip-lock bag, & about a pint of sugar leaked all over everything inside the box. Ironically, They did ship plastic unbreakable jugs of juice in large zip-lock bags in the same shipment. Those jugs wouldn't leak if you dropped them down a flight of stairs. If they must cut back on the zip-lock bags, use them for stuff that comes in paper bags that can tear or burst easily, & stuff that cannot get damp, like sugar or flour. Unbreakable plastic jugs do not need to be wrapped in plastic, they already are.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Good value

05/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice to have it delivered to my door, but need to remind packers to put bags of sugar into a plastic bag and seal it. Although sugar bag was sealed, it still leaked enough to get sugar on other items in box. I am sure the tossing and turning during shipping was probably the cause. Thankyou.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Roanoke, VA
Opened sugar/ Sad to say FexEX manages to ....
Posted 07/19/2014
Make POSITIVELY sure that every box THAT they handle is upside down during shipping/ Did this with a $300.00 lawn MOWER also TWO times/ The other items damaged were replaced immediately by WM. as FEDEx had repacked the remaining items/ some covered with sugar, but I would think it would be more feasible for Walmart to hire an IN Store shop/pack team unit IN the stores in larger areas as here in Roanoke, VA to ship then deliver with local CARRIERS/ who are jobbed out by FedEx anyway/
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Ready To Bake!

09/12/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and so convenient to order from Walmart along with other baking needs. No special trips necessary! We go through a lot of sugar because we make our own bread/cakes/muffins/pies, etc., and this is good-quality stuff at an excellent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

2 of 5 of the 10 lb bags were broken, not useable!

06/20/2012
By ,
Kaunakakai, HI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2 of the 10 pound boxes were torn open because the boxes were too large without packing material! This is not the first time this has happened, I was shipped 4 boxes of dishes in two boxes that had no packing in too large a box. Yes several dishes were chipped and I paid $98 for shipping! I live on a small Island of Molokai, I depend on online buying and yet every time I receive a shipment from Walmart the boxes are crushed because they put items in too large a box and then don't put any packing paper in. I loose money when I order 5 bags of 10 pounds of sugar and I only receive 3 bags of 10 pounds of sugar that are intact and useable.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ranson, WV
Great product
Posted 04/24/2013
Love this sugar great big bag for lower price it last a good while can never go wrong with lower price.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb
03/05/2013
By ,
Freehold, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Generally I am always satisfied with purchases on line, however it is not a good idea to purchase sugar on line. When I received my 10 lbs of sugar, the box was all in tact but the sugar had been places in a large zip lock bag and the original paper container was completely broken open and the sugar lay loose in the zip lock bag. Needless to say I was very disappointed and would not use the sugar. The problem was not the fault of the deliverer, the box was received in perfect condition. It was the fault of the packageing department. My suggestion is that you not sell sugar on line unless you can find a better way to package it for shipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

No Difference from Dixie Crystals

09/03/2013
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For making Southern iced tea, sugar by the truckload is needed for 1 gallon batches. So the price point of a 10lb bag for this makes each glass cost next to nothing.
And to echo other reviews about shipping: two of these bags = 20lbs of sugar alone, they really need to be in their own box for shipment. Even better, tell us how many are in a case so we can order the case itself to be shipped -- cases are already boxed and some shrink wrapped, making it 10x easier to ship and even getting into your home's door. These 50lb throw-everything-together boxes -- with crushed contents -- need to go. I'd pay a $5 boxing fee if I can get boxes in 20-30lb increments. I'm a middle aged woman, not a She-hulk. :/
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Disappointed

02/08/2014
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Usually, these are put in a ziploc bag. This time they were not, so sugar was all over inside the box and on everything else. Also, this time most of the sugar was rock hard and had to be almost reground to pour out of the sack it is in. When one pays this much for sugar, you do not expect it to be hard and have to be almost reground.... Normally I am quite happy with my orders from here, but not this time on this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

10# sugar

01/13/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Normally when I order sugar, I get it in the five pound bag, this time I thought I would get the 10 lb. bag. This one did not come inside a clear plastic bag like the five pound bags of sugar do, so a bit of the sugar escaped into the box, and then onto my floor. In little lumps of sugar all over my carpet! Other than that, this is a good deal. Don't know why this bag of sugar was not double bagged in a clear plastic ziplock bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

More care needs to be taken when shipping!

06/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery speed was excellent, but the bags were not inside Ziploc bags (usually they are) and they opened up and I lost at least a pound of product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Good price - Good product

11/18/2012
By ,
Baltimore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing beats the affordable price of a good product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Received next day

03/20/2014
By ,
Sacramento
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered and received item next day that's really great. price is really low and we save more for groceries at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

great value 10 lb sugar

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent and was packed so as not to leak out
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Careful if ordering online

02/11/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sugar arrived inside a plastic ziplock for a reason, glue on the edges of the original packaging is very loose and sugar half filled the ziplock. It took some creative maneuvering to get it in the canister without a mess on my floors.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Bag arrived opened.

12/19/2013
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The actual sugar bag arrived opened with a ziplock type bag over it. About half the sugar had spilled out into the ziplock. I was not comfortable using the sugar that had spilled out into the ziplock. I had no idea when the ziplock had been put on the original bag or if the ziplock was clean when it was put on the original bag. Probably a shipping issue
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

What a mess

01/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought 4 10lbs of sugar. When I received the box all but 1 of the 10lb bags had spilled all over everything. The bags had never been sealed. One of the sugars was even scotch taped shut. Very poor. Ended up about 30lbs was all over my NEW living room carpet. I had it in my paper towels that I bought and the box of crackers I bought. Everything I purchased was laying in 30lbs of sugar
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

nice

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use all the time a very good product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Sugar is sugar!

03/19/2013
By ,
Reading, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I defy anyone to taste, sweeten or use this sugar and notice any difference from any name brand other than the price. Great Value is the perfect product name, because that is exactly what it is, a great value!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

sugartime

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was happy with the product, however both bags were busted and fortunately they enclosed them both in plastic bags so all of the sugar was contained. That part did not make me happy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next