Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Great Value Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Average Customer Rating:
4.218 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%73 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Don't order online

01/10/2014
By ,
Spencer IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered 2 ten pound bags of sugar think I received about 17 lbs total one bag was taped up looking half the size of the other I wouldn't recommend buying this online of course it was smothered in flour guess they was making cookies in the packaging department
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Taste
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

"usually" quite good.

03/14/2014
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I order this, along with other dry goods groceries with free shipping about once every 6-8 weeks for the past couple years. The sugar bag (and flour) was always placed inside a plastic zip-lock bag in case it leaked, & to keep dampness out. The few times the paper sugar bag ever leaked, there was only a few grains in the plastic bag. This last time I ordered it, was the first time they did not pack it in a zip-lock bag, & about a pint of sugar leaked all over everything inside the box. Ironically, They did ship plastic unbreakable jugs of juice in large zip-lock bags in the same shipment. Those jugs wouldn't leak if you dropped them down a flight of stairs. If they must cut back on the zip-lock bags, use them for stuff that comes in paper bags that can tear or burst easily, & stuff that cannot get damp, like sugar or flour. Unbreakable plastic jugs do not need to be wrapped in plastic, they already are.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Good value

10/08/2014
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Walmart price is the best value anywhere around town. Every household uses more sugar around this time of year, and the 10 lbs comes in handy. I'm glad I was able to order this item along with other grocery items I needed to be delivered free of charge to the house since I was ordering over $50 worth of merchandise. Not only did I get a good price and free delivery, I saved gas and my personal energy. At my age, that's very important.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

I love getting my dry goods and staples online.

10/09/2014
By ,
Cedar City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not the first time that I have ordered and been very pleased with the outcome. thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

More care needs to be taken when shipping!

06/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery speed was excellent, but the bags were not inside Ziploc bags (usually they are) and they opened up and I lost at least a pound of product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

GREAT

10/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT VALUE FOR THE PRICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Loved by all my hummingbirds

09/02/2014
By ,
Crapo, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved by my 60+ hummingbirds
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

quality sugar

10/04/2014
By ,
chalmette, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tastes like good sugar
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Good value

05/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice to have it delivered to my door, but need to remind packers to put bags of sugar into a plastic bag and seal it. Although sugar bag was sealed, it still leaked enough to get sugar on other items in box. I am sure the tossing and turning during shipping was probably the cause. Thankyou.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Roanoke, VA
Opened sugar/ Sad to say FexEX manages to ....
Posted 07/19/2014
Make POSITIVELY sure that every box THAT they handle is upside down during shipping/ Did this with a $300.00 lawn MOWER also TWO times/ The other items damaged were replaced immediately by WM. as FEDEx had repacked the remaining items/ some covered with sugar, but I would think it would be more feasible for Walmart to hire an IN Store shop/pack team unit IN the stores in larger areas as here in Roanoke, VA to ship then deliver with local CARRIERS/ who are jobbed out by FedEx anyway/
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Sweet!

09/26/2014
By ,
Fort Worth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this sugar in my coffee or delicious choclate no-bake cookies. If you need to sweeten anything up, trust this Great Value sugar... just don't add to much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Ready To Bake!

09/12/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and so convenient to order from Walmart along with other baking needs. No special trips necessary! We go through a lot of sugar because we make our own bread/cakes/muffins/pies, etc., and this is good-quality stuff at an excellent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Received next day

03/20/2014
By ,
Sacramento
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered and received item next day that's really great. price is really low and we save more for groceries at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

good value, fix packaging plz.

08/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product and price is exc. Package was a problem. The sugar bag was completely opened, stuffed into a ziplock bag by someone who packaged my order and there was sugar everywhere when I got it. They didn't even bother to get me a new bag of sugar, just shoved it in the box. :( I was able to save about 4 lbs out of the 10lbs I ordered. Please package better. LOVE the price, tho. This is not meant to be a negative review of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

10# sugar

01/13/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Normally when I order sugar, I get it in the five pound bag, this time I thought I would get the 10 lb. bag. This one did not come inside a clear plastic bag like the five pound bags of sugar do, so a bit of the sugar escaped into the box, and then onto my floor. In little lumps of sugar all over my carpet! Other than that, this is a good deal. Don't know why this bag of sugar was not double bagged in a clear plastic ziplock bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

great value 10 lb sugar

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent and was packed so as not to leak out
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Bag arrived opened.

12/19/2013
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The actual sugar bag arrived opened with a ziplock type bag over it. About half the sugar had spilled out into the ziplock. I was not comfortable using the sugar that had spilled out into the ziplock. I had no idea when the ziplock had been put on the original bag or if the ziplock was clean when it was put on the original bag. Probably a shipping issue
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

No Difference from Dixie Crystals

09/03/2013
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For making Southern iced tea, sugar by the truckload is needed for 1 gallon batches. So the price point of a 10lb bag for this makes each glass cost next to nothing.
And to echo other reviews about shipping: two of these bags = 20lbs of sugar alone, they really need to be in their own box for shipment. Even better, tell us how many are in a case so we can order the case itself to be shipped -- cases are already boxed and some shrink wrapped, making it 10x easier to ship and even getting into your home's door. These 50lb throw-everything-together boxes -- with crushed contents -- need to go. I'd pay a $5 boxing fee if I can get boxes in 20-30lb increments. I'm a middle aged woman, not a She-hulk. :/
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

Not in ziploc bags but wasp spray was.

08/25/2014
By ,
East Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thankfully the 2 bags of sugar shipped by themselves, one bag was leaking from the top, I didn't lose much sugar but it was a bit messy. Why not bag the sugar like the wasp spray?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

SUGAR IS SUGAR

07/08/2014
By ,
Asheboro, N.C.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SUGAR IS SUGAR
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Taste
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Great Value Pure Sugar, 10 Lb

smelled like cat urine

08/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bag was partially opened but packed in a large zip bag. The bag of sugar smelled of cat urine or urine of some type. I discarded the bag. I could not feed this to my family. I waited to long to receive a refund. I stored it in a dark dry place until I had a need for the sugar. I did not notice the smell until I opened the zip bag. The smell was over powering.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next