Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Great Value Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Serve up a healthy, filling and satisfying breakfast with Great Value Oats. There is one simple ingredient in these old fashioned oats, and that is the oats themselves. These natural, oven-toasted rolled oats are delicious alone or when mixed with fruit or brown sugar, or with other toppings of your choice. Great Value Oats are simple and easy to prepare on the stovetop or in the microwave. Great Value Oats provide five grams of protein and four grams of dietary fiber per serving to keep you fueled all morning long. Great Value Oats are also completely free of cholesterol, sodium and trans fats. This 42 oz package of old fashioned oats will make many healthy, energizing breakfasts for you and your family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation89%42 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Great value, but poor packaging

10/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value indeed, a very fine item, generic and probably blindfolded no different than the name brands.
I think part of the savings that is passed onto us comes from cheaper packaging by whoever makes this for Walmart.
And so, like several others here said, my oatmeal came to me in a broken packaging with oatmeal all over the place!
I have never set foot in a Walmart store but am an avid online Walmart shopper… and love it!
I have had to drop this item and now opt for the great deal they offer on Bob's Oats.
I wish they would perhaps bag the container the oats come in with a piece of tape over the top, as they do with several other items that are apt to break or burst in transit.
A great item, and surely worth buying if you are at Walmart, but online this has become a risky purchase that I have had to eliminate.
Not a real big deal though with all the great options here on the Walmart site, but I love a good deal and this is up there with the best of 'em...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

As good as the name brands

11/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this mostly in a bread recipe that my family loves and I've noticed no difference between this oatmeal and the name brands that I've used in the same recipe so I pick Great Value for the savings.
The last time hat I ordered this product it was shipped in a box with shampoo and coffee. During the shipping the boxes burst open, spilling oatmeal everywhere. I called Walmart and within three days I had my replacement which arrived in perfect shape. I couldn't believe that someone would put something with a soft container into a box with items in hard containers like that but I must admit that I was stunned by how quickly Walmart made it right.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Exploded

07/15/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Walmart just tossed it in the box with all the other items ordered - the oatmeal carton burst and oats were everywhere. Not a good value when it is wasted so!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Great product for the price!

11/17/2013
By ,
In His Hands, Under His Grace
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've bought other generic brands before, but nothing has compared with the Great Value brand. Whole pieces, not bits and pieces, and no hard bits like I've gotten in other brands. I eat this almost daily with a banana/walnuts or dried cranberries/walnuts. I use it for my homemade granola and apple crisp, too. Love it! I keep extra canisters of this in stock so I won't run out. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Tastes like the real thing.

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these oats. Only took about 2 l/2 minutes in the microwave and it cooked up exactly like old fashioned oatmeal that you have to cook on the stove. I hate oatmeal that cooks up into mush. This has real body to it. A warning - 1/2 cup makes a huge bowl especially if you add a little fruit and nuts. I couldn't finish it all. The box didn't look all that large on the site so I ordered two. When they came I thought I'd probably be eating oatmeal for two years but these are so wonderful that they'll go quickly especially with winter coming on.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats

07/08/2012
By ,
Shelby NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you love oatmeal then you will love this oatmeal. It has a great taste to it like Qucker oats does, you could almost say that you are eating Quicker oats. and cost lots less. My 6 year old and I ate this box os oats in 3 days because it was so good, we were eating it for breakfast and before bed and sometimes replacing other meals with it. You truly get your money's worth and then some with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Very tasty.

06/29/2012
By ,
Tarpon Springs, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It tastes better then the big brand, and the price is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Product arrived damaged.

06/12/2013
By ,
Andeerson SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My box of oats arrived inside of another box, and the container was broken open, product (oats) was all spilled out of oatmeal box and non-usable, had to throw it away as it was unuable. I am assuming product was handled roughly, as there was no additional packing inside of shipping box, to reduce product movement. Plastic lid was not on oatmeal box, and plastic safety seal was busted open.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

OATMEAL

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TASTY & FILLING
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Great product

07/31/2014
By ,
Easton, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oatmeal is a very healthy breakfast and part of my diet for the past two years. Walmart's brand is excellent.I add Great Value plain yogurt and Great Value frozen berries for a nutritious and good tasting breakfast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

containers busted and improper shipping

01/10/2013
By ,
sumter county florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i ordered 10 boxes for addition to my pantry because i love old fashioned oatmeal. upon arrival 5 of the boxes were completely busted open and the contents were in the bottom of the box which also received some rough treatment. i immediately put what looked to be clean and sanitary oatmeal into ZIPLOCK bags. moral of the story... keep plenty of ZIPLOCK bags on hand if you order much from walmart.com. you will need them.
i ordered again and ALL were busted and the contents in the bottom of the box. i can't donate food to our local food pantry and soup kitchen if the food is in ZIPLOCK bags.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Never Again

01/21/2014
By ,
Rhode Island
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our order arrived damaged because items were boxed with no protection from 50lbs of flour so this item was damaged, open, and all over the box
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

I have a serving daily!

10/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste great with chopped apples or blueberries and cinnamon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz
06/25/2012
By ,
marienville, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cooks easy, taste great, just like regular brand
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Good product, careful when shipped!!!

09/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife loves the stuff. The only negative is when you order it online and they ship it, it comes in a flimsy cardboard cylinder, and when I opened my box it had EXPLODED EVERYWHERE!!! I sent Walmart a complaint and they shipped another one right away, very happy with Walmart's customer service online!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

I have bought over a hundred of these...

11/01/2013
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
and love them! I have these oats every day for breakfast. I will keep buying these oats as long as they make them. Perfect product, Sam Walton...you need more like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Good simple food with many uses

08/06/2014
By ,
Rural SE Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good simple basic food with no additives/sugar. Has many uses, for example as meatloaf filler. Good taste and texture, and adds extra fiber. Very economical. Google on <rolled oats recipe> for a bunch of uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Excellent Value

10/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought other store brands which had a lot of broken pieces and powder, but this has whole pieces just like the famous brand. Tastes fine, and I will buy it from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Eat Your Oatmeal!

04/11/2013
By ,
Belleville, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
People need oatmeal to stay healthy and this brand is excellent and at a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Great Value: Oven-Toasted Old Fashioned Oats, 42 Oz

Better than the name brand!

09/18/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seriously like these oats better than the Quaker brand!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next