Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua-Tech AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Aqua-Tech AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

The AquaTech Power Filter 5-15 helps to remove the toxic ammonia and nitrites from the aquarium water. This AquaTech Power Filter 5-15 provides filtration in three stages, which will keep your fish healthy and water clean. Â Aquarium Filter Cartridges help to clean out the dirt and dust when water passes through it. In the second stage, the activated carbon present in this Aquarium Power Filter helps to remove dissolved waste and cleans water, which is full of odor. In the last stage, the filter provides extra surface area, which helps bacteria to grow. This bacteria eliminates the harmful ammonia and nitrates from the water, which will protect your fish against these toxins. This filter is available in four sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.362 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
17
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation62%80 out of 130reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
65 Questions | 183 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
17
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

lasted 4 days

04/01/2012
By ,
portage
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this with the tank and all,it lasted 4 days ,now its the middle of the night ,cant get to store to replace it and my fish are gonna bellyup soon
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

I bet is good but not for my conditions

11/13/2010
By ,
Horseshoe Bay, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a tetra aquarium that came with this filter. This because my wife won 4 beautiful common goldfish in a festival. I really didn't know the adventure and sacrifices I was about to face. Well first I bought a five gallons aquarium but a week later I had to invest in this 10 gallons aquarium. Still, it doesn't keep up with my sudden conditions. This filter moves only 90 gallons per hours (gph) while I'm needing at least 100 gph to keep a safe water quality for my goldfishes. I've read a couple of reviews and I'm not saying this is a bad filter at all, its good, I know because it keeps the water in neutral conditions for my fishes but right in the limits of neutrality. If you're buying this filter or came with your aquarium and you have more than two goldfishes I recommend to buy the 10-20 gallons one. That one moves at least 110 gph, perfect for your goldfishes. In general, the 5 to 10 gallons proved to be a good filter to even maintain my fishes alive. :) That's good!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Decent filter, but not above 10 gallons

06/17/2014
By ,
Northern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This filter is decent, but it's way too small for above 10 gallons. Other than that, it seems to work well, and I like the bio-cartridge it comes with. Changing the filter cartridges is easy-peazy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

love it

03/28/2010
By ,
az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this with my res (red earred slider turtle)from some body on craiglist and it dosnt work good for them it is really noisy from the water fall but im using it for my fish and it works great but theres no flow control in the pic it is on the left
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Excellent Buy!

12/08/2013
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a GloFish aquarium kit that came with a Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter and my tank was really gross after a few weeks. After cleaning, it would go right back to being disgusting within a couple of days. I bought the Aquatech 5-15 for $11 and it has done wonders! It has a 3-stage filtering process and works 100% better for my 5 gallon tank. My fish and I are much happier now and I highly recommend AquaTech products over Tetra any day. Just remember to take care of the filter and clean it inside and out every 3-4 weeks to get the best results and life expectancy out of the product, I use a simple bottle brush and warm running water. Replacement filters are $7 for a 3-pack, which will last 2-3 months.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Good, but confusing to get going.

06/27/2012
By ,
Phoenix, Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NOTE: IF YOUR FILTER IS NOT WORKING WHEN YOU PLUG IT IN, THERE IS A 90% CHANCE YOU DIDN'T PUT THE TUBE THAT GOES INTO THE TANK IN ALL THE WAY. After playing around with this thing for 30minutes, I pushed the tube in harder and it made a different, bubbly noise and next thing I know the water is flowing like it's supposed too. Make sure you prime the filter first by filling it with water!! And your tube is pushed in all the way before you complain!! Note I also have the old version of the filter, so it looks a little different but works the same.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Simple to use, soothing waterfall sounds

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a small (19 quart) aquarium. I wanted to keep it really simple. This was super easy to assemble and install. It just hangs on the back or side of the tank. You can use about anything for a tank with this, if you want it for bait fish, or need to move the fish while you clean out the tank! My other tank cracked so I am using a large Rubbermaid clear tote. If you put water in the reservoir and turn it on, but it does not pump after 1 minute, turn it off, pull out the intake tube and motor, and re-install. For some reason mine was jammed till I did that. Now it works great and it doesn't make the dreaded air-pump noise I hated to hear. It came with 1 filter and the filters are color coded for replacement. You can use it without the filter, but it won't filter anything of course. Good for when you clean or swap filters. I'm going to put mine on a timer so I don't hear it at bed time. (I don't need to run mine 24/7). It really cleaned up the water fast! I would buy another. Great gift item!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Excellent filter for fry tanks!

10/02/2011
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Key word in the summary was fry tanks. I've been using this filter for fry (baby fish) tanks for months now, and I absolutely love it!
What many people fail to remember when buying a filter is that there are two, yes two, major factors. GPH rating, and water volume. This filter has 100GPH rating and that is almost perfect for a 20 gallon tank that will be holding fry (mine are Mbuna Cichlids). The fry have very little bio-load (aquarist's term for how much the fish poo) so the small water volume in this filter doesn't matter and it handles it quite well. Overall, I'd use this in a tank no larger than 20 gallons but no less than 10 gallons. It's small, fairly quiet, and is pretty darn inconspicuous.
My one gripe? The intake. The intake tube (at least in mine) seems not to fit quite right. You can't just put it in and plug it in. You have to plug it in and kind of move the intake tube around a little bit before the water flow really starts - and it's some good water flow for a filter that size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

A Nice Little Filter!

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This filter works great for the price. It has a nice waterfall effect, it is very quiet, and keeps my 10 gallon tank crystal clear and fish happy. But beware of leaks, some of them are defective. It's not a perfect filter by any means but it does the job, what do you want for 10 bucks? The first one I brought home had a leak so I took it back to walmart and exchanged it for another one which is working perfectly fine now, no leaks. I noticed in a lot of the reviews here of people saying they brought it home and plugged the filter in and it would run for a few seconds and then suddenly shut off, so they automatically assumed it was defective. That happened to me as well, and I panicked thinking something was broke. No it is not defective, all you have to do is make sure the propeller is snugly in place. Take the propeller out and then put it back in again with the little black piece firmly inside the pocket and it will run. Once I did that the filter was purring like a kitten ever since, it hasn't skipped a beat and i've had it for about 6 months now.
This filter is also made in the USA so I was more than happy to support an American made product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

GOOD QUALITY

12/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS FILTER WORKS WELL. IT ISN'T TOO NOISY EITHER WHICH I REALLY LIKE. THE ONLY REASON WHY I DIDN'T RATE IT 5 STARS IS BECAUSE I HAD SMALL FISH AND THEY GOT CAUGHT IN THE VENTS OF THE FILTER SO, I WILL CAUTION ANYONE THAT GETS THIS PRODUCT TO MAKE SURE THAT YOUR FISH ARE NOT SO SMALL AS TO WHERE THEY WILL GET CAUGHT IN THE FILTER. I WOULD SUGGEST MAYBE RUBBER BANDING A SMALL PIECE OF NETTING AROUND THE VENTS SO THAT YOUR FISH WILL NOT BE ABLE TO SLIDE THROUGH, WHICH IS WHAT I WILL BE DOING ONCE I GO OUT TO BUY MY NEW FISH
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Very Good Aquarium Filter!

07/02/2009
By ,
Betsy Layne, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this power filter to go with our kids 5 gallon fish tank and it has worked perfectly for almost 4 months now. Easy to clean and keeps the tank perfectly oxygenized. We change the filter once every two weeks, and have maintained a very clean tank. Tip: Buy the filters in a multi-pack and you will save more money. Very happy with this aquarium filter and recommend it to others!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

It's cheap for a reason!

02/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this filter today, and as soon as I put water in the back of it it started leaking! The water was coming out where the part with the electrical cord was put in and held with an "O" ring. Really?? Leaking out onto where the power cord is? That's just stupid. But I let it slide and went back and returned it and got the same filter...got it home and it too leaks in the same spot!! I was frustrated and gave up and decided not to waste another trip to Wal Mart so I used silicone sealant to help stop the water from leaking out the bottom. Well this problem was solved, but then as soon as I put the filter in water and turned it on (and YES I did everything correctly, I have had a fish tank for a long time and understand how the filter is set up), IT DIDN'T WORK! It made a noise like it was on but no water was circulating. I am really disappointed in this filter considering the other reviews weren't all that bad.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Posted 02/12/2012
You have to poor water into the filter itself before turning it on. That is why it is making noise.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

love it

08/19/2009
By ,
spokane wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using mine for well over year, and is still running strong. It keeps my 10 gallon tank very clean and every one always coments on how clean my tank is. They also always ask how often i have to clean it, and I always tell them hardly ever (like once a year). I do a water exchange once a month, but only a gallon.I also vaccume about every 3 months, also my tank is very over stocked (20+ fish). So for the price and quality I highly recomend this product oh dont forget to change the filters. hope you love it as much as I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

plain and simple

06/19/2009
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 1st filter I ever bought. I used it on a cooler to keep bait fish in ;) It's been in an aquarium now for 6 months and still works well. It will slow down after a month or two but just take it outside and spray the internals with a hose to restore the flow. I've tested the flow rate myself and seems to be very accurate. Great filter for a 10 gallon tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

True, old style much better!!

10/20/2014
By ,
Clarksville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought a 10 gallon tank that came with a 5-15 aquatech filter. Worked great for over a year. Gave out late at night which is no fun but got to walmart and grabbed a replacement. I didn't realize how cheap they were! Anyhow, got home and opened the box. Noticed this new one was a little different than our older one but didn't think much until we plugged it in and the water started filtering. Sure enough I noticed water leaking. Took it apart and inspected it and low and behold a crack!! Immediately I came to the reviews and saw a couple other people that had the same exact issue. However, I am returning this one and NOT getting the same brand. Not risking getting another cracked one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

It helps to follow the directions...

05/24/2009
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first got the product, I thought it didn't come with everything. I couldn't find the piece called the "impeller" (turns out it was already in place inside my unit, so I didn't have to install it) and I spent a lot of time trying to call the company and complain that I didn't have it all. Then I tried to start the thing up without water in it. So, maybe I should have read the directions which CLEARLY STATE that you should fill it with water BEFORE starting it up or risk damaging the unit... but it still works, and well! SO - Be sure to read all the directions CAREFULLY and follow them. OH, and the Tetra-care service that comes with the tanks is nice, too. I'm buying another one of these for another tank I have. I do hope they last - I've only been using it for about a week, but it is doing the trick nicely with a really messy frog in the tank. I'm going to try it on a turtle tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Verry GREAT

01/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had my filter for 6 years and it still works great. i buy the same brand filter cartridge and it works great. all my friends have commented on how nice my tank looks and how sanatized it looked
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Horrible Filter! Do Not Buy!!!!

05/04/2013
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a lot of experience with these filters, and that's my fault for being an idiot. I have purchased 5 of these filters over the past year. Very, very poor quality. As a matter of fact, I would rate this product as the worst product I've EVER purchased.
Filter #1: This one came as part of a package with a 5 gallon tank. It lasted about a week. We had an electrical storm, and it quit working after that. Nothing else in the house was effected.
Filter #2: This one lasted about one day before it quit working without explanation.
Filter #3: This one was by far the best. It lasted nearly one year. I unplugged it one day to clean the tank. When I plugged it back in, it ran for about 10 minutes and quit.
Filter #4: After this one primed, it ran for less than 2 minutes before it quit.
Filter #5: I didn't even have a chance to plug this one in. As soon as I filled it with water, it immediately began to leak profusely around the pump housing.
Do not purchase this product. Based on my experience, you have about an 80% chance of purchasing a bad one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Not Just A Cheap Price

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thought that I would save some money with the AquaTech Power Filter. Unfortunately, it didn't run long enough to pump a drop. Followed the directions to the letter, but when I plugged it in, the motor only ran for a few seconds then completely dead. Save your time and buy a better model.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Not the best filter out there

10/15/2012
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This filter came with a 10g tank I bought in April of this year. Ran great the first few months, very quiet and kept the tank clean. Slowly over time, the filter would give out and would stop running. I would have to unplug and replug back in to get it going. Often have to clean the impeller which is not something I feel I should have to do often on a filter. Also, out of all the tanks I own, the tank that had this filter had the highest nitrates and I blame the filter not doing it's job. I have to change the filter pad more often than I like to because the debris would overtime start going back into the tank. Any fishkeeper knows that there is such a thing as changing the filter pad too much. I finally got tired of messing with it and unplugged it and replaced it with a Marineland Penguin. You definitely get what you pay for with this product. It might be more suitable for a one fish tank but if you plan on having a fully stocked 10 gallon, don't use this filter.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next