Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua-Tech AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Aqua-Tech AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

The AquaTech Power Filter 5-15 helps to remove the toxic ammonia and nitrites from the aquarium water. This AquaTech Power Filter 5-15 provides filtration in three stages, which will keep your fish healthy and water clean. Â Aquarium Filter Cartridges help to clean out the dirt and dust when water passes through it. In the second stage, the activated carbon present in this Aquarium Power Filter helps to remove dissolved waste and cleans water, which is full of odor. In the last stage, the filter provides extra surface area, which helps bacteria to grow. This bacteria eliminates the harmful ammonia and nitrates from the water, which will protect your fish against these toxins. This filter is available in four sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.339 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
14
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation61%70 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 174 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
14
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

lasted 4 days

04/01/2012
By ,
portage
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this with the tank and all,it lasted 4 days ,now its the middle of the night ,cant get to store to replace it and my fish are gonna bellyup soon
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

I bet is good but not for my conditions

11/13/2010
By ,
Horseshoe Bay, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a tetra aquarium that came with this filter. This because my wife won 4 beautiful common goldfish in a festival. I really didn't know the adventure and sacrifices I was about to face. Well first I bought a five gallons aquarium but a week later I had to invest in this 10 gallons aquarium. Still, it doesn't keep up with my sudden conditions. This filter moves only 90 gallons per hours (gph) while I'm needing at least 100 gph to keep a safe water quality for my goldfishes. I've read a couple of reviews and I'm not saying this is a bad filter at all, its good, I know because it keeps the water in neutral conditions for my fishes but right in the limits of neutrality. If you're buying this filter or came with your aquarium and you have more than two goldfishes I recommend to buy the 10-20 gallons one. That one moves at least 110 gph, perfect for your goldfishes. In general, the 5 to 10 gallons proved to be a good filter to even maintain my fishes alive. :) That's good!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

love it

03/28/2010
By ,
az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this with my res (red earred slider turtle)from some body on craiglist and it dosnt work good for them it is really noisy from the water fall but im using it for my fish and it works great but theres no flow control in the pic it is on the left
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Excellent Buy!

12/08/2013
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a GloFish aquarium kit that came with a Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter and my tank was really gross after a few weeks. After cleaning, it would go right back to being disgusting within a couple of days. I bought the Aquatech 5-15 for $11 and it has done wonders! It has a 3-stage filtering process and works 100% better for my 5 gallon tank. My fish and I are much happier now and I highly recommend AquaTech products over Tetra any day. Just remember to take care of the filter and clean it inside and out every 3-4 weeks to get the best results and life expectancy out of the product, I use a simple bottle brush and warm running water. Replacement filters are $7 for a 3-pack, which will last 2-3 months.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Good, but confusing to get going.

06/27/2012
By ,
Phoenix, Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NOTE: IF YOUR FILTER IS NOT WORKING WHEN YOU PLUG IT IN, THERE IS A 90% CHANCE YOU DIDN'T PUT THE TUBE THAT GOES INTO THE TANK IN ALL THE WAY. After playing around with this thing for 30minutes, I pushed the tube in harder and it made a different, bubbly noise and next thing I know the water is flowing like it's supposed too. Make sure you prime the filter first by filling it with water!! And your tube is pushed in all the way before you complain!! Note I also have the old version of the filter, so it looks a little different but works the same.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Excellent filter for fry tanks!

10/02/2011
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Key word in the summary was fry tanks. I've been using this filter for fry (baby fish) tanks for months now, and I absolutely love it!
What many people fail to remember when buying a filter is that there are two, yes two, major factors. GPH rating, and water volume. This filter has 100GPH rating and that is almost perfect for a 20 gallon tank that will be holding fry (mine are Mbuna Cichlids). The fry have very little bio-load (aquarist's term for how much the fish poo) so the small water volume in this filter doesn't matter and it handles it quite well. Overall, I'd use this in a tank no larger than 20 gallons but no less than 10 gallons. It's small, fairly quiet, and is pretty darn inconspicuous.
My one gripe? The intake. The intake tube (at least in mine) seems not to fit quite right. You can't just put it in and plug it in. You have to plug it in and kind of move the intake tube around a little bit before the water flow really starts - and it's some good water flow for a filter that size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Best $10 Filter On the Market!

03/06/2014
By ,
Latrobe, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good filter for the price. I bought this to replace the one that came with my 10 gallon tank which had weak flow and was not cleaning well enough. The Aqua-Tech cleared up my cloudy 10 gallon betta tank within a few hours has good flow, and a nice waterfall effect. I don't like the kind of filters that go inside the tank because they take up too much space and they're ugly looking. I like the fact that this filter hangs over the back of the tank with a simple intake tube in the water that frees up extra space for the fish. And it's made in the good old USA!
One minor drawback though, it does leak a little bit around the motor housing where the cord is like people have been saying here, but I just sealed it up with silicone and it is as good as ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Great filter for small 10 gallon aquariums.

01/06/2014
By ,
Exeter, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a small Tetra aquarium and it works great. The water is always crystal clear until after a month. The bio fibers really work well and keep debris out of the water. It is very easy to clean and take apart if you no what you are doing. Always buy a filter intake cleaner because some algae may form. It's quite and it's easy to maintain. It can also fit custom homemade bio bags that you can fill with carbon yourself. I have had my goldfish a little over a year so this product really removes the toxins out of the water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

IS MADE in the U.S.A.

01/24/2014
By ,
Seattle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Filter !
You can use the filter cartridges for several months by taking them outside and spraying them off with a garden hose every month.
I use a 5-15 filter in our 20 gallon tank. Follow the instructions for periodic cleaning of the black housing and components and this filter will serve you long and well.
Best of all??
It's Made in the U.S.A out of U.S.A components !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

good little filter

01/08/2014
By ,
San Fernando Valley
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to replace the one that came with the hand me down 10 gallon tank. My kids fish are swimming in clear water for weeks now.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Very Good Aquarium Filter!

07/02/2009
By ,
Betsy Layne, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this power filter to go with our kids 5 gallon fish tank and it has worked perfectly for almost 4 months now. Easy to clean and keeps the tank perfectly oxygenized. We change the filter once every two weeks, and have maintained a very clean tank. Tip: Buy the filters in a multi-pack and you will save more money. Very happy with this aquarium filter and recommend it to others!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Does not clean

03/22/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this on 3/15/14 it worked ok on the first day but since I have a timer which shuts down the tank at night because I use it for my water turtle when it turns back on the filter does not suck in the water to allow it to flow. I thought it would be perfect for my tank but its not. It stays running and no water circulates and when it does circulate it stops on its own. Tank is worst than before. The filter the Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter is so much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Junck

03/24/2014
By ,
greenville, nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this on 3/11/14 and in 13 days the pump just stopped working.So i then took it back and got a new one. Now 3/24/14 the new one i just got is leaking water beside the power cord. DO NOT BUY THIS PUMP/FILTER
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Horrible Filter! Do Not Buy!!!!

05/04/2013
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a lot of experience with these filters, and that's my fault for being an idiot. I have purchased 5 of these filters over the past year. Very, very poor quality. As a matter of fact, I would rate this product as the worst product I've EVER purchased.
Filter #1: This one came as part of a package with a 5 gallon tank. It lasted about a week. We had an electrical storm, and it quit working after that. Nothing else in the house was effected.
Filter #2: This one lasted about one day before it quit working without explanation.
Filter #3: This one was by far the best. It lasted nearly one year. I unplugged it one day to clean the tank. When I plugged it back in, it ran for about 10 minutes and quit.
Filter #4: After this one primed, it ran for less than 2 minutes before it quit.
Filter #5: I didn't even have a chance to plug this one in. As soon as I filled it with water, it immediately began to leak profusely around the pump housing.
Do not purchase this product. Based on my experience, you have about an 80% chance of purchasing a bad one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

It's cheap for a reason!

02/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this filter today, and as soon as I put water in the back of it it started leaking! The water was coming out where the part with the electrical cord was put in and held with an "O" ring. Really?? Leaking out onto where the power cord is? That's just stupid. But I let it slide and went back and returned it and got the same filter...got it home and it too leaks in the same spot!! I was frustrated and gave up and decided not to waste another trip to Wal Mart so I used silicone sealant to help stop the water from leaking out the bottom. Well this problem was solved, but then as soon as I put the filter in water and turned it on (and YES I did everything correctly, I have had a fish tank for a long time and understand how the filter is set up), IT DIDN'T WORK! It made a noise like it was on but no water was circulating. I am really disappointed in this filter considering the other reviews weren't all that bad.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Posted 02/12/2012
You have to poor water into the filter itself before turning it on. That is why it is making noise.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

love it

08/19/2009
By ,
spokane wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using mine for well over year, and is still running strong. It keeps my 10 gallon tank very clean and every one always coments on how clean my tank is. They also always ask how often i have to clean it, and I always tell them hardly ever (like once a year). I do a water exchange once a month, but only a gallon.I also vaccume about every 3 months, also my tank is very over stocked (20+ fish). So for the price and quality I highly recomend this product oh dont forget to change the filters. hope you love it as much as I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

plain and simple

06/19/2009
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 1st filter I ever bought. I used it on a cooler to keep bait fish in ;) It's been in an aquarium now for 6 months and still works well. It will slow down after a month or two but just take it outside and spray the internals with a hose to restore the flow. I've tested the flow rate myself and seems to be very accurate. Great filter for a 10 gallon tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Verry GREAT

01/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had my filter for 6 years and it still works great. i buy the same brand filter cartridge and it works great. all my friends have commented on how nice my tank looks and how sanatized it looked
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

It helps to follow the directions...

05/24/2009
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first got the product, I thought it didn't come with everything. I couldn't find the piece called the "impeller" (turns out it was already in place inside my unit, so I didn't have to install it) and I spent a lot of time trying to call the company and complain that I didn't have it all. Then I tried to start the thing up without water in it. So, maybe I should have read the directions which CLEARLY STATE that you should fill it with water BEFORE starting it up or risk damaging the unit... but it still works, and well! SO - Be sure to read all the directions CAREFULLY and follow them. OH, and the Tetra-care service that comes with the tanks is nice, too. I'm buying another one of these for another tank I have. I do hope they last - I've only been using it for about a week, but it is doing the trick nicely with a really messy frog in the tank. I'm going to try it on a turtle tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

these USED to be good filters

06/11/2013
By ,
Newark, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've used these filters in the past and had no problems. I purchased another one yesterday, and after it had been running for awhile, I noticed that it was leaking down over the motor housing. (Yikes, nice fire hazard and water damage in 1!# I exchanged it for another one today, brought that one home, plugged it in and it leaked too. I called the AquaTech 800# and followed their directions on tightening the motor housing, checking the O ring etc. Plugged it back in and now it doesn't run at all. After messing with it for some time, I let it sit for awhile before trying it again. When I came back, it had leaked again even without the vibration of the filter actually running. They will be sending a new one, in a week #not good news for an established aquarium# and I argued against #and won) paying to return mine. We'll see if the 3rd time is the charm???
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next