Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua-Tech AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Aqua-Tech AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

The AquaTech Power Filter 5-15 helps to remove the toxic ammonia and nitrites from the aquarium water. This AquaTech Power Filter 5-15 provides filtration in three stages, which will keep your fish healthy and water clean. Â Aquarium Filter Cartridges help to clean out the dirt and dust when water passes through it. In the second stage, the activated carbon present in this Aquarium Power Filter helps to remove dissolved waste and cleans water, which is full of odor. In the last stage, the filter provides extra surface area, which helps bacteria to grow. This bacteria eliminates the harmful ammonia and nitrates from the water, which will protect your fish against these toxins. This filter is available in four sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.339 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
14
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation61%70 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 174 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
14
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Unhappy Now

05/23/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has stopped working for no reason...I've had it maybe 4 months now...dont know what happened. When it was working it worked great...I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

verry good but a bit cheap

10/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my 10 gallon and have had it running with about 15 fish for about two months and my water has looked clear the whole time as if i have changed it every day. It stopped working so i took it apart and found the impeller to be filled with algae. So now, I clean it every week and it has worked fine. The lid is cheap though and the filters do not fit well. However, i love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Amazing Filter; Exceeded My Expectations!!!

10/30/2010
By ,
Wylie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased an AQUA CULTURE 5 1/2-gallon aquarium kit from my local Wal*Mart store and this filter came with it. At first, I decided against using it with my new aquarium because about 9 years ago I purchased a 10 gallon aquarium kit from Wal*Mart(which I got rid of 2 years later) and I had problems with the Aqua Tech 5-15 filter. Instead, I purchased a Whisper 2-10i filter. Well, the Whisper filter kept overflowing into my aquarium and started constantly making an annoying sound. So I returned the Whisper filter and just used the Aqua Tech 5-15 filter the kit came with. I was so amazed at how much more efficient it was at not only moving water, but filtering the water as well! For those of you who have used Aqua Tech filters in the past, you have to try out the new and improved filters! They not only have better mechanical filtration than they did 9 years ago, but they now have biological filtration to boot! I was very impressed with my filter and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a filter for their aquarium. My only complaint is that the replacement filter cartridges are a little pricey even in the 3 or 6-packs. Other than that, no other complaints!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Works Wonderfully

11/12/2010
By ,
Sault St. Marie, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This filter is very easy to install and filters water just fine. You just put in the filter cartridge and plug it in. However if you have a betta fish (like i do) i suggest maybe buying a slightly less powerful filter because if your betta is caught unaware and doesn't have plants etc. to hide in by the current it will shoot him all over the tank. But there are ways to reduce the flow. This method really worked... http://www.petfish.net/kb/entry/347/
But overall it's very quiet and lives up to expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

I bet is good but not for my conditions

11/13/2010
By ,
Horseshoe Bay, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a tetra aquarium that came with this filter. This because my wife won 4 beautiful common goldfish in a festival. I really didn't know the adventure and sacrifices I was about to face. Well first I bought a five gallons aquarium but a week later I had to invest in this 10 gallons aquarium. Still, it doesn't keep up with my sudden conditions. This filter moves only 90 gallons per hours (gph) while I'm needing at least 100 gph to keep a safe water quality for my goldfishes. I've read a couple of reviews and I'm not saying this is a bad filter at all, its good, I know because it keeps the water in neutral conditions for my fishes but right in the limits of neutrality. If you're buying this filter or came with your aquarium and you have more than two goldfishes I recommend to buy the 10-20 gallons one. That one moves at least 110 gph, perfect for your goldfishes. In general, the 5 to 10 gallons proved to be a good filter to even maintain my fishes alive. :) That's good!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Horrible

11/28/2010
By ,
Long Island
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is horrible , it keeps you awake all night . All you hear is water running ! Also in my fish tank i had a Common Plecos ( Algae Eating Fish) & he always use to stay behind the filter . now I bought a much quieter filter & he swims all around :) . This filter is not worth its money beacase i bought a quieter filter & it was $9.OO . as if this filter is $1O.OO . well $1.OO difference .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Doesn't work for very long

01/09/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product is great while it lasts, but I have only had it about 6 months and it has stopped working completely. I thought maybe it was fish junk that just got stuck in the bottom of the container (and there was stuff in it), but even after I poured it out and throughly cleaned the tubes with a special fish brush it still did not work. I would not recommend this product to anyone unless you don't mind buying a new filter every few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

good for awhile

01/10/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This filter worked fine for my 5 gallon for a year but it stopped working after that. All of my other filters have lasted at least 3 years. I will not be buying an aqua-tech filter again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

AquaTech 5-15

01/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 3 years of uninterupted use with several of these hard working filters and believe me, they do work well, quiet and very cost effective. The filter is on the discharge side of the pump so occationally the unit must be disassembled, cleaned with a bottle brush or the likes, then assembled and put back into service. This is caused by the dirty water entering the pump before being filtered and with Gold Fish, this happens rather often. Great little pump.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

product not recommented

01/16/2011
By ,
sacramento
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
filter isn't as good, it took almost a minute to work, after a few hours the pumps get weaker and little water is flowing, then you have to set it up again, and its not strong enough to make a good flowing current going, i have another filter brand Whisper thats 3 yrs old works way better than this junk
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Definitely not for saltwater

01/19/2011
By ,
Hudson, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I needed a small filter for my 10 gal bait tank that i keep shrimp in. I have gone thru 2 filters in less than 6 months. I clean the filter once a week and replace the cartridges every 10-14 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

you get what you pay for

01/23/2011
By ,
The Carolinas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received this product with my Hawkeye 5 gal Tank Aquarium Kit. I had this filter since November and all of a sudden it just stopped working. While it was working the flow was too high for a 5 gallon tank and it kept pushing my fish all over the tank. You can adjust the flow, but that becomes somewhat of a pain. I don't think a product should stop working after owning it for 2 months, but then again, you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Strong Flow

02/01/2011
By ,
Olivet, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has a very strong output of water. Seems to work pretty well. The directions suck, a lot. They aren't clear at all. And I'm still not entirely sure how the two year warantee works. But the filter does work. It's kind of loud. I hear trickling noises all night long from mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Works great!

02/07/2011
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOrked as soon as I plugged it in and helped keep my fishtank cleaner. Made the water a lot clearer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

if you don't care if your fish live buy this

03/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are on our third purchase of this filter. We bought the tank kit that comes with this filter system. After a few months the first one stopped working - none of our local walmart stores had just the filter in stock so we had to buy a whole new kit. We don't have the option of waiting to order one online - the fish would be dead by the time the new one arrived. So the second one worked for a few months and then died. It took us 2 days to find a new one at Walmart and 2 of our son's fish died. So upsetting. We're on our third one - I just changed the water and filter cartridge and the filter isn't working!!!!! Let's hope my husband can find a new filter tonight so we don't have to lose any more fish. Cheap intro kit - I suggest keeping a back-up on hand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Disappointed returning customer

04/23/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I used three filters from this supplier. First one was not bad and quiet but after one year I have to replace first one because pomp died. Second filter was so noise we could not sleep at night. After returned it to store I took another one in hope that previous had some malfunction. Third one was the same noisy and not efficient. Finally I decided to buy Tetra Wisper and I think so far is more efficient and quiet than competitors AquaTech Power Filter. Generally I am disappointed as a returning customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

filter

05/16/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This filter does it's job. However, it is impossible to find the replacement bio filter. Might as well buy whole new pump to be able to get another filter :/
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Satisfied for a short while!

07/23/2011
By ,
KENNEWICK WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ive had this filter in my five gallon tank for about 3-4 months and it worked great. well all of the sudden it doesnt work anymore. it did and amazing job keeping the tank clean but this product should have lasted a lot longer!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Excellent filter for fry tanks!

10/02/2011
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Key word in the summary was fry tanks. I've been using this filter for fry (baby fish) tanks for months now, and I absolutely love it!
What many people fail to remember when buying a filter is that there are two, yes two, major factors. GPH rating, and water volume. This filter has 100GPH rating and that is almost perfect for a 20 gallon tank that will be holding fry (mine are Mbuna Cichlids). The fry have very little bio-load (aquarist's term for how much the fish poo) so the small water volume in this filter doesn't matter and it handles it quite well. Overall, I'd use this in a tank no larger than 20 gallons but no less than 10 gallons. It's small, fairly quiet, and is pretty darn inconspicuous.
My one gripe? The intake. The intake tube (at least in mine) seems not to fit quite right. You can't just put it in and plug it in. You have to plug it in and kind of move the intake tube around a little bit before the water flow really starts - and it's some good water flow for a filter that size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for AquaTech Power Filter 5-15

Works till it dies

01/01/2012
By ,
Chicago IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had this for 6months and from a nice water fall type of flow to a trickle, it is not working at all. i am very disappointed in this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 111 total reviews