Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua-Tech AquaTech Power Head

Aqua-Tech AquaTech Power Head

The AquaTech Power Head improves circulation and increases filtration effectiveness of the undergravel filter in your fish tank. Delivering a high-powered stream of oxygen-rich water to the filter bed, this power head pump helps create a suitable environment for your fish. This water power head maintains a powerful, constant flow rate of 170 gph. A 10' power cord gives you flexibility when placing and plugging in the AquaTech Power Head.
Average Customer Rating:
3.077 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation46%6 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AquaTech Power Head

Great Product!

11/01/2010
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most powerhead you find at petco and petsmart are outrageous pricy! I mean for real! They charge well over $30 buck for a powerhead rated under 100gph!
This one is rated at 170gph!! Beat that!
This is definitely worth the money for under $20. I use it for my 55g cichlid tank for a few week with a sponge flter attach to it until I upgrade to a much better type of filtration called: "Canister Filter" which is the best out there.
Powerhead help move water and temperture around your tank. The motor does product extra heat so don't be surprise. So if your short on money buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AquaTech Power Head

Quit after one month

09/15/2014
By ,
Casper, WY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I could rate this produce any lower I would have. The prices was decent. Installation was easy. And it ran quite and efficiently for about one week. Then I started having problems with it. It became noisy and I had to remove debris from the tank myself via an aquarium vacuum and it from the underground filter tubes as well. I tried adjusting thinks to help the pump work better, it didn't work. And after just 4 1/2 weeks it made an awful noisy and stopped. This is the second time I have purchased an aqua-tech produce that failed to deliver described function and or broke down after a short time in use. On the plus side returning the pump was the easiest part! I'm saddened it didn't work, the idea was great, product bad!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AquaTech Power Head

Noisy!!

08/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought two of these yesterday, each of them sound like marbles in a garbage disposal, taking both back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for AquaTech Power Head

Great Power Head for A Good Price

05/07/2009
By ,
Arkansas City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this power head about 2 years ago and have been very happy with its performance. I had the more expensive Maxi-Jet power head before and had trouble and it was noisy. The Regent power head out performed the Max-Jet in my opinion. It is also much quieter and has had no operational issues during the nearly 2 years I have had this power head. Will definetly buy more when I'm ready to rebuild by 55 gallon tank in the near future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AquaTech Power Head

I could not ask for more.

10/03/2009
By ,
Polk City, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this powerhead a little over a month ago. It has proved to be one of the better pumps on the market. The price is great when your talking about 170 GPH other powerheads with the same ratings will cost you double this amount anywhere else. For a little under 20 bucks rather you want better water circluation or you are running an undergravel filter this is the way to go. My only complaint is not really a complaint but when using the air feature on the product it pumps so sufficient that all you can see in the tanks is tiny air bubbles. I would recommend purchasing a control valve for your air line as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AquaTech Power Head

5 stars

06/19/2009
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought one of these a month ago and I'm very satisfied. Nice and powerful, quiet too (until you use the venturi system). It's a cool gadget for any aquarium. Creates beneficial circulation and shoots little bubbles in any direction you choose. Also hooks up to undergravel filters if you still use those dinosaurs. My only complaint is the suction cup mount, it's kinda chinsy. But that's just a little complaint and I highly recommend this powerhead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AquaTech Power Head

poor performance and durability

11/13/2012
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very noisy, hard to keep position, broken within less than a year, the impeller is make of plastic and it is so thin and simply cracked after about 11 months of use
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AquaTech Power Head

Item was CLEARLY used--not just returned!!!

03/20/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This item was obviously USED prior to being returned, and no apparent effort had been made to clean or otherwise restore it; nor was the item discounted from the original price.
There was DRIED BITS OF VEGETATION AND DIRT, both encrusting the outer housing and inside the device!!!
Extensive cleaning and thorough sterilization was required to ensure proper functioning and eliminate the possible transfer of any unwanted diseases or other pests.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for AquaTech Power Head

Works good for the price

07/19/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is a good filter for the price the other ones cost lot mor i just wish WalMart would sale the under gravel filters agin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for AquaTech Power Head

Good luck getting parts(impeller) NONE TO BE FOUND

09/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would never buy this Power Head agian. I bought 2 Power Heads and both broke. (IMPELLER's BROKE) You can't find a replacement impeller. I have had fish tanks for 20 plus years and would never recommened this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for AquaTech Power Head

Cheap

07/29/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, in
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Only 1 suction cup, so it sags down and looks sloppy. Also louder than my hob filter, returning tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for AquaTech Power Head
02/02/2012
By ,
Erie, Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have purchased many of these aqua pumps and none seem to last more than a few months. What seems to be the problem that after4 months of use they go bad even cleaning of some that have a filter on them. Walmart needs to get another product of better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for AquaTech Power Head
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5