Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua Culture AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Aqua Culture AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%11 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Too risky

02/18/2009
By ,
south carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Also had this aquarium leak it's entire 55 gallons. Luckily, it happened when I was there and I was able to rescue all the fish. If you don't have a second aquarium to use as spare then it's like playing poker with your fishies' lives. You just don't know when it's going to happen. Not worth it, spend more money on a more expensive tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 2 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Only good for a while

11/10/2008
By ,
St. Louis, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this tank 6 years ago. It was great until today when it spontaneously leaked the whole 55 gallons onto my carpet during the course of the night. I woke up this morning to feed the fish and stepped into a swampy carpet. I clicked on the light to reveal a completely drained tank with dead fish on the gravel. I discovered the lower left corner was the source of the leak, but I have no idea how the seal came loose. The black plastic trim had pulled away from the glass allowing water to escape. Ugh! What a mess. I wish someone had told me that I would need to re-seal ever so often.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 3 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

You can't beat this item

03/28/2010
By ,
South Central Connecticut.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I logged on tonight and thought I would add my two cents. I purchased this kit with the stand 5 years ago for around $300.00. I have never had an issue, I have moved four times and it remains pristine. Further, the aqua tech filter 30/60 that was included is still running strong. The heater lasted about two years. If you are a beginner or buying your first big tank, you already know how cheap this one is. The tank stand I got is also pristine. I still have two of my original coryadoras catfish from day 1. They are 5 years old! If you decide you would like to upgrade components ( like the heater) its simple. The stand also makes it easy to hide wires and tubing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Great Kit

09/21/2009
By ,
Boynton Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this aquarium for 3 years, is a great kit for the value; it comes with mostly everything you need, off course if you want to go with saltwater or cichlids you may need to buy additional filters and/or other accessories but for a starter traditional tropical fish tank is really good, all in one box.
The lighting fixture is always a challenge when buying kits is hard to find a good one, but this one is bright and it seems like a good quality one, thermostat and filter is still running and in good working condition.
I stocked this tank with african cichlids (about 12) mostly mbunas, and I only added a 100 gal canister filter, an additional 70 gal hanging filter and a pump to add the bubbles effect.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Great tank!

11/14/2008
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this tank kit for over three years now and it's held up great. There's not a lot to say about it except that it's huge and roomy for fish. I definitely recommend getting another filter for this tank, however, because there's a lot of water to circulate with the small pump that came with the kit. Overall, very satisfied and I think the fish are too. We've had this one angelfish since the day we got this tank, and she has grown from a baby half-incher to a six-by-six-incher! I will warn you though, it's addictive to start buying and adding things to this tank, so just be aware of that when before you purchase this. It quickly turns into a LARGE investment!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Awesome tank

11/26/2008
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tank about a year ago, First i had it set up as a fresh water tank, and now i have it set up as a saltwater. I truly think this tank is worth the money, it is beautiful and well built.
Its not too big, and too small, its just right.
If you are looking to add a tank to your home, i really recommend this one. TWO THUMBS UP =)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 7 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Great Buy

12/14/2009
By ,
Orlando fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought 2 of the smaller (30 gal) like 10 years ago from walmart. Never never never had any problems with the tanks. I plan to purchase the bigger tank this weekend. I do have one recomandation for everyone that buys a tank. Add an extra layer of silicone to seal it before you even put water in the tank. Its cheap and its always worked for me. when I drain the tanks I add a new layer always probably once a year. Ive never had a leak and I have wood floors. The seals arent going to last forever but the glass does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Very well built. Excellent aquarium

11/14/2009
By ,
Mesa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this aquarium setup over 8 years ago and it is still holding up. Never had a problem with any leaks. Wal-Mart also sells the stand separately althought the stand is of cheap fiberboard and pressed wood but does hold up. Filter that comes with it is good but consider a better quality filter for your high end fish like oscars or african cichlids as I have done. The hoods and lights that came with it are also of great quality. Only replaced the hoods and lights this weekend after 8 years after deciding to go with a tighter fitting single piece full hood and lighting system. Overall excellent quality and superb value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

A lot of tank for the money

02/11/2010
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a big fan of mass produced kits, but this one has a lot of stuff at a low enough price that even if you want to change out a thing or two, you can sill come out ahead. Everything in it is good quality and functions as it should. Even if you change out a thing or two, it might not be a bad idea to keep what you swap out as an emergency spare. This actually makes it ideal for a beginner and near ideal for an intermediate to advanced fish keeper wanting this size tank. One of the best aquarium deals currently available in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Great Aquarium for the Price

06/15/2009
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this aquarium for 5 years..... I have 2 Red Ear Slider Turtles in it.... Despite the negative reviews about leakage you can always get it re-siliconed "common sense" nothing last forever.......... Anyway the price was great I paid $200 for the tank and stand 5 years ago. I have not seen a price that cheap for such a quality aquarium before. I just spent over $1200 for a 90 Gallon Aquarium to start a Reef Aquarium.
This is a great buy.........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Highly Recommended

02/14/2010
By ,
Heber Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are shopping for freshwater or saltwater, this is definately the ticket. I use mine for saltwater. Beware that you will probably end up spending quite a bit upgrading some of the equipment if you are going to go with saltwater, though. Even with those upgrades, this is still the cheapest way to get these items that I have seen. A great bargain whether you use it as-is for freshwater or do the upgrading for saltwater. I added a second power filter that was supposed to be of a higher quality and also use the one included in the kit for my saltwater tank. I was surprised to see that the filter with this set-up is actually MUCH better than the one I purchased from a Pet Store. It is quieter and has a much higher output of water and pushes the outflowing water down to the mid levels of the tank. Much higher oxygen amount going into my water from this one than the other one, that was supposed to be higher quality. ALL AROUND THUMBS UP! Also got the stand from WalMart. Works just fine and I had no problem assembling any of this, and normally, that is not my thing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for AquaCulture 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit with Filter, Heater and Flourescent Light

Durable

10/25/2008
By ,
Talbott
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product. I expected a moderate level tank, nope. I have ownede it for about 3 years nowmoved severel places, no problems what so ever, if your looking for a mid sized tank than this is the one to def get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points