Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aquaculture Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Aquaculture Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

The Aquaculture Home Starter Kit includes all that you need to get started with your exciting hobby. It comes with a size 10 sturdy glass aquarium. This aquarium starter kit is ideal for goldfish and other coldwater fish. The Aquaculture aquarium hood has an incandescent lamp that brightens up the interiors of the tank and shows off the vibrant fish colors. Its hood features a convenient front access door to let you easily feed your pets. The contoured cut-outs at the top make it a breeze to insert the aqua-tech 5-15 power filter and optional heater. The home aquarium starter kit 10 comes with tetra fish food samples for initial fish feeding.
Average Customer Rating:
3.951 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation80%81 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Aquarium

12/25/2012
By ,
Tallapoosa, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave my 9-yr old niece this aquarium for Christmas and she loves it. It was very easy to assemble and looks to require minimal care. It comes with starter packs of food flakes, fish treats, water care and one ph strip. You will need to buy more of these eventually but they are cheap. You will also need to get gravel and any decorations you may want. I would highly recommend this as a starter aquarium for children or adults. I checked other places online and this is by far the best deal I could find.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Good starter tank!

09/13/2009
By ,
Stokesdale, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good starter tank! This 10gal tank is very nice and sturdy. It comes with a lid (lights included) and a filter. I like how the lid has a cut-out for the filter so you can put it in easy. I rate this 4 stars nto 5 because one of the hinges did not fit right but i fixed it and it looks b-e-a-utiful! Here are sum pics, hope they help! XD
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+237points
Review 3 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

just a great tank

02/12/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tank. Meets expectations, and the price is sooo affordable. I priced this size of tank with pretty much the same system and they were $40-$50. I have five female bettas in them, and the filter works great because you can control the water flow. I actually own two other aqua culture tanks, the same ones but the 5 gallon. I'm satisfied with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 4 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt
03/14/2010
By ,
Hudson, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this tank as a good starter. The only problem I have had is with the lid not fitting properly, other than that it's been good. You might have to look into a litle better filter depending on the fish you have though.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Best value for starter tank!!

06/17/2011
By ,
LaGrange, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!! I found this back in stock after getting the 5gal for $28 & this was only $2 more(right??!! Doesn't make sense) & you get 2x the size. So I brought the 5gal back for this 10. I love the whole kit, has everything I need to set up. Filter is quiet & keeps my tank sparkling clean. I have 2 moors, 1 fantail & 2 comet goldfish & they are loving their new home! I've had all the fish about 1-3 weeks (bought them at different times) & bought this tank 06/13/2011 & have no problems! The blue green gravel that Walmart has are wonderful at the bottom of my tank as they showcase & compliment my goldfish colors!!! Try this tank, great for starters & have fun! PS: I know you're supposed to have min 29gal tank for these many goldfish that I have but will do that upgrade when they get bigger otherwise this size is fine for 3 goldfish.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 6 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Great Value

10/27/2011
By ,
Rochester, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this tank up a few days ago for my new hobby. I had never had an aquarium before and this was a great start as it came with the filter and lid with light. The food and water sanitizer it comes with also was a great touch. I only had to buy the heater, decor, and fish. The filter is very quiet and not even noticeable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+20points
Review 7 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

I love it

10/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this thing. I bought it about 5 months ago and it has worked perfectly since the day I got it. The filter is sufficient, and my experiences with the hood and lighting were fantastic. My fish and snails really do like it. For the people who say the filter isn't good enough for the size, it may be because they have overpopulated their tank. It is very easy to do. I would recommend this kit to everyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Great Product, I Love It.

04/23/2009
By ,
La Plata, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just purchased this yesterday but prior to this tank had a smaller 5 gal tank, I could not keep up with the smaller tank as far as cleaniness so decided to get bigger on, only have 4 fish but now I plan to purchase a few more tiny fish to add to tank and make it more colorful. Thank You Wal-Mart for your great buys and prices.....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Illinois
We'll see
Posted 06/08/2011
I bought this yesterday at my local Walmart for about $20 less than the Petsmart brand 10 gallon aquarium kit. Everything seems to be working fine, and all I needed to add was a heater, some gravel and plants, and of course my little betta. The filter is so quiet I can't hear it even when I'm sitting right in front of the aquarium; I had to check to make sure there were bubbles around it. After reading these other reviews, I just hope everything works a month from now.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Good kit

12/18/2011
By ,
Savannah, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this kit for my first aquarium about 2 months ago. I wasn't expecting to much of it (It is only $30) But I have to say i'm impressed with it. Everything seems to be holding up just fine so far. The filter is nice and quiet and does a good job of keeping the water nice and clear. I'm by no means an aquarium or fish expert but I can say my fish #A Redbreast Sunfish I caught out of a local river) Is doing great in this aquarium after two months of living in it. So if you're looking for a good affordable aquarium to start out with I would reccomend this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 10 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Very Good.

02/08/2012
By ,
Luling, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome starter tank. I had to run to my 24 hour walmart and purchase this tank in a fishy emergency. I found baby fish! (and mommy fish & friends were trying to eat them!) I set up the tank quickly and kept the fish in a vase overnight while the tank filtered and the temperature adjusted (I purchased a heater as well). The filter is very large and takes up a good 3 1/2 inches behind the tank so I can't put it any closer to the wall, so it takes up excess space on my desk. However, the value is worth it and my baby fish are happy and safe!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
TertaAqua EasyBalance Water Conditioner
4 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 11 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Quality tank for a great price!

05/28/2012
By ,
Florida, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this 10 gallon starter kit for my female betta. She is very active with a fair amount of space. It is of great quality. Depending on what fish you put in it, I did baffle the filter (if you search google "water bottle filter baffle" it will give easy instructions on making a baffle.) The only thing the kit is missing is a HEATER. But overall I am satisfied with my purchase. It was only $30 at my store, rather than the online price of $38.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Full review

06/03/2013
By ,
Cambridge, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1. The tank itself ( glass)
2. The hood
3. The lighting
4. The filter
1: the glass has never been scratched until I was taking the gravel out and scratched it against the glass, I've had this tank for several months and its never has a leak, the silicone hardly is visible and does a awesome job.
2. The hood is strong durable plastic that fits snugly into the tank itself and has a huge feeding hole so you could net fish in or out or whatever, there is a cutout for a heater in the rear left, and on the right the filter goes in snugly, and there is a cutout width and length wise for a larger filter if you wish, evaporation is not bad, I wake up and have to open the feeding hole to let the moisture off the glass to see my fiddler crabs.
3. There is 2 15 watts slots for light bulbs however these are yellowish in nature, more expensive to run and heat up somewhat I recommend getting fluorescent white light bulbs once they burn out but that's up to you, the cord is neatly tucked away out the middle rear of the tank and not in the way.
4. I cannot say much about the filter itself except that it fit pretty snugly and is silent but does need to be primed and relatively full to use ( I have to use a tetra whisper as my tank is pretty empty)
This is a awesome package and a amazing deal similar tanks run for twice the amount! I suggest different brighter, more effecting light bulbs and depending on the use of your tank a more powerful filter if needed . Below I've recommended a filter, pump and heater for this tank and included 2 pictures with the original light bulbs, although a different filter
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

great beginner tank

03/05/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tank is great for beginners and comes with everything you need
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 14 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

You get what you pay for

06/02/2013
By ,
Lewisville, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I already have a 30gal. tank from Petsmart, but I needed a smaller, separate tank in order to treat one of my fish with popeye. I've tried a tank separator before and I did not like that. Anywho, I bought this at the store yesterday, not online so nothing happened in shipping. However, there was a small scratch/crack at the bottom, but it didn't seem to go completely through so I'm going to try it out. I'm not fond of the filter this set comes with because it looks like it's missing a piece, so I will be going to Petsmart today to buy a different one. I'm also not fond of the hood with the lighting fixture underneath, but I have yet to fill it up. That being said I might try to buy a different hood, but I'm not sure if it would fit 100%.
Otherwise, this is a nice glass tank and good starter. Just in comparison to the one I already have, this does not meet my expectations, but "you get what you pay for." :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

An ok. buy.

03/28/2009
By ,
Hoffman, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this tank about 6 months ago as my first tank and there has nothing wrong with the tank itself, but a problem with the filter and hood that came with it.
About a month and a half after I got it, one of the hoods lights started to flicker, then after a while, the whole screw thing fell off, i tried to contact the company that is listed on the back "all glass aquarium" but they never e-mailed me back.
Then about a week after that, after a power outage, i unplugged the filter just in case the electricity went back on when i wasn't there so I could put the water in when it starts. I plugged it in, pored water into it, and it never worked. It wasn't that good in the first place so I just got a new one.
I only say I recommend this product even though i gave it 2 stars is because the price was good for what you got in it. Just know that the things that come with it, are not even close to top of the line.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 16 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Worst product in history

02/25/2012
By ,
huntsville,tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If i could give this a negative star review i would. Unfortunately 1 is as low as i can go. I bought this product 2 weeks ago. Worked fine for 2 weeks, then started leaking. I emptied tank and could find no breaks or cracks. I refilled it and it leaked again. I called my local Wal-Mart and the store manager was very helpful and offered an even exchange. I was happy with that. I brought it home yesterday. Today i went to refill this one. After putting in 6 gallons of water i noticed the towel i had my tank on was wet around the corners. I started draining my tank and by the time i was done it had soaked the tank and was starting to leak onto the floor. I used a siphon to drain the tank and i used water jugs to fill it so it was not spillage that soaked the towel. DO NOT buy this in 2012.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Posted 09/17/2012
Sounds like you just filled it too fast.
Glass, like everything else, has SOME sort of elasticity, and flexes a little bit, so using water jugs may have just been too fast.
So I'd reccomend filling it about 2-3 gallons, wait a few hours, do 2 gallons every few hours until you fill the tank
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

Wonderful starter tank!

01/22/2013
By ,
Tallahassee, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read several reviews of this tank that made me consider getting it or not. I decided to go ahead purchase it and if it did not exceed my expectations go ahead and return it. I can say that I am BEYOND thrilled with this tanks performance! I bought this tank for my two Black Moor goldfish, and they LOVE it. I would only suggest buying real plants as opposed to the pretty plastic ones, the live plants tend to keep the tank cleaner, as well as maybe one or two ghost shrimp. I would suggest buying this tank and see how it works for yourself before dishing out a hundred dollars at most pet stores for a starter tank. I will admit if the water is not filled almost to the rim of the tank it is a little noisy, but not a bad noise at all...it's actually relaxing. It sounds like a table top fountain, as for the lighting it's fine for what it's supposed to do. I have my tank on the bar in my kitchen so it can be seen from both the living room and the kitchen so I personally never have any use for the light to be on. I hope my review was helpful, if you have questions feel free to ask.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
Review 18 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

DO NOT BUY THIS UNLESS YOU WANT A BIG WET MESS!

05/06/2012
By ,
Cincinnati OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This aquarium was a HUGE mistake! I bought this disaster a week ago, the first night, I had it together and fish in it, then I notice a puddle on my stand, and wipe it up, three seconds later, more puddle, and it got to the point where you could see it leaking out! Got some aquarium adhesive.... fixed it up, and guess what, now there are more leaks! This aquarium was the BIGGEST waste of my money, time, and water. I read the comments on this site, and I IGNORED the bad reviews, PLEASE do not make the same mistake I did, I am out $33, a wet floor, and a sad kid because she wanted some fish! I WILL be calling the manufacturer. OH BTW, the filter is VERY loud!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+16points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
You know that you did it wrong, right?
Posted 06/28/2013
1. Fish are not supposed to be added into the tank unless it is COMPLETELY cycled.
2. Whenever you get a new tank, used or new, you put water in it, and leave it in an area that you don't mind gets wet. (Cement patio is usually preferred.) If it leaks, you can fix it.
3. If the leaks are in the corners, along the sides, it's very easy to fix. Many people make custom tanks doing this. If it was cracked in the glass, then yes, it would have been a major default.
4. $33 isn't much. I know a person who had 120 gallon tank completely stocked with fish. It was unleveled. The tank "popped" and 120 gallons of water went on his new hardwood flooring. It ruined his hardwood floor, he had to get a new tank, stand, etc. He was out of around $3000.
If you are NOT prepared to lose money, do not get fish. They're hard work, regardless of how simple it looks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

awesome tank

04/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this tank about 3 weeks ago and i was impressed with it. it is awesome i love it but now i need to get a 55 gallon tank just want a bigger tank but this tank is worth the money would be better if it comes with a heater and a thermotiter though but awesome tank! very imppresed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 20 for Aquaculture Home Starter Kit 10 Aquarium, 1kt

A very good product!

01/23/2010
By ,
Brashear, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is a great aquarium for a starter. I recieved it as a present for my Birthday in 2007, and everything still works just as it did the day i recieved it. I have kepted it as a freshwater tank since i got it, and i'm thinking about turning it into a "nano reef" tank. I would recommend this product to anybody looking for a new hobby. Good Luck!!! 01/23/10
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+69points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
osceola ,Ar
AWESOME !!!
Posted 06/02/2011
great Aquarium for my comet (goldfish)
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next