Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Generic Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

The Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer is a handy and space-saving solution that can be used in any home. Use it indoors or hang it up in your backyard to open up your interior space. Hang your freshly washed clothes on this outdoor umbrella clothesline and allow them to dry naturally in the open air. Prevent shrinking or damage to delicate fabrics by hanging them up rather than tumbling them through your dryer. The item is constructed from galvanized steel and rotates for simple convenient loading. The outdoor clothes dryer has 12 lines and provides approximately 165 feet of drying space, leaving plenty of room for the entire family or for an individual's entire wardrobe. It can be used as a permanent structure or as a temporary device that can be folded down. It is an environmentally friendly option that is perfect for green-enthusiasts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.336 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation94%119 out of 127reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 86 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Memories of a good past time.

08/23/2009
By ,
Near Kansas City, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy to decide to locate an umbrella clothes line. It has been years since I used one and I forgot how great it was to go to bed on fresh outdoor dried sheets. Very easy to install and appears that when we take it down when the cold weather gets here, it will be easy to put up for the winter. Happy not using the dryer unless I have to and the savings on the utility bill will pay for the clothes line in less than one months bill. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to save money and loves the smell of fresh outdoor dried clothing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

solar power is great

06/04/2009
By ,
SE Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This clothes dryer is working out great. You can easily hang 2 loads on it.
Though I have room to set in ground, I tried a suggestion I read online and placed the pole through the hole in my patio table and into the umbrella stand. This works great!! Laundry basket goes on table- no bending- and the pole rotates allowing me to stand in one spot while hanging. The table is also handy when taking clothes down- you can fold them and sort them right there. The pole can be removed and folded easily...or you can throw a sheet, blanket, or table cloth on top to shade the table instead of an umbrella. I plan to use this dryer in my basement this winter by placing the pole either in my patio umbrella stand or in my x-mas tree stand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Go Green and Save Money

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this item! I live in a apartment complex and did not want to pay to use the washer/dryers. I have a 5x10 patio that I set it up on. I had to get crafty...I bought a 5 gal steel pail (at Walmart in the painting section) bought 50 lb bag of cement(quick set) 2 ft of PVC pipe and set it in the pail with cement (I wanted to save the piping that comes with the line for later use) let it set for 7 hrs. I then washed 3 loads of laundry hung it out and still had space for more on the line. I love going green...the line will pay for itself very soon...and the best thing is my clothes/sheets smell great!
Could life get any sweeter...Save Mother Earth...Go Green!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

For small people

11/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was surprised how small it is! It will work for small items, but not sheets, etc. Guess I did not read the size well. The last one I had was a bit more expensive, but held a lot more.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

a very helpful product

06/28/2009
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an umbrella clothes dryer and was a little afraid to buy one on line. The dryer was easy to assemble, however; if you didn't already have one installed you need to follow directions to put post in cement before putting the clothes dryer up. We were lucky we only had to replace the old pole with the new. Make sure you read the directions about balancing clothes on all sides of the dryer or else the dryer may bend. The aluminum is a little flimsy but I think it will hold up ok. It's important that you close up the dryer if there is a bad wind storm predicted. Also make sure you remove the dryer during the winter months or else it may rust. For the money this was all I expected
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

much wanted product

11/18/2008
By ,
33549
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been in Florida for almost 4 years and have not been able to find one of these unless I paid an arm & a leg for it. Up home I used mine everyday, to the point my husband wondered why we had a dryer. I just love hanging my clothes out in the sun and this product makes it so easy. I don't have to keep moving my laundry basket with me to hang my clothes. Just set it down and stand in one place as the clothesline turns like a carousel. the set up was great just like its name, it opens like an umbrella, all preassembled.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Surprised at the value for the price!

10/09/2014
By ,
Everett WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little clothesline. We live in a senior mobile park with very strict rules of what you can or cannot put up. The rules stated we could have a clothesline as long as it would not be visible to the road. Our home is lengthways on the lot so the back yard is less than thirty feet l
Wide and about six feet deep. This fits perfectly in our yard! Put in the pole holder with cement in the hole on Saturday and hung laundry on it on Monday! Did four loads including sheets and towels. Could have put another three or four loads on it! I checked out several other sites and listings. This was the next to the lowest cost but some were 150-250 bucks for what looked identical to this one. Glad I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Serves the purpose!

05/28/2014
By ,
Upstate New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has been raining since we put this up, but it looks like it will be just fine. The difference between this one and the one I had is, I will be able to remove the umbrella in the winter. It is a neat feature that the ground pipe has a flap that can be closed during the harsh winters that we have in northern NY., and the umbrella can be removed and folded away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Great Clothesline

06/21/2014
By ,
Lincoln, Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this clothesline to replace one like it that lasted for about 6 to 8 years. This was on sale. It arrived very quickly. I followed directions and put it up in the back yard. We have put several loads of wash on it and it works perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Great Value

05/24/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was about what I expected it to be. Easy to install and use. The lines are loose from the start, but can easily be tightened. I am overall satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

does what its supposed to do.

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived very fast (approx 3 days) which is always with Walmart. Good price value. Could be made of little bit more sturdy metal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Not Recommended

05/08/2011
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not made for large loads of laundry or large items such as bed sheets, towels, etc. One arm bent with a gust of wind during the second time I used it. Not recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Umbrella Clothes Dryer -- Works as expected

08/13/2014
By ,
cullowhee, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are older and always enjoy clothes dried in the sunshine and fresh air... This device does that well... Easy to set up (we used an outdoor umbrella base) and lots of line area. The dryer should be loaded a bit on each side and turned to avoid overloading one side and over turning the dryer. All-in-all, does what we want it to do so no complaints at all...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Dryer Problem...Kinda.

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The problem is that I bought this dryer 10 years ago and the plastic center arm support broke. The sun really takes a toll on plastic here in Arizona.
I have used this every time I do laundry, really loaded it up at times, did I mention for 10 years?
I store it in the garage when not in use.
Great product, I need another.
This will save on your electric bill and will pay for itself in no time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Great

09/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for what it was purchased for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Money saving

06/22/2009
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this to help save money this summer on our electric bill and to keep our home from over heating from the drier. I have used it 3 times now and I have to say it holds a lot of clothing. We had to cement it in the ground to keep it from falling over but that was fine. The trick was to cement it without messing up the rotation of it. An old small half ball on the bottom before we stuck it in the wet cement did the trick! I am looking forward to many years of money saving use out of this. Oh, watch out with lowering it for storage it can tangle and then a pain to put back up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Great Money saver

09/08/2010
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the summer heat we can dry 3 washloads in a day -even towels- and save the dryer running. I put the post hole straight in the ground and it is fine, I may get around to cementing it but it has been up over a year (I forgot to review) and no problems. Very heavy loads like lots of towels or flannel sheets stretch the lines so you have to tighten them after a few months, but in the warm months it saves $$ and gives a great smell to clothes
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

Who Uses a Clothes Line?

06/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the cost of my electric over doubling in the last 2 years....my wife suggested a clothes line. I was a little apprehensive about it because I have always used a dryer. In this summer heat the clothes on the line dry in about 30 to 45 minutes! The heat from the dryer being on is not an issue anymore.
Plan on 3 bags of cement...80 lbs each...and lets not forget that pick for when I got 8 inches down for the hole, was solid rock....needs a 8-12 inch by 20 inch deep hole...its in, its done and not going anywhere....easy removal for cutting the grass!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer

$ saving and green

06/10/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this "clothes line." It was easy to install and has loads of room to hang items...it's appearance is deceiving. Today's fabric softeners work extremely well and only my oldest towels (which probably should be replaced anyway) get stiff and scratchy when dried outdoors. I haven't used my electric clothes drier in 2 weeks and expect to see a difference on my electric bill. The smell of clothes dried in the sun and the breeze is divine. Great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Household Essentials Umbrella Clothes Dryer
06/23/2012
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the umbrella clothes dryer several weeks ago and have not used my electric clothes dryer since. I am very impressed with how well it is made and how sturdy it is. I did not install it permanently in the ground as we wanted to be able to take it with us when on vacation. I have simply placed it into a cast iron umbrella stand and it works fine. I would certainly recommend it to others. There is something very pleasing and soothing about watching fresh laundry fluttering in the breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next