Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dak Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Dak Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
16
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation58%70 out of 120reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
16
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

very bad

11/16/2012
By ,
west palm
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted to let you know i recently bought 2 DAK hams from Walmart and when i opened the first one it looked bad. it appeared to be some meat and a lot of fat pressed together and when i opened the ham it self there were just chunks. I then opened the second one and it was the same. i threw them both out.i don't know whats going on at the plant but there is no way these hams should have been sold. i have bought these hams before and never had this problem . I also took photos and i will never buy this ham again this is totally uncalled for!!!! the codes on the labels were 06:12 260 EXPR: 0201-2017 i sent a 2 emails to the company and got not response
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:A few times per year
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Terrible product NOT premium at all

06/27/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
See my photo of this mess, and compare it to the photo on the label of the product can. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is nothing but chunks of fat pressed together with chunks of light and dark meat. Has a grey, off-color appearance. VERY salty, does not hold up well when heated; turns to mush. I'm especially befuddled because I lived in Europe for five years and I am used to high standards in European foods. I was expecting something similar to the Dubuque canned ham my mother used to purchase when I was a child. Instead, I received something which tastes and cooks worse than SPAM. I bought this over the internet and had it shipped to my home because Walmart is so far away. It appears there is no mechanism for me to report this as an inferior product and get my money back or a credit issued.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Clogged Arteries

05/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product smells great. When you open the can you will see that the majority of it is fat. FAT. So unless you are wishing for a heart attack or stroke, I personally would avoid. And I did order 10 cans of these. But I ordered them for my cats as a treat. And when I sliced into it and saw the actual fat globs in the greasy to the feel ham product, I guess I can use that word even though it feels foreign, I felt guilty giving it to my cats. So the remaining cans will be stored until this coming Winter when a little extra fat will not be too harmful for outside cats. I hope. Now, if you're stocking up for the next big......whatever, then I can see these being used in a survival kit of some kind. Barely, but I can see it. Tuna would be safer in my personal opinion. But of course I am and have been caring for a husband who had a heart attack at the age of 54 and 56 and since then......none. But his Mother used to cook in Lard and it was a time when 'healthy cooking' and 'comfort food' was far in the future, at least in the back woods where we live.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

The cats loved it!

08/22/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this ham to make Cuban jam croquetas. I always buy real jam but I wanted to give this a try figuring that this is what the Cuban bakeries all over Miami use to make their jam croquetas. For starters, this is machine separated jam. So you are getting left over scraps that are chemically cured, bound together with lard (fat), and machine formed to fit into a can. Is it food, yes; is it edible, yes; is it desirable...no! I gave the cats a chunk to see if they liked it and they loved it. So, it makes for perfectly cheap cat food. They devoured this stuff. I did use it to make the Cuban jam croquetas. They came out OK, frying them was fine since the binders in the ham prevented them from exploding. However, they had a slight taste of pig lard. Which, of course, is the fat used to bind these mechanically separated pieces of ham. I am not a fan of lard. Other than that, the croquetas were fine. I'll keep buying this ham but only to feed it to the cats.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Exceeded my expectations

12/06/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure what expect based on other reviews. I bought 3 cans at under $4/can at Walmart so I opened one. I found ham chunks compressed into shape with marbled fat between the chunks. The smell was of fresh ham and quite pleasant. It looked good and smelled good. My wife and I ate a 1/2" square piece cold. We both liked it. The predominant texture was of ham and we did not notice any fat. I thought it had a light saltiness. My wife thought it was more salty than I did. I cut a 3/8" thick slice length way and put it in the frying pan. While it cooked I found myself cutting cold pieces off the main piece of ham and consumed quite a bit by the time the slice was cooked. Once cooked the slice took on more of an appearance of whole ham fried in a skillet. After tasting it hot I must say I would enjoy it with some scrambled eggs and hash browns. Overall, this ham is great for camping, everyday use, and long term storage. Nice product, fantastic price. My only criticism is the product in no way resembles the picture on the can. Other than that, I am happy and will buy 6 more for emergency provisions. 
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Stock Up While U Can

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every man in DAK in high cupboard
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

EXCELLENT for long term food storage and camping!

08/13/2012
By ,
Aurora, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a honey glazed ham like grandma used to make at Christmas time then just go buy a ham from the freezer section of the store! If you are looking for a quality canned ham that has a very long shelf life, then go no further. EXCELLENT to have a lot of this along side all of your other canned food for emergencies and for camping. EXCELLENT for every day use also! I'm a full time fire fighter and STRONGLY suggest prepairing for emergencies and having a well stocked food supply!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
michigan
you just dont know the tricks
Posted 10/25/2013
Look I dont know if this poster will see this but to new ppl coming along and reading this persons review, don't listen to them...every Christmas and Easter my mom would get Dak ham bake it with some cloves(full- they stick up),brown sugar and the juices that would seep out and it tasted better than any store brought ham you could get.my mom has long since passed away but now I make this ham and even the pickiest and snobbiest never know the difference
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Very Satisfied

09/08/2012
By ,
NE USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't see why anyone would complain, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this product. It's well packaged in a sanitary way, looks, smells, and tastes great. If you're looking for a high quality gourmet spiral sliced ham, or you're on a low fat diet, then buy fresh meats because canned meat products just aren't gonna be for you. Otherwise, this is a quality product with years of shelf life. It's great to have canned meat on hand for when I'm low on groceries and can't get to the store, weather emergencies, when camping, or for use in a college dorm. For every day meals, I use it for soup, macaroni and cheese. grilled cheese sandwiches, chopped in salad, or as a breakfast meat. The quality for the price makes it a really good buy. I've bought many over the years and I'm very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Disappointed

06/08/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had expected the canned ham I remembered from childhood but this tasted just like Spam and was more expensive.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

works well in my navy bean and ham soup

10/04/2012
By ,
SW Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this and agree, its alot like spam. I adapted my recipe for bean and ham soup to accomodate. 1lb small navy beans (got mine at the dollartree) did the quick soak method, rinsed and put in my pressure cooker with 6 cups chicken broth (I used water and bullion cubes) 2 carrots, 2 celery, a small portion of onion, dash of garlic salt, salt and pepper. 1/2 tsp allspice. (dash of liquid smoke optiional) cook this WITHOUT ham for 40 mins at 10lbs pressure. open pressure cooker per manufacture instructions. Cut 1/2 of can in cubes and add to beans. Cook another 10-15 mins. easily feeds 4-6
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

customer

06/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is like Spam but in a bigger can.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Horrible taste

05/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I purchased this ham, I wasn't expecting it to be like a bone-in ham. What I wanted it for was seasoning northern beans or frying it up for breakfast meat. It wasn't capable of being sliced. When I tried to slice it, it just mushed up and fell apart. Also had a horrible taste.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

DAK canned ham

05/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
all it is a soft spam
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

great taste

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was purchased for Easter. The dinner turned out great. My family loved the ham.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Canned Ham

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delicious and has long shelf life
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Great Value

01/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was very happy with the quality and price. This is a great size when you don't want a big ham. It's enough for dinner or breakfast for a family of 5. I like that they keep for a couple of years in my pantry and are easy to open. They have a pull tab so do not require a can opener.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

great

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
used it in my beans worked well!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Great survival food!

12/19/2012
By ,
Elizabeth Lake, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This isn't Spam but close. Browning slices brings out the flavor. Would not recommend eating cold but that's just my opinion. When we have an environmental disaster you will be happy to have this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Excellent canned ham.

02/03/2014
By ,
Phoenix AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is this spiral cut honeybaked ham? Er, no. However, what this IS, is an excellent product that is awesome value for the money. You get a full pound of product in a can. It is perfect for camping, cabins, boats, stashing in the cupboard for an emergency.. and once opened, it is easy to cut and tastes great. I have used it with eggs and beans for breakfast, in a sandwich for a snack, or just eaten it right out of the can. Once opened I place the can in a ziploc bag in the fridge so the ham remains fresh and firm, ready for use.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Great Item

12/30/2012
By ,
Huntington, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great disaster prep item. The one purchased recently had a 5.5 year shelf life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next