Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dak Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Dak Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Average Customer Rating:
3.326 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
12
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation61%54 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 34 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
12
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

very bad

11/16/2012
By ,
west palm
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted to let you know i recently bought 2 DAK hams from Walmart and when i opened the first one it looked bad. it appeared to be some meat and a lot of fat pressed together and when i opened the ham it self there were just chunks. I then opened the second one and it was the same. i threw them both out.i don't know whats going on at the plant but there is no way these hams should have been sold. i have bought these hams before and never had this problem . I also took photos and i will never buy this ham again this is totally uncalled for!!!! the codes on the labels were 06:12 260 EXPR: 0201-2017 i sent a 2 emails to the company and got not response
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:A few times per year
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Terrible product NOT premium at all

06/27/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
See my photo of this mess, and compare it to the photo on the label of the product can. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is nothing but chunks of fat pressed together with chunks of light and dark meat. Has a grey, off-color appearance. VERY salty, does not hold up well when heated; turns to mush. I'm especially befuddled because I lived in Europe for five years and I am used to high standards in European foods. I was expecting something similar to the Dubuque canned ham my mother used to purchase when I was a child. Instead, I received something which tastes and cooks worse than SPAM. I bought this over the internet and had it shipped to my home because Walmart is so far away. It appears there is no mechanism for me to report this as an inferior product and get my money back or a credit issued.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

The cats loved it!

08/22/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this ham to make Cuban jam croquetas. I always buy real jam but I wanted to give this a try figuring that this is what the Cuban bakeries all over Miami use to make their jam croquetas. For starters, this is machine separated jam. So you are getting left over scraps that are chemically cured, bound together with lard (fat), and machine formed to fit into a can. Is it food, yes; is it edible, yes; is it desirable...no! I gave the cats a chunk to see if they liked it and they loved it. So, it makes for perfectly cheap cat food. They devoured this stuff. I did use it to make the Cuban jam croquetas. They came out OK, frying them was fine since the binders in the ham prevented them from exploding. However, they had a slight taste of pig lard. Which, of course, is the fat used to bind these mechanically separated pieces of ham. I am not a fan of lard. Other than that, the croquetas were fine. I'll keep buying this ham but only to feed it to the cats.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Exceeded my expectations

12/06/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure what expect based on other reviews. I bought 3 cans at under $4/can at Walmart so I opened one. I found ham chunks compressed into shape with marbled fat between the chunks. The smell was of fresh ham and quite pleasant. It looked good and smelled good. My wife and I ate a 1/2" square piece cold. We both liked it. The predominant texture was of ham and we did not notice any fat. I thought it had a light saltiness. My wife thought it was more salty than I did. I cut a 3/8" thick slice length way and put it in the frying pan. While it cooked I found myself cutting cold pieces off the main piece of ham and consumed quite a bit by the time the slice was cooked. Once cooked the slice took on more of an appearance of whole ham fried in a skillet. After tasting it hot I must say I would enjoy it with some scrambled eggs and hash browns. Overall, this ham is great for camping, everyday use, and long term storage. Nice product, fantastic price. My only criticism is the product in no way resembles the picture on the can. Other than that, I am happy and will buy 6 more for emergency provisions. 
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

arrived in great condition

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can buy food in the store cheaper than on line with coupons and price matching
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Dak Canned Ham

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ham goes good with most of my favorite dishes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

EXCELLENT for long term food storage and camping!

08/13/2012
By ,
Aurora, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a honey glazed ham like grandma used to make at Christmas time then just go buy a ham from the freezer section of the store! If you are looking for a quality canned ham that has a very long shelf life, then go no further. EXCELLENT to have a lot of this along side all of your other canned food for emergencies and for camping. EXCELLENT for every day use also! I'm a full time fire fighter and STRONGLY suggest prepairing for emergencies and having a well stocked food supply!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
michigan
you just dont know the tricks
Posted 10/25/2013
Look I dont know if this poster will see this but to new ppl coming along and reading this persons review, don't listen to them...every Christmas and Easter my mom would get Dak ham bake it with some cloves(full- they stick up),brown sugar and the juices that would seep out and it tasted better than any store brought ham you could get.my mom has long since passed away but now I make this ham and even the pickiest and snobbiest never know the difference
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Pretty darn good for being canned

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reviews of it not looking like the picture on the canned are spot on....looks nothing like that. That being said, it was pretty darn tasty and went well with the rice I mixed it in with. I plan on buying some more and adding to pizza and also to make sandwiches with. Give it a try, no its not "premium" and no it doesn't look like a 1 pc cut of ham, it is chunk ham pressed together....and nothing wrong with that. This is worth the price and I plan on buying monthly for my rice dishes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Excellent canned ham.

02/03/2014
By ,
Phoenix AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is this spiral cut honeybaked ham? Er, no. However, what this IS, is an excellent product that is awesome value for the money. You get a full pound of product in a can. It is perfect for camping, cabins, boats, stashing in the cupboard for an emergency.. and once opened, it is easy to cut and tastes great. I have used it with eggs and beans for breakfast, in a sandwich for a snack, or just eaten it right out of the can. Once opened I place the can in a ziploc bag in the fridge so the ham remains fresh and firm, ready for use.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Very Satisfied

09/08/2012
By ,
NE USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't see why anyone would complain, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this product. It's well packaged in a sanitary way, looks, smells, and tastes great. If you're looking for a high quality gourmet spiral sliced ham, or you're on a low fat diet, then buy fresh meats because canned meat products just aren't gonna be for you. Otherwise, this is a quality product with years of shelf life. It's great to have canned meat on hand for when I'm low on groceries and can't get to the store, weather emergencies, when camping, or for use in a college dorm. For every day meals, I use it for soup, macaroni and cheese. grilled cheese sandwiches, chopped in salad, or as a breakfast meat. The quality for the price makes it a really good buy. I've bought many over the years and I'm very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Great snack

07/08/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ham was very tasty and would be good to chop and add to pasta. Will buy more.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Excellent

07/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product...very good for sandwiches and keeps well on a shelf until you need that quick lunch or snack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Portion Sized Package

04/13/2014
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product from old line supplier.
Portion size is ample for two people as the meat entre
Portion size is sufficient for use as meat item in meal, say; scalloped potatoes, salad, breakfest, rice dishes etc.
Keeps forever and needs no refrigeration. Good size for barter too should you need to do some in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

works well in my navy bean and ham soup

10/04/2012
By ,
SW Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this and agree, its alot like spam. I adapted my recipe for bean and ham soup to accomodate. 1lb small navy beans (got mine at the dollartree) did the quick soak method, rinsed and put in my pressure cooker with 6 cups chicken broth (I used water and bullion cubes) 2 carrots, 2 celery, a small portion of onion, dash of garlic salt, salt and pepper. 1/2 tsp allspice. (dash of liquid smoke optiional) cook this WITHOUT ham for 40 mins at 10lbs pressure. open pressure cooker per manufacture instructions. Cut 1/2 of can in cubes and add to beans. Cook another 10-15 mins. easily feeds 4-6
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Unpleasant experience.

05/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will eat Vienna sausages but this was disgusting.
There were huge blobs of fat mixed in with processed slim and something that flaked like tuna.
I tried heating it up but that only gave the fat blobs the consistency of a warm marshmallow.
I am truly repulsed even thinking about this product again.
I wish I would have taken the time to read the reviews and saved myself this disgusting experience.
The picture on that can is nothing compared to what is inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz
04/06/2012
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These little hams are great for 2 people w/leftovers. We dress them up with brown sugar, ground cloves, pineapple and bake for about 30 mins. Leftovers make great omelet ingredients. Walmart has a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Great on an egg mcmuffin.

01/08/2014
By ,
Mascot, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I PURCHASED the Hamilton Beach Breakfast Sandwich Maker and the 16 oz. DAK Canned Ham (chilled overnight, then sliced into 16 thin slices); expiration date 4/23/2018. I cut a slice of American cheese to fit (4 inch diameter) and also 2 slices bread, scrambled the egg, and put all in the appointed places, waited 5 minutes. BEST breakfast sandwich ever this morning. All you naysayers about DAK Canned Ham don' t know what you're talking about. Oh, by the way, you can find the Comfort Grip Cookie Cutter 4 inch diameter, $3.19 on Wal-Mart online also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Great Value

01/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was very happy with the quality and price. This is a great size when you don't want a big ham. It's enough for dinner or breakfast for a family of 5. I like that they keep for a couple of years in my pantry and are easy to open. They have a pull tab so do not require a can opener.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

Tastes like ham, but it's not ham...

09/29/2013
By ,
Bethesda, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the fault of Dak for calling the product Premium Ham. It is, in fact, ham-flavor potted meat product. Its look and texture has been compared to Spam, but that's not quite it. I cooked it like ham, scoring the top and adding brown sugar, then drizzling it with water to make a glaze. And although it smells and tastes like ham, it has the consistency and look of soufflé or jello parfait. It is fluffy and can be eaten with a spoon.
I have been looking for meats that can be stored without refrigeration, but this will not be one of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dak Canned Ham, 16 oz

good shelf life, excellent emergency food

03/14/2014
By ,
Flathead Valley, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart has the best price I could find on these hams, and you can buy in bulk and have it shipped to your home. These are really good to have on hand in an emergency.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next