Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Get ready for fishing with the Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit. This kit has everything that you would need to start your fishing adventure. This combo has two Ugly Stik fishing rods of 5 each. The rod is very sensitive, so youll never come back home without a good catch. The durable Ugly Tuff grip makes for a firm hold on the fishing rod. The kit also includes guides made of stainless steel and a light graphite spinning reel. A tackle pack that includes a stringer, bobbers, jigs, weights, hooks and more also comes with this fishing rod reel combo.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%24 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Great

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son for his 10th birthday. Very durable and a great gift. Holds up to boy abuse. The fish at the pond weren't biting so he ended catching frogs. Great rod for everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

good for child

04/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The line is only 4 pound, thin and very easy to be tangled. Good for children's fun, not for fishing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Great Value

01/22/2011
By ,
McConnellsburg PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my grandson for christmas. He is a young fisherman and this is his first pole. It has all the quality of Shakespere fishing equipment at an affordable price. It even came with some basic hooks and lures in the package which I didn't notice when I ordered it.
This set is so much better than anything else I could find because it will still be usable when he's grown, unlike the competitor whose rod is 2 1/2 feet long, this is a full sized rod at a lower price and the real is a standard open faced Shakespere reel. A real value for your money, I can't say enough good things about this set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

good little combo

02/22/2012
By ,
chapel hill, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought two of these combos for my teenage boys to use for trout fishing as well as ponds/lakes. I like to use ultralight combos for trout but figured a light action rod would be better for the kids. They have yet to use them in a stream but I did assemble once receiving them and have cast them several times in the back yard. The action of the rod feels good and I think will be sensitive enough to pick up on light trout hits. The reel is not top of the line but did cast and retrieve nicely. I bought this combo mostly for the rod and will probably replace reel with a smaller size in the future, but will have to say it seems good size for stream fishing the way it is set up. All in all great combo for the price. Btw rod I received was light action, had noticed other reviews stating combo contained med. action rod, not the case for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Great cheap rod and reel

09/07/2013
By ,
Lafayette, IM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I challenge any pole against this pole. This is by far the best thing I have towards fishing. There is no need to spend more money for a rod reel than the cost of this. I had two problems that were easily fixed. This is a two piece rod, I did not like that so a drop of superglue and problem solved. The other problem is the line. If you get caught in the weeds your either getting wet or losing your lure. The original line snapped every time i got snagged. I spent just a couple of dollars and got way more line than I need and it hasnt broke since. This is a must buy, whether your fishing every weekend like me or once a summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Very Good

06/14/2009
By ,
Howell, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this pole for my daughter and her first fish caught was a 8 lb 19 in brown trout. We just went on our second fishing trip and she caught a bunch of sunfish. I highly recommend this pole for your kids! Great pole at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Great beginning light rod.

06/05/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this rod to go with my surf rod. This rod is light, easy to handle and transport. The 6-lb test line is spooled well and I have not had any twists in the line when casting and the spooling mechanism hasn't given me any problems as of yet. The basic tackle that came with the rod was a great plus also. I have caught several catfish using the reel, the largest of which was 2.25 lbs. Very satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Great pole for the price

03/28/2011
By ,
Molalla, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pole is quite adequate for your basic fishing needs, haven't caught anything with it yet, so I can't speak for it's strength, but it casts out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Killer Deal

09/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this a week ago and took it trout fishing. The first day my son caught a 36" - 2lb. brown. Landed it after a 45 min. battle. This setup performed like a miracle. Even got a yellowhammer on it later in the week. Hoping for a 9lb. brown in the livewell!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Awesome Deal

07/21/2010
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't go wrong with an Ugly Stick. There is an ok reel included and some nice crappie jigs. But I have seen the same rod alone elsewhere for more money than this entire set-up. Nailed 6 panfish the first day out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Great Rod and Reel for the Money!

02/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great starter rod and reel. Light weight and comes with everything you need to get started. Ugly Stick is a great rod and would definitely recommend for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Great item for the price!

01/26/2011
By ,
St. Cloud, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in Law Enforcement and we ordered these fishing poles for our summer camp for at risk kids. It comes with a box of tackle too and is very handy for what we need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

the bomb product

02/13/2010
By ,
washington dc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this fishing rod is what i needed to fish , like an expert on the solomon island banks this summer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

great deal for an ugly stik

09/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this came with a few rows of worms missing and a ripped open package. I bought this for the ugly stik rod so the stolen worms didn't bother me. for the price i paid ($18), i thought it was a really good deal for a very well known and durable rod. the reel is okay maybe for small mouth bass fishing. the reel is a tiny size. maybe size 1000 on the scale of other companies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

great for anyone!

07/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this rod for trout fishing great rod for not only beginners but advance also i only use the rod and give away the rest!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

great river pole

09/04/2013
By ,
Carson City, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this combo for a river pole. It's definitely a good price but the reel isn't that good. I had to pull the line off of it because it wasn't spun right and it had way too much on it. Even my friends couldn't believe Shakespeare would put their name on something so cheap. Second I can't really use a lot of the tackle that came with it because I don't live in a place with a lot of crappie or bass. Over all it's a good deal for the price just expect to buy a reel after a couple uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Good little combo

05/12/2012
By ,
Salem,OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this combo for about a year now. the rod is by far one of the best ones i have ever had the reel is ok. the reason why the reel is ok is because it does not have left/right convertable hand retrieve and i reel with my right had but the reel is desinged for a left handed person. but other than that a great combo and good assortment of lures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

Not good.

10/11/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Every time 10th cast, the top part fly away. It's truly a beginners fishing pole. But it is a fishing pole so it works. I recommend to superglue the pole. Other then that, the pole is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

very good quality. great price.

06/21/2011
By ,
Lakeland, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice set up. Why is it an "Ugly Stick"? I think it's quite handsome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Fishing Kit

very good amateur rod, very good price and quality

06/18/2013
By ,
boston, ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ugly stick is a product with which you cant go wrong, ive used shakespeare products since i was a child and am happy to purchase one for my boy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next