Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

Get ready to spend the day in the great outdoors with this Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo. This Shakespeare Fishing Rod comes with the Ugly Stick along with a spinning reel. The size 50 graphite ball-bearing spinning reel comes already spooled with Cajun fishing line. The Ugly Stik is a two-piece, 7' rod. This spinning rod combo features double-footed guides and a convenient reel seat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%19 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

Bought as a gift

12/20/2012
By ,
Jax, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pole as a Christmas gift. I know my mom loves to fish, so I thought she'd love it. I'll know for sure on Christmas morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 2 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo
01/31/2010
By ,
Edgewood, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best Rod anyone could buy/use. Your wasting your money going with any other Rod other than an Ugly Stik.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Review 3 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo
01/22/2009
By ,
port richey FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought the rod and it does great for salt-water or fresh-water game fish, i have took it deepsea fishing and it does excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 4 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

07/15/2009
By ,
SAN DIEGO CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had heard about the ugly stick and its reputation but had not gotten around to buying one. Now I know what people like about them. The rod and reel combo is well worth the cost. I am someone who fishes several times a year and I am glad I bought this pole. Get one and you will see why.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Review 5 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

Love my "Shakespear"?

08/16/2009
By ,
Titusville Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a new UglyStik and this spooled 50 size reel was stuck to my new rod. WOW I would not have believed a $29 (Walmart store price I paid) combo reel would be so great. I was intenting to buy a new Okuma 65 to put on the UglyStik but I could not find one before heading out to do some redfishing. Super smooth and durable afer 6 month od steady fishing. THANKS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 6 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

A Great Fishing Pole

01/24/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have fished for many years with the ugly stick. I now have 6 of them and would not fish with anything else. If you want a great experience then get an Ugly Stick and fish with it you will never go to anything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 7 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

medium/heavy action

08/23/2009
By ,
worthington, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the reel and pole are excellent but the line is 12 lb test line cajun red, i think it should have stronger test line but it can be replaced. i like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 8 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

Failed to meet description.

02/16/2013
By ,
Marion, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a beautiful rod and reel for a great price. However, the description stated the pole came in two parts. I ordered it twice thinking there had been a mistake, but both poles came as one, solid, 7 foot pole that does not break down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 9 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

Nice quality piece.

01/02/2013
By ,
port huron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased as gift for my nephew. I was surprised when the 9 foot box arrived on my door step as I thought it said it was two pieces. The rod itself cannot break down into two pieces and as such will be difficult to transport in a car. Other than that it is a great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 10 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

I never saw it but my nephew loves it

12/30/2013
By ,
Portland, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sent direct from store to my nephew who is stoked about it. He's calling it a bass rod... I don't know if that's true but he's happy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

This is a great fishing rod for beginners.

08/04/2013
By ,
Lake Elsinore, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is light, sturdy and a two piece pole great for beginners. I read previous reviews on this rod and had heard by word of mouth that this pole is it. Well it true. Great pole I'm glad I bought it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 12 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

Good Pole

06/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have taken this combo out many times. The Ugly stick is a great rod, but after a couple big cats on the line the reel is starting wear out. Would recomend upgrading the reel if you plan for the big ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 13 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

Rod OK, reel not so good

07/29/2012
By ,
Jensen Beach, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After 2 weeks, my reel stopped working. The on-off switch stopped making the reel stop in one direction.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

reel drag locks up while retreiving line

09/17/2013
By ,
Piscataway, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great rod,but if your going to do some heavy fishing like I do, get the rod and forget the reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo
07/02/2010
By ,
Crescent City CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son and he loves it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

ift but I'd use it.

12/05/2009
By ,
Cumberland, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought it for a grandkid. I'd use it myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 17 for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo

Complicated

05/19/2010
By ,
Belleville,IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this for anyone with children we basically kept untangling it all day. What a mess. I'll stay with the closed reel from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-52points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5