Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

Whether you are just starting to fish or need to replace your tools, the Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit will have everything you need for a fishing trip. The kit includes a genuine 5' two-piece Ugly Stick fishing rod. It also features a durable Ugly Tuff grip, stainless steel guides and a stainless steel front cone on the spin casting reel. The kit comes with premium line, so you can catch the heavy fish. The Shakespeare kit also comes with a tackle pack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation83%10 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

Fisherman's dream

02/16/2010
By ,
Kalamazoo, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really suprised at the quality of the rod and real for the price. It was well worth the price and I ordered it on Sunday and received it on Monday. You can't beat that for timeleness when I didn't pay extra to get quicker shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

just like the big "ugly stick"

12/03/2008
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This rod and reel combo was great. I bought this combo for my 5 year old son because he wants an "Ugly Stick". It performed flawlessly like it's big brother and caught several trouts with it. The line it came with was great, never lost a single fish (like I thought I would).
Only flaw is on the design, all the guides are on the upper half of the rod making it hard to align them with the reel.
All in all, it is a great little combo.
I attached a photo of our catch.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

Whip me with this Ugly Stick

07/26/2009
By ,
cleveland ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I had been using my kids little Taz pole from 1995. It is just the right size if you fish for fun and don't expect to catch a whale. I lake fish and love this mid-size pole.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

Gift for grand daughter

03/06/2009
By ,
Louisburg, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 13 yr old grand daughter for pond fishing. She is very happy with this rod. I am thinking of getting one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

Great Rod Poor Reel

07/17/2009
By ,
New Hampshire
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The rod was great - As expected for an Ugly Stik.
The reel was another story altogether. I have been fishing for close to 40 years and have used many rod/reel combos.This combo did not feel well balanced and casting distance was awful. 10 -15 yards at best. I purchased this set for my 10 year old son and he did not like it at all. Used it once and returned it for credit. I purchased a ladies fishing kit for my 8 year old daughter at the same time (read the review) and was very impressed with the results.
Shakespeare needs to rethink this combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

worth the money.

12/13/2008
By ,
Austin,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of best fishing kit I have gotten. The first time I went fishing it with the Ugly Stik I got two fish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

Great for a bargin rod and real

08/19/2009
By ,
ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We opened the package and whent fishing. The only small problem with this set is it comes with a tackle kit but the tackle kit does not close once it's open. My friends had much more expensive gear than i did and i caught more fish using the cheap spinner this came with than they did using their fancy lures
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

NOT for your children/grandchildren

08/29/2012
By ,
East Brunswick, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I own five Ugly Stiks - my favorite rod.
Purchased this combo 4 my grandkids so they could have an Ugly Stik like granpa - reel is way too heavy, out of balance, even 4 most adults. If it were not 4 the Ugly Stik, I would have rated the "combo" as low as you can go.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit
07/14/2009
By ,
Albion, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this rod and reel excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit

My 8 yr old loves it!

12/28/2008
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for a beginner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shakespeare Ugly Stick Spincast Complete Kit
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5