Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Microspin Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Shakespeare Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Shakespeare Microspin Combo is a great ultra-light spinning combo, featuring rod and reel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%15 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

wow

04/14/2009
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this pole is great. it was only 20 bucks and its truly amazing. i have caught just every kind of fish with it. bluegill, bass, catfish, brown trout, brook trout, and rainbow trout. when i go trout fishing im never nice to my poles. im always jumping and climbing over rocks in the streams. i toss poles up then i go and let me tell you this pole has taken some punishment. i still have the line it came with on it. the biggest fish ive caughten on it is probably the 4 pound channel i caught. and it was a great 5 minute fight. i will deffinately be buying more of these so i will have spares for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Review 2 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

My first ultra light is the best ultra light!

07/03/2009
By ,
Littcarr, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never really have owned an ultra light and was wanting one, and found this beauty! I mean, $20? You're kidding me! This rod and reel combo has a cork handle, a hook keeper, a ball bearing reel, 4 lb. test, 4'6 rod, everything i always wanted. Well, did the reel do it's job? Sure did.
I took it out the same day i bought it out in the creek to catch some chubs and maybe a sunfish or two. I caught over 3 dozen chubs, and 2 sunfish with it! Even chubs up to 7-8 inches! The rod and reel held up very well. It casts all lures a country mile! I used the smallest ice fishing jig in my tackle box with a piece of bread on it and could cast as far and as accurate as i wanted!
And even the small fish felt like good fish on this combo! This isn't the smoothest reel, or the most sensitive rod, but it's good enough for me. And for $20, if it tares up i can get a new one easy. I really do love this reel and rod and recommend it to any chub or bluegill fisherman, or overall ultra light fanatics!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo
03/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Found my combo in the river stuck in a root wad about three months after trout season closed and about a mile downstream of the trout park. Cleaned and dried the reel greased it and have caught countless fish with it biggest was a 10 pound blue on 6 pound test. To take that kind of abuse has to be a good combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 4 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

A great rod

06/18/2009
By ,
oswego,illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i used to have a 7 foot shakespeare microspin but i accidentaly snagged a tree with it and it had a very expensive lure on it so i didnt want to cut the line so i just pulled then all of a sudded it snapped in half, i thought this happend because the rod was so thick so it wasent very bendy so i bought the smaller version that is 2.5 feet smaller and a lot skinnier so it can bend very much so it is a good rod, not the best for a begginer because it tends to get tangled, but if you are experienced enough it will be fine. it is also god for bass,crappie and trout, i did catch a 2.5 foot northern pike with it i also caught a medium length muskie so it is very sturdy and you can take it boating to it is pretty much good for any freshwater fishing hole.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Great as long as it lasted

05/16/2011
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this a few months and the spring in it broke so the reel is of no use now since you cannot buy parts for it. I loved it, catching anything from small to large was a lot of fun. I may go back and pickup another one but not sure yet. I contacted Shakespeare and they told me since it was a combo (rod and reel) you could not purchase any repair parts.
Another throw away product.
If you get one and it last you will love it.
Also the price was about $20 so maybe the part would have cost me more than that (including shipping).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Big performance

11/12/2008
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big performance from a small rod and reel.
I bought the rod just to abuse it and maybe, if I'm lucky, break it while catching channel catfish. To my surprise, this rod just kept on going. I caught a six pound channel cat and a few 2 pounders with this rod and it keeps on going.
I will be back and buy two more for our trout fishing trip this weekend and next time I will bring it out to the ocean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 7 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Super Cheap and Lightweight

09/17/2012
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this in July for panfish and have been really surprised. I've caught dozens of bream from shellcracker and green sunfish to big ole slab crappie. One night fishing from a pier in the local lake some stripers came up to feed and I spent a few minutes fighting what looked like a 10-12 lb striper. The drag worked as it should and the rod didn't break, so I figured that moment alone was worth the $20. I'm still using it, but I'm going to replace the reel with a pflueger micro since this reel is already deteriorating.
Overall, great for the price, lightweight and balanced. I wouldn't expect any more performance for the $$$.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Great value rod

09/09/2009
By ,
Columbia, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this rod at Dick's for $24.99!!! Walmart sure does have a cheaper price on this one.
I caught some good fishes with this rod. However, upon one occasion the hook got caught on the bottom and I didnt want to break the line.
Kept jerking it, the rod snapped in half. It is a great rod for the price, but I wouldn't hope to catch a keeper with this one. It will snap when you're least expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 9 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Get This!

11/30/2008
By ,
Lompoc, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For someone looking for some quick stream or creek fishing, this combo rocks! Its compact in size and price, but big in results. Great for hikers in the mountains, and families on vacation!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 10 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Great affordable combo

04/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent combo for fishing trout and panfish. it's small, durable and very sensitive. The only thing I did was replace the line with Berkley Spiderwire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 11 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Great Value

07/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this pole over a month so far and used it at least twice a week. It is a joy to go bream(or brim) fishing with it, but I have also caught bass, white and channel cat, and yellow perch with it. My buddy actually managed to reel a 2 foot gar to the boat with the spincast version of this combo(We couldn't get it in the boat though since we had no net). Like plenty of other reviewers have said it makes every fish feel like a monster. Can't beat this combo for 20 bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Microspin Combo

09/18/2008
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great little combo for the price. I use it for bluegill and sunfish but, I've caught a few good sized bass on it too. I only have one complaint. If I don't have the reel aligned just right, sometimes the line catches on it when I cast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/13/2012
I came from Florida and loved saltwater fishing, but when i moved to colorado there's a lack of salt water so i bought this for trout fishing. I figured a 7 foot pole was a bit over kill. Let me tell you this little pole is amazing! I can not praise this pole enough! I've caught countless fish on it without a problem.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

good little rod

05/10/2011
By ,
S.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i use this for crappie fishing and it works good. my son and i use them all the time we have caught 10+ pound carp with them, you can't manhandle them but you can get them in the boat
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Really fun rod.

05/17/2009
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ultralight is great for casting very small lures. The line is only 4 lb. test, so anything you catch feels like a whale.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

fishing equipment

04/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OUT WESTFISHING WITH UGLY STICK IS BES! DEEP SEA ANGLING OR FISH WATER................
-7points
Review 16 for Shakespeare Microspin Combo

Nice

03/07/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a decent pole for beginning fishing. Sturdy and decent for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points