Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sangean Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Sangean Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Enjoy music from your favorite radio station on the go with the Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver. It has a sensitive AM/FM tuner for precise tuning to 15 different radio presets. Featuring a Deep Bass Boost System (DBBS), it offers you a great audio listening experience. With its Auto Tune System, this digital AM/FM pocket radio automatically searches and presets all your memory channels based on the signal strength. It also has a button lock switch, which helps you to lock all the stations to prevent accidental altering. It has a stereo headphone jack, so you can plug-in any compatible headphones to enjoy non-stop music. This Sangean portable radio operates on 1 AAA battery and comes with a battery life indicator to make operation simple.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%15 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Am very pleased with the quality ,sound and price

04/11/2014
By ,
yulee.fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recomend this item for any one who likes a small radio, with head phonesThe features are very easy to operate and understand. I love it because how compact it is. Excellent price good value for your money. Would recomend it for anyone who is interested in this type of radio. very satisfied @ this point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Looks bad, works great.

01/28/2014
By ,
Milton, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has all the functions etc. that you need, but the transparent case makes it difficult to read what each button does. I really like it for during workouts - it perfectly fits into an old leather clip-on flip-phone case so I can clip it on my sweatpants. The earbuds that come with it are okay, but are fairly large and do not fit in my ears very well; however, during workouts I loop the wire over my ear and it seems to keep them. Don't know how long the battery lasts; haven't owned it long enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Very nice product

08/22/2011
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the quality of the product and the performance make this well worth the money. Seldom do we have a chance to buy something that exceeds other like products so much that there can be no comparison!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Small package delives big sound and value

10/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Sony Walkman small radio that I bought from Walmart years ago. It had good sound, however, I did not like the lack of a 90 minute auto shut off.
The Sangean unit is much smaller, offers the same type of features including the battery saving auto 90 minutes shutoff.
The sound is very good along with the reception. I would prefer a solid color case rather than the silly clear case. Overall, it does what I expect it to do and suggest it for those wanting a small unit with good sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Good value overall

07/03/2012
By ,
Hawaii
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this for late night private listening in a quiet environment. My favorite stations (jazz and classical) are somewhat distant...30-50 miles away but pretty much "line-of-sight". The radio's sensitivity is fairly good but not as good as my older Sangean 808 all-band radio (big) or my Onkyo and Kenwood stereo receivers. Not surprising for a radio dependent on its ear-bud wires as an antenna. One station is too noisy to be useful and the others have a little noise and possibly multipath whistle on the stereo signal but are still quite useable. The sound quality is quite nice. There is much less digital hash than on my late Sony Walkman with digital tuning. The controls are easy to understand and use and I have no difficulty using them in the dark. It seems reasonably robust but I haven't dropped it on concrete yet and I suspect it would likely damage the case. The included ear-buds have nice sound quality and good base but are very uncomfortable (too bulky) and hurt my ears when used for more than a few minutes. They also include a really junky foam cushion for the ear-buds which I immediately discarded for an aftermarket silicon rubber type. The display is easy to read but would benefit from a backlight for night use. I am still using my first AAA battery (alkaline) after some hours of use and it still shows full capacity. I could not find this radio at my local Walmart and had to order from the web. I would purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

good

03/20/2014
By ,
90033
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Super Buy

09/19/2010
By ,
Wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good clairity, easy to set up, does not zap the battery. Honestly I was surprised by this little unit. Fantastic product!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

nice radio

02/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great portable radio. It has great sound. I really like the clear case through which you can see the interesting components.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Sangean Pocket Radio

07/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Excellent sound quality!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Good Walking Radio

09/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well in my rural area on both AM & FM.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

Great 12 Y.O.A Birthday gift

09/26/2013
By ,
Mountain Home, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looked like something my Grand-daughter would like as a birthday gift. I was right, but, I have a hard time getting her attention because of her constant use of the ear-buds. She loves it !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear
09/12/2010
By ,
Pembroke Pine, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
product with great reception . price could be slightly better. perhaps about $10 less.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear
07/24/2012
By ,
King of Prussia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good reception. It's a little hard to see the buttons, but once you know where they are, it's easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear
03/10/2013
By ,
Macomb, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its the best Pocket AM/FM receiver I have ever purchased and I have had many in my life time, the best feature I like is he auto shutoff after 90 minutes because I quite often listen to it in bed and that feature saves the battery life which incidentally is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear

stinks!

11/15/2012
By ,
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The SONY Walkman gets much better reception, less or no static at all, and has more convenient controls for volume, on/off, and tuning! The Sangean is a flimsy, little piece of junk!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sangean America Pocket AM/FM Receiver, Clear
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5