Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua-Tech AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Aqua-Tech AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

AquaTech 30-60 Power Filter
Average Customer Rating:
3.718 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation69%27 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

waste of money

12/16/2012
By ,
omaha, ne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ran this filter on my 55gl as a second filter for my cichlid tank, i have another brand filter with the same spec ratings as well. This filter is junk, it constantly stops working, is VERY loud and doesnt even work. Dont waste your time or money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Regant Aqua-Tech 30/60

04/12/2009
By ,
Murfreesboro, TN.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This filter came with the Wal-Mart 55gl. tank I bought when I upgraded from a 10gl. I have 2 Oscars and their messy eaters, so I bought a second Regant Aqua-Tech 30/60 to compensate. Their rated at 300gl. per hour, so in a 55gl. tank...I have NO problems at all. And like the other post, It's made by Marineland and the "C" cart. will fit. Bottom line is...for what they are, and how much they cost...you really can't go wrong.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Good and quiet filter

10/12/2008
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this filter for a 29 gallon aquarium that I placed in my bedroom. I was concern about the noise the emperor 280 filter makes so I was looking for something a little bit more silent. The filter has been working for six months now and I have not had any problems with it. The biofiltration is good, since I never had an ammonia spike in my water. Overall I think is a good filter but a little bit pricier at $38 when compare to Marineland Emperor 280 at the same price on line. The big difference is the quiet operation and this was something needed for my bedroom. I was a little bit concern about Wal-mart been the only place that sells them but I discovered that Marineland Cartridge C is exactly the same replacement filter cartridge so now if my local Wal-mart store runs out of them, I always can find emergency supplies in other local fish stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hampstead maryland
thank you so much
Posted 07/01/2013
ive been looking all over for any info on any brands of filters that would also work with this product i order my supplys for my fishtank monthly (i bread guppys and sell them to local pet stores) recently bought a 29 gallon tank that came with the filter at a yard sale and often find walmart not a grate place to by filters (often i buy damanged products off the shelf or open boxes with missing filters for full price) but now that i know its a marineland c ill be putting in my order with petmoutain.com thay have never done me wrong and 6 filters for $7.49 vs walmart for $11.99 (yes my orders are often over $50 so i get free shiping) makes a grate value
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Good for a back-up

02/14/2010
By ,
Ashland , Ky.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought one for a back-up . It is a decent enough filter . I have used one for a few months when one of my Penquins went down . It done a good job keeping my tank clean , though I do not use their filters . I use refillable clam shell filters with a sponge and media bags in each filled with my media of choice . It's by far cheaper rinsing the sponge out in my fish bucket while doing a water change and refilling the media bags than buying new filters every month .They move a good amount of water and they are fairly quiet .
One of the first things I did was buy a Bio-Wheel kit for my Augua-tech 30 - 60 from my local pet store and I recommend that all that owns one do the same . The Bio- Wheels are a wet/dry filtration system that is a great place to grow added beneficial bacteria and great for polishing the water .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Junk. Stay away from.

02/23/2013
By ,
Boise, ID.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased one of these a few months back for my 50 gallon tank. It really didn't seem to move much water, so I thought that it was perhaps defective, and took it back to Wal-Mart for an exchange. But, with the second one, it was the same result. I ended up just taking it back for a refund.
Here's what I think that the problems are:
1. The motor with the impeller is just too small to move a large amount of water thru 2 filters, plus the black foam inserts. Within 2 days, even with relatively clean filters, the water slows to a trickle.
2. Once the water line drops below where the tube joints are, they must not have a tight enough fit, so air gets in there, making the water flow even worse, if that's even possible.
AquaTech needs to either beef up the motor to move the proper amount of water, or have 2 seperate motors, one for each side. In my opinion, do some research, and purchase something else that works MUCH better than this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Aqua-Tech 30-60

03/15/2009
By ,
Colchester,Ct
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great buy. Upon further research after buying this filter I found that its a cheaper version of the Penguin 300 series bio-wheel filters. The only difference is you dont have the bio-wheel to maintain or replace when they go bad. Its a very easy filter to operate and clean. The filter media is really cheap as well. The only complaint I have about the filter is really the filter cartidges dont contain as much carbon as I would like to see in them, however you can cut open the filter and add more if you are ambitious enough to do so. Again you can purchase that extra carbon from Wally-world aslo!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

An excellent product

11/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three years ago, I purchased one of these filters and a much more expensive one from a fish store for my 55 gallon aquarium. The more expensive one was noisier, hard to get filters for and harder to clean. After a year, the more expensive one broke and I replaced it with a second one of this model.
I have never had any problems with either filter in all of that time. All they need for maintenance is to clean them about once a month, change the filter, and fill them back up with water.
One filter was left running for about a week dry by accident when we left for vacation, and after cleaning it and filling it up with water, it still works like new.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Has been lasting me for years!

05/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this filter, the dual outlets are nice incase you let the filter media go too long, one side may get a lower flow but you never lose too much flow. I own an aqua clear 70 and magnum 350 canister as well. All good products, but this was the cheapest of the 3 and performs quite well. Also you can buy pillow batting to use as filter media with the mesh pot scourers to maintain beneficial bacteria. It keeps my tank mechanically clean and I havent seemed to have problems with biological filtration with it either, keep the filter foam and rinse the cartridges as long as you can but then just use filter fiber/ pillow batting, it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Works excellent, "but" rather noisy

06/07/2014
By ,
Astoria, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Runs well, "but" rather noisy. Can be heard all over the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Maybe I just got a defective unit ?

09/01/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I own a aqua tech 20-40 in addition to the 30-60. No problem with the smaller unit but this 30-60 has been nothing but headaches. I have already replaced the impeller twice and now it rattles like it's choking on a rock, which it's not. Only had this one for three weeks. Waiting for a new impeller from marineland. If that doesn't fix it, I'm returning the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

love it!

01/07/2011
By ,
Hazel, Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is so much better then what i had..the ones i had made a rippling sound that got on my nerves bad, but this on is so quiet and seems to do a good job on my 55 gallon tank
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Awesome Product

01/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't buy expensive MarineLand biowheel products. They quit working. The wheels stop turning and your tank suffers. I have had aquariums for two decades. This product keeps my 40 gallon aquarium crystal clear! The fish have a great environment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Disappointed!

05/30/2012
By ,
Mississippi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been in the aquarium hobby for many years, and was diappointed how that the quality of this product is not as good as it once was. Now, it is very noisy, so noisy that I returned it and I do not recommend this product as is.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

not Disappointed Yet

02/15/2014
By ,
Savannah,Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did not give it a perfect review as not used it long, but so far it cleared up my tank in hours, So know it is working.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Great product!

02/14/2009
By ,
Pueblo, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is about the most inexpesive filtration unit you can buy! I have many tanks and use them in all because they are dependable and much cheaper to run than any product I have found at petco or petsmart. Filter cartridges is where you really save all the money on this filter. Buy in bulk for greater savings!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Terrible filter, Uggg

04/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First let me say I'm not a new to aquariums, so take what I say serious when considering purchasing this filter.
I bought three of these filters and every single one of them rattles and its extremely loud. Tried everything I could to fix them "Clean this do this do that" with no results. A waste of time and a waste $120. Not very happy with this company will not suggest the product in fact I speak against, Made an account to warn others. There are way better alternatives. I have other filters that do not make the slightest noise, these ones will drive you bananas. Don't buy It !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

gets job done at a good price

02/13/2009
By ,
mt. airy, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought one of these for my 55 gallon tank and it worked great. ive now upsized to a 120 gallon tank and i bought another of these filters and use 2 of them on my 120 gallon and they work great there too. they are quiet and get the job done and are alot less expensive than bigger filters that do the same job. i would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Real quiet and easy to maintain

08/04/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this filter is the only one you will need for aquariums in the 30-60 gal. size. wish I could buy just bio-fiber filters only, but overall a pretty good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Outstanding, Worth the money

11/04/2011
By ,
Lawton,OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very impressed with this Filter system. I am using it on my 40 gallon tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for AquaTechPower Filter 30-60

Too NOISY

03/06/2013
By ,
Garden Grove, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this coz it has 4 stars review. This filter is too noisy. I wouldn't mind the noise of the trickling water but the motor is like grinding rocks. My fishtank is outside my bedroom in the washroom but i can still hear it. I actually like how the way it looked but the noise is too irritating. Im going to return this. and by the way, water does not flow like that the way they show on the picture. It goes to underneath the rim of the tank. When I was at work I received a call from home that the fishtank broke coz water leaking everywhere & damaged the floor & cabinets (washroom is on 2nd floor) only to find out that the water flows erratically. Sometimes its okay sometimes it doesn't & im afraid that if i go out of town the filter will stop working.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next