Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua-Tech AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

Aqua-Tech AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

10-20 Aquarium Power Filter
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation69%11 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

wow

01/24/2010
By ,
Brick, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this thing filtered out my 10 gal tank very quick and keeps it clean i recamend this for a small tank!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

not what i expected

08/11/2014
By ,
bradenton FL.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this pump to replace a tetra 2-10 pump I got with a 10 gallon aquarium that I bought new. being I have owned a few different pumps before and 1 of them being the 5-15 aquatech old style power filter that worked great in my other 5 gallon tank. I decided to give this one a try. set up is easy I had to trim my lid for it to fit my 10 gallon aquarium. The filter could be better it is a piece of foam for the back not see threw, another piece of see threw bigger hole foam for the front and here's the best part a plastic square piece with slots in it to let the little bits of charcoal to fall out of it threw the slots. I was skeptical and hooked it up filled pump, plugged up and the water turned hazy fairly quickly. It does seem to pick up the water good threw the intake with pieces of food etc. I think this is a new product and if it is maybe they can work the filter part out. I also bought replacement filters and shook the box a little and charcoal fell out of the bottom. It says run 24 hours before adding fish so may be it will clear up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

Very Unhappy

07/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was unhappy about paying $22 for a filter but I needed one for fish that a friend gave my son. Bought everything to set up the tank and this filter. Well the fish haven't even been in the tank a week and the water is horribly cloudy. I do not know why but this is NOT my first fish tank. I have had many and never had this problem. I have noticed if I push the cartridge all the way down into the bottom of the housing as it should be the water doesn't flow through and just goes through the overflow therefore no filtration. I have had to seat the filter just above the bottom of the housing to make the water flow properly but this obviously leave room for water to escape under the filter and therefore also no filtration. I will be purchasing a different filter and returning this one because this is absolutely ridiculous!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

Great Filter For Goldfish in a 5 Gallon Tank.

08/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the typical 5 gallon set-up with comes with everything except the fish, water, gravel and seaweed embellishments. I have two 3" goldfish in this tank and they quickly overwhelmed the filter with their by-products (dung). The tank started getting cloudy in 4-5 days and steadily got worse. I did a few partial water changes but the cloudiness persistently came back. The goldfish started to show signs classic signs of Ammonia Burn (their fins and gills started turning black). So I upgraded to this filter thinking that it would solve the cloudiness/Ammonia problem but it did not. As it turned out, I noticed that dung was getting trapped in the seaweed, gravel and plastic log I had in the tank so I removed them all and did a full change of water. Since then, the cloudiness has not reappeared, the black burns on the fins and gills has disappeared because the filter sucks up 100% of the dung. I still think this pump is part of the cure mainly because it really stirs up the aquarium and gives the fish a work out if the swim into the stream. It was a great upgrade! PS: The fish could care less about the gravel, seaweed, all these pigeons of the sea care about is their next feeding...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

ouch

06/18/2014
By ,
ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one from local store. It was quiet, but only lasted a few hours before refused to work. I guess the motor was broken so returned it the second day.
Do not buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

great, quiet

04/20/2009
By ,
Platteville, Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome. works great with my 20 gallon tank. is very quiet. only problem was that the water level had to higher then I normally keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

Horrible filter!

02/25/2014
By ,
Havre de Grace, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I could give this 0 stars, I would. I bought 1, brought it home, plugged it in and water started streaming out of the bottom through what I assume was a broken seal. I boxed it up, returned it, bought a second one and headed home. The exact same thing happened again! I called the help number on the box and was told that they have had this complaint before and they could send me a replacement o-ring in 7-10 business days. Needless to say, I returned that one, too and bought a Tetris brand- and that one doesn't leak!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

Awesome!

01/17/2010
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my aquarium for about three years now and tried all kinds of filters and this is by far the best! It is super quiet (all you really hear is the waterfall) and keeps my tank very clean. My fish even love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

Fits My Tank!

12/25/2011
By ,
Lancaster, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 16 gallon, bow front tank that came with a filter that is just powerful enough to move the water, but it doesn't completely fit the back of the hood. I tried a 20/30 filter and that was too large and too powerful. This one fits. It fits as if it should have been included with the tank! Water is clearer than the one that came with the tank because this one covers 10/20 gallons and the one that came with it only states 10 gallons on the box. Good buy for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

Great filter if u dont have alot of fish

12/04/2009
By ,
Bellevue, Ne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i had about 9 big fish in my 20gal tank and this filter worked well for about a month but i didnt think it was going to last more than 5 with the fish i had in there it started to loose power a couple of days ago still works but bought a better filter and using this one as booster for the new one so i dont run that one down to but all in all its a good filter i would recomend this if u dont have alot to spend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
west hempstead ny
.....
Posted 08/14/2013
u probably have too many fish in a small tank
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter

good litttle filter

08/30/2013
By ,
RDU. NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
quiet easy maintenance and functional
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter
11/13/2012
By ,
Meadow Bridge, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dosent work as well as the old one that I thought had gotten weak. I am going to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for AquaTech 10-20 Power Filter
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5