Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Tetra Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

The Tetra Aquarium Tank is the ideal solution for first-time fish owners. This simple yet beautiful set-up includes essentials you will need to raise happy and healthy fish. The 1.5-gallon tank is constructed from impact-resistant acrylic, which will help to provide a safe and secure home for your new pets. It includes a whisper-quiet, air powered, three-stage filtration system. It comes with filter cartridges that are easy to replace to help keep the water fresh and clean. The aquarium cube tank by Tetra provides the ideal spot to display your exotic sea creatures with plenty of space to add colorful plants and accessories. Other features include a low-volt 9-LED light that is adjustable using red and blue lenses. There is also an integrated drawer that provides additional storage space for your aquarium supplies.
Average Customer Rating:
3.66 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation70%35 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Not Bad (Read instructions thoroughly)

04/28/2010
By ,
Azle, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a pretty decent fish tank. The filter works fine, and is about as loud as any other I have had. I noticed there were several complaints about it not working soon after set-up. This can be avoided by carefully reading the instructions. The part that the tube connects to that plugs in the wall needs to be higher than the actual filter, if not, water won't flow the way its suppose to defeating the purpose and causing it not to work.
Fine for a betta, except it is reflective. My betta spends his days chasing his reflection. Would be just fine for select guppies. As with all fish though, I reccommend reading up on them before purchase to get the most life and enjoyment out of them. Some fish, as I have learned require at least a 36 gallon tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

My review of the tetra 1.5 gallon tank

06/03/2013
By ,
Cambridge, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off I love the little stand the tank sits on but I'm kinda jealous of the other version that has the storage in it, and the tank is clearer then glass, and stronger, and not to mention, weighs less, but buyer beware!!! This product will scratch very easy do not use any rubbing pads or cleaning products unless its a brand new microfiber cloth, and a acrylic safe cleaner, now if it gets scratched it can be fixed, but I reccomend rocks without sharp edges or marbles or something fancy like that, and be extremely careful when cleaning and putting things in or you will scratch! Now onto the hood, it fits on nicely and has a nice little feeding hole, with a hole in the back for the filter, and holes on either side for a heater cord, air bubbler or whatever you want, and the light fits into this little slot on top of the hood and shines through it there is 8 LEDs and it does a nice job lighting the tank up and the switch is easy to access as well, and cleaning it is easy you just take it out, however be careful it just sits in the spot kit doesn't actually clip in and if your not careful you might drop it in the filter slot into the water the pump is somewhat loud as it uses bubbles to carry water through the filter and out the slot, and be careful when your putting the catridge in, I put it in the wrong way and it pushed out on the filter cause I tried to force it in and it actually goes in the other way it narrower on the bottom see, and it doesn't say that in the instructions, I cannot say how well the filter actually works as I've only had it a few hours and I'm only putting shrimp in it but this is a nice tank, just be careful with it, and maybe get a different filter as it is kinda loud
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Good for betta's

11/21/2009
By ,
San Diego, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little tank for betta's, would really recomend 2 gallons or more for them. If you dont have the room for something bigger this is a great little tank. I don't recommend this for any fish other then betta's and or tetra's. You do need buy a heater seprate, for your betta. Has pleanty of room for small and medium size plants. The filter does hum when its on. Not best filter in the world. DOES NOT come with gravel,plants,heater,theremoniter,water condinoter or food. So if your looking for something more then a betta get a bigger tank.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Great tank!!

03/14/2009
By ,
W.Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tank for my 7 year old daughter, and put in 2 gold fish, also just added a small catfish. It is perfect for her! The filter is whisper quiet, the pump does hum if you don't cushion it, but overall it was a great investment for her. I have absolutely no complaints about this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

good for price

06/28/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The only bad thing about this little tank so far is, its not even two months old and the filter isnt working correctly anymore, its slow and its not moving the water, i have had fish all my life, also it does bow a bit when it is completely full but that doesn't bother me to much it just i hate that i now have to buy a new filter, which they cost almost as much as the tank, i also wish the lid was completely closed in instead of having the large opening for the top of the filter which if the filter is up that high it use to spit water everywhere, , but other then that for the price of the tank its a good little tank and Bert my betta loves it, so that i guess is what counts
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Affordable Starter Tank

07/18/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently purchased this tank for my daughter after she won a couple goldfish at a carnival and they seem to be doing well. It seemed a better option than buying a fish bowl (its a little bigger and includes a filter). The only extras we had to buy were some gravel & plants as it includes food & conditioner for the water. I also like the LED lighting as gives a nice glow, but doesn't heat the tank up like some other lights do. Eventually we will upgrade to something bigger, but it is a nice space-saving option & a good starter tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Nice starter (or desktop) combo

01/11/2010
By ,
Levittown NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tank about 6 months ago when my pond fish had a few babies and I wanted to keep some alive (they would get eaten had they stayed in the pond). I have 3 tiny goldfish in there and they are thriving!
I spruced it up with a small bag of gravel, an artificial plant to start and a real plant (bulb). Sits on my desk and gives me something pleasant to watch all day long.
I put one Aponogeton Bulb in there (sold here) (only 1 of 5 that sprouted, still a good deal). The tank may be getting some indirect sun but the main light is from the LEDs and the plant is thriving! The plant is enough to eat all the nitrates my fish make so the water tests perfect (zero nitrites or nitrates).
The filter gets changed about once a month. The air pump is noisy if you let it touch anything, best to hang it by the cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

great little tank

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
had this tank for about 2 months now. easy to set up, have it at the office. it holds all the decor nicely with plenty of room to swim around. the light is bright and the filter is whisper quiet and easy to set up.
my only concern was how to clean it since its not large enough to get one of those gravel vacuums, solution, Turkey Baster !! works great, precise suction and cleans bottom of tank and corners great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Good starter

01/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for a couple of guppies. The filer works and the tank is big enough for the guppies to swim. It's been a couple of weeks and the water is still clean/clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Great for Bettas

10/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boyfriend bought this tank for me about a month ago and it works GREAT. I only have one betta fish in it right now, and he seems to be doing good. The only problem I can see with it is the filter...it is a little bit too strong for my betta, but it DOES work if you read the instructions...I do turn it off occasionally (like right after I feed my betta), because it does have a strong current...Overall, I would recommend it for anyone wanting a betta.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Not Bad For Starters

05/20/2009
By ,
Middletown, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a great starter product! Effortless in set-up - I think it took longer for us to pick out a fish than it did to set this tank up. Convenient, easy to use, great conversation piece. Super-quiet filter. The only downside is trying to find replacement filters - it seems as though the larger, more popular filters are easier to find than the smaller ones. Kids, parents, grandparents find this interesting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Not worth the money

07/21/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought this was a good little tank for the first few days until the filter stopped doing it's job at all. I tried rinsing it out and changing the filter even though only a few days had passed and it still does not move water through it anymore. The pump is going but it seems like it's much to weak after a day or two of use to do anything. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Excellent made PICO Reef out of this tank

11/27/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tank and immediately put in 4lbs of Live sand right from a stable refuge Saltwater tank, I added 1.3 gallons of water from the same refuge tank, I then added a one pound base rock from a system running off of the refuge tank it was covered in feather dusters. I have since added 2 dwarf hermits, 1 blue leg, 1 red leg, i have a couple limpids, tons of pods, over 15 feather dusters that are active, and a yellow tail damsel all in this tank so far all is stable with just weekly 10% water changes, which as you can guess is like a glass full of water. I highley recommend this aquarium for a desk top saltwater pico tank. however though I have not had problems I would highly recommend that you will always have time for a weekly water change, and top offs! I am working on upgrding the lighting and will soon be adding soft coral to this tank to complete the pico reef on my nightstand!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Great for Betta

10/17/2009
By ,
Hanover, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking for a tank to hold a single fish such as a betta or goldfish, then this is the tank for you. After winning a carnival goldfish, we bought this tank for our son. He not only loves to watch his fish, but he enjoys using the tank light as a night light. The filter hums just a little bit which creates white noise for better sleeping. I have to admit that the box is deceiving by advertising a few fish in the tank. The size of this tank is too small for more than 1-2 fish.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

10/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was reading the reviews on this product and came across a few that said the filter stopped working within days. I purchased this tank 6 months ago and it works GREAT!!! I bought it because of the filter and boy does it help keep my water CLEAN & CLEAR! I only have to change the water monthly and my fish is totally still alive after 6months! lol no need to change the water weekly like it should be done with bettas. I like how it came with a few starters supplies and love the lil storage compartment. The only thing I don't like is the light, its not as bright, the only time you can see it is when all lights are off. Other than that its a good, cheap product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Adorable for a betta

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to upgrade my sad, sickly betta I keep in my cube at work. This little tank was just what he needed. Now he is up and swimming around and much happier. I have 2 90 gallon tanks at home so I had left over decor. As far as a heater the normal tube heaters I had leftover wouldn't fit with this setup. To those complaining about the filter what do you expect for the size and the setup. Anything is better than the little bowl I had him in. I don't hear the pump at all with all the white noise at work, I also keep it under my desh and fed the hose though (I had a longer tube left over from another tank). I would definitely recommend this for a betta or small tetras nothing else though as it is small.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Amazing, good price, actually works

06/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went to Walmart and thought that this tank would be a good way to start. It was only around 19.99 at the store and I bought gravel and water conditioner. I was sort of sad that it didn't include everything that was on the package. Bought food at another store. So far, it's been around a week and the filter still works. My fish are happy but it's a really small tank so I can't really fit anymore in there. I have 2 zebra danios, 2 black mollys, and a corydoras catfish. I want to get another catfish so that it won't be lonely. . . so yeah.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Fish Paradise

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my daughters goldfish, previously I had a 1 gallon tank with no filter and I was tired of having to change the water every other day. I read all the reviews for several tanks. I was nervous because some of the bad reviews, but I haven't had any issues. It looks beautiful, light works great, and the filter does its job. Perfect product for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

Nice tank but filter is a disappointment

02/28/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like the tank size and design but the filter is not very good. I agree with other reviews that the filter doesn't do a very good job and is noisy. I am going to try to find another filter that will fit but If I can't find one I am going to return and keep looking for another Betta fish tank.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank, 1.5 Gallons

buy somthing else

10/15/2008
By ,
Weymouth, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this as a hospital tank for one of our female bettas. The filter is very loud and stopped working within three hours. It can be used without the filter for bettas buy it would be cheaper to just get a bowl. Also it shows goldfish on the box and it is much to small a tank for goldfish.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next