Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra Heater 5-15

Tetra Tetra Heater 5-15

Tetra Heater 5-15
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation73%57 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Not worth the money

12/16/2012
By ,
stl,mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This heater is not worth the 15$ it costs. does not keep my 1 gallon betta bowl 78' that it says it will. I would never buy this again. I am not happy with it at all. I have 2 small tetra brand heaters in my 1 gallon betta bowl hoping that between the 2 it will actually maintain a decent temperature. maintaining a decent temp is imperative to keeping illnesses away, and when a fish is sick (even a betta! they are tropical fish and need temps warmer then room temperature) a warm aquarium is important for healing and fighting the illness, IMO this heater doesnt do that adequately. I would rather have a warm healthy fish and a bulkier heater then a hide-able heater that doesnt actually keep my tank at an ideal temperature.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Does what it says

06/03/2013
By ,
Cambridge, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It keeps the tank at 78 degrees plus or minus 2 degrees, doesn't take up much space, little red light says its heating, suction cup works nicely, unplugged now it's summer though
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Great product

08/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used 2 of these heaters for the past 3 years and they have both been great. The heater does a good job of keeping up the temperature. I know this for a fact because my fish have been healthy and have lived long lives. I also own a crayfish and it has molted which is a good sign that the water is at the right temperature. Many people are reporting that it does not raise the water temperature to what they want, but that is probably because they are checking the temperature of the glass on the outside. You should dip your finger in to see if it's warm to decide because the glass will always be cooler than the water. This heater also has a small red light that glows when it's heating the water and it turns off when the water has maintained the right temperature, so don't take it as being broken. If you want to check to see if it's still working, place it in a cold bowl of water and plug it in. If it works, the red light should glow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Small Heater for Small Tanks

11/02/2008
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Locating an aquarium heater for a tank less than 10 gallons is no easy task; the majority of heaters aren’t designed for smaller aquariums despite their continued popularity.
I chose the Tetra Whisper Heater 2-15 gallon model for a few reasons; 1) I’ve used Tetra products over 25 years, 2) Its compact size of 4.75”. There is no thermostat; the heater is designed to maintain the water temperature between 76-80 degrees. I have monitored the temperature in my 5 gallon Mini Bow over several days, the temperature has evened out to 79 degrees. It is safe for acrylic tanks (I checked before purchasing), is completely submersible with the option of vertical or horizontal positions and contains a indicator light to let you know its working.
I am quite pleased with this little heater and I’m sure my Betta (Indiana Jones) is thankful he won’t be subjected to temperature fluctuates that could lead to illness.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Doesn't Heat Water Properly

04/22/2013
By ,
Spanaway, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I breed fish and some of the tropical species need the warmer waters in the high 70's to low 80's. I purchased this one because it seemed like a good value. The heater says it heats up to a 15 gallon tank to a constant temperature of 78 degrees. Unfortunately that is not the case. I had it in a 10 gallon tank for an entire week and it never heated the water more than 74 degrees. The last straw was when it let the temperature fall to 72 degrees. 4-6 degrees doesn't sound like a big deal but for fish it's a deal breaker. For the same price I found one at pet store that you can manually change the temperature on. For the beginning owner that just wants to keep a couple hardier species of fish this product MIGHT be okay. But for anyone that really wants their fish to thrive I'd pass on this one. If I pay for a product that says it heats to 78 degrees then that's what I expect. Very disappointing product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Proper prep not in instructions!

01/27/2014
By ,
Kansas City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Like a few reviewers, I've had issues with this heater. I came back to read the reviews and I realized that in the directions nowhere does it say you should let the heater acclimate to the water before turning it on. I unplugged it for 30 minutes (while submerged in water of course) then plugged it back in, and within an hour the water in my 10 gallon tank was reading 76*. So if you have this problem try unplugging it and letting it sit for a bit before turning it back on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Didn't work

10/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all the directions carefully. After plugging it in, I waited for the tank water to heat up. The heater light only lit up once initially. However, after that it didn't work at all. Water never heated up. I gave it a few days; even tried unplugging n plugging, but nothing worked. Perhaps the heater I received was a faulty one. Waste of time; returning it!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra Heater 5-15

great product!

03/30/2009
By ,
Fresno,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this water heater! it works great! we have a large tank and it's filled half way with water. about 50 gallon. it works well with our tank. we first got this water heater in 2007 (fall) so really it does last . it's automatic and even our new cichlids loves the water. they just breed and the fry are so adorable!! we placed our water heater near the flitter. Our cichild spwan their eggs near the heater..so now that's their territory. you can't beat the price for such a good h20 heater!
***As you can see in the picture, our two cichlids are near the waterheater protecting their fry***
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Keeps my tank at 76 degrees all the time

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it on a 3 gallon and 5 gallon and it works to keep water between 76 to 78 degrees. Does a good job. Does what it says. I have no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra Heater 5-15

The best Betta heater ever!

03/20/2014
By ,
Soap Lake, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Betta has never been happier since getting this heater! Someone said that the directions were not proper and that the heater needs to be acclimated to the water? That's not true. Think about it: It's not in the instructions because it's not necessary!! Just put the heater in the tank wherever you want it, plug it in, and it works. It keeps the water perfectly warm for my Betta.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra Heater 5-15

GET IT!

12/20/2010
By ,
Winter Haven, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater is great for my 2.5 gallon Betta tank. it keeps my tank between 78-81* its wonderful, and my female loves to sleep on it :)~ its tough and dependable - love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra Heater 5-15

good little heater

04/29/2009
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this to put in a 6 gallon tank. It keeps the tank at a steady temperature of 76. Overall, I am pleased with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Great Heater

10/04/2012
By ,
IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was leery of this because of some reviews but it works well. The only draw back is it is not adjustable, and the price is too high for a low watt heater. I got a heater twice the size for 4 dollars more, but online. Tetra makes great products for fish keepers on a budget, but this heater could be 10 dollars since it only heats tanks 5-15 g. But it does have an indicator light (unlike even expensive heaters) and keeps the water very even.
The compact casing does wonders to keep it safe, but the packaging NEEDS to be adjusted. the case is open to break right in the store, and I have found some broken. I mean there is not even plastic between the box and the heater. So pick out one carefully. If it adjusted and was less expensive it's would be a killer heater. Very good for anyone looking for a betta, or smaller 10 g heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Warmth Is Good

11/08/2010
By ,
Coal Creek Canyon, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living in the mountains, with varying heat/cold,
our Betta needed a constant temperature. This
heater is keeping the new 5 gal. plastic tank
between 75-79 degrees. Its nice to have the
light going on and off to know that its working.
Azul is more active and happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra Heater 5-15

I have owned for 2 years...

08/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this for 2 years and has done a good job, but now it is starting to "cook" my turtle...
I checked the water and it was 95!!
Luckily my turtle was okay, but I unplugged it.
I recently plugged it back in, and it just continues to heat and heat and heat.
Going out to buy a new one today. Just thought I needed to share this experience.
Make sure you monitor it, but like I said I have had it for 2 years... Just started to have problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Tetra Heater for Aquarium 5-15 gallon

07/14/2012
By ,
Madison Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the heater and installed it. I love it. It is perfect for the aquarium and for the price, it can't be beat. You can install it either upright or horizontally in the tank. it is small enough that you can't see it. It is not in the way at all and keeps a perfect 78 degrees Temp for my beta fish. Bubbles is very happy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Purchased this for a 10 gallon tank

03/29/2013
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this heater for my 10 gallon fish tank i just purchased yesterday. I noticed the lighting in the hood above the tank kept the water somewhat warm, but i decided to purchase a heater to make sure the water maintained the adequate level of heat throughout the entire tank for the fish i intend to purchase. When i first installed it, i waited 20 mins then plugged it in. The little red light never came on and the warmth of the water stayed the same over the next couple of hours. I instinctively thought i bought a defective item. Since the water in the tank was already warm, i tried getting a glass of ice water, submerging the heater and waiting 20 minutes. When i plugged it in the little red light came on and within a couple minutes the ice began to melt and the water started heating up. I turned off the light to my fish tank and re-installed the heater. After another 20 minutes i plugged the heater back in and the red light came on for a few minutes and then went off. The water has since maintained its warmth and i have turned the light back on under the hood of the fish tank. I have not seen the red light on the thermometer pop back on yet, but the water is warm. I will be purchasing thermometers in the morning and observing the consistency of the temperatures for a few more days before i purchase any fish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Frustrated!

01/25/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this heater through Walmart 2xs. The first one lasted two days. The second one lasted one day. The directions say "submerge in water, then plug in." That's what I did. The box and directions both say that the heater will maintain the tank temperture at 78 degrees. The first heater I had brought the water temp to 74 and the second made it to 70. Now my fish are cold once again.
On the plus side, I really like the overall appearance of this heater. It is small and blends into the background (that would be why I purchased it the second time).
If you buy this item, I hope you have better luck! (Oh, my tank is 10 gallons. So, if you have a smaller tank, maybe it will work better.)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Doesn't seem to be keeping the temperature at 78

12/31/2013
By ,
Mt Pleasant, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this heater for my 2 gallon tank. It's supposed to keep the tank at 78 degrees but the tank has stayed at a pretty constant 76. This heater is recommended for tanks 2 through, I believe, 15 gallons so I'm surprised it isn't keeping the right temperature on such a small tank. The onlly thing I can think of is the thermometer I'm using is one that is placed on the outside of the tank so perhaps it just isn't giving an accurate reading.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra Heater 5-15

Does not heat well

09/23/2013
By ,
Murphy N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this heater for my little Betta fish to heat her 3 gallon tank. I had high hopes for this heater as it stated on the package it would heat up to 78 degrees however it does not get above 72. I now have a cold lethargic Betta on my hands and am returning this one as soon as the other heater arrives from ebay.
Please don't waste your money here folks. You will be disappointed :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next