Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Tetra Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

For convenience and quiet, choose a Tetra Whisper 10i Filter. These Tetra Whisper Aquarium Filter mount on the inside of the aquarium, rather than hanging from the outside, making it possible to place the tank flush against a wall. These 2-10i Tetra Whisper Power Filter are unusually quiet, since the motor is under the water. Offering the same quality and performance as an external filter, the Tetra Whisper 10i Filter will function in as little as two inches of water, allowing it to be used for turtle tanks or for creating a waterfall inside the tank. Designed for aquariums up to 10-gallons, the Tetra Whisper Aquarium Filter features adjust easily to high or low water levels with mounting suction cups and/or brackets. Each Tetra Whisper 10i Filter comes with one pre-assembled whisper filter cartridge.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation75%51 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Amazing filter!

12/19/2012
By ,
Savannah, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this filter about 3 weeks ago to go in my 10 gallon tank. I had to bring in my goldfish from a small outdoor pond because of the cold weather. This filter is so quiet that I didn't even know it was running! Gldfish are some of the dirtiest fish out there, and this filter has kept their tank beautiful! There are about 10 of the feeder size (a little bigger for a few of them) in this 10 gal tank.
* will be enlarging tank size and filter size by spring. (one pet project at the time)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Works fine!

04/30/2010
By ,
Palmer, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 3 of these pumps in our 3gal. Betta tanks. In the kids rooms and on my desk. They do the job, but needed some 'adjusting'. The current was too disturbing for our Bettas. I cut the air tube in two spots and added a back flow valve and a regulating valve (a splitter so you can hook up an air stone or something like that.) I opened the second outlet a bit to let some air from the pump just blow out, and it made the current a lot more suitable for our Bettas! The filters have been running for about 3 years now, and only one broke. The rubber membrane inside the air pump ripped. The vibration can be a bit noisy, so I attached the air pump to a stuffed animal with rubber bands :o) Works fine, looks cute! The water stays clean for a long time and replacing the filter pads takes only seconds. I will switch to an external nano filter but not because of the filters performance! Our tanks are six sided and they look just too bulky in there!
Oh, the lid keeps falling off, but is not really needed anyways!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lisbon,ny
wrong product
Posted 12/27/2013
i think you are writing a review for the wrong product because this filter has none of those features and the picture you attached does not have this power fiilter in it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

I like it

09/07/2010
By ,
Kansas City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my fiddler crab tank and its in about one and a half gallons of water that is less than 3 inches deep. Its really quiet and its just what I needed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Great for my turtle tank

10/14/2011
By ,
Upstate NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a baby mud turtle in a ten gallon tank, full to a depth of approximately 2 inches. I set-up the tank about a month ago using this filter, and so far it is working really well. I have not had to change the water yet - this filter has kept the water nice and clear (and stink-free). That is pretty impressive for a turtle tank since turtles produce a lot of waste. Our turtle is still very little, so I am sure as he grows this filter will be put to the test, but so far, so good. A couple of times the filter stopped pumping water -I thought it was broken- but as soon as I added more water to the tank, the filter started right back up again. Now I just make sure that there is enough water in the tank to cover the intake slots near the bottom of the filter. In my set-up, this filter makes quite a bit of noise because of how far the water has to fall; it sounds like a babbling brook in my living room. I don't really mind the noise though, it can be kind of soothing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Amazing, Affordable, Affective!

01/04/2012
By ,
Oregon, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My goldfish lives in a 5gal aquarium, 5 gallons too small for him.
I used to do water changes twice a day, but even then the water started turning green. So I got this filter and installed it. It was SO easy! I just took out the filter case, put the filter media in, put it in my tank, plugged it in and BAM! I thought it wasn't working, it was so quiet! The water cleared up in about 10 seconds. My goldfish is much more active, too!
I have my aquarium in my room, and my filter is so quiet I sleep easily. I don't hear anything but a soft hum, quieter than my laptop fan (which is really quiet)
If you were thinking about buying this filter, DO IT! It's so worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Good for what I needed it for.

12/12/2009
By ,
East Liverpool, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put this in my tank, within 10 minutes my tank cleaned up, and it hardly makes any noise. It doesn't pull to hard on my betta, as long as he stays a few inches away from it, I have a 5g tank. Great Product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

A great filter

08/16/2014
By ,
Jamaica, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and is very quiet. It keeps the aquarium very clean and clear. My catfish love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Quiet as a mouse

06/25/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to install, even a video on their website to help. Very quiet, runs well.
The current is a little strong for my little Betta fish but she does quite well anyway.(the 2-10 gal) I have a 2 gal. tank. The unit itself works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

90 gph

06/19/2009
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think that 1st review was for the air powered unit, this pump is extremely quiet. Great for a 10g aquarium.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Great Deal

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This filter is quiet. Excellent price and works better than I thought it would. I highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Okay...

04/19/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's not as quiet as I thought it would be but it's small and it does the job well. But, it makes currents a little too powerful for my betta fish.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Whisper Quiet

01/25/2011
By ,
Bronx, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am so happy with this filter. The gurgling and water sounds from the old bubble filter were driving me crazy. Plus the tank is much cleaner. The fish look happier too!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Its Alright

06/01/2012
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its good but doesnt clean well if you have rocks. other then that its good and really really quiet
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter
06/25/2012
By ,
Port Huron, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had this filter for 5 years and I ran it all day every day. It just died and I'm buying another one today.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Good filter for the money

07/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this filter for a five gallon tank with one large frog in it. Its easy to set up, runs super quiet, and keeps the tank clean. For a small beginner tank, and for the price, its great. But it is pretty bulky and hard to hide. So for a smaller simple beginner tank with not too many fish, its great. But if you are looking for something sleek, for a bigger tank with nicer fish, spend more money and get something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Decent filter

11/02/2013
By ,
De Pere, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I decided to get a filter for my two guppies in my 2.5 gallon tank and so I picked this one. My in store walmart carries two brands of aquarium filters, one that's inside the tank and then another that hangs on the outside. I decided to go for the one that went inside the water as I thought it would make less to no noise. I set it up and placed it in my tank. The initial first hour or two, it was quiet, and then afterwards the motor started acting up and became slightly noisy. The sound is bearable, but doesn't quite meet up to its name, "Whisper". I did find that the higher the filter was from the water, the motor made no noise at all, but obviously the waterfall effect would be so much louder. I've read some reviews that people stated that their filters died within in a few weeks. Hopefully in the long run mine does not die on me. Otherwise a trip to an actual pet store.
Pros - Affordable price.
Gets the job done. (Cleaned my 2.5gal tank in a few hours)
Cons - The second suction cup was hard to put in if you choose to use it instead of the hanger.
There may be some slight noise issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Great Product!

12/02/2010
By ,
Stevens Point, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within 10 minutes my tank was almost crystal clear! I have 2 male bettas with a divider and it cleaned up both sides and the current isn't too strong for them. I would definitely recommend this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

EXCELLENT

11/28/2010
By ,
Long Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great ! , nice & quiet . you dont hear a thing !! great for common plecos algae fish !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter
04/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far quiet and reliable product for reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

So far so good !

08/19/2012
By ,
tracy, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this filter after exchanging another one from Walmart for the SECOND time and this one has really done its job . It was a dollar more than the other one , but I was tired of returning and exchanging it over and over , so I purchased this one and it really saved me ! I didn't give it a 100% satisfaction rating just because I've only had it for a few weeks and I wanna see how it does . But I decided to rate it now because it's doing so well . Hopefully this one works out !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next