Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Tetra Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

The Tetra Whisper 10-30i Power Filter is a reliable and convenient filter alternative for many types of aquariums. This Aquarium Power Filter mounts to the inside of the aquarium, allowing the tank to remain flush against the wall for saving space. The underwater motor also allows this Fish Tank Power Filter to run in soothing silence. The Tetra Whisper Power Filter offers comparable performance to an external aquarium power filter, but is able to be adjusted to high or low water levels with mounting suction cups and/or brackets. In addition, this power filter adds extra versatility because it can function in as little as 2 inches of water or in tanks as large as 30 gallons. This Fish Tank Power Filter comes with one pre-assembled Whisper filter cartridge.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation80%36 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Low profile

08/28/2014
By ,
orleans,vt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very low profile, very quiet and self priming and easy to replace cartridges. Works great in my 55 gallon aquarium that I purchased from Wal-mart. My tropical fish doesn't seem to be bothered by it. Puts out perfect water flow without disturbing my Tropical fish community. The cartridges are available can be assembled or dissembled for those who wants to add more Carbon or anything else to it. I make my own filter and it works great. These internal pumps are very easy to set up and very versatile. It has suction cups or a hang on for the inside of your tank. Doesn't take up much space either. The filter that comes with it, the white jacket can be removed very easily so you can add more Carbon or whatever you want to put in it. It's not permanently fixated it can slide off and filled with media of your choice. I hope this review was helpful. I also included a picture of what it looks like inside the aquarium.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Crystal clear water! Works in 2" of water, silent!

06/03/2013
By ,
Cambridge, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok first off this filter is totally silent I cannot even hear it run whatsoever, except if your water is low you will hear the waterfall sound, solved simply by filling it up to the lip of the filter, at first I was skeptical its huge, it goes inside the tank, didnt seem right, we used to have the aqua tech 30 gallon model on it and the day after we checked the filter catridge it was full of junk the other filter never cleaned out!!! The fish don't mind it at all even sometimes play in the current, and the suction is perfect for smaller fish although watch out for the bettas the sometimes get stuck on this and this filter might not be for your betta, or get a smaller model...we currently have 4 of these in different sizes on tanks and they are all crystal clear silent and even cheap!!! $.97 on amazon for unassembled cartridges look no further!!!! Oh and they will also work in only 2" of water has to above the filter slots a little bit you just slide the clip off and put the included suction cup on the back, kinda a pain and put it as high or low as you want in the tank, another thing to note is this may grind quite a bit but if you adjust it properly, clean it out, it will work like a charm, also it's a breeze to clean just pop the bottom off with a screwdriver and wipe it off unlike the u tubes which are impossible to fully clean
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

very pleased

06/19/2009
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are cool filters, the water outlet design makes for truly quiet operation. Most filters make a splashing sound when the water comes out. With this filter the water slips into the tank without disturbing the suface tension. This is a big plus for planted tanks! The pump is completely submeged too so no noise there either. Operates in as little as 2" of water, like a turtle tank would have. The filter pad is genius, it's built so you can open it and replace carbon. Rinse it off and it's like new, you hardly ever have to buy new filter pads. Very affordable in the long run and a decent price to begin with. Oh and the pump itself can be removed and used independently as a fountian pump. I like these :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Great for turtle tanks.

03/04/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I currently use this filter on a 30 gallon tank with two turtles in it. It's nice because it does not need to hang off the side of the tank, you can use the suction cups to place it in almost any water level as long as the vents are under water. The water was getting cloudy at the time i put it in and within a few days it was back to being crystal clear. The replacement filters are easy to change, i also found out that they are the same filters as petsmart brand topfin filters. This makes shopping easier and if you cannot get to a walmart the topfin is cheaper than tetra filters at a specialty store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Definitely Works!

04/18/2010
By ,
Benicia, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was having a major algae problem in my tank, I didn't want to use the drops cause they can kill the shrimp & a few other bottom feeders! I bought this thing, it works like a charm! No need for any pump! And, the best part, it is super quiet & doesn't suck up your smaller breeds of fish! Even works well, if your female Guppy is having babies! Only thing the little babies need to worry about now, is the parent fish!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Good Product - Not for Small Fish

12/31/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is excellent at keeping the water in the aquarium clean but even at it's lowest setting is way too powerful for smaller fish as they will get sucked under the filter and get caught.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Great for Turtles

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for my big turtle aquarium. Its quiet and works perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Good price, effective, quiet, and big

05/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the cheapest filters walmart sells so A+ on price. It is very powerful, filters a lot of water and keeps our 29 gallon tank very clean so A+ on filtering. The water cascade makes NO sound although there is a very faint electric hum from the motor so A on silence. I only see two possible issues, neither of which has been a bother to me. First, the filter is MUCH bigger than it appears in the photo. So if you want something that will be out of sight I cant recommend it. Secondly, the stream coming back into the tank is very powerful. It might be too much for very small fish in a small (5 gallon), like putting them on a treadmill 24/7.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Powerful Yet Silent Filter!

05/16/2012
By ,
Owensboro, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Tetra Whisper 10-30i came with my 20 gallon kit that I purchased. It's the first internal filtration system I've used so at first it took some getting used to. The power filter is a good size so as others have reviewed, it may not actually be best for 10 gallon tanks (though it will work). It looks okay in a 20 gallon but would look great in a 30 gallon.
Also as one other pointed out, the cord does indeed go into the water. Well part of it anyways. That did have me a bit nervous at first but you have to think this was part of the design so the cord must be made for water submersion. I personally wouldn't have designed it that way but regardless it works. With that said though I would still recommend unplugging the power filter first before actually removing it.
This filtration system is extremely quiet. I have the tank set up in the living room and I can watch a movie with ease as the water doesn't cascade into the tank but rather flows gently into the water by running over a horizontal lip. Also since the motor is submerged in the water the hum is even hardly audible.
My only kick about this filter is it does seem to be a tad too powerful for smaller fish. The current will push them back and I haven't seen any way to adjust the flow on the filter itself. As another has mentioned though you can obstruct the flow to slow it down while still allowing the filter to work. I had to rig a piece of plastic up on an older power filter that was too powerful in my previous 10 gallon tank and looks like I may have to do the same with this one.
The water stays crystal clear and you have two options for filters, assembled and non assembled. Each filter should last about a month too which increases the value too. So over all I really like this filtration system and would gladly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Fantastic

08/03/2014
By ,
wichita, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this filter, made my 10 gal. tank clear in only an afternoon. It's quite, and I just love it..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Works great easy to clean

05/03/2014
By ,
Henderson,NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cleans great , love the fact it goes in tank versus on outside tank like many others, also very easy to clean as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Really wonderful filter!

04/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many different filters throughout the more then 10 years I have of fish care. This filter pumps out 150 gallons an hour which is great for any 10 gallon tank and average for a 30 gallon tank. It keeps the water clear and the cartrages are very easy to clean and cheap. The motor is submerged in water which makes for more silence then other power filters. Some people may complain about how much room it takes up being that it is an eternal filter not an external filter. I have no problem with this. Another nice feature is that the water put out does not disturb the surface much at all and does not make any water fountain noise what so ever!
The only down side is it does vibrate a little in the tank so that makes a humming noise. This doesn't bother me being that other filters humb, rattle and make water fountain noises at the same time. I really wouldn't let this prevent your from buying this filter! If you are looking for a great filter at a reasonable price this is the filter for you!
I will not be using any other type of filter other then this one for any of my tanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Amazing!!!

11/10/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so impressed with this product!!!! it works EXTREMELY well, and is totally silent!!! This product is not only affordable, but easy to maintain and does not require much space... I recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

not that great

05/17/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Useful for turtles but not great for amateur koi tanks. My filter system gave out and I bought this product. It is very quiet (which is great) but I am a paranoid person and having the cord in the tank made me not happy with it off the back. It gives no aeration to the tank so my koi are at the top for air. It has a nice design despite being so clunky. I could buy an air pump but those things are noisy so having a filteration system that could provide some aeration is more useful than a silent submergable one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

LARGE but Effective

10/29/2010
By ,
Cartertsville, Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good internal filter! It definitely is effective at keeping a 20H tank clear and all of my tank mates healthy. The only drawback is its size! I would not recommend this filter for a low tank style. If you look at a 150 gph backpack style filter and imagine the whole thing vertical in your tank, you get an idea of its size.
Changing filters has been a breeze, but the suction cups come off of the filter easily, which necessitates removing the entire filter. So far, though, it is a keeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

OK

02/24/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For me this product works wonderfully. I have a 10 gallon tank and 2 fancy goldfish. It is very quiet and i love the option of the second suction cup. i am kind of shocked by how large the product is.
My roommate has the same filter which came in a tetra kit. Her tank is only 3 gallons. She also has a fancy goldfish, however her's is smaller. the filter created such a powerful current that it was sucking up her fish.
i would not recommend this filter for anything less than 10 gallons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

I can turn on the aquarium light again!!

01/16/2013
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 10 gallon tank with just three lonely, smallish fish and the tank was constantly filthy. To keep it clean, I'd have to empty it each week (which I never had time nor the energy to do!) The last filter simply didn't work so I figured I would give this one a try given the favorable reviews. I set it up in less than 5 minutes and it is amazingly quiet. I couldn't tell it was on when I sat on our couch which is located directly in front of the tank. I thought I would have to clean the tank because of all the old food that settled in the gravel. No! I stirred the gravel a few hundred times throughout the evening and watched it all get sucked into the filter. This morning, the tank was completely clean and I was able to turn on the light without grimacing and feeling sick. Love it!!
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

No Good.

12/04/2013
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my turtle tank. The first week it was pretty good after that the water became dirty. I replace the filters inside and reread the manual but nothing work. My tank is very dirty and in poor conditions due to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter
02/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This filter is awsome, quiet, has good flow, only one draw back, the water suction area could be lower, I am now using them, 2 in a 55 and 1 in a 35 hex tank, the suction area is to high, its in the top half of the tank, my prefference is to be lower, maybe a conversion kit. also no easy access to impeller for cleaning of debris, scum buildup etc. but those minor problems I strill rate this 4 stars. now to find a quiet affordable air pump with enough ooomph to power 4 undergravel tubes and 2 air stones in a 55 gal. .......
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra Whisper 10-30i PowerFilter

Great Filter

07/04/2012
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got this filter today to replace the filter that came with my fish tank, and all i have to say is awsome, this filter is much better then the one that came with the tank, i just installed it and with in 45mins the water was much clearer and no discoloration, and the ammonia,nitrite levels dropped to a safer level, i have a 10gal tank it's a little big but i don't care its doing the job and I'm extremely happy are so are my three fish Jerry,Ziggy and Cowboy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next