Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso and Cappuccino Maker, Model # ECMP50. Experience gourmet quality coffee and cappuccinos in the convenience of your own home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.288 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation88%56 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Mr Coffee ECMP50 Espresso & Cappuccino Maker

02/25/2009
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want espresso with crema and frothed milk that can be used in latte art for low bucks buy this product. I preheat both my coffee mug and the containers used for coffee extraction. I use a grounds basket from an old espresso machine to tamp down the grounds using my thumbs in the basket and table underneath for pressure. I keep the frothing wand (without frothing adapter) positioned in the pour spout of the frothing container and clean it when I'm done. I clean where the grounds holder gets attached after extracting the coffee. The results are great.
Now for the quirks so you don't think I steered you wrong. You turn on the ECMP50. The red light will be solid and the other light flashing as is proper. Then for little or no reason the red light starts to flash too. You must turn the machine off until both lights go out, turn the machine back on and this time the red light should remain solid so you can proceed. Push the coffee extraction button. Put your collection container (I prefer translucent with ounces on the side so I can see 1-1/2 and 3 oz shot measurements for a double) under the coffee holder and turn the knob down. You will hear a noisy vibration as the pump is working to send the hot water through the coffee grounds. When the correct amount of coffee has been extracted turn the knob back to the off position. Now push the milk frothing (steam) button and wait until the flashing temperature light goes off. Get ready for another quirk. The sound the machine makes when frothing is quite different from the sound when extracting coffee. Position the tip of the frothing wand just under the milk (wand in the spout if you have one) and turn the knob up. Keep the wand very near the surface and raise it slowly as the milk froths. Do it slowly enough and you get the microfoam. When the foam has caused the milk volume to double lower the wand a bit deeper until the container is getting HOT to the touch and turn the knob off. Be ready for the sound of water being forced into the tray holder (under the metal tray). The water is fairly substantial, but the machine is designed for it. You will want to dump and rinse the tray and metal top between each batch of coffee. Summary: I'm really pleased with the quality of coffee and froth made by the machine. Considering the low price I'm actually amazed at the results. I "hope" the machine lasts in spite of the quirks one must endure. It would be a shame if it were to spring a leak or fail in a relatively short time ... but so far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Works for me.

05/02/2009
By ,
Olympia, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get a fresh, hot, strong Americano every time. It's quick, easy, inexpensive, and, so far, reliable. The thermo-block heater provides hot water in seconds, the arm/basket sets high enough so you can get a cup under it, the gizwizes provide froth, and the slip out spill tray is a snap. Set a cup under it and let it run until the cup is full. Under two minutes from filling the basket with fresh grind to taking that first sip. It's all I ever wanted. Even the noise it makes works for me - keeps me focused on turning it off before I wander away. We've run a couple of hundred cups for ourselves and our neighbors through it in the month we've had it. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

I am happy with my purchase.

11/16/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Espresso machines are so different from prices. I saw one that cost over 20K dollars. This one, for $69, and the cheapest price around for this brand and model. It works great! I love latte, the espresso made from it, made great taste latte. I am happy with it, and I don't want to go for more expensive anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

AWESOME product

05/21/2009
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine for my husband for his birthday. We love it! It is very easy to use, just make sure you read the instructions carefully. This unit is also very easy to clean, but you must do it after each use for optimal results and longevity. I made a mocha the other day and it tasted just as good as a coffee house mocha would. This machine is small enough to keep out on the countertops and is eye appealing. Can't say enough good about this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Best Buy

07/29/2009
By ,
Shreveport, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first cappuccino machine. I have not had it long, but the first thing I learned was......it's gonna take a few times before I get it right. This was the best quality one I could find for the price (and believe me I searched everywhere). It has a nearly everything you should look for when looking for an affordable cappuccino maker; a 15 bar pump, a big resevoir, very well made and easy to operate. Forgot to mention the great appearance! I probably could have done without the big resevoir (which is removable by the way....nice!). The grounds are pretty much depleted by the time you get done making two servings, so what's the other three cups of water left in the resevoir for? I'm not doing that much frothing. The frothing wand is easy to clean and works good. I just wish it was a little longer and could rotate out of the way more. At first I bought this $20 frothing pitcher that was way too big. I think it was a 2 cup pitcher. The wand could not get anywhere close to the bottom to do a proper job of frothing (which is really important if you don't want to dump a bunch of hot milk in whatever you are making). I purchased the smaller 10 oz. Mr. Coffee frothing pitcher. The size of it was important, but I think the shape of the pitcher was of equal importance. It made frothing and serving a snap. I wouldn't recommend using any other bold coffee other than espresso because this baby will squeeze every last ounce of mud out of the grinds and you don't want be using weak coffee cause you'll end up with a tea looking substance near the end of the pour.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Best deal under $100

01/13/2010
By ,
SF
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was going to drop $200-$400 on an espresso machine as my parents have always had a good machine and I had gotten used to the quality. Looking at all the glowing reviews I thought I would give it a try. I was not disappointed! For the price, you cannot find a better machine and the quality of the espresso it makes is very good.
Pro's -
- Makes espresso with crema, which I believe is a sign of good water pressure
- Reliable so far (using it daily for past 3 months)
- Heats up and is ready to go very quickly
- Espresso is hot (have tried many where the first cup is only luke warm)
- Steamer is strong enough to make foam from milk for cappuccinos (I don't use the foaming accessory)
- Water storage is large so you don't have to refill all the time
- Easy to clean
- Price!!!
Con's -
- Noisy (but I don't know an espresso machine that isn't)
- Milk frothing does take awhile to get the milk hot, larger machines may be faster
- No warnings when you are out of water or if the collection tray for waste water is full
All in all I would highly recommend this machine and other than the cons listed above, I don't think you are making too many sacrifices on quality for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine

05/01/2009
By ,
Europe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this Mr. Coffee Pump Machine for my husband and we really like it. It is loud, but the coffee is VERY good so I can take the noise for a good cup of coffee. We just love it and I would tell anybody to purchase it because it is worth the money that you are paying for it. This was a gift for my husband that was coming back from Iraq on R & R.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

so mad!

04/17/2010
By ,
Yakima,WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second one I've bought that leaks. My daughter's first one of this same model leaked too. She loves the machine so I'm going to try buying another one and hopefully this one is a keeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Very Happy!

03/21/2010
By ,
Raleigh NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I borrowed my Dad's Mr. Coffee Espresso maker (EM20) for two months and finally decided to buy one of my own and return his. I read a lot of reviews on-line and didn't want to spend over $100. I think I would have just ordered one like his if they still made the same model and sold it at Walmart, but I could only find it on-line where I would have had to deal with shipping returns so I decided to find another one.
This pump-driven Mr. Coffee was perfect for me. I grind my own beans at home so I get plenty of crema. It's very quick to heat up. The only complaints (more like annoyances) I have are that I have to change filter baskets to brew enough for both me and my husband, and the milk steamer is kind of low to the counter. I have seen that other people elevate the machine and that helps. As for changing filter baskets, it's not a big deal, I just fill them both at once and tamp, use a graduated measuring cup to make the right amount for each shot size, and brew them one after another. Also, it's hard to get off the black rubber cover to clean the steamer, but that seems to me to be a universal problem. Anyway, I usually just heat the milk in the microwave because I don't have time to steam the milk every time. But when I do, the steamer works well.
I drink 2-3 espresso mochas a day, and with this machine, I'm not even tempted to go to Starbucks anymore, unless I'm traveling for work. I do stop by occasionally to buy mocha powder and they ask me if I want them to get anything started for a drink but it's not even tempting. Pay them $4.50 for a mocha? No way! Two shots of espresso, 1 TB mocha powder, and 1/2 c skim milk, and that's the perfect recipe for me. And it's not 350 calories either. :)
With this machine, I finally understand the "tail of a mouse, stripes of a tiger" thing. You really do see that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

No parts available

05/23/2012
By ,
Kelowna, BC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great machine and value for money. Makes a great frothy cap. But, there is always a but. I lost the double cup filter so now have to operate the machine twice with a single cup filter.
I cleaned the nozzle on the froth maker a few times including removing the nozzle and soaking in vinegar, cleaning the solidified milk and reattaching. Then one day removing the nozzle with the plastic wrench provided the nozzle came off with a twist and snapped the tube. Why is this tube made out of aluminum? Surely a sturdy stainless steel tube would have been better.
So the bottom line is where can I get replacement parts? Doing my best to be green, rather than throw it in the trash and get another! It has definitely paid itself over again and again comparing it to the prices at Starbuck's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Excellent Product

11/23/2009
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband. His Starbuck's latte habit was getting out of control, and he was beginning to sniff disdainfully at his (espresso-less) morning coffee. I know it's hard to believe that a product that's priced so low could be this good, but it is. The crema is abundant; the foam is fluffy and hot; and the espresso is smooth. Just goes to show you that expensive does not necessarily mean quality and vice versa. I admit that the machine is a bit noisy at 6am, and I am sure my neighbors now hate me; but anything for my sweety. :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50
08/06/2009
By ,
Irvine, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this machine because of good reviews from other people and the price was more than reasonable for my 1st espresso machine. After several weeks of using this machine almost every day, I say that it has met my expectations for making a good cup of espresso. The flavor is good and the cleanup is not bad at all. The only downside to this machine is the ability to froth milk. I have tried several times and get good steamed milk but, alas, my ability to froth the milk has not been very good. Is it me? I don't know. Would I recommend this product to others. Absolutely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

outstanding value

10/06/2009
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this espresso machine with the hopes of coming close to the cappucinos I had daily in Tuscany for the month of June. It totally exceeded my expectations for the price of the unit. I thought I would have to end up spending $1000 to get a good cup of cappucino. Mr. Coffee has stepped up to the plate! I will let you know about it's durability in months to come.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50
05/07/2009
By ,
Greenville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have used a number of different espresso makers. This machine performs as well as those costing much, much more. It is fast, a snap to operate ----"cleansup" easily. Can't comment on it's durability; too new.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

I love this espresso machine!

04/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect espresso, fantastic foam, durable, and nice looking. I have been using this machine every day since December (3 months) and I am enjoying it more and more. If it ever dies I will promptly buy another one. To minimise the foam, if you don't really like it (I don't like foamed milk), take the cover off the steam wand and voila, perfectly stamed yet not frothed milk. Delicous and a great way to save money on expensive espresso drinks. Do what I did and buy a thermometer to help make sure you don't over steam (burn) the milk. That will also make for a more consistant coffee.
Buy this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Great Value

10/16/2009
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm impressed with this machine for the money! Been buying them for years and hoping this one last awhile. Makes a great cup in little to no time and love the large water container, one less thing to mess with daily!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

espresso shaker

08/20/2009
By ,
Deep Gap, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this machine vibrated so badly that I had to hold the cup under the spout because it kept moving all over the tray. It was also too noisy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

loved it...

10/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work at a coffee shop, and i can honestly say that this little machine works wonders, I jus loved it... I would definitely recommend this to anyone..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Great coffee maker for great price

10/30/2009
By ,
Manitoba
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am much pleased with this coffee (espresso, americano, latte) maker. I would highly recommend it to a person who likes the taste of good coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50

Dissapointing

09/05/2009
By ,
Grove City, Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had it for a little over a month. First time I used it it leaked water all over the countertop. I figured out if I just removed the reservoir immediately after turning it off I could avoid that mess. Actually the coffee was pretty good. So I kept it. Well, today it just stopped working. It would pump for about 2 seconds and then quit. Went on line and found a very nice Krups for 10 dollars more. This one is going back!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next