Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Generic Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

The Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe offers a durable, reliable and powerfully performing tool for the avid knitting enthusiast. This device features a simple to use design that is easy to learn, allowing for novices and experts alike to quickly begin working with it. The ultimate sweater machine uses yarn right from the skein and can knit as many as 1200 stitches per minute, allowing for quick but detailed patterns and garments. This set includes the Knitting Machine deluxe kit, which comes with the sweater extension kit, row counter and intarsia plate, as well as an instructional DVD; this DVD provides a visual guide to using the machine to make it even easier to get started. This Caron knitting machine also allows users to make cables, lace, picture knits, tuck stitch, fair isle and many more fancy stitches with professional looking results, while the included deluxe kit allows for an even more expansive range of pattern and garment options.
Average Customer Rating:
3.086 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation60%21 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 84 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Knitting made easier

12/27/2008
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is not for folks without patience. It takes a bit to master, but once mastered, a blast to have. I wish the hems were not such flimsy plastic as the smaller hem broke in several places when it slipped out of my hand. Had to order backups but taping is a great cheater too! You must view the DVD and you must read the directions as they are the most helpful. It is easy to use again once you take the time, don't get flustered and master the machine. It will take you no time to master either.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Quick And Easy

04/27/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using the machine for 6 months, I watched you-tube videos to get started; they were more informative than the CD that came with the machine. Once you begin using it, you ill find you want to use it more. Adding a few acesories will broaden your ability with the machine. I added extensions so as to make Afghans, will be combining two machines to make bed blankets soon! Remember You-Tube will give you many ideas. The machine is great as well as habit forming
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Awesome if you take the time to learn

12/16/2012
By ,
Roy, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been knitting by hand for years, and after reading the reviews of seasoned knitters, I had some real doubts about this machine. I think it does a great job if you ditch all of your prior knowledge, and approach this as something you don't know anything about. Watch the DVD, read the book, knit the projects in the book, so you can learn the functions each project illustrates, and one of the most important things -- at first start with Caron brand yarn recommended by the machine, so you eliminate problems that may be caused by a poor choice of yarn. If you follow the instructions, your machine would work great. The machine would drop stiches if you don't pull on the thread as you start a new row and then RELEASE the thread after the first few stitches, or if you selected the wrong yarn/knitting plate combination.
The Walmart set included an additional knitting plate, an extension, and stitch counter, and it was a great value compared to Joann's even after using a Joann's coupon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Great fun for speedy stockinette stitch knitting

08/08/2012
By ,
Prescott, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had a lot of enjoyment out of the Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe. It might not be the fanciest, but what do we expect for the price? It is well made even though it is largely plastic. I had to call customer service when it skipped a stitch on every row. They responded after the weekend and were very friendly and helpful. (It was my error, too.)
There are three things I think could be improved. The first is the "hem," a weight that holds the knitting taut as you knit. I'm sure they could make one that is easier to attach and use. I also believe the hem will be the first think to "go" and need replacement.
The second is the instruction book. It is well-written and clear, but it is hard to find what you want to review once you have read it.
The third is the row counter. I found it easier to count a few rows in my head and move the stitch counter manually than it was to hook it to the knitting machine. It was cumbersome to have it attached to the machine.
Hope I've thought of everything I needed to say!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Patience is Key

10/24/2013
By ,
St Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly, when I first got the machine, I was ready to send it back. Instead, I went online and watched videos of how the machine worked. First step for me, throw away the table clams, they caused more problems than they were worth, and buy a couple non-slip mats to go underneath. Second step, move slowly across the row, it should feel like a hot knife going through butter. If you have to force the carriage, you're doing something wrong-see trouble shooting. Third step, create/buy a cast on comb or claw weights. The machine needs weight to work properly, and the hem they give you just isn't enough, also those S hooks are useless. After these three steps, I was cranking out 3 scarfs a day. Now, the techniques for working the machine are completely different from hand knitting, so it will take some practice, and lots of patience. Fair Isle for instance was particularly difficult to learn.
In summary, the machine can be frustrating in the beginning, and requires additional objects to work properly, but once it does it is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Better then I expected.

04/16/2014
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a experienced knitter and crocheter and was eyeing this Deluxe USM for a couple of years (I want to make mostly blankets for CareNet and homeless shelters and do it fast) but the reviews kept me from purchasing. A couple of months ago I caved and I am so happy I did! I watched the DVD and read the book following each step. I did have a problem at first with not getting the carriage to slide over and I thought maybe I didn't wax the keyplate good enough. So I waxed it some more and it still didn't slide. I found out I was pressing down on the carriage too much. Once I fixed that, it slid like butter over every needle.
Bond America has excellent customer service. There were a couple of things damaged when I opened the extension kit so I called the number provided. They are replacing what was damaged.
Walmart has the best price for a store and they shipped it out within the next business day.
So if you have reservations about this machine because of reading the reviews, remember that I did too and wish I would have bought this sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe
01/02/2013
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this machine as a Christmas present. I consider myself an experienced and creative knitter. Initially I had problems with the yarn that comes with the machine but then tried another brand yarn and it worked great after that. Now I have used also the Carron yarns and think that there might have been some problem with the skein I received with the machine. Also the hem broke from one place almost right away but a phone call to a helpline got me a new hem within few days, also it is possible to repair the broken areas with an electric tape. The representative on help line was very helpful. This machine does more than I expected based on the price. I love how fast I am able to knint with it. Do not give up, in the beginning there might be some frustration, but after you get it working it is a breeze to complete products. Change the yarn if the one coming in the box does not seem to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Inexpensive, great for non-production use

10/11/2010
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a fairly experienced hand knitter, I've been eyeing this machine for a year or two. Finally went for it based on the reviews here. I find it works very well for what it is - an inexpensive, beginners knitting machine. It takes patience, but has worked like a charm with care. You must be detail oriented and follow all directions, but after one day making swatches and playing with the intarsia keyplate, I was able to knit the entire back (with ribbing!) of a sweater for my husband in one afternoon, and the entire front (with an intarsia pattern) and one shoulder joined the second day. Ripping back is so easy; especially when you can re-knit 3 rows on 100 needles in less than a minute. No more boring blankets that take me 2 years to finish. You can find better methods of increasing and decreasing on YouTube than are given in the included video - even though the brands are different, the principle is the same. I'm really enjoying this machine and have trouble getting to sleep at night thinking of all the projects I want to make. It's also handy for working the boring parts of a project that you can finish by hand knitting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Just what I was looking for

12/13/2009
By ,
Dover-Foxcroft, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I once was a long time knitter and thrived on expressing my creativity through yarn. Life, time, carpal tunnnel and a little arthritis had prevented that until I spotted this simple and basic machine that can handle the sport and heavier weight yarns I love to work with. I've used different and more complicated machines in the past and so am familiar with the 'machine' concept. If you follow the directions the Caron is very easy to assemble and use. I am now back to enjoying my creative side. I recommend this machine to all those knit lovers who think the pain in their hands isn't worth satisfying their creativity.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Very helpful

01/05/2009
By ,
Overland Park, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this machine for my mom. and she sais that at first it took her a while to learn how it works, but once she got it, It was fun and fast, she made a sweater for my 3 month old baby in just one afternoon! I totally recomended It' well worth it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Christmas present

12/12/2009
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for someone who has Arthritis in their hands as I do.
I like the craftmanship of this board. The more I learn I think I will love it. The only disapointment to me was,the extension plate was small, I was expecting a regular size plate. However you can buy the regular size. Overall I would recomend this board to anyone who enjoys knitting projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

as long as you read instructions first

01/14/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is really a great machine. I was so excited when I first got it that I just glanced at the instructions and then tried to make something. Well you guess it, dropped stitches, got hung up, and made a huge mess. I decided that I better reread instructions and watch the DVD too.
Wow! what a difference when I next tried it out. I made a scarf and only dropped one stitch, but since I had watched DVD, I knew how to fix it. With practice anyone can knit with this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Lovely knitting

12/05/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This knitting machine does work, but you do have to be patient, and practice. Picking up dropped stitches isn't easy, especially if using specialty yarns.
I suggest that if you are using balls of yarn, to place them in a clean coffee can.
The stitches are nice and uniform, making a more professional looking item.
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Do Not Purchase!

01/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent almost $200.00 on this product and could not be more unsatisfied!
I am so upset with how it jams and drops stitches constantly .I am a knitter and have been for several years and I cannot tell you how much of a complete waste of time this product is!
I have spent hours trying to fix it and make it work, with no improvements.
This could have been a great product for me and make my hobby of knitting more fun and easier but instead its made it twice as hard. So I give up with it..I am going to throw it away because its no help to me!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
san antonio, tx
I agree.
Posted 07/23/2012
I had the same problems. The carriage kept getting stuck and dropping stitches. I leveled the machine many many times, changed tables, exchanged the machine 3 times and same problem, so I returned it. I bought 4 older versions of the machine, the ISM and they worked right out of the box with no problems. So I would not recommend this USM I would search ebay and buy an older model..
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Great product for the newbe!

01/25/2013
By ,
Selah Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product because i didn't have the patience for hand knitting. I finally got the hang of how to use the machine, but i'm still not clear on how to rip out a row or fix multiple stitches. But other than that I am very very happy with it. Was able to make a very nice scarf with stripes within a couple of hours. Try doing that by crochet or knit by hand!!! :)
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Easy to learn and use

07/01/2013
By ,
Iceland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I knew I wasn't buying a "real" knitting machine, this one is mainly made out of plastic. I was surprised to see what I can do with it. It is really easy to learn and the instructions are clear and easy to follow, you even get a few patterns and a skein of yarn to practice your skills.
I had read other reviews before I bought it and knew what to expect, you just have to be careful if you get stuck. You can't force your way through, you have to stop and manually finish the row or you will break something.
I recommend reading the instructions, watching the DVD and do the practice pieces before doing some real work. That way you get to know the machine pretty well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Not very user friendly.

07/23/2012
By ,
san antonio, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am new to machine knitting so I purchased the USM. It was very hard to get the carriage to move across the bed. So I exchanged it 3 times. I kept thinking it was me. I searched the internet over and over for hints on how to use it. I finally just returned the machine all together. I purchased the older version which is the ISM on ebay. I purchased 4 machines for the price of 1. I put 2 machines together to make a long one. And it works like a charm. I tried the new USM carriage on the older bed and it didnt work well. I used the older version and it worked perfectly. So I would not recommend the new machine. If at all possible buy the older 80's version it is a much better carriage.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

so-so...

12/27/2009
By ,
Flagstaff, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VERY difficult to learn to use!!
Machine had many rough edges that needed to be removed for the knitting to work properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Sooooo disappointed :(

09/14/2013
By ,
Clarkston, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading many reviews on this product, I followed up with utube videos as recommended, so would be prepared when this knitting machine arrived. Setup was easy and was able to do one row of knitting, but the needles fell out of place and could not do a second or third row. Tried several different location but the machine just did not work. The green and yellow cards were starting to show wear from the short time I had the product. At least 90% of the product was plastic.
I recommend the manufacturers find a why to stabilize the needles in use (tighten underneath?).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

This is my second Machine! Can't live with out it!

03/05/2014
By ,
Philadelphia PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok so my daughter broke my last machine, and since I use my machine for my business I had to by another one! I love this machine and can't live without it! The deluxe set is way better to have, than non deluxe set cause it really comes with everything you need! Works great! invest in a table for it though!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next