Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Generic Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

The Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe is a delight for knitting enthusiasts. You can learn to use this fabulous ultimate knitting machine in minutes. This ultimate sweater machine uses yarn right from the skein, and can knit as many as 1200 stitches per minute. This set includes the Knitting Machine deluxe kit: the sweater extension kit, row counter and intarsia plate. With this machine you can make cables, lace, picture knits, tuck stitch, fair isle, and many more fancy stitches with professional looking results. An instructional DVD is also included so you can see the machine in action.
Average Customer Rating:
3.086 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation60%21 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 84 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Knitting made easier

12/27/2008
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is not for folks without patience. It takes a bit to master, but once mastered, a blast to have. I wish the hems were not such flimsy plastic as the smaller hem broke in several places when it slipped out of my hand. Had to order backups but taping is a great cheater too! You must view the DVD and you must read the directions as they are the most helpful. It is easy to use again once you take the time, don't get flustered and master the machine. It will take you no time to master either.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Quick And Easy

04/27/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using the machine for 6 months, I watched you-tube videos to get started; they were more informative than the CD that came with the machine. Once you begin using it, you ill find you want to use it more. Adding a few acesories will broaden your ability with the machine. I added extensions so as to make Afghans, will be combining two machines to make bed blankets soon! Remember You-Tube will give you many ideas. The machine is great as well as habit forming
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Awesome if you take the time to learn

12/16/2012
By ,
Roy, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been knitting by hand for years, and after reading the reviews of seasoned knitters, I had some real doubts about this machine. I think it does a great job if you ditch all of your prior knowledge, and approach this as something you don't know anything about. Watch the DVD, read the book, knit the projects in the book, so you can learn the functions each project illustrates, and one of the most important things -- at first start with Caron brand yarn recommended by the machine, so you eliminate problems that may be caused by a poor choice of yarn. If you follow the instructions, your machine would work great. The machine would drop stiches if you don't pull on the thread as you start a new row and then RELEASE the thread after the first few stitches, or if you selected the wrong yarn/knitting plate combination.
The Walmart set included an additional knitting plate, an extension, and stitch counter, and it was a great value compared to Joann's even after using a Joann's coupon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Patience is Key

10/24/2013
By ,
St Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly, when I first got the machine, I was ready to send it back. Instead, I went online and watched videos of how the machine worked. First step for me, throw away the table clams, they caused more problems than they were worth, and buy a couple non-slip mats to go underneath. Second step, move slowly across the row, it should feel like a hot knife going through butter. If you have to force the carriage, you're doing something wrong-see trouble shooting. Third step, create/buy a cast on comb or claw weights. The machine needs weight to work properly, and the hem they give you just isn't enough, also those S hooks are useless. After these three steps, I was cranking out 3 scarfs a day. Now, the techniques for working the machine are completely different from hand knitting, so it will take some practice, and lots of patience. Fair Isle for instance was particularly difficult to learn.
In summary, the machine can be frustrating in the beginning, and requires additional objects to work properly, but once it does it is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Great fun for speedy stockinette stitch knitting

08/08/2012
By ,
Prescott, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had a lot of enjoyment out of the Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe. It might not be the fanciest, but what do we expect for the price? It is well made even though it is largely plastic. I had to call customer service when it skipped a stitch on every row. They responded after the weekend and were very friendly and helpful. (It was my error, too.)
There are three things I think could be improved. The first is the "hem," a weight that holds the knitting taut as you knit. I'm sure they could make one that is easier to attach and use. I also believe the hem will be the first think to "go" and need replacement.
The second is the instruction book. It is well-written and clear, but it is hard to find what you want to review once you have read it.
The third is the row counter. I found it easier to count a few rows in my head and move the stitch counter manually than it was to hook it to the knitting machine. It was cumbersome to have it attached to the machine.
Hope I've thought of everything I needed to say!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Better then I expected.

04/16/2014
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a experienced knitter and crocheter and was eyeing this Deluxe USM for a couple of years (I want to make mostly blankets for CareNet and homeless shelters and do it fast) but the reviews kept me from purchasing. A couple of months ago I caved and I am so happy I did! I watched the DVD and read the book following each step. I did have a problem at first with not getting the carriage to slide over and I thought maybe I didn't wax the keyplate good enough. So I waxed it some more and it still didn't slide. I found out I was pressing down on the carriage too much. Once I fixed that, it slid like butter over every needle.
Bond America has excellent customer service. There were a couple of things damaged when I opened the extension kit so I called the number provided. They are replacing what was damaged.
Walmart has the best price for a store and they shipped it out within the next business day.
So if you have reservations about this machine because of reading the reviews, remember that I did too and wish I would have bought this sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe
01/02/2013
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this machine as a Christmas present. I consider myself an experienced and creative knitter. Initially I had problems with the yarn that comes with the machine but then tried another brand yarn and it worked great after that. Now I have used also the Carron yarns and think that there might have been some problem with the skein I received with the machine. Also the hem broke from one place almost right away but a phone call to a helpline got me a new hem within few days, also it is possible to repair the broken areas with an electric tape. The representative on help line was very helpful. This machine does more than I expected based on the price. I love how fast I am able to knint with it. Do not give up, in the beginning there might be some frustration, but after you get it working it is a breeze to complete products. Change the yarn if the one coming in the box does not seem to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Inexpensive, great for non-production use

10/11/2010
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a fairly experienced hand knitter, I've been eyeing this machine for a year or two. Finally went for it based on the reviews here. I find it works very well for what it is - an inexpensive, beginners knitting machine. It takes patience, but has worked like a charm with care. You must be detail oriented and follow all directions, but after one day making swatches and playing with the intarsia keyplate, I was able to knit the entire back (with ribbing!) of a sweater for my husband in one afternoon, and the entire front (with an intarsia pattern) and one shoulder joined the second day. Ripping back is so easy; especially when you can re-knit 3 rows on 100 needles in less than a minute. No more boring blankets that take me 2 years to finish. You can find better methods of increasing and decreasing on YouTube than are given in the included video - even though the brands are different, the principle is the same. I'm really enjoying this machine and have trouble getting to sleep at night thinking of all the projects I want to make. It's also handy for working the boring parts of a project that you can finish by hand knitting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Just what I was looking for

12/13/2009
By ,
Dover-Foxcroft, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I once was a long time knitter and thrived on expressing my creativity through yarn. Life, time, carpal tunnnel and a little arthritis had prevented that until I spotted this simple and basic machine that can handle the sport and heavier weight yarns I love to work with. I've used different and more complicated machines in the past and so am familiar with the 'machine' concept. If you follow the directions the Caron is very easy to assemble and use. I am now back to enjoying my creative side. I recommend this machine to all those knit lovers who think the pain in their hands isn't worth satisfying their creativity.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Worst engineering ever

04/10/2014
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have now fought with this machine for four hours. It assembled just fine but as soon as I tried to cast on the first row it started jamming. No matter what I did (and I very carefully took the stitches back off to start over again five times), I couldn't get past about five stitches. I have watched the video twice, checked out instructions on Youtube and gone over the quick setup instructions three times. This is not worth it and will be going back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

as long as you read instructions first

01/14/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is really a great machine. I was so excited when I first got it that I just glanced at the instructions and then tried to make something. Well you guess it, dropped stitches, got hung up, and made a huge mess. I decided that I better reread instructions and watch the DVD too.
Wow! what a difference when I next tried it out. I made a scarf and only dropped one stitch, but since I had watched DVD, I knew how to fix it. With practice anyone can knit with this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

This is my second Machine! Can't live with out it!

03/05/2014
By ,
Philadelphia PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok so my daughter broke my last machine, and since I use my machine for my business I had to by another one! I love this machine and can't live without it! The deluxe set is way better to have, than non deluxe set cause it really comes with everything you need! Works great! invest in a table for it though!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Very helpful

01/05/2009
By ,
Overland Park, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this machine for my mom. and she sais that at first it took her a while to learn how it works, but once she got it, It was fun and fast, she made a sweater for my 3 month old baby in just one afternoon! I totally recomended It' well worth it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Works better than expected

02/01/2014
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product very much. It does require you taking your time and being patient. Learning how to operate it is very easy. Watch the dvd and your on your way to making things. I used the yarn that came with the kit and in about 30 minutes made a very nice scarf. Now I'm making a pair of slippers and thinking of what I will make next. It much faster than I could do it by hand.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

It doesn't work

03/18/2014
By ,
Lewisbur, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It doesn't work! Should use better materia, not cheao plastics for all parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

product rough, bad quality

03/06/2014
By ,
Leisburg, PA17837
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have no problem to learn this kntting machine, is easy for me. and I have enough patience as well.
The main point is this knitting machine's quality too poor to use, example: four green color Intarsia plate ----track Track size imprecise because these made by cheap plastic, a purple colour stuff also made by cheap plastic. Strongly suggest that walmart and others cann't approve them into marketing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

did not work

03/09/2014
By ,
tampa, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought it for mi mom , i put it together, that was easy, but it never really work, the carriage was really hard to slide, and was dropping the tread constantly
returned back and will buy a Silver Reed LK150 hope will be better
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Christmas present

12/12/2009
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for someone who has Arthritis in their hands as I do.
I like the craftmanship of this board. The more I learn I think I will love it. The only disapointment to me was,the extension plate was small, I was expecting a regular size plate. However you can buy the regular size. Overall I would recomend this board to anyone who enjoys knitting projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Hate it.

03/04/2014
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It gets stuck, the weighted hem pulls the needles so hard that it lifts the back n makes it almost impossible to pull the cart over smoothly which make the stitches drop.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Caron Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe

Lovely knitting

12/05/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This knitting machine does work, but you do have to be patient, and practice. Picking up dropped stitches isn't easy, especially if using specialty yarns.
I suggest that if you are using balls of yarn, to place them in a clean coffee can.
The stitches are nice and uniform, making a more professional looking item.
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next