Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Turn a normal household door into a complete total-fitness body center. Includes multiple resistance levels, hand and ankle straps, and a great DVD workout to get into shape with.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%31 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

very good for the price

06/09/2010
By ,
jersey city,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this a very good product for a home gym...very easy to install and use ...comes with a helpful dvd u can play on yr computer. great for when u r traveling
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Great Product

05/19/2010
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This inexpensive device is actually one heck of a workout. It is portable and you can take it with you to a hotel room and work out there, as well. Hits pretty much every muscle group. The ideal setup is to have two of them side by side on a door so you can add multiple bands together to increase resistance. I have them at the office and work out at lunch and at home. You wll not regret this purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Just what I was looking for!

01/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using free-standing elastic tubing for about 6 months. Having hooks and other implements screwed into the walls didn't feel safe due to the tension created during workouts. I was always thinking for a way to use the door attachments often included to more benefit. I came very close to plunking down $150+ dollars for a similar system advertised on late-night TV. When I saw this in the store today, I was shocked>> it was exactly what I was trying to build on my own!
For 26 bucks it is a steal. The resistance is not overdone, but you can adjust it to meet your needs by standing further away from the door; works great. Remember: resistance workouts recommend a slower more deliberate stroke, - after 15 minutes thru a set of reps I felt the good burn I expected without the fear of hooks and various other hardware flinging in my direction at high velocity! :)
And if the bands stretch out - so what - it only cost 26 dollars. A year of use would be way worth it.
Highly recommended and would buy again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Sturdy & Easy to use

06/22/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second time I've purchased one. The last one I left with my room mates because they loved it so much. :)
It's easy to install, although there has to be enough space between your door and frame for it to close. This time I had to cut a small notch in the door so it would close, but it really isn't a big deal considering the benefits! I could have also just sanded the door, but it's more fun to use power tools. ;)
Once it's on it's really sturdy, and I'm not scared it's going to pop back at me. Remember though, unless you have a door in the middle of a wall, your reach might be restricted in one direction. For instance if your door is near the corner of the room. This is the case for me, and I just find ways around it.
If you're pretty muscular it might not be enough for you, but if you're that in to working out you probably make it out to the gym. ;) It's great for me, enough resistance. Way better than using just resistance bands or hand weights, you can do most gym-machine exercises on it, or at least something similar.
It comes with a DVD which shows you how to do some exercises with it, but it's not something you follow along with. Once you see how it's done from watching the DVD you can just glance at the paper-guide that's included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Great Home System (Found Cord Weights)

07/25/2010
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The system is fun and easy to install and use. Called the manufacture and got the resistance for each band configuration. I hope you enjoy it too!
1 yellow band = 6lbs
1 black band = 10 lbs
2 yellow = 14 lbs
2 black = 22 lbs
1 black, 1 yellow = 18 lbs
2 black, 1 yellow = 30 lbs
2 yellow, 1 black = 24 lbs
All 4 bands = 40 lbs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Disappointed

09/29/2010
By ,
Pompano Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really liked this product and was impressed at the workout I got in a short space of time.
I ordered 2 site to store (separate shipments) to have side by side on the door. I was so excited when I got the first order. It was easy to put on the door and after working out for about 15 mins I noticed one of the yellow bands was frayed. So I said to myself, maybe this was a defective one and the next gym will be perfect. Also, I decided one would be enough as I felt I got a good workout. The next day I returned the defective one and picked up the other order. Not even a second into my workout I felt one side had less resistance than the other. Sure enough one of the black bands was stretched out. I think these have been sitting in storage for so long that the bungee cords have started losing their elasticity. This one is going back also. I am really disappointed as I really like the door gym. I am debating whether I should try another one or get the X-factor.
Walmart is the best!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Far better than I hoped

01/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this home gym, because it looked easy to use, and for the low price. I knew I was buying a cheap item, so didn't expect too much. What I didn't excect, was how much I'd love it! I have used almost every day for the last 3 weeks, and can now do many more reps, at a higher level of resistance.
I had it out of the box and in use in under 5 min.! I use the yellow bands for my legs, the black for my arms, and all 4 bands at once for my abs. My husband and oldest son use 2-4 bands at once for everything. They want a second one, to put on the same door, so they can used 4 bands per arm. For this price, why not?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

An useful inexpensive device

04/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I mounted two of these together, about 44 inches apart on a wall. (I had a single on on a door for about a year.) Just used 2x6s with a 1x4 backing for top and bottom mounting insead of door. With the ability to use several cables at once, the device gives me a nearly infinite number of exercises that use both hands or legs, while providing good resistence. The cables seem to be sturdy (all four give a different resistance) and the handles are comfortable. With light dumbells and a small adjustable bench, you end up with a great home gym with which you can attack the entire body.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

excellent product for tonning body if you travel!

10/18/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
product is excellent and good value for money. very easy to install fits almost all the doors!
A little light for some exercises but in general for all it is pretty effective!
a tip: it is very effective for exercises which involve taking one hand because you can increase the strength by hooking all the four strings together in one.... but if you want to do exercises with both hands together like chest it feels a little light because at most you can use two strings each for either hand...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

must have product

01/06/2010
By ,
Tulare, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say that as soon as i used this product i was amazed at how good and fun it was to use. yes it is a little light on the resistance side, but i plan on buying two of them (one for each hand). for now i just clamp all four on one hand grip and use that for tricep and bicep workouts. very good price. cheaper than one month gym membership and can do almost all the workouts that you can at the gym!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

One of a kind

01/11/2009
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having my second child, I had gained 60 pounds. After using this machine with in 6 months I had lossed the 60 pounds, a very simpile machine and you will have dramatic results!!
Thank you Wal-Mart and the makers of this product.
Sincerely,
A very HAPPY customer!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Golds Gym System Worth the Money

12/26/2013
By ,
Camas, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been working out for many years. As a business traveler, and in my 50's, I am always looking for workout equipment that will be convenient for packing and using in a hotel room. I'm not looking to become an Arnold, but, just want to keep toned... and this is ideal. Many things I have tried, just is not worth the money. I tried the Golds Gym home system and it is certainly worth the money. It has the tension and durability required for a decent work out.
For my home, I plan to buy one more, to use on two doors facing in opposite directions for yet another chest workout routine.
So far, I'm happy with it.
J.
Camas, Wa.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Expect results

06/08/2009
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You won't be disappointed with the results you get from using this product 10 minutes a day. Great for toning and fat-burning. If you put it in a convenient place, you'll use it more often than 10 minutes a day. And those 10 minutes pass quicker the more you use it. I often do it 10 minutes before work and 10 minutes after work. I don't even worry if I skip a couple or three days because because resistance workouts rev up the metabolism burn for a longer period. Best of all, it doesn't matter how you're dressed. You don't have to wear clothes or shoes to use this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Exercise Aid

11/24/2008
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This make my third purchase of the 4 band home gym. It is a usefull addition for my stretching and exercise routine. On a previous model the bottom clamp had a screw and plate that tighten on the door which I like better because when the bands stretch out one is able to continue to use it because the clamp stays on the door verses this type which drop off after the bands stretch out. The resistance is light to medium if you use all the bands. Can't beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

stretched out

12/11/2009
By ,
au sable forks, ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought two of these to mount on a door. the door may need to be notched in order to use this gizmo. i have gotten a fair amount of use from the product over the past three weeks. Now the bands are stretching out, a bit too soon I feel. Hopefully they can be replaced. Buy this only for very light use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Well worth the money

08/24/2009
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had the home gym for a couple of weeks now but it is working just fine. This is my third Gold's home gym I've had - they seem to last about 2+ years depending on use. The only thing that differs on this one is more plastic than on the others - will have to see how it holds up.
It is great for full motion strength conditioning and it is very easy to move the handles from top to bottom for all exercises.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

good

12/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i like this product good resistance and its easy to use n not tough on the joints.For any body who thinks it does not have enough resistance for you buy two then you four bands for each side for stronger muscules like chest and shoulders and spread them out far enough for chest flies,or you could also step up furher and but more tension on the bands
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Upper body help

05/13/2010
By ,
Chico, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works very well as long as you make sure it is securely attached to a door with the door closed and latched. I am a senior and this product gives me the ability to work out without having to pay a monthly gym membership. It compliments a treadmill exercise that I do daily. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

Great home work out

03/20/2009
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great device for a light home workout. If you need to use heavy weights to get a workout, then go to the gym, but if you just need some light to medium exercises this is a great device. Fits easily over a standard doorframe without damaging it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Home Gym System with DVD

exercise bands

05/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is much better than the traditional bands as it gives more resistance, is easy to install and you dont have to depend on your body for the tension. Has reduced the size of my upper arms and legs and is helping to tone my core muscles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next