Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mattel Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mattel Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

The Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur is the ultimate prehistoric pet. A ferocious yet loyal dinosaur robot with an independent "personality," D-Rex combines robotics, interactive sensors and reptilian-like skin to create lifelike appearance and behavior. He'll walk, chomp, bare his teeth and roar to let you know what he wants. Pet and feed D-Rex to become his master, then surprise friends and family with his charging attack! Like a real pet, D-Rex will follow the sound of your voice, make funny noises and even protect your room with his roaring guard mode.
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%85 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

Too Scary

12/29/2008
By ,
Clinton, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Six year old Son asked for this for Christmas. When he first got it he was real excited, but then when I sicked it on him at first he cried and said he did not want it. I tried to get him to like it . He and his sister conspired against me. It had to go back. I thought it was cool but he settled for Biscuit the dog.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 22 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

D-Rex WOW

12/29/2008
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toy is awesome! My grandson is 5 years old, but ahead of his age group, but he loves this toy. It is the first thing he goes after in the moring. He wakes me up with it and grins from ear to ear when he activates it to tell me it is time to get up and play. I'm really glad we purchased it. Money well spent.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

brought smiles on christmas

12/28/2008
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this dino for our 3 yr old, even though its recommended for someone older. He started jumping up and down when he opened it. He calls it his baby and plays with it all the time! Keep the instructions for details, but he is happy making him wag his tail and keeping him fed. The whole family loves it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

Happy with this product

12/29/2008
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is fun for kids. It looks so real and makes very lifelike sounds. The "pranks mode" is great. The only downside is that the eye movements look very real and in my opinion could scare a younger child (under 5-6 years old). Older kids will probably get a real kick out of it. I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

A new family pet!

12/30/2008
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 7 year old DAUGHTER loves this toy. She carried it every where with her on Christmas day! I was hesitant at first to get it for her but caved as she repeatedly had it at the top of her wish list. I'm glad I caved and got my little girl her dinosaur. Of course it's now $99. in our Walmart store...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 26 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

Dont spend the money on it!!

01/03/2009
By ,
Clinton, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product is not life like nor does it work very well. The toy has a hard time walking, slow response time, gets confused and kids loose interest quickly. It is definatly not worth the $150.00 spent. They would have been happier with the fisher price brand that was almost $50.00 cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 27 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

Grandkids love it!

12/28/2008
By ,
Cherry Hill, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised that my almost 9 year old granddaughter wanted this for Christmas, as did her 7 year old brother. Considered buying only one, but opted to get two... one for each. And I'm happy I did. They both love it!! It's their favorite Christmas gift. They treat it like a real pet.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

D-Rex is a HIT!!!

12/26/2008
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The D-Rex was a HUGE hit. Not only with the one who wanted it, but for all the children. They have talked to it and played with it non-stop since the box was opened!
The only drawback to it was the batteries, which are not included! It take FIVE C cell batteries AND two AAA batteries.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 29 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

D-Rex Dino

11/29/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased to have purchased this item,as it
really is enjoyed by my child,and I would certainly
recommend this item to all my friends,for their child/or children.
It was well worth the price too.
The answers to the questions ahead are for the use my child gets from this toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 30 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

12/26/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would highly recommend this toy it was the highlight of Christmas Day it had everyones attention that is including the adults. I do wish it was not so expensive as children are rough with toys and it is an expensive one to break have to let you know later on how it holds up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 31 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

A Fun Product

12/28/2008
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 5 year old son. It is easy for him to understand and use. We had such a great time with it. As a matter of fact, my dad who is in his 60's enjoyed it so much we may get him one! I would recommend D Rex to anyone who enjoys Dinosaurs as well as having fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

Perfect Christmas Gift

12/29/2008
By ,
Bermuda Dunes, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old grandson loved the DRex. Played with it every day since Christmas. My 5 year old granddaughter loves it too. It spooks grandson's dog... dog thinks its real! love how the DRex sniffs and makes facial movements. A little pricey but a very cool robotic toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

d-rex

12/26/2008
By ,
cedar rapids, iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this toy is sooo cool! my 7 yr old son got it this christmas and he absolutely loves it. it does way more than i ever expected it to; it honestly interacts with him. product itself is well made, not like toys that only last a day or two. i definately recommend this item
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

over priced

12/11/2008
By ,
Porter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not in habit of buying toys over $100.00 so I expected a little more from this product. Only have added batteries and tried out. Product worked as promised. But my eight year old was quickly bored and he is hooked on dinosaurs and robots. Not really worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 35 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

Better than expected

12/29/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I picked up the D-Rex from shipping in Wal-Mart, I was surprised at how big it was. And heavy! It is a substantial toy with many great features. We couldn't get over the facial and forehead expressions. My 7 year old son played with his all day on Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

totally cool

12/27/2008
By ,
cranston,ri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheapest priced at walmart.love site to store ship,so easy to use and pick up.d rex was one of my sons favs,so much bigger than he looks online.hes awesome! Will probally go down in price quickly just like all those other "ROBOS" from the past.raptor,sapien,etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

Entertaining Product

12/27/2008
By ,
Concord, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson was very excited with this product. The remote control worked well and he treats it just as if it is a pet. This was one of the main items asked for at Christmas and we were not disappointed at all. It roars and talks and walks just as described.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 38 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

Shouldn't it do more?

12/30/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son liked it for a few days and hasn't turned it on since. I think if the front paws moved ... or if it walked a litlte faster.... or maybe the prank button made it do a few more things it would have been a much better toy. It's cute... but expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 39 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

Fun Toy

12/16/2008
By ,
Peoria, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a christmas gift so we haven't put it to the test yet, but just testing it out was fun. The only problem is that it takes a while to get it to come to you. The sounds are great and the pranks made us laugh out loud. Fun toy and worth the bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 40 for Mattel D-Rex Interactive Dinosaur

Great Christmas Present

12/17/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my disabled grandson for Christmas but have not opened the box yet. The part I have seen looks great. I was thinking it was going to be much smaller. I really think he is going to love it since he is a T-Rex lover.
jalehma
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
21-40 of 78 total reviews