Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Emerson Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

Place the Emerson PD5098 Radio on your desktop or kitchen counter and enjoy your favorite tunes, audio books, or music as you work, cook, or bake. This portable CD player radio is compact and lightweight and can be taken anywhere you like. It allows the CD to be placed vertically, rather than horizontally and takes up very less space. The metal casing and a blue transparent plate, which shows the CD, lend a trendy look. The radio allows you to tune to different stations with clear sound quality. This AM/FM CD player radio offers a 20-track programmable memory system, 2-digit LCD track indicator and slide-rule tuning dial. The 3" wide-range speaker delivers excellent sound quality. The controls are placed on the top, and you can see and use them easily. It also features LCD indicators that allow you to play, repeat or program with ease. This front loading CD player radio is simple to operate and can work on a cord or batteries.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%71 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

Got what I looked for.

08/21/2009
By ,
Dayton, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked for weeks for a small, compact CD player to place on a kitchen counter plus be able to take outdoors. I tried and returned several due to their size and/or the quality of their speakers. But the Emerson front loading CD player was almost perfect. It had a small foot print due to the CD being vertical rather than horizontal. It looks sharp especially because of the blue transparent plate over the CD and the metallic casing. It does not feel cheap, although it is definitely priced low. And its one 3-inch speaker has amazing quality considering its size. The only thing missing is that it doesn't have the ability to fast forward to a particular place on a track. You can fast forward, but there is no counter to tell you how far you have gone. So I have to make sure I've just changed to a new track before I turn the CD off....a pain when I am listening to books on tape. I liked this unit so much that I wanted to buy a second. Unfortunately one day after buying my first from Walmart, they had no more. I had to go to Target to purchase my second and they had shipping charges, which Walmart did not....yay Walmart. Oh, lest I forget, make sure you buy a unit manufactured in 2009. I had to return one to another store...it was manufactured in 2008 and had all sorts of problems like not continuing to spin. I would definitely recommend this unit for anyone who is just looking for a casual CD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Review 2 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

so cute!

12/01/2009
By ,
saint johnsville,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this radio player. It is so compact it fits in my small shelf in the kitchen. The radio sounds awsome i get alot of stations. The cd part is so cool.
The cd goes in so easy. I am very happy with this products. thank u!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 3 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

Works Great

09/14/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This radio/CD player works perfect for me. It is perfect for setting next to me to play my CD's when I am on the computer. And I love that the volume control doesn't have a big jump in volume when you turn it like most electronics do these days. You are able to get the perfect volume that you want. And the price is right!
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Review 4 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

purchased for small size

08/14/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love that the player is compact. Sound quality is just fair, and there is no bass/treble control. Don't really use the radio feature - only for CDs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 5 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

Kitchen Companion

02/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For awhile I was on the look out for a slim radio/CD player combo that I could place in my kitchen. I needed something that would not take up a good amount of counter space so I wanted to find something slim. I found it was not an easy task to find a unit that met such criteria.
I decided to take a chance on this little Emerson unit when I saw it on Wal-Marts website. It was priced perfectly and the Ship-to-Store was a great feature. I have not been sorry. I have used this unit every day to listen to my books on tape while I cook and occasionally have the radio on. While the dial for the radio has taken some time to get used to, as I generally do not listen to more then one radio station it is not too much of a bother, but I could imagine it would be a bit of a nuisance if someone generally prefers to "channel surf". I have found that the reception is much better then my larger, older unit that I used to have in the kitchen. Overall I am very happy with this unit and think that it was a wonderful choice! My mother-in-law has even said how much she prefers this Emerson that I have over the large stereo she currently has in her kitchen, and if your mother-in-law is impressed you know it's good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

Looks can be decieving

03/08/2009
By ,
Lodi, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this for my Mom, loved the fact that she did not need to use head phones and had a cord so no batteries were needed. I acually liked it and thought of buying one for myself. She was able to carry it from room to room. The sound was good, I thought ok great. Only one thing though it only lasted TWO DAYS cd player would not work, pushed the cd buttons till the cows came home and NOTHING. I returned it and bought a portable with irritating head phones for an ederly woman but after 3 weeks at least it still works....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

Great for the price and size

02/28/2009
By ,
Poconos, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great compact size, easy for my eight year old to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

Front Loading CD Player

08/17/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very pleased with the Emerson AM/FM with Front Loading CD player. It is very compact so it fits perfectly in my kitchen. I can listen to either the radio or my favorite CD's while I'm cooking, baking, or cleaning in the kitchen. It fits nicely against my wall and keeps me from having to blast my neighbors from the living room. If you're looking for a portable convenient CD player than this is the one for you. The sound is pretty good to...considering this is a very inexpensitive unit. All Thumbs Up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 9 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player
12/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm so glad I got this! I read all the reviews and that pushed me to go ahead and order it. It's very loud and works extremely well....and best of all takes up very little room which is what I was looking for. Most CD players are much bigger and take up so much more room. Love this! and walmart was the cheapest place to get it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

CD/radio

01/05/2010
By ,
St Louis MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I listen to books on tape. I bought this as a replacement. My research showed it got excellent reviews and I have been very pleased. It is light enough to move from room to room. Has a good voice quality and is easy to load. For the price you can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

enjoy it immensely

01/31/2009
By ,
scarborough, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does everything I wanted it to and more; great sound, it's porable, plays my CDs and can listen to the radio as well. especially like the fact that Emerson is a known brand name of good quality products. Expect it will last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

Great little radio. nice size nice sound, love it.

06/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the location where all the buttons are. the way to put the cd is very comfortable and when running the cd player you can see half of the cd turning and it looks pretty cool. i would totally recommend this radio to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

nice little radio/cd player

12/04/2009
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a small radio/cd player for my bathroom and this works. It doesn't take up much space and I can listen to my favorite cd while in the bath. The sound is pretty good, not excellent, but an overall good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

Not bad for the price

06/05/2011
By ,
Houston, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to keep in the kitchen. So far, it is exactly what I wanted. CD player works fine. Sound is pretty good, although I do not play it very loud. Overall, I am satisfied with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

Works for us

10/01/2011
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids love falling asleep to audiobooks, and this little CD player doesn't take up much space and does the job very well for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

great little portable radio

10/09/2009
By ,
bakersville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband wanted a portable radio to carry around the house/garage to listen to while working. he positively loves this radio. it fit the bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player
11/06/2011
By ,
GILBERTSVILLE, PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOUGHT THIS FOR MY WIFE, SHE IS REALLY HAPPY WITH THIS RADIO AND CD PLAYER. IT HAS GREAT SOUND AND TAKES UP VERY LITTLE ROOM.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

no title

05/17/2011
By ,
st paul, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought this for my husband just for listening to music on the deck, works great, sound is very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 19 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player
08/17/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had it a short while, but seems fine so far. Exactly what I had in mind when I ordered it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Emerson AM/FM Radio With Front-Loading CD Player

great little radio

07/27/2009
By ,
Liverpool, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
had it about 2 weeks now and it works fine, no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next