Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Relion ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

The ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier helps provide relief from sinus difficulties, allergies, common cold symptoms and asthma. The cool mist humidifier creates moist air and enables the user to breathe healthier air. Place this breathing humidifier on a flat surface and away from any source of heat. It should be at least six inches away from the wall to ensure proper air circulation. The humidifier has two settings high and low.
Average Customer Rating:
2.701 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation46%66 out of 144reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Sounds like an airplane taking off.

07/16/2011
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to help with my 5 year old's allergy problems with dust. As soon as I turned it on the fan sounded like an airplane taking off. I have had it on for more than 2 hours and the noise has not gone away. No leaking which is good but the noise is just awful. This will be going back tomorrow. If you can look around for another humidifier that will do a better job and remain quiet. I took a video so you can hear the awful noise it made. Please make your own decision as this was just my experience.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Breathe Again

03/20/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my daughter. Her Dr. said we had to have one to help her breath due to cold and allergies. It has been a life saver for her. She hasnt had any problems since I purchased it.
I have read some of the reviews that it leaks. I have had NO leaks. I make sure not to fill it to the rim where it is possible to happen. I clean it every week and empty and refill it everynight. Making sure it has fresh water in it. Make sure the lid is on tight. The machine is a lil loud but after a few days you get use to it, and it doesnt bother us. I also turn the machine on high for 2 hours before my kid goes to bed this seems to help as well. Again its not a bad machine, just like everything else you have to make sure you take care of it and shouldnt have problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 3 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Works fine - with an easy fix

03/19/2010
By ,
Aliso Viejo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yes, this does leak with replacement filters, However, here is how you fix that and save some money. Go to Walmart's house cleaning supply section. Find the ocel-o utility sponges (5.9x3.0x0.9 size). Use one as the filter. Works a lot better than replacement filters. Small gap at top, but filters left same gap. No more leaks and it works fine. Airflow even increased a little as did water usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+169points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Connecticut
Sorry -- no dice
Posted 02/18/2012
This "sponge instead of filter" thing is just the sort of thing I like to try. But this time, I'm sad to say, it does not work. The first night, the filter fell forward because of the air flow and failed to humidify the air passing by. The second night, I wedged something very small in there to hold up the sponge, but the machine labored to draw the air through the much denser sponge. And by the middle of the next day, I noticed that the moisture tended to hang in the lower third of the sponge instead of wicking all the way up. Finally, I went and bought the real filters. The airflow more than doubled, the machine did not labor, and the air actually became humified. End of experiment.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Great Humidifier

12/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son when he was 2 months old.We have cold winters where we live and the dry heat in the house was making it hard for him to breathe at night.The doctor recommended a cool mist humidifier and I found this at Walmart for $25.It has worked wonders for him since day one.It has 2 settings,high and low.I usually set it on high at first to get the humidity up,then set it to low the rest of the night.I've had it for over a year with no problems.For best performance,replace the filter ($4) every 30 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 5 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Does Not Work

12/30/2010
By ,
Chicago, Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Reli On Humidifier Model RCM-832N about two months ago. This humidifier does not humidify at all. The problem is the plunger that is attached underneath the fillable tank (upper half). In order for water to gradually flow out, it needs something to push in the spring loaded rod inward in the bottom half of this unit. But guess what? There is nothing at all at the bottom half of this unit to activate this plunger. And since the bottom half of this unit was designed poorly, it cannot hold enough water to humidify any room. There is less than 1/4" clearance at the bottom of this unit. "How can you fill up the bottom half including wetting the filter when it all leaks out through the vent in the back?" When I first filled the tank with water I thought that it would somehow magically activate the plunger to fill the bottom half just enough to wet the filter and from there humidify the room. "Boy, what big fool I was for beleiving that!" After two months of using this unit, the water level in the water tank has stayed exactly the same! And beleive me; the air in my room is so dry, that it makes me get nose bleeds almost every day. Bottom line is; this is an incomplete humidifier. It needs to be redesigned.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

It Works For Me

01/11/2010
By ,
Pueblo West, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent and reliable product. I have two of them. I love them. They work great. The reason people have leaks is they don't make sure the rubber gasket on the fill cap is in the proper position. About every other week, I put a very minute amount of vaseline on the gasket to help it seal properly. It's just that simple but some people just don't and never will get it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 7 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

So So experience

12/04/2009
By ,
Avon Lake, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was the second one I bought, the first one I thought was just "aged". But after having this for less than a month the same problem starting occuring. The water leaked out the back. I eventually had a pan under it for a just in case and then yesterday the pan was completly filled!! It was a great product when it worked for me but I had it with this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 8 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Awful

12/08/2009
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I too have had it with this humidifier, the water does leak from the back, I have had other humidifiers before and this has never happened to any of them. This product is poor, taking out the filter tray is another chore, it doesn't just come out easily you have to pull it up a little just to take it out and when you do all the water from the tray pours out, I would not recommend this produt to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+25points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vancouver, WA
reply to "awful" (Deesmom)
Posted 12/31/2011
I would have to say if there is an issue with the filter cup being hard to remove and a leaky back (I gather its due to the filter cup) I think you should try and get your unit replaced. Sounds like it is defective.
I borrowed one from my brother-in-law, and didn't have any problems at all, in either removing the filter and cup nor was there any leaks. (I used it for 3 months).
I came onto Walmart's web site to see the availability of these in my local store, because I want to purchase one. The motor is quiet and it has really helped with the winter dry air in my home.
Best of luck, I hope you've got the problem resolved by now.
Blessings
Kathy F.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Do NOT buy this!

01/03/2010
By ,
Woodbridge, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product before reading the other reviews. My main problem with it is that if you want to turn off the unit (like during the day when you aren't home) you must remove the water tank and dry out the water collection tray or the product will just drain the water in the tank all over what ever it's placed upon and eventually down to your carpet. (Which is what it did in my bedroom) I do not need to run the unit 24 hours a day but I had no way of knowing this is very difficult to do with this machine from reading the outside of the box. The instructions about what to do when unit is not in use are misleading and lead you to believe you can just turn it off and leave it. YOU CAN'T! It will flood your room. After reading the other reviews about the other problems with this product, I will be returning it. I might be able to put up with removing the tank & drying out the collection tray every morning before work, but not if it's going to break eventually anyway.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Just what I wanted

01/27/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched the various humidifiers prior to going to purchase one. The cool mist one appealed because I'm already hot natured, and I love this feature. Having read the reviews, I took the advice of one man & have put a dab of vaseline around the gasket initially and then once a week when I clean unit, and I have had not one leaking problem. As far as water coming out the back it has not been a huge issue at all. yes, a bit sloshes out when carrying it if you're not careful, but it was so minimal it didn't effect my opinion a bit. It was a draw between a Vicks humidifier and this one - the thing that decided me on this one was the price of the filters. Vicks' filter was $12, and this one was $4. Compared to the old model humidifiers, this one is a breeze to clean. If anyone's having problems getting it done then I wish you could try some of the older ones. Removing the tray wasn't a huge problem here, and I simply set the unit down in my kitchen sink, and had absolutely no problems. And, it has greatly helped in adding humidity to my dry apartment, which means overall its doing the job I expected. Great product for the price, and for smaller areas.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Leaks

12/21/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product began leaking after 1st filter replacement...thought maybe we just needed to readjust and start over, still did not correct the problem...had to return item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 12 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Horrible & Leaked Everywhere!

02/10/2013
By ,
Shelby Twp, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are on our 4th one of these from Walmart. Yes we bought & returned 3, up to this 4th one, which we are cutting our losses & I'm giving away on Craigslist.
Just like everyone else said, after the 1st filter change, it leaks the water ALL out, all over whatever you happen to have it sitting on. In our case an antique dresser, totally ruined by this humidifier.
I don't know what the problem is when you change the filter, also if you let the filter get too dirty, it will leak. We bought the correct replacement filters every time, & every time ALL of the water came out. This is FOUR that it has happened with. Do yourself a favor, stay far away from this brand.
I don't need to go thru a whole song & dance w/ adding non-humidifier parts to it to get it to work properly such as mentioned buying items in the hardware section. Humidifiers that are brand new should not leak, period, end of story. I promise you we bought 4 & every single one of them did this. We now will never purchase anything by this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

functional for the value

12/22/2010
By ,
Jefferson, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product CAN HAVE tendancy to leak however if after you fill the water tank ....check to make sure the small "o" ring on cover is in place - the humidifer leaks when that o ring is not where it belongs. I have had no issues of leaking when everything is together as it should be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 14 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

I Like It!

12/18/2012
By ,
Plano, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was initially hesitant to buy a cool mister because of the filter. I preferred the warm misters because you don't need a filter. I used this product last winter and did not have one problem with it. I suppose it's one of those things that you either love or hate. I've never had a problem with mine leaking. In fact, I will leave the water in the tank all day and nothing happens. I actually prefer the cool mister now because it doesn't heat up my room like the warm ones. And it doesn't leave the room feeling heavy. I had planned on pulling it out of storage last night as my sinuses are drying out and I've recently acquired a couple of hermit crabs; and they will appreciate it as well. But then I remembered that I need a new filter. And yes it is noisy. But I sleep with a box fan on me in the summer, so I'm already used to it. And it drowns out my noisy downstairs neighbor! I guess it's buyer beware with this product. I just hope I don't end up eating my words when I get that new filter and turn the thing on for the season.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 15 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Relief

12/17/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product has helped my husband (sinus issues), asthmatic cat and myself breathe.
The air feels like coastal breeze. It has also reduced static, odors, pollen and mold.
This product did leak but I was desperate to make it work! After noticing that bubbles would rise from the fill cap in the water tank, I realized that it was slowly leaking underneath the water tray and out the back. I called customer service and they sent me a new cap with gasket.
While waiting for the new cap, I adjusted the gasket and have not had any bubbles or leaking since. I am using it now! My cat sits next to it. It does not make surroundings wet.
So check the gasket if you see bubbles from the fill cap and keep the product! It works!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Best value

06/02/2011
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had my purchase for over a year now and bought it to help cool my room in the summer time. Not that I need more moisture (Wisconsin humidity is high enough) but I bought it anyway. It definitely helps me sleep at night during the summers. I just learned I should have replaced the filter once a month-whoops :) But after reading all of these reviews about leaking I have never had that problem, however it does not last for 36 hrs...I can let mine about 10 hrs before it needs more water just because it pushes that much out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 17 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Great humidifier for the price

11/05/2011
By ,
Encinitas, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this humidifier for more than 3 years. I use it everyday. I have never had any issues with it. Doesn't leak, is very quiet, easy to change the filter. I couldn't ask for a better humidifier. I have severe allergies and asthma, and this helps immensely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

Does exactly what I bought it for

01/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the ReliOn humidifier for a different reason than most. I am trying to keep the humidity in my instrument storage area of the recording studio between 45%-55%. Prior to running the humidifier the room which is around 350 SF stayed in the 30% range. I can now keep it in the correct range by running the humidifier on the low setting. It actually does better on the low setting (not sure why). I have had no problems with leakage as some have reported. There is a soft blowing sound from the fan circulating the air but it is not too loud. It does exactly what I needed it to do for a very low cost and for that reason I gave it 5's all the way across. I have been running it for about a month solid and the only maintenance I have done is rinse out the holding tank with a little bleach water and rinsed out the filter. So far, so good. It runs about 1-1/2 days per re-fill on the low setting and about 18-24 hours on the high setting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

awsome product

12/17/2010
By ,
tallahassee fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this product it helps me breath at night and it is not loud and i love i would recomend this to any one
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for ReliOn Cool Mist Humidifier

If you like peace and quiet, do not buy!!!

12/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got this humidifer, set it up in my child's room, got my child ready for bed and turned the humidifier on...
It is SOOOO loud....we probably had this on for ten minutes while we read stories and had to turn it off before bedtime. It comes with two settings, low (really loud) and high (extremely loud!). So, have we used the contraption...no...I have no idea if it leaks or works...all I know is if you enjoy listening to a very loud fan, you will like this product. I will be returning it to Walmart ASAP.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Grand Rapids, MI
Agreed!!
Posted 12/26/2011
I, too, have no idea if it leaks or not as other buyers have suggested as I can't bear to have it on because of the noise! It does get a little quieter after about 15 minutes but in my experience, it's way too loud.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next