Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hoover Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Incorporating multi-stage cyclonic technology, the Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner renders thorough cleaning on multiple floor types. For those suffering from dust allergies, the Hoover bagless vacuum cleaner is a boon as it filters out 99.9% of dust and other allergens. The Brushroll control feature of this HEPA filtration vacuum cleaner works best for both bare floors and rugs. This brush roll control vacuum offers ultra-quiet operation, a 12 foot stretch hose to clean every nook and corner of the room, and multiple height settings to be effective across various floor surfaces. Above all, the Hoover Whisper Vacuum Cleaner renders powerful suction performance and an indicator to intimate users when the suction drops below the stipulated level.
Average Customer Rating:
4.377 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(796 Reviews) 709
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
493
4 stars
203
3 stars
42
2 stars
23
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation90%713 out of 796reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
493
4 stars
203
3 stars
42
2 stars
23
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

OMG!! Unbelievably EXCELLENT!

12/08/2009
By ,
plainfield, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DO NOT HESITATE TO BUY THIS. I bought it after reading all the good reviews and even though my friends told me to buy a Kirby/Dyson ...those were too expensive. So, for $100 (I had a coupon, so it was slightly cheaper. All the reviews says Dyson clone. I don't know how good a Dyson is - I have never owned one of those.
Here goes...I got this...put it together in five minutes (not even). Read directions on how to clean out canister and change filter. Both VERY EASY tasks! Anyways...wanted to really test this sucker out. So, took my Hoover U5140-900 Tempo (the upright blue one that gets rave reviews!!) bagged vacuum and really really really worked over our family room carpet. I must have gone over each area at least three times. It looked faboulously clean. Then...turned this Whisper on...and yes it is much quieter. My kids (who were both deathly afraid of the old vacuum) ran into the room to ask to try out the new TOY!!! Seriously! They each (5 and 3 years old) pushed the vacuum for about two minutes! They thought it was fun...are you kidding me??? They go from deathly afraid of the old vacuum to now wanting to use the new whisper quiet vacuum!!! That's a testament to how much more quiet it is as well as a different noise (more of a high pitch than loud roar). Anyways, ran over the family room carpet one time...and...OMG, you would not believe how much more DIRT, DIRT it picked up. It didn't suck up carpet fibers to make you think it's sucking up more....no, this was DIRT, DIRT! My wife was floored...she couldn't believe the crud that was being emptied out of the canister. She immediately grabbed the vacuum and headed for other areas of the house.
Cons, it is a little on the heavy side...so, for vacuuming stairs...you need some muscle or use the extension only.
I even took a photo to show you all the extra dirt it picked up. Remember, this is dirt it picked up after I already vacuumed with a very popular Hoover U5140-900 Tempo that had a new bag in it.
To wrap up...Excellent, gets family more involved in cleaning, cleans at unreal levels of your carpet! Deep Deep cleans!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+132points
Review 2 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

GREAT DESIGN great value REVIEWS HELPED me buy! :)

10/19/2009
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 19 year-old Hoover died and I picked this one based on reviews. It sounded like a great value and IT IS !!
People said it was quiet and IT IS noticeably quiet! Very nice on the ears and enjoyable to use!
For the money you get a lot of suction! Bagless works great and you can see how much it picks up. Strong machine! I had a LOT of fuzz I didn't know about!
Nice design with the big handle to carry it up stairs. Good planning on the buttons, adjustments and how it keeps the rotating brush off automatically when you don't want it.
The hose could be a little longer but it's fine. I do not own a pet so I can't attest to the fur pickup.
This unit did all that people said it would and I am very happy with it! I feel I saved at least $30 over comparable units at Kohls and other places.
I don't see what spending more money will get you when this one cleans so well.
Great job to everyone who reviewed it and helped me make this purchase! I am 100% satisfied!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Read how to empty!

12/17/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes it is heavy and no it does not have a light but I was amazed how much dirt this thing picked up! After vacuuming, I needed to empty the container and didn't see my manual anywhere, but sheesh I am a grown woman and can surely figure out how to empty it right? I found the dirt conatiner release button and the whole conatiner came off-great! But it was huge -twice the size of my old container so I was sure it must break down one more time somewhere. I searched for a way to break it apart and didn't see a place to unscrew it. After a few minutes of frustration I saw a small gray button on top of it and mumbled, "hmm. I wonder what this does" and I pressed it. It was a throw up button! Please see the photo and remember this when you empty yours for the first time. I LOVE it now that I know how to empty it! Oh and I found the manual too~hang on to yours.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 4 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Good product with a big flaw

02/24/2010
By ,
Galesburg, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm writing this to give potential buyers a heads-up about what could happen that would make the vacuum
unusable without some intervention. In the photo, please note the plastic piece that locks the canister onto the vacuum (green arrow). What you can't see is that the other end of this lever (red arrow), also plastic, is inside the vacuum and is quite flimsy. If you routinely use the handle to move the vacuum around - and who wouldn't? - that flimsy part will probably eventually break. When it does, unless you are the type who can figure things out and fix them, you might as well put the vacuum out next trash day. Extreme? Not at all.
If the canister will not stay locked on, you can neither pick the unit up nor use it to vacuum. Without this part functioning properly, the canister will not stay on the vacuum. End of story. It is unbelievable to me that an engineer would use a cheap plastic part for this vital function. I've managed to make the vacuum usable again by drilling the back of the vacuum, inserting a bolt and attaching a bungee cord to it. The other end, as you can see in the photo, is wrapped around the canister handle. This arrangement holds the canister in place in a front to back way. The other part of the solution is the Quick-Grip clamp that holds the canister down. They make cleaning out the canister kind of annoying, but both are necessary to continue using the vacuum which, by the way, is about 18 months old. With the exception of this one very serious flaw, the vacuum is an excellent value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Proud Owner of a Hoover Whisper!

11/12/2009
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product a little bit more then a year ago. I absolutely love it! The first thing that drew me towards this particular vacuum was the color. I love the blue, it's very pretty. The second thing was the claim that it was quiet... I didn't quite believe it but once I got it home it was MUCH quieter. We live in a 2 family apartment and with my old vacuum... I felt bad running it at any given time and with this one I feel comfortable running it at 8 in the morning or 8 at night. It picks up well and I have a 3 yr old and 1 year old... so I vacuum daily. I LOVE the pull out wand! It's by far the best feature of this vacuum. Snack time is in the living room so I end up with cheerios and other misc. food items and I can just reach out with the wand and suck them up. It's also very easy to suck up cobwebs or spiders from my 9 ft. ceilings.
The downfall to this vacuum would be the canister to empty it. You have to reach your hand in and pull all the hair and dust out because most of it gets stuck.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Excellent vacuum!

02/19/2009
By ,
Boise, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is great. My old Dirt Devil (a three-year-old machine) was clogging up after just a couple minutes of use, so I went online to check what was reasonably-priced and worth every penny and more. This was the one that caught my eye: under $100, super-cheap shipping, and everyone said it was somewhat comparable to the Dyson vacuums (but for less than a third of the price). It IS that good! I know our carpet isn't THAT clean as it's three years old and it hasn't been steam-cleaned in a few months, but I couldn't believe the amount of sand, hair (human and cat), feathers, and dust that got sucked up. And the suction stays strong, even when the cup is getting full! I'm also impressed with how quiet it is... I can hear my five-year-old while I'm vacuuming. This is a great vacuum! You won't be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+167points
Review 7 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Great Value

02/07/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this for our new home. I was leery about buying anything without reading the reviews first and I thought I would have rather fixed our old vacuum than purchase another.
My husband tested the vacuum in our high traffic areas (we have two dogs that shed immensely) and boy what a surprise. On the first run in only one room (15x18) we emptied massive amounts of dog fur.
I grabbed the vacuum for my turn, took it upstairs (it's very light) and vacuumed our bedroom. Once again lots of dog hair amongst other foreign items that we could barely even see.
This product is highly recommended. I'm extremely frugal and detest things that do not work well.
Buy this and you will not be disappointed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Review 8 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Excellent vacuum reviewed by an expert!

02/07/2009
By ,
N/A
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best bagless vacuum you can get at any store HANDS DOWN! I am a vacuum collector with 17+ vacuums old and new. I love this vacuum for many reasons. First of all, it is SOOO quiet. I turned it on and really was surprised! At first I didn't believe the label, but this really is a QUIET vacuum for a change, even though it is a dual-motor 12 amp upright. It also doesn't lose suction and get all that dust stuck in the top of the bin, unlike my dirty Fusion, which is a lot easier when dumping. It has a low center of gravity so it won't tip over when using the hose. The hose and wand are very durable and long, and are easy to unclog. The suction is FANTASTIC! It picked up so much dirt and FINE particles and actually kept them INSIDE the vacuum. I suffer from allergies and my Hoover Fusion would release dust back into the air, but the Whisper doesn't. It is hepa and does not make me wheeze. You can turn off the brushroll for hard floors or for the attachments. It has rubberized wheels so it won't scratch floors. I've been taking apart vacuums for years, and this vacuum seems much more durable than other plastic vacuums.
There are some minor drawbacks, though. The attachments aren't too fancy, but they get the job done. Also, the vacuum maybe slightly heavy for some people, but I really don't feel it.
In all, I am very surprised that this vacuum isn't in the Dyson price range, and is an excellent and good quality vacuum!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Review 9 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Not as good as reviewed

12/26/2011
By ,
Kansas City, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this vacuum for approx 2 years. It seemed great at first, like most reviews said.. but it clogs with dog hair around the belt routinely, the plastic lid on the canister broke within the first couple of months because it is a flimsy hinge and it is difficult to clean the inside of the canister of all the dirt. You have to bang it on the floor to get the dirt to come out, and you will not believe the amount of stuff that comes out. It is also extremely heavy to push and lug around. It used to pick up really well, but not so much anymore. Now it doesn't pick up at all, so I am replacing it. It's fun at first to see the dirt swirling around in the canister, but if you have allergies or asthma, I don't recommend it, as emptying it will release all the dirt into the air. I prefer a bagged vacuum to keep it all contained and not having to bang the canister to try and get all the dirt out.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 10 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

1 Year Old and Still Going Strong!

02/05/2010
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum over a year ago on December 20, 2008. We have a daughter with asthma and are the owners of 2 cats - one longhair and one shorthair. We have hardwood throughout the kitchen, dining and hallways of our home with carpet in all the bedrooms, living room and family room. This vacuum is EXCELLENT! My last vacuum was a $400 vacuum that would tip over and lose parts whenever I used the attachments. This Hoover does an excellent job with pet hair and everyday dust and dirt. I love how you just pull the wand out to use the attachments, no bending! There is a nifty little button on the top which allows you to turn off the brush roller - I love this feature for my hardwoods, I can roll along and vacuum the hard floors, and then push a button to turn the brush roller on when I come up to my area rugs. I hadn't replaced the hepa filter as of the 1 yr anniversary date because it looked clean, but I replaced anyway to be on the safe side with my daughter's asthma. The foam filter on the inside is easy to wash out, and I do that quite frequently. All in all, this has been a cheap vacuum to purchase and to maintain. The only "issues" I have with the Hoover Whisper is: It's slightly on the heavy side - but given the fact that my last vacuum tipped over, I'll make do with it. And as another reviewer mentioned, it's slightly messy to empty the dirt cup. To empty the dirt cup I hold a plastic grocery bag over it and give it a whack with my hand. This way I'm not releasing any dust into the air. I usually have cat hair stuck up in the filter (remember, I have a long haired cat!)and a good whack doesn't seem to loosen it. I've found that using a Swiffer duster (the kind with the handle) to swab it clean really works well and cuts back on the static. I hope my review helps you make a decision. I am extremely happy with this vacuum! Happy cleaning!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 11 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Wow! This thing is incredible!

05/05/2009
By ,
Callahan, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just used this vacuum for the first time. I have two indoor cats. My old vacuum stopped working about three weeks ago. Out of about three small rooms I got two cups full of cat hair and dirt. This thing is amazing! You won't be dissappointed. It did trip my circuit breaker once during use but once I swapped outlets I didn't have the problem again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Review 12 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Nice Vacuum!

07/14/2009
By ,
East Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this vacuum to replace an older one that had lost most of its suction power. I wanted a bagless vacuum this time. I was amazed at how much debris this vacuum picks up! Even when it was new, my old vacuum never had the power that this one has. It picks up so much stuff that I have to empty the bin after every use. Operating and emptying the vacuum is easy, but I do have a hard time getting all of the fine dust cleaned out of the bin. Washing the filter is also easy, as was the assembly. Using the hose/wand is handy, although I do not like the way the hose is "snapped" into the wand. It always falls out when I am using the vacuum. I love how much quieter this vaccum is! I can visablly see and feel the difference in my carpets/rugs after using this vacuum on them. The complaints I have are very insignificant and minor and have no effect on the performance of the product. Great suction power along with easy operation and maintenance make this vacuum a great value for the cost and a product I would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 13 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Great product

03/29/2009
By ,
Biloxi, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found only 2 negatives: Like all reviewers say, and according to my mom (the house-cleanin' expert) the vac weighs in a little heavy. The other thing is I don't like how the hose dangles outside of its little trough, but O well, that does not detract from the product as a whole.
I used it first and was impressed with what it found in the carpet (carpet I THOUGHT was clean). I ONLY have two kitties, but you'd figure there was a bald cat running around the house somewhere!!!
I was so impressed that I took it to my mom's for the ultimate test. Not that she has a dirty house, but that she is a CLEAN FREAK! She used the vac and was so impressed that she had me order her one as well(from WalMart.com delivered straight to the front porch). She commented on how the carpets found life and the rugs looked fluffier.
soooo, we rate the product with 4 thumbs up!
O yeah, and WOW it really is much quieter than the older models and come on folks, appearance??? Really??? It's a vacuum cleaner.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

So far . . . Great vacuum

09/15/2008
By ,
San Angelo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is supposed to be very similar to the low-end Dysons. I've had mine about 3 weeks.
Pros:
1) Very ease to put together. Mostly pre-assembled and everything else clicks into place.
2) Does a great job on fine dirt and long pet hair.
3) Noise level is ok. Quieter than other vacs I've had in this price range.
4) Wonderful on hard floors because the brush roll turns off and beautifully on carpets. Instructions recommend using the lowest height level unless it's too hard to push.
5) Filter really works and seals are tight. This is a deal maker for me. I don't have breathing problems when vacuuming that I do with less tightly sealed HEPA vacuums (like the Hoover Elite).
6) Washable filters
7) Heavy and sturdy (if its too hard for you to push try adjusting the height)
8) Very easy to use wand
9) The soft-start feature is very nice. Doesn't scare the animals as much.
Cons:
1) fairly small dust cup (like many bagless vacs), mine fills up quickly with pet hair.
2) Dust cup has a easy-to-use system so that the dirt falls out of the bottom, BUT I have to pull the debris/pet hair out of the dust cup. I think if the bottom were slightly wider this wouldn't happen. My Hoover Elite had a similar dust cup but it emptied more easily. I wipe the outside of the dust cup with a dryer sheet to prevent static dust. I then put the dust cup in a large plastic bag and help it empty by using the excess bag as a glove. If you don't have allergies, this won't take you as long as it does me.
3) My Hoover Elite tools don't fit this Hoover. The hose is a tad smaller in circumference.
4) No retractable cord. Hoover does well with these. I love it on the Elite. The cord is easy to wind around the hooks, though.
Overall:
I like this better than my Hoover Elite, which was terrible on hard floors and sprayed dust in the air through small crevices in the vacuum (I put duct tape over places I could feel air blowing where it shouldn't and it helped a lot).
I would buy this again. I'll try to update this review if my opinion changes.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+59points
Review 15 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Excellent on Hardwood floors

04/16/2009
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum is a great value for the money. It is easy to use and goes from carpet to hardwood very easily. It is easy to switch from vacuuming to using the wand. The only drawbacks are that the vacuum itself is heavy, the wand is short and one of the attachments will not stay where it is meant to stay, it keeps falling off. It is very quiet and you can still hear the tv when it is on in the room. It picks up very very well and is easy to empty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 16 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Just OK

06/04/2010
By ,
Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this vacuum after reading the reviews. It works great at first and does make my carpets feel new. I would say that it's just ok. The canister is small and hard to dump dirt out. I have to reach in and pull all the dirt and hair out. I have 2 dogs that constantly shed all year round and need to vacuum everyday. Dirt gets stuck inside around the filter and you have to take it apart to clean it and there are a lot of parts. I have to do this about once a week or the hair comes out the bottom back onto my carpets. It does not work so great on the hard floors. It does not pick everything up you have to go over 2 or 3 times on something that should be easy to pick up. I wasn't impressed with this and expected more with all of the good reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 17 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Heavy Duty Family Use

05/08/2010
By ,
New Hartford, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have owned our whisper cyclone for about a year and a half. After heavy use (every day);
no loss in suction, still just as quiet and effective as when we bought it. 4 kids a dog and cat, No prob!
Durability, this thing is a tank, no probs, a bit heavy but its durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 18 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Cleans great but not so convenient to use

01/10/2011
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This vaccuum is really great for the price, it cleans really well and the brush roll on/off switch is unheard of in a machine of this price range. I will also say, it truly is very quiet and you can have a conversation with someone while you vaccuum.
Having said that, mine went back to the store for 3 reasons:
1. It really is quite heavy. This seems like no big deal until you try to sweep the whole house and realize that it is about 5 times heavier than your normal vac. I am only 35 and in good shape but I don't need a workout while I vaccuum. This would be a very poor choice for an elderly person.
2. The attachments are done in a very unique way. The handle of the vaccuum pulls right off the base and then you attach your brush or crevice tool (both tiny) to it. This would have been pretty cool except that if the pole is too long, it doesn't bend so you have trouble using it. Plus, it doesn't extend very far, which makes it difficult to use it to dust your drapes, ceiling fan etc.
3. The carpet height adjust dial was seriously hard to change. I mean, I had to put a dishrag over it and use pliers to adjust the hieght. Again... not ideal for a vaccuum for me to need tools to operate the carpet hieght dial.
All in all, it does a phenomenal job cleaning & the concept of it was good... just a few too many not so user friendly issues for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 19 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

BEST VACUUM EVER!

01/20/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok seriously, I read consumer reports and was only a few clicks away from buying the Hoover Tempo because it was rated a best buy. Then, out of the corner of my eye, I see the Hoover Whisper and decide to check out the details and read some of the reviews. The first one I read was from someone saying they had bought the tempo and put a new bag in it and vacuumed their livingroom thoroughly. Then they used the whisper immediately after and actually posted a pic of all the extra dirt this thing picked up. I was sold right then. I got mine a couple days ago and put it to work yesterday. It is pretty gross how many times I had to empty the thing for only 2 rooms, but I'm soooooo impressed with how well this thing works! A lot of people complain about the weight but it's no heavier than my old upright and I don't have stairs so it works great for me! And I see the heaviness as a work out for my arms:) Anyway, I'm a homemaker and the Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright is definitely the vacuum cleaner for me!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Hoover Whisper Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, U5184900

Quit after a Year.

08/09/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this almost a year to the date and it is dying on me. I have no idea what is happening to it, but the power is acting up. Whenever I tilt it into the correct position to vacuum it works decently, but it definitely is not picking up dirt like it used to.
Whenever I put it back into the upright position, it automatically turns itself off. When I put it back into the vacuuming position, it starts working again. I also cannot remove the attachment piece without it turning itself off.
A few months after I had it I had troubles with it, but I was able to fix it so I overlooked the issues, but I guess I should have known there was a problem. When it works it works good, but I think that for a vacuum that is nearly a hundred dollars it SHOULD NOT die after a year. Especially since I have used it about once a week. I wish it would last longer considering how much I paid for it, but there is little I think I can do.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
1-20 of 710 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  36 Next