Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for DermMatch DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

DermMatch DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

If you have areas of thin hair or suffer from baldness, DermMatch Topical Shading Instant Hair Loss Concealer has got your scalp covered. DermMatch is a hair loss product that conceals baldness or thinning hair within minutes. DermMatch is an alternative to hair fibers and spray concealers. Apply it on your scalp and brush through for an instant head of lush hair. Hair loss, alopecia, and other hair loss conditions affect both men and women. DermMatch Hair Loss Concealer was designed for all people with any hair texture. DermMatch blends with your scalp color as it plumps and thickens thinning hairs. Plus, DermMatch only comes out when you shampoo. You can sweat, swim and play in the rain without worry. DermMatch is available in black, dark brown, medium brown and light brown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation84%46 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 64 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

works great, but DOES come off without shampoo

08/17/2011
By ,
Portland, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works great to hide thin spots, but you need to sleep with a towel or something to protect your pillowcase from a noticeable dark stain in a couple of days.
It also claims to only come off with shampoo--it comes off if it gets wet...at least in the shower--I haven't tried it in a pool yet. I'm not sure I ever will.
Other than these downfalls, it is a great product for what it's worth.
If you can put up with the above few things, "try it...you'll like it!".
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

Not What I Expected

06/21/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is just OK! I expected it to dry to a point where it would not run or rub off after it dried. that has not been the case with me. i applied as directed, and the coverage is good, but it is not a good hold. it could be my body chemistry, because i have read other really good reviews about DermMatch. at least if you get it and it isn't what you expected, you can always return it. i ordered it through Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

Does exactly what it says!

03/22/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this product easy to use. The product covers my thinning scalp perfectly and makes the hair seem a little thicker. I haven't tried it swimming yet, but I have a feeling it will stay on very well. Washes out easily and does not stain my pillow. Next best thing to a hair transplant! I used the Medium Brown and my hair is a light brown but it is a perfect color for me. I would recommend this product to anyone. And although the price seemed a little high, it looks as if it will last me almost a year. You need very little to do the job.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair
02/19/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have thin or thinning hair, and are distressed because your scalp shows through, this is the product for you. It's better than any other remedy I have tried, and always gives good results.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

Not waterproof.....

08/26/2012
By ,
chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As soon as I started to perspire...it came off
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

Works great

12/25/2013
By ,
Franklin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect color and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

Works very well!

12/21/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I made a good decision ordering this product. It is even better than I had hoped for.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

I love this product!

08/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just spent the last week going to the beach, swimming in the ocean and my shiny scalp didn't blind anyone!
I ended up buying the light, medium and dark brown color ... The dark brown is what ended up working for me. I highlight my hair a lot so I sure didn't think that would be the color for me, I would have considered my natural color to be more of a medium brown.
Regardless, I would recommend this to any woman with female pattern baldness.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

BEST CONCEALER I'VE EVER USED!

09/05/2013
By ,
Enid, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm thrilled with this DermMatch Instant Concealer for thin hair or bald spots. I'm a 60 yr. old female with very thin hair naturally but I have some splotchy almost scar-like quarter sized spots on the very top of my head as a result of a lupus type skin problem. My hair is dark & I do color it in a VERY DARK brown shade, which makes these spots almost seem to shine at times due to the white scalp skin that naturally shows through. I've tried other products advertised for thin hair or balding spots but they didn't stay in place & looked horrible. Since my hair is dark, I went ahead & got the Black shade and I'm VERY GLAD I did because even though my hair's not actually black, I've found other products claiming to be dark brown have all been lighter and most had almost a reddishness to them, which didn't come close to blending naturally. At least a black covers the white scalp skin and you can add more or less to make a more natural blend-in. It looks good on new root growth too as a quick fix on parted hair. This is a very compressed powder compact that came with several sponge ended applicators. You wet the sponge, rub it on the powder & apply where needed, using more or less product to make blending more natural. It's the perfect concealer for these "spots" on the top, that look bald even though there's some very thin hair there. I've not tried swimming in it, and don't think I would unless I'd experimented privately first, but I've not had any problems with it running due to heavy sweating while working outside in the yard. I think you'd have to be very careful if trying to apply to cover an entire hairline along face or neck because it would probably look like a paint job in such areas and might rub off easily there. It goes on easily for my needs and does exactly what it says, helps "conceal" spots & make them not stand out, which is all I could hope for--you simply cannot recreate hair that isn't there, but it's been absolutely the best product I've found for my needs. At least I'm not totally embarrassed when the wind blows my hair the wrong way, now that I can conceal those thin stand out spots. It's certainly worth a try for anyone with needs such as mine, just be sure to get a darker color than you think you may need.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

cheaper, less messy than the expensive spray!

10/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good price for this product. but it certainly does the trick in covering thin areas. much cheaper, much less messier than the expensive spray brand. much less cleaning to do in bathroom. i'm thrilled i found this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

Disappointed

07/07/2011
By ,
Florida panhandle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've tried the shake-on fibers and had hoped this would be different. It claims to not clump like the fibers but it does when there is moisture such as sweating. It's embarrassing and makes it look like a person has dark scabs on their scalp. I've also tried eye shadow on my scalp which isn't as easy to apply but works better, lasts longer and is much cheaper. I don't recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

Great for covering roots and scalp

07/06/2011
By ,
NYC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for masking thinning hair and covering roots in between coloring, and for the latter much less gunky and easier to apply than the crayons and brush-colors. My scalp is a bit sensitive to it, but my scalp is sensitive to everything, so I try not to use it too often, which is fine because it's a bit expensive. The first times I used it, I may have used too much, because it left a matte look that didn't match with the shine of the hair lower down, but it seemed fine as I learned to use it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

DermMatch - A Fairly Helpful Product

01/02/2011
By ,
West Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like DermMatch about the same as I do Joan Rivers' Great Hair Day and it seems as effective for my thinning, fine-hair situation. DermMatch may be slightly better for my cow-lick problem in the back crown area. The medium brown is a touch on the red side. In any case, it's wonderful to have reasonably priced products that address this specific problem, and Wal-Mart's price is the best of all. Thank you, Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/15/2011
Did you find this to be the same powdery consistency as Great Hair Day or was it a more creamy consistency? I'm thinking kind of like powder vs cream eyeshadow.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 34 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

Good product

02/23/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
USED IT FOR ABOUT A YEAR; IT SEEMS TO BE THE BEST ON THE MARKET FOR THE PRICE WITHOUT GOING TO A PROFESSIONAL.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

wonderful product

07/23/2010
By ,
chillicothe, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical of this product but I was willing to try anything to try to cover my thin spot in the front of my hair. I applied this product after washing my hair and I absoulutely could not believe the results when it dried. My hair looked full and no more thinning spot that was so noticable before. I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair
01/31/2013
By ,
Severna Park, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has saved my life! I would be wearing a wig or hiding in the house otherwise!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT

11/03/2010
By ,
SALEM, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
IT DID ADD VOLUME AND HIDE THIN SPOTS BUT IT MADE MY HAIR LOOK DULL AND FEEL AWFUL
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix
Try for Dull Hair
Posted 03/26/2013
I wanted to encourage anyone who has dullness from these products to try a shine spray or gloss spray after using hairspray - if you use hairspray. Anyhow, Garnier makes a very good, inexpensive, shine spray that you use as your last step in doing your hair. I hope this helps. I, too experience hair loss and dull hair. We just need to know "all" the tricks of the trade. :o)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair
09/21/2010
By ,
Danville GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used it 3-4 times but so far I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

It is as good as You could expect it to be.

08/27/2013
By ,
Williamsport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not shinny on top but I do have a receding hairline, a large donought hole on the crown and I'm thinning on top. This product is very easy to use. It makes my hair look thicker and covers up the doughnut pretty well. The bad part is that it rubs off on furniture, pillow cases ect.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair

Undetectable. Covers well. Last thru swim & rain.

08/08/2011
By ,
Brooklyn NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used several products of this kind before; one product that colors the scalp directly & another product that sprinkles filament onto the hair/scalp. This is the only product of its kind that; thickens the hair, colors the scalp, lasts through water and only comes off when shampooed. It is completely undetectable and really gives the illusion of a full, thick head of hair -- instantly.
It's simple and easy to apply. I have a 3" round thin area on my crown, a receding hairline and thin frontal area. It takes me only a few minutes (if that long) to completely cover up and thicken the crown, and fill in and strengthen the frontal area. It gives me the appearance of having a lot more hair that I actually do.
You apply this product directly to the hair at the thin area. It binds to the hair to make it thicker while simultaneously coloring the scalp to reduce the contrast of scalp color and hair color. So that all you see is one color -- the color of your hair, and not the color of hair with scalp showing through. It does an amazing job and will give you the look of a full head of hair.
I recommend this to anyone that has a thin area which they wish to fill in and cover up a balding area.
Walmart had the best price online with shipping and I received the product in about 2 days.
Very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 52 total reviews