Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GE GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

GE GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Safeguard your house with the GE 51107 Alarm System. It comprises a door alarm and 3 window alarms that are very easy to setup and use. The wireless design is very hassle free and the 4-digit keypad that lets you set security code further enhances security. The 120 decibel alarm gives out warning tones when someone tries to break in or even when kids try to sneak out during the middle of the night. Operating on 3 AAA batteries, the door alarm also features an alarm delay feature while the 3 window alarms run on 4 LR44 batteries each. This GE alarm system is a great product to make your home more secure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.233 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%39 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

great door/window alarm kit!!!

07/18/2014
By ,
augusta,ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I experienced a recent break-in...and I installed new doors w/ deadbolt , surveillance cameras, motion lights. I didn't want to pay monthly monitoring fees with other alarm systems so I decided to get this product.... I read the reviews and I must say that this alarm systems is simple but very effective... the alarms are very loud and I think will scare off any intruder....I wish I had this installed when the thieves broke in my home , I think they would have left for fear of getting caught...this alarm has made me more confident in deterring crooks from breaking into my property.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

GE Door + 3 window alarm set

11/13/2010
By ,
MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had to give it two stars, and for one reason alone. The door alarm was not well thought out, and can be a pain to test and set. Also, it seems to not work correctly on METAL doors you will need to add an extra layer between the alarm and the door if it is metal.. Figure they would have put that on the package.
Make sure the arrows are perfectly aligned, and that the two peices are close together. Also, dont count on this as you one and only. Get a real alarm, this should only compliment a real alarm system. Great for kids..
The window alarms on the other hand are great. I use these ones with a slide mechanism, and motion/vibration sensing ones.
Also, I would like to note, these alarms are DEAFENING. Not just painfully loud, but disorienting. Sounds like I am saying something bad, but no, this is EXACTLY what you want an alarm to do. Deter or disorient..
A burgalar/ your child will also NOT be able to disable or reset the alarm. In order to stop it, you have to enter the code. In order to reset it, you have to unscrew the back. Even if they figure it out, by then, yourself/neighbors will be well alerted, (the whole block will hear this thing) and the burgalar/kid will be deaf or in panic.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego
Need More Window Alarms
Posted 01/22/2014
I need more than the 3 window alarms. Is it possible to order just the window alarms and sync them with the keypad included in this package?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Great for kids

08/21/2009
By ,
Peublo, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product so I could hear if my kids tried to sneak outside in the middle of the night, or go out when they weren't supposed to. It has done more than that. You can either set it for chime which has a welcome to Loaf n Jug feel or set the alarm that all the neighbors can hear. The alarm is VERY loud, the chime is nice. You can use the window alarms for doors too. It is very easy to set up and this is the best value I have found that actually has a key pad so someone can't just turn it off without knowing the code. You set your own code and can change it if you think the kids have figured it out. The ease of use, cost and easy set up make this a great safety product. Windows or doors, it works!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

too expensive

07/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this product, but never used it as I found a less expensive one called Glass Guard. I really did not need the Door sensor as I have an effective barrior on all entry doors. I just wanted an alarm for the ground level windows. It may be a very good product, but I returned it to Walmart and bought several more Glass Guards with the refund money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

A must for parents!!

05/12/2009
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product because I have a two-year-old escape artist who is capable of unlocking deadbolts and heading for the street. Two days after I attached these to my doors (the window alarms work for doors too) I caught my daughter going out the front door. I was in the kitchen and would not have heard her leaving the house if the door had not chimed. I am so glad I found these!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit
06/09/2009
By ,
CINCINNATI,OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE! I LOVE THESE CONTACTS. I WANTED AN ALARM SYSTEM WITHOUT HAVING A MONTHLY BILL, AND THESE ARE PERFECT. I'M GOING TO GET SOME FOR MY MOMS HOME.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

pretty good

08/10/2010
By ,
brockton ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice set up and price, easy to use and works great except for one thing, it does not work at all when you attach it to a metal frame door. that should be clearly mark on the outside of package. test it away from metal it works perfect time and time again. i am trying to find a way around the problem now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hope this helps
Posted 03/13/2013
Hello it does not work on a metal door. Have you tried to attach some wood on the metal door and then attach the alarm to the wood?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Good Indicator of Security on the Property.

05/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in an apartment building of the chime and alarm can be heard by neighbors to let them know my property has a security alert on my entrance and patio doors. An inexpensive means to protect your property for anyone that may be thinking of breaking and entering.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

GE Wireless Alarm Kit - Great Purchase

01/24/2014
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently moving into a new home we did not want to pay for a monthly service fee. AFTER our house was broken into literally 1 week ago from today; we became proactive in getting the things we have been talking about. To have the kids feel a bit more secure I ordered this and picked it up that night. We also got the GE Wireless Alarm Window/Door Sensors as we needed more sensors. Put the alarm to the door that is not visible to the public and sensors on the windows. The sensors go off immediately if the sensor is separated from the sensor bar. The keypad is excellent, at night we set it for home w/alarm and put the code in very easy, in the AM disarm it, switch it to AWAY/Alarm arm it and leave. I believe the book said 30 seconds to close the door and it literally means it. IF anyone were to break into your home and anyone around said they DID NOT hear that alarm A. they are lying or ALL OF THE ABOVE THEY ARE LYING!...lol I do wish it could dial if the there is a disruption and we are getting one of those. BUT this alarm system is really wonderful. If an intruder wants to get in they will, but it does give you security and a peace of mind knowing, if you are home and/or away, surely anyone coming in a window or opening a door uninvited will be noticed. I will say this IF your door frame where you are trying to put the alarm is a bit slanted and not flush like ours you WILL HAVE to almost make the sensor box and/or key pad; and sensor bars touch. The do NOT have to touch but they will need to be VERY close together. We learned that by trial and error, opening the door w/a delay alert, we just moved the box (sensor/keypad closer to the bar and resolved. It cannot be disarmed if you use the mounts and mount it, the back of it also has a screw for the batteries. So if an intruder were to come in prayerfully by the time they un-mount it, and try to break it, SOMEONE would have alerted the police, and HOPEFULLY you will have been on standby to defend what you work for!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

You can't beat the deal.

11/22/2013
By ,
Pueblo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is $19.95 on line and $29.95 in the store. One of my window units was not working so I returned it for an exchange. I'm going to tell my brother to order one since he has young kids and a brand new swimming pool, this is the least expensive way to monitor doors and windows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

OK product

03/05/2010
By ,
Hudson Falls, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's good for the money, however if I was more serious about the safety I would definitely purchase a product that I would be more confident with. The door alarm takes approximately 20 seconds before it's activated which allows someone to already enter the premises. The door alarm is somewhat loud, but not loud enough to prevent me from locating the alarm and dismantling it in a few seconds. As far as the window alarms go, I don't think they're loud enough to scare a burglar away or even a dog...it depends on the significants of the safety needed...I would feel more safe with something louder and more difficult to locate and deactivate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Strudio City, CA
In response to the above post
Posted 02/23/2014
Thank you! I was looking for the answer how long does it take to trigger the alarm. Since this unit doesn't have a remote control for the home owner to disarm it, it's only a courtesy to neighbors and good feature to keep the presence of the alarm in your house discreet that you are able to deactivate it upon your entry, 20 sec is enough time for me! I live in the appartmt complex and it was my main concern: I didn't want neighbors' complaints for loud sound every time I enter my aprtmst and I often return late at night, so who would be happy to hear siren every night? lol
0points
Customer Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Posted 01/20/2014
My whole house professional security system gives us 30 seconds to set the door alarm and then exit; you are complaining about a great feature!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

A very helpful product!

10/31/2010
By ,
Lincoln Park, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most simple alarm systems to use. Easy to install and does just what I need it to do. Rings a chime (or alarm) when door/window is opened. Allows about 45 second delay when entering to disarm the alarm before it goes off. Great for the price & allowed me a 5% discount on my renters insurance - not to mention the 100% peace-of-mind with the security it provides.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

works on metal doors

06/05/2013
By ,
Memphis TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was weary of buying this product due to bad reviews about not working on metal doors i do have metal doors and this works just fine on mine dont know if they were installing incorrectly but this is a great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit
09/13/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The alarm isn't bad for the price, but the problem is that the window alarms aren't as loud as the door alarm. And the biggest problem is with the door alarm it has two settings in which one is the alarm sounds as soon as door is open which is the home setting which is great for when you're asleep at night.
The other setting is the Away setting in which the alarm goes off after 30 seconds which is way too long. I know it needs to give you enough time to enter the code once you come home, but 5-10 seconds is more than enough. In 30 seconds the person would of already taken alarm off and muffled the sound with something.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Strudio City, CA
to prevent disarmign by a burglar
Posted 02/23/2014
Install the panel in a conspicuous place
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Decent product for the money

03/10/2012
By ,
West Memphis, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, here we go - This alarm kit was very easy to install and does what it is supposed to do. The chime setting for the window alarms is not very loud and may be fine to keep check of small children opening and closing windows. The alarm setting is loud but I doubt any injury would be done to a person's hearing unless you put it close to your ear which is not a smart thing to do.
The door alarm chime setting also is not very loud. The alarm setting however, is very loud and will cause attention to anyone in the area that the alarm has been tripped. This is an excellent alarm for an apartment or a small 3 BR house. I would not not recommend it for a large house. Of course if you have a very large house, you probably shouldn't be buying something this cheap anyway. I mean, who would buy a $29 dollar alarm system to protect a $200,000 house?
The only problem I had was that one of the window alarms didn't work. A closer inspection showed that the battery was defective. I called customer service for GE to see if they would mail new batteries of provide a replacement alarm with batteries included. Customer Service stated that the batteries are not part of the warrranty and the batteries are only included as a courtesy. I wasn't buying that story so I returned the entire alarm kit to Walmart and got another one - Everything worked - problem solved!
After installation, the window alarms as well as the door alarm looked good and did not give the appearance of an inexpensive alarm system. The double sided tape worked well and held everything in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Security

12/09/2010
By ,
North Port, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pros:
inexpensive
easy installation
most batteries are included
door alarm is ear piercing(wish window one were too)
cons:
do have to purchase 3 AAA batteries
window alarms should be louder
Overall I'm happy with the product and would recommend IF you're looking for the alarms to get a thief thinking about whether the house is worth risking being caught!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Very good for the price!

06/25/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought just for a little extra security and it does just that. The only thing that bothers me is if someone does break in while I am away; and hopefully be scared off by the alarm; that the alarm will just continue to go sound. Someone nearby would need to know the code then. Don't want someone outside my family to have that number even though I could change it later. Maybe I will just invest in a system that will call me if there is a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

GREAT ALARM FOR THE PRICE!

03/20/2012
By ,
Sugarloaf, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was quite pleased with how easy this alarm is to install. We bought it for my 4 year old daughters bedroom. We have placed them on the windows and bedroom door so that we can know if she tries to open her windows or tries to wonder around the house at night. We set the alarm on her door at night and turn it off in the morning but the window alarms are always kept on. Definitely loud enough to hear, we keep it on the alarm sound instead of the doorbell chime which is too low and only sounds once. Overall well worth the peace we have knowing that she is safe in her bedroom while we sleep. A definite must have for parents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

simple easy affective

01/04/2014
By ,
utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install and is very loud. Great simple security
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Great for an Apartment

07/16/2011
By ,
Shawnee Mission, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very impressed with the GE Alarm System. I live in an older apartment complex that doesn't offer a security system, and for the price it does the trick. I haven't used the window alarms, but the one for the door has a LOUD alarm. It brings me some sense of security knowing that if someome comes through the door, I will know it. If you ever move you can take it with you. Nice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next