Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

GE GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Safeguard your house with the GE wireless alarm system kit. This system is comprised of a door alarm and three window alarms that are very easy to setup and use. The wireless design of this security alarm system is completely hassle-free and a four-digit keypad lets you set a security code to further enhance the safety of your home and family. The 120-decibel alarm gives out warning tones when someone tries to break in or even if somebody leaves unexpectedly so nobody comes or goes without you knowing. The door alarm operates on three AAA batteries and this GE alarm system also features an alarm delay feature to give you time to get to the keypad. The three window alarms run on four LR44 batteries. This GE alarm system is a great product to make your home more secure. The quick, wireless installation means you can secure any home with minimal fuss, whether an apartment or house.
Average Customer Rating:
4.13 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation87%47 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 65 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

great door/window alarm kit!!!

07/18/2014
By ,
augusta,ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I experienced a recent break-in...and I installed new doors w/ deadbolt , surveillance cameras, motion lights. I didn't want to pay monthly monitoring fees with other alarm systems so I decided to get this product.... I read the reviews and I must say that this alarm systems is simple but very effective... the alarms are very loud and I think will scare off any intruder....I wish I had this installed when the thieves broke in my home , I think they would have left for fear of getting caught...this alarm has made me more confident in deterring crooks from breaking into my property.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

GE Door + 3 window alarm set

11/13/2010
By ,
MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had to give it two stars, and for one reason alone. The door alarm was not well thought out, and can be a pain to test and set. Also, it seems to not work correctly on METAL doors you will need to add an extra layer between the alarm and the door if it is metal.. Figure they would have put that on the package.
Make sure the arrows are perfectly aligned, and that the two peices are close together. Also, dont count on this as you one and only. Get a real alarm, this should only compliment a real alarm system. Great for kids..
The window alarms on the other hand are great. I use these ones with a slide mechanism, and motion/vibration sensing ones.
Also, I would like to note, these alarms are DEAFENING. Not just painfully loud, but disorienting. Sounds like I am saying something bad, but no, this is EXACTLY what you want an alarm to do. Deter or disorient..
A burgalar/ your child will also NOT be able to disable or reset the alarm. In order to stop it, you have to enter the code. In order to reset it, you have to unscrew the back. Even if they figure it out, by then, yourself/neighbors will be well alerted, (the whole block will hear this thing) and the burgalar/kid will be deaf or in panic.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego
Need More Window Alarms
Posted 01/22/2014
I need more than the 3 window alarms. Is it possible to order just the window alarms and sync them with the keypad included in this package?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Awful

07/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did not work on our metal doors, even after putting something between the door and alarm. I was upset to find out that the keypad only controlled one door and that it had no link to the other window/door alarms.
It was suggested that this would be good for kids/teenagers, but how when they can just switch the alarms to the off position without any alarm or warning? After spending an hour trying to find out why the alarm with the keypad wouldn't work, reading comments & trying to put different things between the alarm and the door and it then only working 1/3 of the time on both modes.....we took everything off and returned to the store the following day.
I would not suggest this product if it is intended to use for children getting out of the house or if you have metal doors or metal around your windows. The alarms are very loud, which is a good thing, but be careful when you are testing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Great for kids

08/21/2009
By ,
Peublo, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product so I could hear if my kids tried to sneak outside in the middle of the night, or go out when they weren't supposed to. It has done more than that. You can either set it for chime which has a welcome to Loaf n Jug feel or set the alarm that all the neighbors can hear. The alarm is VERY loud, the chime is nice. You can use the window alarms for doors too. It is very easy to set up and this is the best value I have found that actually has a key pad so someone can't just turn it off without knowing the code. You set your own code and can change it if you think the kids have figured it out. The ease of use, cost and easy set up make this a great safety product. Windows or doors, it works!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Excellent entry level door alarm

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was skeptical at first. Followed the directions and installation was a snap. Be warned this thing is loud! Just be sure to read the guides and instructions thoroughly. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase. Feel safe!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

A must for parents!!

05/12/2009
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product because I have a two-year-old escape artist who is capable of unlocking deadbolts and heading for the street. Two days after I attached these to my doors (the window alarms work for doors too) I caught my daughter going out the front door. I was in the kitchen and would not have heard her leaving the house if the door had not chimed. I am so glad I found these!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Great product.

08/02/2014
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had a apt. break in and this alarm does the trick. Everyone thinks that i have some kind of state of the art secruity system just like i wanted them to!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit
06/09/2009
By ,
CINCINNATI,OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE! I LOVE THESE CONTACTS. I WANTED AN ALARM SYSTEM WITHOUT HAVING A MONTHLY BILL, AND THESE ARE PERFECT. I'M GOING TO GET SOME FOR MY MOMS HOME.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

pretty good

08/10/2010
By ,
brockton ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice set up and price, easy to use and works great except for one thing, it does not work at all when you attach it to a metal frame door. that should be clearly mark on the outside of package. test it away from metal it works perfect time and time again. i am trying to find a way around the problem now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hope this helps
Posted 03/13/2013
Hello it does not work on a metal door. Have you tried to attach some wood on the metal door and then attach the alarm to the wood?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

not what I expected

08/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read great reviews about this and so I purchased one. I didn't realize that my expectation of wireless was not what I thought it would be. Yes, there are no wires but none of the units are connected to the main unit with the keypad.
I also tried to set the keypad several times but was not successful. So now I only have the door chime feature and not the alarm. The user manual instructions and the instructions behind the keypad unit are not the same. One says a green light will flash three times after pressing the learn button while the other said press the learn button then immediately enter your four digit code.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Nothing to stop the kids from turning it off

08/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There is nothing to stop the kids from turning it off themselves. I just turned the off switch to the window so they couldn't reach it. One of the kids just said I can still get out just by taking the batteries out you know. It would be good if you don't want people breaking in but a total failure at keeping the kids from sneaking out.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Feel better about leaving home

08/17/2014
By ,
middle tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to install, and use. A little more peace of mind to leave home. Please beware that your pets will hate this. Disalarming the main door each time, beeps loud on each button....My dog was freaked out. We put it on the door we use less often.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

Nothing fancy

08/17/2014
By ,
Tulsa, Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a fancy alarm, easy to setup, quite loud, no volume control, easy to silence (placing your hand over loudspeaker), easy to break (completely fragile plastic). Gives you some peace of mind knowing that it will scare burglars.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

A needed cost saving security option

07/27/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product after witnessing a neighbor burglary. This is the intention to make a big noise to make a burglar goes away when he wants to enter my house. The kits are easy to set up, double side tape does its work. You only need to make sure you place it properly to make it activate correctly when armed. The tape may not hold the digit alarm for a long time but you can screw it to the door. This is the only disadvantage when setting up these stuffs. Overall it is totally satisfy my need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

OK product

03/05/2010
By ,
Hudson Falls, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's good for the money, however if I was more serious about the safety I would definitely purchase a product that I would be more confident with. The door alarm takes approximately 20 seconds before it's activated which allows someone to already enter the premises. The door alarm is somewhat loud, but not loud enough to prevent me from locating the alarm and dismantling it in a few seconds. As far as the window alarms go, I don't think they're loud enough to scare a burglar away or even a dog...it depends on the significants of the safety needed...I would feel more safe with something louder and more difficult to locate and deactivate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Strudio City, CA
In response to the above post
Posted 02/23/2014
Thank you! I was looking for the answer how long does it take to trigger the alarm. Since this unit doesn't have a remote control for the home owner to disarm it, it's only a courtesy to neighbors and good feature to keep the presence of the alarm in your house discreet that you are able to deactivate it upon your entry, 20 sec is enough time for me! I live in the appartmt complex and it was my main concern: I didn't want neighbors' complaints for loud sound every time I enter my aprtmst and I often return late at night, so who would be happy to hear siren every night? lol
0points
Customer Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Posted 01/20/2014
My whole house professional security system gives us 30 seconds to set the door alarm and then exit; you are complaining about a great feature!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

A very helpful product!

10/31/2010
By ,
Lincoln Park, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most simple alarm systems to use. Easy to install and does just what I need it to do. Rings a chime (or alarm) when door/window is opened. Allows about 45 second delay when entering to disarm the alarm before it goes off. Great for the price & allowed me a 5% discount on my renters insurance - not to mention the 100% peace-of-mind with the security it provides.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

works on metal doors

06/05/2013
By ,
Memphis TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was weary of buying this product due to bad reviews about not working on metal doors i do have metal doors and this works just fine on mine dont know if they were installing incorrectly but this is a great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit
09/13/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The alarm isn't bad for the price, but the problem is that the window alarms aren't as loud as the door alarm. And the biggest problem is with the door alarm it has two settings in which one is the alarm sounds as soon as door is open which is the home setting which is great for when you're asleep at night.
The other setting is the Away setting in which the alarm goes off after 30 seconds which is way too long. I know it needs to give you enough time to enter the code once you come home, but 5-10 seconds is more than enough. In 30 seconds the person would of already taken alarm off and muffled the sound with something.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Strudio City, CA
to prevent disarmign by a burglar
Posted 02/23/2014
Install the panel in a conspicuous place
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

GE Wireless Alarm Kit - Great Purchase

01/24/2014
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently moving into a new home we did not want to pay for a monthly service fee. AFTER our house was broken into literally 1 week ago from today; we became proactive in getting the things we have been talking about. To have the kids feel a bit more secure I ordered this and picked it up that night. We also got the GE Wireless Alarm Window/Door Sensors as we needed more sensors. Put the alarm to the door that is not visible to the public and sensors on the windows. The sensors go off immediately if the sensor is separated from the sensor bar. The keypad is excellent, at night we set it for home w/alarm and put the code in very easy, in the AM disarm it, switch it to AWAY/Alarm arm it and leave. I believe the book said 30 seconds to close the door and it literally means it. IF anyone were to break into your home and anyone around said they DID NOT hear that alarm A. they are lying or ALL OF THE ABOVE THEY ARE LYING!...lol I do wish it could dial if the there is a disruption and we are getting one of those. BUT this alarm system is really wonderful. If an intruder wants to get in they will, but it does give you security and a peace of mind knowing, if you are home and/or away, surely anyone coming in a window or opening a door uninvited will be noticed. I will say this IF your door frame where you are trying to put the alarm is a bit slanted and not flush like ours you WILL HAVE to almost make the sensor box and/or key pad; and sensor bars touch. The do NOT have to touch but they will need to be VERY close together. We learned that by trial and error, opening the door w/a delay alert, we just moved the box (sensor/keypad closer to the bar and resolved. It cannot be disarmed if you use the mounts and mount it, the back of it also has a screw for the batteries. So if an intruder were to come in prayerfully by the time they un-mount it, and try to break it, SOMEONE would have alerted the police, and HOPEFULLY you will have been on standby to defend what you work for!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE Wireless Alarm System Kit

You can't beat the deal.

11/22/2013
By ,
Pueblo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is $19.95 on line and $29.95 in the store. One of my window units was not working so I returned it for an exchange. I'm going to tell my brother to order one since he has young kids and a brand new swimming pool, this is the least expensive way to monitor doors and windows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next