Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Haier Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haier Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

The ultra-quiet, compressor-free NuCool compact refrigerator uses no refrigerant, making it environmentally friendly. NuCool technology does not use a compressor and is capable of maintaining temperatures down to 37 degrees Fahrenheit, keeping perishables fresh.
Average Customer Rating:
3.282 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation58%49 out of 85reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Nucool

04/22/2010
By ,
nc
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This fridge is not cold enough.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

NOT Recommended

03/26/2009
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was not impressed with this product. The refrigerator is advertised as having a technology that is able to get cold enough to store milk/cheese/yogurt, however, I did not find that the technology this product uses meets those specifications. It does not have a compressor and uses fans with heat sinks and does not get very cold and at best anything inside can only be described as "cooled" but certainly not cold. It takes several hours to get cooled and everytime you open the door every bit of cool air that has built up escapes and because there is no compressor, it will once more take several hours for the air to cool again.
In conclusion, I was NOT impressed and cannot in good faith recommend this product. I am returning it and then purchasing a General Electric refrigerator that has a compressor.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 3 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Great little fridge.

06/16/2009
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a small fridge to keep my medication in at home (insulin). I didn't want something that needed defrosting every couple of months. I saw this product and thought I would give it a try (I was skeptic at trying something new). The NU-Cool is quiet and keeps very cold. I followed the instructions to set it on max cool for 2 hours, then set it down to med. I keep water and soft drinks as well as my medicine at approx. 37 degrees. I read a review earlier where someone had trouble with water drainage, all I can say is, they have had a leaking water bottle, This unit stays very dry for me. I know every product has a "lemon" occassionally, but I don't think you can go wrong with this one, (unless you are trying to freeze water). It does keep things cool . . . hence the name . . . NU-COOL system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

this is more like a cooler

06/06/2009
By ,
cedar hill mo
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i was expecting a refridgerator. i just kept drinks in this but it didnt get them very cold even after days of them being in there.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 5 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Be weary of humming sound

02/22/2010
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this fridge for two years now. The first one died while under warranty and I had to pay $15 for shipping and handling for the new fridge plus postage to send it back to the company to get a replacement fridge. The 2nd fridge seems like it wants to die too. Both fridges keep making this loud humming noise every few months which indicates that ice has formed on the blades of the fan. When you hear this sound you must unplug the fridge and let the ice melt for about 24 hours or so otherwise the fridge will die like my first one did. Very annoying and frustrating since I use this fridge at work and co-workers can hear the sound. Spend the extra few dollars and get yourself a reliable brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

good product

06/10/2009
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this compact refrigerator for my office. I needed something compact to keep water and items for the occasional lunch while working. I wanted something that would blend in with the office decor and not be an eye sore. It keeps eveything very cold without looking like a refrigerator in my office. I have an artifical plant and some pictures on top and it blends in with the file cabinets. It also runs extremely quiet. I have only had it a few weeks but am extremely pleased with the product thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Design flaws and poor product life

05/26/2009
By ,
Auburn, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While the concept of this refrigerator seamed good, it had several issues, not the least of which was that it slowly quit working after 6 months. It reached the mid 30's temperature it claimed, but during the last month, the minimum temperature it would achieved slowly climbed. (it is inside, in a room kept at 72 degrees year round). Today it hit 55 and I decided that I had to replace it. Other issues included: Water drain system didn't work, no matter how you set the leveling legs (level, high on the front, high on the back). Water just ran on the floor of the unit and out on the counter when the door was opened. The unit ran constantly (probably contributed to it's demise) and it was not that quite if you are in a quite office environment. The retainer wire on the bottom door shelf was too big, which let cans fall out if you were not careful. It was a $75 waste that means that I will not be buying another Haier product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Wonderful Product!

08/07/2009
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this fridge in my office for 2 months now, and am super happy with my purchase. It keeps everything cold, and now no more walking half a mile to get my lunch (work in mfg plant). As to comments about cooling...either they purchased a defective fridge or they want their food/drinks almost frozen. May also have to do with the environment the fridge is used. My office stays cool so it doesn't have to work very hard. The comment about the water...I see some water pool at the lip of the fridge from time to time, but I think that's the defrost cycle or whatever. I looked today, and no water. It never makes it to the floor...it's only about and 1/16 of a cup of water. It is very quiet, and blends into the decor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Good product

07/30/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shipped site to store in about a week. Arrived in perfect condition. I have had the product for two weeks and it is working well.
Thermostat set on 4 (of 6) holds temp at about 40 degrees in a 78 degree room.
Fairly quiet - two small fans in back, similar to the case fan on a PC - noise level about the same as a PC.
Gave 4 stars on durability not due to a problem, but the fact that the interior of the door is made of extremely thin vacuum formed plastic. Looks more like packaging material than the interior of a refrigerator. Doesn't look like it would stand much abuse.
Much lighter than a conventional refrigerator, so it is easy to carry and move around.
Overall - good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Don't buy it as a refrigerator

02/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It never cooled cokes very well. It only lasted for 6 months before it died.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Worked nicely... while it lasted.

07/21/2009
By ,
Scranton, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this because: (a) it's whiper quiet (b) didn't use a compressor or freon - great for the environment! (c) looked sleek
I bought this in Feb 2009 for my office. I have 2 thermometers inside and the temperature has been maintained fairly well between 37 and 42 degF.
Fast forward 6 months to now (July). I came back to work after a weeklong vacation to find the temperature inside at 60 degF!! I thought maybe our company turned off the power to my office for the weekend, so I let the fridge go for 24 hours. Same temp. Fans are working, but no cooling.
There was always had water on the bottom, which I had to mop up with paper towel every other day. I didn't mind, really, since it *used* to keep my food cool. But now it's dead, so off to the dumpster it goes. I won't be getting another one like this. Next time, I'm getting a *real* one! Bummer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Does what it says, says what it does

04/02/2009
By ,
Mira Loma, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product really is great, it cools everything perishables drinks leftovers whatever you can think of it can keep it cold. It doesn't have a freezer section but it didn't say that it did. I have 2 Soymilks in it some Koolaid 2 milks, Jelly, I have left chicken and vegetables in the fridge and it's kept everything cool and good. It's compact and small and you can put stuff on top of it if you want. I put my computer printer and a few cups that I have on top of it. It's exactly what I wanted I would recommend this to anyone who wants a small refrigerator to keep perishables cold. Also it basically sounds quiet. It sounds kind of like a low sounding computer tower. Afterawhile it gets to the point where you don't notice it. Thank you very much for working to bring a product to us that is what people really want.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Hate It with a passion

02/14/2010
By ,
toccoa, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this NuCool since June of 2009 and i hate it. It will not get anything cold even after being in there for days. It has water build up at the front all the time. I am ready to throw it out the door and buy a new mini fridge. Do not buy this item if you want you drinks and food cold. If you like thing luke warm this this would be perfect for you
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

a lemon

02/04/2010
By ,
ND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this was a great product until it completely quit after just 5 months and when I called the company they offered to replace the refrigerator - if I sent the money for shipping & handling! This seems like it should be their responsibility to me since I'm not the one who produced a defective product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black
02/03/2010
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product for college child in mid-August. To this date, the refrigerator never cooled anything. Now she tells me that if don't blow out anything but hot air. I destroyed the box it came in and also the receipt. How do I go about getting a replacement for this item?
Product Attributes:
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Cool Fridge

02/11/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a 21 year old college student and when I saw this fridge at wal-mart for only 66 bucks I just had to get it. I was so happy and excited and when I got the product home I wasn't dissapointed at all. The fridge isn't loud, it's very roomy inside and it keeps my drinks and food really cool. I also like the fact that I can put my magnets on it. The refridgerator looks really nice and it fits right under my desk. I haven't had the fridge long but I bought the one year warnty for $5.88 and so if anything happens to it I can return it to the store. The box looks big and heavy but the fridge itself is really not all that heavy and it's easy to move. I would reccommend buying it at the store instead of online, that way you don't have to worry about damge during shipping. Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

This is NOT a refrigerator.

09/12/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this "refrigerated cooler" thinking it was a refrigerator. It doesn't keep anything cold but it does make things cooler than room temperature.
Read the product descriptions carefully, folks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Keeps drinks cool, whisper quiet.

12/02/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As others have said, if you bought this thinking it is going to store perishables at an ice cold temperature, you're going to be disapointed. But to keeps drinks cold, it works really well. I didn't want a unit with a compressor because it was purchased for a bedroom and needed to be quiet. This unit is almost completely silent, I haven't even noticed the "PC like" fan sounds that others mentioned. It looks sleek and modern and the LED light inside is nice & bright. If you are needing something to keep stuff cool in a normal environment, and don't want to hear a compressor kick on and off, this is for you. I also haven't noticed any of the water problems others mentioned.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator,

09/10/2009
By ,
Miami, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was not impressed with this product. The refrigerator is advertised as having a technology that is able to get cold enough to store milk/cheese/yogurt, however, I did not find that the technology this product uses meets those specifications. It does not have a compressor and uses fans with heat sinks and does not get very cold and at best anything inside can only be described as "cooled" but certainly not cold. It takes several hours to get cooled and everytime you open the door every bit of cool air that has built up escapes and because there is no compressor, it will once more take several hours for the air to cool again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Haier 1.7 cu. ft. NuCool Compact Refrigerator, Black

Nu Uncool

11/03/2008
By ,
Chicago
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The reason I bought this model was because the selling point was that it was supposed to reach temperatures in the 30s. Well, I have it on the coldest setting and have hardly anything in the refrigerator and it still doesn't get anything that cold. My fruit is okay but my drinks get barely cold enough, not as cold as I would like them to be.
If you have an option, buy a cheaper fridge because this one doesn't seem to get any colder than the other models that other people in my office have.
I would return it but I don't want to waste money on shipping and handling or have to lug it into the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next