Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

The Freetalk Buddy Web Pack includes two web cameras with built-in microphones enabling you to chat and have live video connection with your friends and family all over the world for free with Skype.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation65%13 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Cure for Student Homesickness!

11/21/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Similar spec to the Logitech Pro 4000 i.e. built in microphone and 1.3 Mega pixel lens...but cheaper and better value since this is a 2 pack! (how does that work?)
I have now bought 2 more of these 2 packs so I can give them away as stocking fillers this christmas, (all my family work and live in different towns but we willl all be able to keep in touch better with video conferencing in 2009!).
Easy to set up (Win XP SP2) install s/w first then plug in hardware.
The microphone (with echo cancelation ) works great, so no more need for the headset and external microphone.
Excellent in low light.
Overall, excellent clear pictures and good microphone response without the annoying echo problem associated when using speakers.
Works with Skype.
Overall excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Has the FixCamera.exe bug

10/13/2008
By ,
San Jose, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These webcams have the FixCamera.exe bug. The driver that comes with these webcams detects and kills all programs that have "DOMINO", "VM" or "BIGDOG" as their internal name when they start; for example, VMware Workstation will stop working while the webcam driver is running.
As a result, these webcams are being sold at serious discounts all over the Internet and especially by retailers that have "no return and no exchange" policies. These webcams come in plastic so, in order to try them, you will need to damage the packaging.
DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT! A webcam that causes other applications to mysteriously fail is unusable.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 3 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Buddy Web Pack

11/21/2008
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With single pack webcam's in the $40 and up per range, the price for two with headset was to good to pass up on, but all good deals come at a price, and with these cameras the price is awful install problems. So long as you're willing to hunt down the right driver for your OS, the efforts are worth it in the end. The mounting bracket is not great, but so long as you're creative you'll eventually find a way to hang it on your monitor. This is a great way to start face to face meetings, but don't expect luxury goods at fire sale prices. By the way, I'm getting another pack for more family members
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Product met my expectations

12/22/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this product as a Christmas gift for my father, it was pretty easy for him to install (he did have to reinstall - be sure to follow all directions, a little hard for the computer illiterate) Picture quality is ok, faces are a little fuzzy...the camera does have the ability to focus which does seem to help. You will need to sit pretty far back from the camera though, otherwise faces are really distorted. Overall, I would recommend this product..it meets my expectations especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 5 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Everything's Great, but the Installation

10/06/2008
By ,
Hancock, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The performance of the Freetalk Buddy product has been extremely good, but the installation was a nightmare. The disks that came with the product had drivers for a different product on them, and I had to to the company Web site and search for drivers and then install them after Windows XP had already rejected the hardware installation based on the wrong drivers. It was very frustrating. Otherwise, the product works just fine...and the price is right!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

A Perfect Product

12/16/2008
By ,
Millstone Township, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product when it first came out for myself and my in-laws in another state. We use this product weekly to let them see their grandkids and video conference with them. The product for price and performance can not be beat. I have recommended this product to all my friends.
You will not be disappointed. The insall is easy and using it is a piece of cake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Its Well Worth It

01/12/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To be honest, the other reviews on this product werent making me feel very optimistic. But I decided to try them out anyways and see what happened.
Skype webcams are great! If you need them to keep in contact with that someone special, they do just that.
Easy to install and great picture...
For the price of these 2-in-1... you cant go wrong!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Great way to keep in touch

12/16/2008
By ,
Waterford, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We use the web cams to talk and see our grandchildren at least once a week, they live 650 miles away from us. We kept one and sent the other one to them. They were easy to install and are very easy to use. I think this entire technology is one of the best kept secrets ever and it's free once you have these web cams!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Skype Buddypack

12/20/2008
By ,
Gulf Breeze, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product so far meets expectations. It was quite inexpensive and seems to work well. I was unable to get the driver off the CD that came with the product to install but by going directly to the website of the manufacturer, I got the proper driver and easily installed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

2 cams for under $30!!

11/24/2008
By ,
Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried that these were too cheap but I can assure you that they are perfect. I gave one to my mom and now she wants me to get more to set the whole family up. My only regret is that they reduced the price as soon as I had bought mine. For $30 these are a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Does not work on Mac

12/11/2008
By ,
Boston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This cheaply made, poor quality set does NOT work on Macs despite a previous review saying it includes everything you need to use on a Mac. There are much better products out there, use them. Any webcam can work with Skype, you don't want this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

good choice

10/07/2008
By ,
tampa fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These cameras work very well. The picture is clear for the most part and the speakers work good too. They are worth the price to me, because you are gonna end up paying about 20 dollars for a good webcamera anyways.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Worse web cam on the web

12/18/2008
By ,
New York, N.Y.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The two cameras I had purchased did not work at all, there is a problem between windows XP and the cameras software, I had tryied all, downloading the most resent software from the web, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

OK but no prize

12/18/2008
By ,
KC MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was very difucult to set up one camera still doesn't focus right. I have not got the skype set up to work yet but am stubborn and will keep working with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Worst web cam on EARTH!!!!

12/04/2008
By ,
Tallahassee, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this product it is the worst web cam ever. The picture quality is horrible and i dont even know why they sell it in stores!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 16 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

Broken!

10/03/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
One of the cameras was broken! But it comes in a pack of 2, so now how do I get a refund for the broken camera.....frustrating.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software
11/25/2008
By ,
Mays Landing, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Over all review......Slow and not worth any amount of money....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software

fun to use

12/16/2008
By ,
Spokane Valley, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
been very happy with it and has met all my expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Skype Freetalk Buddy Web Pack with 2 USB Built-In Microphone Webcams & Skype Software
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5