Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

Famous Trails Neptune is an underwater metal detector. You can use it to discover sunken treasures just offshore and as deep as 120 feet. Easy to handle underwater, the unit comes with waterproof headphones.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation67%8 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

A great detector for streams and rivers

08/28/2009
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm always hesitant to put electronics all-the-way underwater, so i bought this one with the intention of only using it with the search coil down in rivers and streams. It works great! I noticed that others had problems with complete submersion, so i avoided that. I'm using it almost daily to search a creek that i have running behind me house. I've found lots of interesting relics. This is a cool product for $50.00!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

FOR LAND NOT SEA

06/29/2009
By ,
KAILUA, HAWAII
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS DETECTOR STOPPED WORKING THE FIRST TIME I USED IT IN WATER.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Review 3 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

for beginners

03/12/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it's ok for those just starting out. for serious hunters, you really need a more sophisticated detector.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 4 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

I don't believe in luck

08/28/2009
By ,
Naples, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't want to invest in an expensive unit, and glad I didn't this worked beyond my expectations. I knocked a tackle tray over my boat when I was fishing and among the items lost, my grandfathers civil war coin that had been my lucky coin since I was 8. Used this in approximately 35 feet below surface, and I recovered my coin(two days after I left the location)! I have since used this three times all of which turned up nothing but the unit still works (I find cans) great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 5 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

Treasure Finder!!

08/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this unit on a recent vaction trip to Cancun...I LOVED IT!! Easy to use for my children as well as myself. The attached headphones is a great idea...makes it impossible to forget or leave them behind. A simple, low toned beeping noise let me know I found something! My kids were stoaked to find coins! I would recommend this unit to anyone that is looking for something simple and easy to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 6 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

Very durable grandchild gift

07/27/2009
By ,
Rincon,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this metal detector over the youth because of the waterproof depth and am very glad I did. I think if the child is going to be near water this is your best buy. My grandchild loved it! It works great and it's priced very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 7 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

Not a great buy.

08/16/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I took this to the the beach the first day I got it. Worked nice during trial run, but it stopped working a few minutes into the water. I couldn't even turn it off later, the knob seemed to have shorted out. I would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 8 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

Great on land, not in water

08/10/2009
By ,
Charleston SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I gave this 1 star, only because it works onland. I purchased 3 of these. Each only lasted about 5 minutes underwater. I read the owners manual and did eveything correct. Do not purchase or it will be a waste of your time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Review 9 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

MD 6000

08/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a slight issue with moisture at first then I realized I needed to tighten the cap better, then I had no further issues. It's a great value, I have seen other units like this for over $300.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

Awesome for Gold Coins

07/23/2009
By ,
Islamorada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a treasure seeker, this detector WILL go in water and works at 20 feet really nice. It's still working and finding all kinds of really neat stuff...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

stoped working 20 min. into the water

07/08/2009
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked ok out of the water and wading. But when I submerged the control box underwater it lasted about 20 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 12 for Famous Trails Neptune Waterproof Metal Detector

QUALITY @ A QUANTITY PRICE

07/30/2009
By ,
ny and florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Built strong waterproof not to heavy.And it works. Turn on and go
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points