Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Energizer Energizer Family Battery Charger

Energizer Energizer Family Battery Charger

The Energizer Family Battery Charger can accommodate up to eight AA, eight AAA, four C, four D or two 9-volt NiMH rechargeable batteries. It is highly recommended for batteries used in digital cameras, MP3 players, CD players, two-way radios, remote control cars, handheld games, photoflash, GPS equipment, toys, infant devices and PDAs. This handy digital camera battery charger has a child-safe mechanism that prevents batteries from charging while the lid is open, ensuring there are no accidental shocks. Keep your various rechargeable batteries going so your devices can always be ready.
Average Customer Rating:
4.225 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation87%97 out of 111reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 94 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

This does charge 8 AA at a time.

02/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this product after having bought 2 leappads for our girls. The leappad is a great product ,but eats batteries like crazy. After having spent over $50 dollars on batteries in 1 month we decided to go for rechargeable ones. We needed something that charged 8 AA batteries at a time. we read the reviews and were pretty pleased with this product. We did however find one review that was pretty off putting because it said that this product did not charge 8 AA at a time. It would cost a little over $40 to get 2 stations. So we decided to take a leap of faith and try it out. After all if it was not what we wanted we could take it back no problem. We received it in only a few days and it is what it says it is. It has already saved us lots of money. We are very pleased! My only assumption is that the other person may have been sent the wrong one by accident or maybe just wrote a review on the wrong product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

Brilliant Technology and Many Features

04/05/2009
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After having always had a battery charger, my last one finally died after long service and I got this Energizer model. It outperforms any that I have had and charges much more rapidly! Will charge standard alkaline too if you set the trickle rate down - so read the manual. Best feature is the little 3-inch LCD screen on the back that lets you know the volts, amp-hrs, milliamp rate, % charge, and time remaining - however the readouts and graphic bars could be a little larger since they are hard to read. Also comes with extender brackets so that you can charge 2 batteries per bay (takes longer to charge though) but effectively doubles the capacity to 8 batteries if you have power-hungry devices and toys that eat many batteries at a time. Also, you can discharge batteries in two of the bays and transfer charge to the other two bays e.g. take along 1 or 2 9V fully charged and use them to charge multiple AA or AAA's - GREAT if you're Survivor Man and there's no power source around. The fuse in the cigarette lighter adapter in the one that I bought was faulty (blown) when I checked it with an ohm-meter but was easy to replace with a standard 5A glass fuse from any hardware. All in all, an impressive little charger with loads of features !! Only thing lacking is that there's no way to switch input voltage if you take it overseas, so you'd need a converter as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Energizer Family Battery Charger
04/19/2009
By ,
Mexico City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this recharger for my baby's swing, which eats "D" batteries. It recharges four D batteries at one time. It has a digital readout that lets you know how much of a charge each battery has.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Energizer Family Battery Charger
01/04/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought that I was buying the Energizer CHFC NiMH Family Charger (FC) but the model number that I received was a newer (I think) model CHFC2. It seems slightly smaller and lighter than the CHFC that I have seen in stores. No matter; it works fine.
Pros:
1. Charges everything from AAAs to Ds and 9V, and holds up to 8 AAs for example.
2. Batteries do NOT have to be charged in pairs, as with many other chargers.
3. Nice blinking blue LED "progress bar" display for each battery.
4. Auto shutoff.
Cons:
1. Cheesy plastic lid hinges and tabs look easy to break off. However, the lid on this model does NOT have to be closed for it to work (unlike the CHFC). So if the lid breaks, I can just use it without a lid.
2. It's a little tricky at first to load AAs and AAAs. This is because the 4 slots can hold 1 or 2 batteries each. Note: Charging more than 4 at once takes twice as long.
Overall though, it's fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Energizer Family Battery Charger
01/14/2010
By ,
Boston-ish
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A) the image does not correspond to the product.
B) I was under the impression that you could see the voltage, charge, etc . : NO!
It's a great charger for a family, it can charge up to 8 batt AA , and almost all models of AAA, AA, D, 9V, etc , but it is limited to a max charge of 2450mAh for AA, and I use 2650 mAh AA batteries
I was looking for something more "techie" I wanted something to be able to charge, discharge, test , etc ..
so , I returned it ....and got a Lacrosse Tech
$10 more but comes with 8 batt and is much more complete on the techie side.
If you are looking for an easy charger and don't want to read a manual, this one is for you.
If you are looking for a "pro" one , Lacrosse tech
other than that: WAL MART : CHANGE THE PICTURE !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

I love it!

09/15/2010
By ,
Fort Riley, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this thing.
I sent one to my husband in Iraq since him and his buddies go through batteries like crazy for their stereo at work.
And I have one at home for all of the baby's toys. I'm always charging batteries for this kid. I would hate to think of how much money I would be pay for batteries if I didn't have the rechargeable ones...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

Wrong part number

12/31/2008
By ,
ut
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i just bought this after looking at the Energizer web site and i wanted one that charges 8 (AA,AAA) at a time. walmart specifies this item as being a CHFC, It is NOT! It is a CHFCV which only charges 4 at a time. So...if anyone reads their specs on this charger it's wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

excellent charger

10/11/2010
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work well, it reads the exiting charge and only charges what's needed to finish the battery to a full charge. Can't beat a lifetime warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

Not good thing to use at all

11/21/2008
By ,
Marion, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've tried the Energizer rechargeable batteries and they are not worth it because everytime you charge them they go dea with in the hour. I think Duracell is better and I am going to get me one too. I do not recommend Enegerizer rechargeable or regular kind to any one. I have friends that tells me the same thing and they are going for Duracell quicker than Energizer. I think Energizer needs to shut down for good because their batteries are not working like they should. Even in hearing aides too they are dead with in 3 days and duracell last up to 7 - 10 days and that's money well saved. I am sorry if you don't like my opinion but that is just the way some people and I see it. We don't like your product because it is a money waster need to make it learn to last longer and better. I know it doesn't keep going and going and going. I do know it keeps dying and dying and dying.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Freeport ME
Re: Not good thing to use at all
Posted 10/24/2012
We are very sorry that you had an unfortunate experience with our product but grateful that you brought this to our attention. We would like you to call us at Energizer Consumer Affairs, 1.800.383.7323, so that we may assist you under the terms of our guarantee.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

I think there are better products out there

04/06/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've only used this once since I bought it, but I think the major flaw is in the design. If you can imagine a 35mm camera where you drop the AAA battries in the slot. Well, imagine that slot, curved as it is to match the shape of the battery but instead of being vertical its horizontal. Those same size slots for the AAA battery is also designated for the AA, C, D battries. My AA battries didn't even fit snugly within the slot. It kinda sat on top of the edges. This design is flawed, because it took along time to recharge the battries because the battery was not in direct contact with cradel itself. And you can't place individual battries immediately next to each other. You have to add allowing for alternating spaces between each slot. So depending on the size battery you want to recharge, you may only be able to recharge 4 battries at a time, although the product boast 8. I wouldn't recommend it. Look for something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

FUNKDOOBIEST!!!!

09/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast CHARGING! BEST EVER! EACH BATTERY HAS IT'S OWN DISH LAY TO SHOW IT'S CHARGING STATUS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

NImH battery charger

01/01/2011
By ,
Berkley, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I screwed up I thought this would charge NiCd batteries as well, this charger is good if you want to charge NIMH batteries only.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

very good product

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excelent shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

Environmentally Great

01/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the versatility of putting different size batteries for recharging. I always have charged batteries. This is a GREAT product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

Easy to use

09/25/2012
By ,
central Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charger was easy to use, and the auto shutoff feature after the batteries are fully charged is really handy. Also, the charge meters for each individual battery is nice feature. It was a little pricey, but overall, I would buy another one if I needed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

Awesome product!

01/11/2014
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device saves me lots of money on batteries! When we bought the Cat's Meow for our 4 cats we started using too many batteries for it so we decided to get this along with the rechargeable batteries and it works very well! I would definitely recommend this if you have a need for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

MONEY SAVER

05/28/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this Item online because store did carry the rechargeable batteries but not the charger. An associate in the electronics dept. ordered it right there in the store. That was wonderful customer service. As far as the charger it works great and even though I bought the batteries it comes out cheaper than buying batteries over and over. Everything is sold seperatly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

so much better than Duracell

10/27/2011
By ,
Central PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The batteries might be 2500 and not 2600mAh, but they last 10x longer. It takes 3 hours to recharge. Big plus is the LED battery status. No fan, so leave the top open during the charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Energizer Family Battery Charger
12/05/2008
By ,
Belen, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The charger was advertised as being able to charge alkaline batteries. It does, but it gives false "no good" reaings on AA, AAA, C and D batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Energizer Family Battery Charger

The Best on Today's Market

03/10/2010
By ,
Philadelphia,Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had 2 other chargers before purchasing an Energizer. Hands down by far, this charger is state-of-the-art. Even while the batteries are charging, it gives you the current status the battery is in at that moment. It's all digital and very easy to read. I can't beleive I didn't find this sooner after wasting my money on so called bargin chargers. I beleive it is very reasonable in price and it charges all types of batteries very quickly. I'm very happy that I purchased it and I use it quite often. If you plan on buying a charger, make sure it's this one. By far, in my opinion, it's the best on today's market !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next