Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Garmin Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Navigate without breaking your budget with Garmin's nuvi 200. This affordable entry-level personal travel assistant comes with preloaded maps of the continental U.S., Hawaii and Puerto Rico. It features an easy-to-use, colorful touchscreen and an ultra-slim design perfect for everyday navigation. Simply touch the color sunlight-readable screen to enter a destination, and nuvi takes you there with 2D or 3D maps and turn-by-turn voice directions. It also accepts custom points of interest (POIs), such as school zones and safety cameras, and lets you set proximity alerts to warn you of upcoming POIs. Additional travel tools include a JPEG picture viewer, world travel clock with time zones, currency converter, measurement converter, calculator, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.587 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(201 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
53
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation97%195 out of 201reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
53
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Great aid for those of us who get lost a lot

12/07/2008
By ,
Webster, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Garmin for a long cross country trip with multiple stops. It arrived in two days; and it worked right out of the box. The instructions are simple to understand; and the unit itself is very user friendly.
This model is pretty basic; but it works great for me. The voice instructions are clear and timely; so it is not necessary to have the more expensive unit which calls out street names. That is an unnecessary bell/whistle for economy minded buyers.
The maps are comprehensive; and the unit drove me to all my destinations AOK. I missed a couple of turns by misinterpreting the instructions; but the Garmin immediately corrected and got me back on the road.
I didn't know about the 'other stuff' features; but they are also handy. I stopped in Memphis to get some rest; and I used the motel search to find rooms close by. I sat in a parking lot calling for room info, then I drove to the closest with a vacancy. Then I found a place to eat, same drill. Right on!
I love this thing more than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

A good buy!

10/09/2008
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little thing... it's sleek and compact, so it's easy to carry around, and I had no problems viewing the screen. I really like the metallic blue color. It is very user friendly. I only had a one or two very minor issues, but overall it is a good value for the price and I am glad I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Great Product

12/11/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently purchased this device. I have had it for about a month, and I am very pleased with it. It has yet to fail me. I did a lot of research on the different makes and models. I wanted a basic GPS that would get me from point A to point B and didn't have anything extra such as an Mp3 player or bluetooth.
I had my choice narrowed down to the Garmin Nuvi 200 and the TomTom One 3rd Edition. They are pretty close in capabilities. I chose the Garmin Nuvi because of the more up to date maps and the superior window mount (numerous complaints of TomTom mount not staying on windshield). The idea of the TomTom unit falling off and making me reach for it killed the TomTom One for me. The TomTom One 3rd edition has advanced planning features, but I find I don't need them.
This product is a great buy. Its simple and does what the description promises. You can't go wrong with it. Also, you will have a hard time finding a lower price than what you can get here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Unreliable navagation

09/06/2008
By ,
Hickory, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The mapping and street location of this unit is great, but the directions are very unreliable. I like the way you can pull up points of interest such as shopping centers restaurants etc. When I clicked go however the directions were horrible. I looked up a local flea market on I40 exit 100, which I knew how to get to just to test the unit. I followed the directions to see where it took me. It had me to exit on 103 and turn left. When it stated that I was at my destination I was in front of a church. Once as I was driving toward Newton on hwy 16 from Conover it had me turn right, get on a parallel street in the same direction then aprox a mile down the road turn left and get back on hwy 16. When I had it direct me to Lowe's in Lincolnton NC which is on the right when you are coming off 321S it requested I turn left. It does a great job in identifying every street you pass, it's just not reliable in getting me to my destination. I even downloaded the 2009 maps. Needless to say I returned my unit. Maybe I got a defective unit who knows.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Good product

09/30/2008
By ,
Bentonville,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gives very accurate directions & instructions. voice prompt is loud enough to be heard while driving on the highway with music system on. does not tell road name. prompt like " turn right in 400ft" not "turn right in S st". The display shows that st we need to turn and voice prompts when we near the turn. Overall a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

A very helpful product)

10/08/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have owned a Garmin GPS for about 6 months. We purchased two more for our daughters. Highly recommended and price was very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Garmin

09/14/2008
By ,
Shelbyville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Free map update took forever to download but other than that love the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Amazing

09/15/2008
By ,
Payson,UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for his birthday. I use more than he does! I love it when I'm out shopping or when we're going to dinner, because it has addresses and phone numbers. I waste money callling 411 to get that info. It is wonderful, I recomend it to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Finally--got it!

11/28/2008
By ,
The Piedmont area of North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pluses: I have wanted a GPS system that could transfer from my car to my motorcycle and this does just that. The volume is loud enough and clear with each word enunciated...a very important feature for hearing impaired people. The screen is bright and details are sharp.
Negatives: This item came with the car adapter for power and recharging the battery. It did not come with the power adapter to charge in the home, nor the attachment for the windshield in my car. I had to purchase these items separately. And the advertisement did not state what was needed as extra optional items.
I thought the price for this size screen and capabilites was excellent until the same item was offered just before Thanksgiving for 1/3 less.
Overall I love it and would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Love this Garmin

01/09/2009
By ,
Rohnert Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
am thouroughly enjoying my Garmin Nuvi 200. It helps when driving at night and you can't see the unlit street signs, it TELLS you to turn right or left at the next intersection. This is just what I needed! It recalculates immediately if you fail to make a turn or turn differently. This is great for finding locations that you have never been to and saves time, and paper from pulling a copy from MapQuest. It saves your recent destinations and allows you to get directions to those same locations from other locations. If it could not "find" your location and you finally DO get there, you can "identify" where you are and save that for future referance. All in all, this is a very good deal and the WalMart price was the best around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Great Product

01/03/2009
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is simply a GREAT product ! I bought it because I drive one hour to work every day and sometimes the interstate backs up. With the GPS, if I have to get off onto a back road, it will reroute me to my work address ! So I no longer have to worry about getting lost ! The first time I used it, I managed to get it up and running in like 5 seconds without even reading the directions ! This unit is NOT fancy, but it WILL get you where you need to go. The volume is fantastic and you CAN change the volume which was important to me. The directions are clear and concise ! I absolutely LOVE this GPS ! If you don't need bluetooth capability and want one that is easy to use AND very affordable, this is the unit for you !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Does its job well!

12/28/2008
By ,
Palm Coast, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the basic unit. I did not want a lot of bells and whistles. It talks to you in its female voice which cannot be changed, (basic unit) but it does what I needed it to do, take me to where I need to go. The screen size will not interfere with your driving view. In fact I lay it on the console and it does just fine. I put it in my pocket so it will not be stolen and not using the windshield bracket no one will know it is there. Also it provides directions while walking too. So if you are in a strange place, driving or walking, no problem, Garmin will get you there*******
This is so simple to use you will not have to ask the kids how to use it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

not worth the money

09/02/2008
By ,
New Hartford, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bough this product for the same day use- it says ready to use. We set it up & went on our trip.......Thank god we brought the driving directions with us or we would have missed our daughters performance in NYC.
About 10-15 min into the trip the screen shut off...we had the booklet with us & followed all direction in reseting/troubleshooting...since nothing worked we tried calling the 1-800#...since it was labor day - no one was available.......When we stopped at a rest stop & turned the car back the screen came back on for 10 seconds then shut off again...never to turn on again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue
12/26/2008
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recieved this as a present from my wife for Christmas. The first thing I did was go to the Garmin site to register the product. Following the on-site instructions, I downloaded drivers and software up-date programs. It checked my unit and said I needed an update. Again following directions I hooked up to my PC and downloaded the update. When it was finished my unit display said software was missing. When I tried to download again, it said the file was corrupt, and my unit no longer works.
I am returning the unit monday, and will order another one. Hope this one works better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Learn Something New Every Day

12/30/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This GPS was just full of surprises. I have never owned a GPS before and this Garmin was very easy to learn how to use. Every day I use it I learn something else useful about it. I was going to buy a 3.5 inch digital photo album for pictures of my new niece, but I discovered that my 3.5 inch Garmin had a photo album built in. I think that was my favorite surprise. I wish I knew if there was a way to get a new navigation voice, as a woman I think I'd rather have a man talking to me ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

excellent and so easy

12/04/2008
By ,
Merrillville,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband and myself on Black Friday at about 4:30 a.m. Had no idea how these worked and I am thrilled to say that this product could not be easier to use. It picked up the satellite signal very easily -unfortunately my first destination was a funeral home- but the voice prompts and screen info was so accurate and the destination was sooo easy to load, my husband can't wait till spring to use it for garage sales. Very pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

color was off

12/27/2008
By ,
Tyler, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I borrowed one of these from a friend before buying and absolutely loved driving with a GPS. When you don't have anyone in the car with you to help navigate it is so helpful. I especially liked knowing how far away my turn/exit was so I knew when I needed to get in the right lane.
I ordered a blue one, but I think the actual color is quite different from the website. It looks darker in person and I don't like it. I will be taking it back and getting the silver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Garmin Nuvi 200

12/01/2008
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item. Bought this one as a gift because we love the one we have which is identical to this one. Having moved recently, we get a lot of use out of it. There have been a couple places it could not find or was off by a bit but overall it is right on the mark. Even though we used Mapquest or similar mapping which is helpful, this one has a feature that we find invaluable, giving us new directions if we miss our turn or need a new way. A definite plus for us!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

My daughter loved it!

01/01/2009
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We gave this to my daughter as a gift, and she loved it! She has used a similar model for her job, which requires travel to many small towns and rural areas that she's unfamiliar with, now she's thrilled to have one of her own! She tried it out on her travels to extended family visits, and was happy to find it offers the same routes that we use; and was able to locate gas stations, atm machines, and department stores for last minute purchases before her visit!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 200 Portable GPS with 3.5" Screen, Blue

Will be helpful

01/02/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't had a chance to use it really, we already knew where we were going, but used it just to try out for the fun of it. We took back roads instead of the main roads and it recaluclated and picked up on the backroads and told us the same way we knew we were going. It will come in handy this summer when we want to go visit some friends in a differnet state that we haven't been to yet. My friend has one of these so I knew it would be a good item for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next