Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

A special Barbie doll commemorating Alpha Kappa Alpha. AKA made history in 1908 when it was founded as the first sorority for black women. In the following century, AKA has led social action initiatives and advocacy programs that have touched countless lives. In commemoration of a hundred-year legacy, AKA Centennial Barbie celebrates all the women of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc.
Average Customer Rating:
4.735 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%33 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

Great Collectible!

11/17/2008
By ,
Upland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This doll was a hot item during Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority's 100th Anniversary Convention in Washington, DC in July 2008, with many sorors waiting in line for up to 3 hours in order to purchase it. Fortunately, Wal-Mart offered the doll at the same price after the convention without the annoying long lines and with free shipping and handling if purchased website to store. The doll was delivered in perfect condition and makes a beautiful addition to my collection.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 2 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

Nice doll but could have been designed better

12/26/2008
By ,
Northport, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was so excited to see that they had finally made a Barbie Doll modeled after my sorority. Being a Barbie collector myself, I couldn't wait to get it. I was a bit disappointed to see that no thought went into the design. The were no AKA symbols any where except for her pink and green dress (at least they got the colors right)....no ivy, no pearls...nothing. If I took her out of the box...she'd look like a regular Barbie. Even the little heart charm on her bracelet could have been the shape of an ivy. The only reason why I didn't rate this doll that bad is because if you are just looking for a doll....it's decent, but if you are looking for those things that would make this AKA doll extral special, you won't find it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 3 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

Thanks AKA Sisters

12/26/2008
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the designer of this doll, I appreciate all of you that are enjoying your AKA Centennial Barbie dolls.
I tried to capture the essence and beauty of our sisters and the meaning of the AKA organization. There were limitations to work around, but overall I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

AKA Barbie is a long awaited treasure!

01/02/2009
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Barbie is absolutely gorgeous. I must say this has been a long time coming--not only is this the FIRST "Sorority Barbie" ever...but to be an "African American Sorority" is a Godsend. --Shall I go on to name the attributes of how not only is the doll the first of it's kind, but to represent Alpha Kappa Alpha is only more phenominal!?!! Although this should not surprise me that the AKAs were able to work this out!! I love my AKA Barbie dolls and have purchased many for my family and friends. Knowing all of the wonderful things this sorority does it is an honor to pass this Barbie on as gifts to my friends and family!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll
11/22/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love my Barbie. She is very pretty and a true r tribute to AKA. I plan to pass it down to my daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 6 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

Nice collectors item

12/19/2008
By ,
New Haven, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a lady of AKA and a doll collector I was thrilled when the AKa Barbie was unveiled at our 100 Anniversary in July. Unfortunately I was unable to secure one while in DC. I have been searching online for the dolls andn finally called Walmart customer service who heled me track down the doll. She is very pretty andn well dressed. My one area of improvement is in the packaging. The acetate box could have constructed better to enhance the dolls beauty. But other that she is gorgeous and I am glad I drove 90 miles to secure the one item I wanted for christmas
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 7 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

AKA Centennial Barbie Doll

10/13/2008
By ,
Charlotte, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product came pre-package. Discovered that Doll had an ear ring missing. Had to return to store after opening. Did not understand how this was overlooked in shipping. The store had several Dolls on their shelf. Discovered that out of the 6 they had 4 Dolls had items missing or mangled as well. They allowed me to exchange the item from thier shelf. Took about half an hour to find a Doll that was not defective. Will not preorder in the future.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

2nd rate doll...AKA is not 2nd rate.

11/04/2008
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Even though she is beautiful, Mattel did not do a good job. As a woman of Alpha Kappa Alpha she does not have her 20 pearls, there are no ivies or a pink tea roses (in her hand). I would have loved to see that without the box she had more substantial represenations or symbols that would identify her as an representative of a AKA woman other than the color of her dress.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
0points
Review 9 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

Awsome Product!

10/25/2008
By ,
Covington , GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a member of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc...,(Zeta Thetha Chapter ), I knew the value of this doll. I purchased it to surprise my sister (also an AKA-Zeta Theta Chapter) for this Christmas 2008. I know it will lighten her world when she opens the box and see this gift gift from her little Polar Bear neice (my daughter). It's a moment that no one can purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

Honored........

12/08/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a beautiful doll and at a Wal-Mart price. I am a woman of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc and I am proud to have this doll in my AKA room in my home. In fact, I loved this doll so much that I bought one for my home, one for my staff office, one for my lab, and one to keep in hopes that my 11 year old niece follows me into the AKA sisterhood someday. : )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

AKA Doll

11/29/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought I was out of luck when I couldn't get one at Boule. I'm very glad I ordered the doll online. It came right away and the product was great. It's the same one that was sold at Boule (crest on the box and everything). I highly recommend this doll for any AKA in your family as a souvenir or family heirloom to pass down to other sorors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

Alpha Kappa Alpha Barbie

09/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This doll is so beautiful!!! I am so proud to know that the Makers of Barbie realize the beauty of African Americans.The they understand the need to represent educated women who have dedicated their lives to helping others. I have purchased three of these dolls for myself, my daughter and another Soror in celebration of Alpha Kappa Alpha.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 13 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

Beautiful Doll

11/05/2008
By ,
Kingsland, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a member of the AKA Sorority and could not wait to get this doll. I have been collecting the Holiday Barbies for years and was happy to see that this doll was just as beautiful as the Holiday Barbie. The dress is stunning and I love the little touches like the curl of her hair and the shoes she is wearing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

AKA Centennial Barbie

12/19/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Barbie speaks for herself, and that is how the lovely ladies of Alpha Kappa Alpha represent our sisterhood!! She is beautiful in every way, and some day I will pass this along to my daughter or niece (maybe both because I have 2 of them)!! LOL!! I LOVE THIS BARBIE and my Sorority!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

Beautiful Collector Doll

10/08/2008
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This doll celebrates the Sorority Alpha Kappa Alpha on their Centennial celebration. She features a gown in the colors of the sorority and accessories to match. She is a beautiful keepsake for members of the sorority and a quality doll for any Barbie collector.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 16 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

One Of a Kind Gift

01/01/2009
By ,
Missouri City, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The AKA Barbie doll was the perfect gift for my god-daughter who is an AKA. The doll represents the 100 year anniversary of the sorority, and historically this is very significant for any soror. The doll is very pretty in her pink and green dress.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 17 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

AKA Centennial Barbie

10/05/2008
By ,
Springfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase this to save for my granddaughter. I am sure that she will be happy to add it to her Barbie Collections.
Thank you Martel and Walmart for recognizing your African American customers.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 18 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

A colletible item for all AKA's

12/03/2008
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The AKA Doll is very well design with great features that are life like. A great item for any Alpha Kappa Alpha lady to have as a colletible and a tribute to all sorority sisters of AKA
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 19 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

Beautiful in every way!

09/13/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product and I love it! It is beautiful and a great price for a keepsake. I don't worship it, but I still haven't removed it from its box . . . absolutely gorgeous!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Alpha Kappa Alpha Centennial Barbie Doll

AKA Barbie

09/13/2008
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This doll is absolutely stunning! It is a must have for anyone's barbie/doll collection. What a great tribute to the ladies of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next