Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Schwinn Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

The Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer lets you bring a little passenger along in style on every bike ride. When you reach your destination, the Spirit easily turns into a stroller so you can push it around while your child stays comfortable inside.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%49 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Great Bike Trailer!

05/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just bought this and have used it several times already, and it works great! It only takes a few minutes to put together. There is actually quite a bit of storage behind the seat. I'd make sure to open the back vent/window if you plan on using the plastic screen on the front, otherwise it'll be like a sauna in there! I bought a few bungee cords to hold all the parts together when disassembled. It folds up nicely, and there are a few straps to hold the wheels on, but I wanted to add the bungee cords for more support. It comes with one attachment to hook onto the bike, but I'm thinking about buying another one so my wife and I can swap turns pulling our little guy. It's very very easy to detach the trailer from the bike as well. This was a great buy and it was a brand we could trust!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 2 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Great trailer!

05/21/2010
By ,
Anchorage, AK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For those of you who have issues, just take it back to the store! Wal-Mart will take anything back.
I've had this trailer for a year now and it's been great. It's very easy to pull, even with my 3 and a half year old daughter and other stuff in there. I like that it has a rain fly on it in case the street is wet or it starts raining while out for a ride. I did have to modify the hitch a little bit with a dremel tool to get it to fit onto my bike. My bike is a Specialized 29er and it has hydraulic disc brakes that made putting the hitch on impossible without modification. It was easy to do though, and the hitch as is, should fit most any other bike. It does squeak occasionally, but it doesn't bother me. Overall, this is a great little trailer, especially for the price. My daughter loves riding in it. The seat does look to be uncomfortable to me, but my daughter never complains. We rode 25 miles today and she fell asleep for half the ride. It must not be that bad! Besides, kids don't care anyways.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 3 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Great Trailer!!!

12/24/2009
By ,
North Eastern, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Trailer for my son when he was about 9months old. So I've had it 1yr & 6months now. I've ridden with it I'd say about 40-50times now? more or a little less. We've taken MANY trips and across all kinds of rough terrain as well as pavement with NO problems. The rubber wheels filled with air and I guess suspension on this trailer makes it so you aren't jarring your child tremendously although we all know that you just can't help a little jarring...So DO NOT use this until your child has DEFINITELY head & neck control. Other wise they will end up being bobble heads on rough terrain.
I have the older model of this not the newer one and none of what the other reviewers are saying about this trailer is going on with mine. I love everything about it and the ONLY thing that bothers me is that they are Sling Seats which means they aren't the MOST comfortable to sit in. BUT, we took a cushion that was about 2-3inches thick and placed it under my son so that he would be sitting a little bit up on something and not just hanging. But if you can strap your child in just right then its fine.
Other wise I love everything about it. Plenty of storage space, has a cover to shield your child from rocks being kicked back, Also a rain cover shield/cold weather shield that just slides down over it...It's easy to fold down, and easy to put back together. - Takes less than a minute either way. Someone asked if you could use this for a pet. Yes you could, but you'd have to cut the seat in two. The cross bar at the top is what snaps together and this is holding the seats up, If you cut this across you could easily use this for pets and it not affect anything else. It's hard to explain but if you had it at home you would see what I mean.
This has a decent price, a good name & I'm 100% happy with my purchase. The seat thing was only a minor thing & we fixed that easy enough, I'm sure some parents wouldn't even have a problem with it.
Good Luck with your Decision!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+48points
Review 4 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

very fun for my kids

05/03/2009
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was very easy to put together, and my kids love it. I bought this one because it's the lightest in weight while being the least expensive, and it converts to a stoller. I have two sons, ages 3 & 4, both about 35 lbs, and it's very easy to pull around. Uphill, of course, is a different story. I would definately recommend this. Though I need to buy another hitch so that we can easily move it from my bike to my husband's (For when we go uphill.... :) )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 5 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Excellent Trailer

03/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we purchased the trailer we were tossed up betwen this one and the Instep EZ double with stroller ( blue and silver).
We are very happy with the trailer we bought. I think the few extra inches of space all around and the 20in wheels is what did it for us plus plenty of storage in the back.
The trailer comes with all the frame assembled and to put the rest of it together took about 5 minutes the first time and now because it's SO easy it takes 2.
The frame is very sturdy and fits our 2 children comfotrtably ( 3yr old and 1/12 yr old ).
The trailer rides very smoothly and the children are comfortable.
When is says it comes with a 5 point safety harness like a childs car seat (which is how it's shown in the manual ) It's actually a three point harness with a strap accross the lap. When the children are strapped in they are very secure so it's not a big deal. It adjusts individually for both children at the shoulders which is good and if only one child is riding in the middle it can be set up at the shoulders also.
You will need to have 15mm wrench to attach the trailer to the bike.
We also purchased the mens and womens Next Avalon bikes from wal mart also. They are excellent comfortable bikes. If your looking to buy bikes and a trailer for your family i would highly recomend buying the set.
We are very happy with the purchse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 6 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

This is a new model, many manufactuer mistakes

10/23/2009
By ,
Boulder City, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hope this helps anyone looking to buy this product!!
After researching several different trailers I decided on the Schwinn Spirit model. It was priced nicely and seemed roomier than the Instep models. Upon assembly at home, which assembly is easy and pretty much self-explanatory, I realized that there were many manufacturer mistakes. I called Pacific Cycle (the manufacturer) and it was explained to me that this model is new, it just came out in January of this year and it is common for there to be mistakes when they're new. She asked me to take many specific pictures and e-mail them the pics and receipt, they would then have to inspect the product (which requires me to ship it) then determine if they need to replace the whole thing or just certain parts. This whole process can take 3 weeks! I decided it best for me to just return it to the store and decided to go with the Aosom 2in1 trailer/stroller which price-wise is comparable but quality wise ranks right up there with the $500 models. Below are some of the specific manufacturer errors I found:
- There are suppose to be snaps to secure the canopy to the top of the frame and at the bottom. The issue was that the top snaps were not installed, they were in fact missing, nor were there even holes drilled in the frame where there should have been.
- In older models the wheels are attached only by a pin, in this year's "Spirit" model the wheels are attached by a knob, washer, and bolt that according to the directions, should come assembled and attached to the wheel. All those parts were missing, only a plain wheel and no parts leaving no way to attach the wheel.
- There SHOULD be a back window enclosure NOT an open back. Mine WAS closed but I read several other reviews where the window piece was missing as well.
- Since this is a newer model I was under the impression that the customer svc. and parts support dept were not all yet familiar with the product and therefore found it very difficult to help me over the phone.
If you do ultimately decide to purchase this product just really inspect it during assembly especially the areas mentioned and be sure ahead of time that you are able to return it if need be.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+47points
Review 7 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

AGreatBicycleTrailer

01/17/2009
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great trailer, easy to assamble, folds up neatly and compactly making storage easier. I take my son on long rides and he enjoys it. Not only does the trailer keeps him safe and secure it has room in the back for a smal bag with his snacks and diaper change.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 8 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

A little disappointed

06/02/2009
By ,
Evansville, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After much searching on bike trailers for children, I bought this model because it was the only one local here in my area, and I need something quickly for an out of town trip. I thought I was getting the model that included the jogger wheel also, because of the quite misleading picture on the front of the box. Instead, only the small stroller wheel was included. The back cargo area is open, which I see as a huge problem, if I want to put anything back there while bicycling, or if it starts to rain. There are velcro strips on the top and bottom of the back cargo area, so I thought I was just missing the back panel that would close it in. When I called to inquire about it, they said it does not come with a back panel.
I am quite impressed with how easily this moves, and my two children, ages 2.5 and 1.5 fit in there ok. There is not very much legroom for my 2.5 year old, and he got a bit uncomfortable after about a half-hour in the stroller.
My husband thinks this will be a great cargo trailer after the kids have outgrown it completely, but we will need to make a back panel, and I am quite disappointed that the jogger wheel is not available for this model. I will probably return this model, and try the Schwinn Mark III, which includes the jogger wheel.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 9 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Love This "Buggy"

04/26/2009
By ,
Plymouth, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this for my daughter today after I bought the iBert and the Bell Cocoon Child Carrier and they did not attach on my mountain bike correctly. I wasn't too sure that I would like a trailer as I figured it would be too bulky and heavy. It was pretty easy to set up and attach to my bike. It's not big or bulky at all and has ample storage behind the seat for diapers, wipes, water, snacks, etc. My daughter is 20 months old and about 23 pounds. She really loved riding in it and having the wind blowing in her hair. Would really recommend this to anyone instead of the carriers that attach in the front or back on your bike. The large wheels are great for smooth riding and easy turning. The carrier folds completely flat and the wheels detach for easy storing. There is very little added weight for this trailer so it seems like you are cycling alone instead of "pulling" it along behind you. Great product for little money - worth every penny and then some! I am really looking forward to riding several times a week. A MUST HAVE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 10 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Better Than I Expected

07/06/2010
By ,
Jacksonville Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are new to biking and after some research decided to buy a trailer instead of a seat for safety reasons. I read lots of reviews and checked out trailers priced from $80 to $500. Not being sure how much use it would get I decided to go with the ones on the lower end of the scale. I still expected to spend upwards of $200 but then I found this one for $119 and saw that it converts to a stroller and only weighs 29 pounds (many of the others were heavier). It wasn't very difficult to put together however clearer directions would be nice. We've only taken it out a few times so I can't speak to the durability yet but it would be nice if it were easier to open the trailer maybe a zipper. You have to undo the lower snaps and velcro to open it. For the price I think this is a great trailer. I'm sure there are ones out there that are much nicer but you will pay for extras.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Better than "Good Enough"

09/04/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a decent trailer. And, for under 150 it's a great trailer. I was looking at the burley trailers at a fancy bike shop downtown. They are about 400 dollars. This trailer has the core elements you need: converts to a workable stroller, has big wheels for low rolling resistance, and an aluminum frame. It sets up easily and breaks down easily and my daughter loves it. It's not as well made as the Burleys but still very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 12 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Wonderful Product

07/28/2010
By ,
Des Moines, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had this product for over a year. I got it for my husband for his first fathers day. Although the age is for 1 and up we still used it when she was a newborn and put her car seat with towels under it and strapped in the car seat. She loves to go everywhere in this to this day!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 13 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Defective Item

04/29/2010
By ,
Burke, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was doomed from the beginning with this item. When I opened the box, the front stroller wheels were wrapped around the frame and I couldn't get them off. When I called the company for help, they didn't believe me. I had to send them a picture, and they never called me back. I managed to get the wheels loose, then I started to put it together and you're supposed to snap the top cover onto the frame. There were no snaps on the frame to snap it to. So again, I called the company and they told me to take it back to the store. Never apologized for a defective product. I don't think I will buy their products again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 14 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Excellent Product

07/04/2010
By ,
Dublin, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this trailer for the last couple of months; I found it very useful both as a bike trailer and as a double stroller. It’s easy to assemble and dismantle and store. When I use it with my bike I hardly feel that there is a trailer behind and the children enjoy the ride a lot.. I have done distances as much as 5 miles and my children have been comfortable. They also say that the ride it good, the wheels movement is really smooth.
I have used it as a double stroller while visiting big cities; on road, lawn, trails, ferry etc. It feels very comfortable to handle the trailer as a double stroller. The only thing that can be improved is the handle attachment (although the screw seems to be easy to handle but we still have to spend some time attach and detach.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 15 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Great bike trailer

08/24/2010
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only did this item ship and arrive immediately, but it was quite easy to assemble. Hooking it up to my mountain bike was fairly easy, as well. My son, who turned one on 7/28/10, fits in this trailer very nicely. There is enough storage room in the back of the seat that is big enough for a large diaper bag or two small diaper bags. It was quite light weight and easy to lift (by myself) over my son's security gate in order to take it to the garage. This is my first bike trailer and I'm quite impressed with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Good bike trailer

08/24/2011
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a stroller, it definitely does not compare to a Bob stroller. However, that truly is comparing apples to oranges since that is a double-jogging stroller.
I wish the front tire was a pneumatic tire, rather than plastic. I think it would roll better.
I just leave the handlebar on both for the bike portion and for stroller-walking. Just easier.
I have used it both with walking & with the bike, and really value having one kid-cart for both functions. I think my girls tend to slide into each other until they are both settled - it is a bit hard to put them in together. There seems to be good head-room for my 75% 3 1/2 yr old. As long as neither girl gets much wider, I can see this lasting 1-2 years. It does fold up nicely for travel.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

We use it as a stroller.

06/27/2010
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trailer/stroller is a very good value. Very easy to assemble. We use it as a stroller. My only complaint is that I have to take the wheels and the stroller handle off in order to get it into the back of my station wagon. I expected that it would have folded like other strollers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 18 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Great trailer especially for the price!

02/26/2010
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trailer was easy to put together! It is great! Nice and sturdy. The 20 inch wheels are fantastics especially when hooking to a mountain bike which my husband and I both have. Extra hitches are only 8 bucks form the manufacturer which is amazing for us since we switch the trailer between bikes. It pulls very nicely and adds very little weight even with my 3 year old and our puppy in it! I have had two kids in it my 3 yr old daughter and my 4 yr old nephew at the same time and they fit and were comfortable for quite a long ride! It comes with the stroller attachment which is easy to put on quickly and great that you don't have to pay for it! The only thing that wasn't really an issue just more of what I would like to see is a hard bottom on it or different seats. But this is the same with most trailers so It does its job. The tailer itself is inredibly light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer
07/16/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product description states that this product seats 2 with each child having plenty of room. I have 20 month old twins and they are VERY crowded. Very disappointed with product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 20 for Schwinn Spirit Bicycle Trailer

Easy to use

07/14/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble and easy to use. The only problem is my 5 year old and 2 year old feel crowded and fight for space during the rides.
It's roomy for just 1 child. but 2 will not feel comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next