Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

 
Average Customer Rating:
3.524 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation63%65 out of 103reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Bad Dishes!

12/29/2010
By ,
Xenia, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These dishes do not hold up at all. They chip so easily. I put a bowl in the microwave with soup for 1 minute and it broke. The same thing happened to a few plates when I warmed up dinner. And several coffee cups are starting to have hairline cracks in them. I bought two sets for the wife in December 2008, I even wash these dishes by hand. I would not get these dishes even for free. I went back to Corell which really do hold up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

One Year Review

11/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had these a little over a year now. I waited to write a review because of the other quality reviews, and wanted to see how they held up. I have not had ANY issues with them, and in fact LOVE them! I have had no chipping, cracking or other quality issues. They are our every day dishes, and get used in the microwave and dishwasher. I have 3 sets and several of the serving pieces as well. I like the character of the hand painted design, how they are thick and sturdy, keep heat when we preheat them before serving and the deep well in the plates. I'm so glad I got them despite the poor reviews I read before my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 3 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Great Dishes!

04/15/2009
By ,
Canton, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got these dishes because they are beautiful and they match my new kitchen decor perfectly. I read all of the bad reviews and figured that for the price, if they were in fact as bad as the reviews, I wouldn't be out a lot of money. Was I ever surprised! These dishes are not ony beautiful, but I have not had a single chip or problem with a single piece. Yes, there is a little variation in the colors, but that only ads to the beauty of the set! I put them in my dishwasher, and I PACK my dishwasher, and there have been NO problems. I also bought the matching serving bowl and platter. The platter is very large and doesn't fit in a standard kitchen cabinet so I have it on a plate stand my counter as a show piece! I love the dishes and I would recommend them to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Review 4 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Quite Nice

11/26/2008
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this set a month ago and I must say, I really like them. Other than their beauty, I love the way the plates are so deep. No longer do I have to worry about syrup or spaghetti sauce running off the plate! I wish the set came with a completer set and some accessories!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Beautiful & Durable!

07/28/2010
By ,
Montgomery, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had these dishes for over a year now, and they've held up very well. They're really lovely and I intend to get the platter and serving bowls to go along with (as well as one more set to use as replacements, since I know they won't hold up forever and eventually there will be a breakage). I'm completely satisfied and happy with them, and I've had several compliments on them, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Tuscan Retreat

10/11/2008
By ,
San Antonio Texa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Every time I run these dishes in the dishwasher, they come out either cracked or chipped, very poor quality -- very very dissapointed and trying to find someone at BHG to help me?????
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Love it!!

10/17/2010
By ,
Magnolia, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have waited to write a review. I recieved these dishes for Christmas last year. I was not sure that it was the best choice after reading all the reviews. I saved my boxes in the attic just incase I needed to return them. So, we have had these dishes for almost 10 months and NOT a single problem!! I have 3 young children who help in the kitchen and we have not had any issues with chipping or breakage. I would say if you are thinking of buying these dishes......GO FOR IT!! Of course we do not throw them against the walls or anything but they are our everyday, every occasion dishes and we love them. I have the platter, serving bowls and smaller bowls without any problems as well. I just wish they made matching glasses so my set would be complete.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Broken Hearted & Broken Dishes

08/19/2009
By ,
Upstate NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I fell in love with the colors and pattern of this set. It fit me perfectly and I was excited to purchase these dishes. I was immediately disappointed with the quality. Right away, I had to return/exchange one small plate due to a crack that ran half way through the plate and had been covered over prior to the final firing. I have since discovered more of these issues over the months that I have ben using this set. We have had to purchase a replacement bowl as one broke completely and cannot replace a broken salad plate as they aren't sold as a seperate piece. I would have thought that Better Homes would NOT have put their name on such cheaply made dishes. Obviously pieces that should have been relegated to the trash were simply patched up and passed along as perfect pieces. Granted, the set was not terribly expensive, but when you pay any amount of money, you want something that will last more than a few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Very Disappointed with dinnerware

01/16/2009
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I searched for many months and finally choose this set. The design is beautiful - that is where the satisfaction ended. Most all of the pieces are chipped numerous times and I hand wash these. For them to bear the BH&G name I expected much more. One of my buying reasons was the BH&G name. I would greatly appreciate a new set or a full refund!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
05/21/2009
By ,
Hamden, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dishes are beautiful to look at, durable, just a great set. Only drawback if that there is only a platter & a large bowl to go with the set. PLEASE make more pieces!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Sorry Sorry Dishes!!!

12/11/2010
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought three sets of these dishes earlier tonight. When I got home I checked the reviews (usually I do it beforehand) and saw alot of bad ones for these dishes.
Was hoping I'd be one of the lucky ones like those who are saying everything is just rosy with these dishes. When I unpacked them, the color differences in one set was not good, really noticeable. I was going to keep them anyway. Then as I was getting them ready to go in the dishwasher.........I VERY SLIGHTLY bumped a cup against a plate and a large piece of plate went flying. The reviewers who have had this problem were not exaggerating at all. All three sets are going back first thing in morning. BH&G should be ashamed for selling this dinnerware!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 12 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Likes it so much, I bought 2 more sets

04/02/2009
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the other reviews concerning chipping while using on a daily basis and putting in dishwasher. I have to say, I've had my set for 4 months and have had no issues. I've used them several times; been run through the dishwasher often; they have been handled by a 2 year old; and I've not had the first chip. I don't know of any product that at times, has a dud. I have recently ordered 2 more sets to make a complete 12 place setting and should be delivered to the store soon. I am like a few other posters who have said they would like to see more pieces with this line (Tuscan Retreat). Also, I would like to be able to buy individual pieces as in the store not all pieces to the set are available. I just hope I have as good an experience with the other 2 sets as I've had with this one. Thank you, BHG, for putting out an expensive looking line at a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

deeply disappointed.

03/26/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I feel in love with this product in the store. I wish I would have read the reviews on this before I purchased this set. First of all I couldn't even fit the plates in the dishwasher, and whatever piece I was able to fit came out chipped or broken. They state on the back of the plate that they are dishwasher safe, but they are not. I had to be careful when I sat them down on the counter or they would chip. You shouldn't have to be this careful with dishes. I returned them the other day, and got a different set. Please if you are reading this review, don't waste your time and money on this product. I know they are beautiful, but they are not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 14 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

I love this set!

04/14/2009
By ,
Garland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this dinnerware about a month ago. I purchased 3 sets...had a matching issue with one set (they are hand painted) so I had to return one set and purchase another one, but the new one matched the first 2 sets perfectly...so problem resolved. I am a mother of twins and we use this dinnerware everyday as a family. I wash mine in the dishwasher and have had no issues with chipping. So since I was so happy with the dinnerware I also purchased the serving platter and serving bowl to match. I orderd those online and had them shipped site to store. They matched my dinnerware perfectly and I have no issues to report. This set is really pretty and even painted on the back sides of the dishes...however the bottoms of the dishes are a bit rough on all pieces (they are not sealed) and we have granite so it was like nails on a chalkboard when I first got them out of the packing. But thankfully the bottoms have really smoothed out (a pleasant surprise) after a couple of washings in the dishwasher. And just FYI they can get really hot in the microwave! But overall I give them 2 thumbs up...I only wish there were more pieces to complete the set!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Not What I thought

01/11/2010
By ,
Pekin IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 2 sets of these dishes on 1/3/10. So far, I have returned 2 dinner plates, 2 bowls, and 1 coffee mug. When I purchased them, I washed them all by hand before using them. When I put them in the dishwasher the first time, one dinnerplate came out with a chip. A few days later, one cracked along with two bowls. The next day a coffeemug cracked when I put coffee in it. They are beautiful dishes and look great on the dining room table, but if it continues like this, I will box them all up and return them to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Love These Dishes!

06/14/2010
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a freak about buying dishes... probably have about 25 sets, just because I like pretty patterns. I have to admit, these have stayed in my cabinet for six months now and are so pretty I have cleared evidence of all my other collections to show case these. They are used every day (with exception of bowls) and I have had no problems (knock on wood). In fact, I have found other accent dishes with a golden color that match well for extra pieces that don't really come with this set. Another reason I love these is because of the "well" in the middle. I am trying to cut back on portions and smaller portions fit well with a beautiful edge to the plate. Visually, I don't feel like I've skimped on servings because the center of the plate is full. (But you always have the option to fill to the brim!)I saw all the reviews regarding poor quality. I have not experienced that at all. Mine go in the dishwasher daily and my son (who is not careful at all) empties the dishwasher. They are very pretty and fresh. I can't imagine what dish set would attract my attention to replace these in the near future. Just wish there were more pieces to go with the pattern.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 17 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Beautiful but not worthy

03/31/2010
By ,
Stephens City, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product because I loved and it matched the design in my kitchen. But I am very disappointed in this product. I have had the dishes about 6 months and 3 of the 4 cups have one or more chips on them. And now the dinner plates are starting to chip. I even had the bottom break off of one the mugs. I thought that being the product was from Better Homes and Garden that it would be a good product. Boy was I wrong...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Christmas Present and use often since. Daughter

01/05/2011
By ,
Salix, Iowa ( Daughters residence) She is:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Daughter received this set, in fact, two and I'm ordering another set for her, she loves them and they dress up her table when she had company over the holiday's they liked them also...Good for all seasons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Husbands pick

12/03/2008
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked everywhere for dishes and couldn't find any that were durable. Then we found these at Walmart. They were exactly what we were looking for, DEEP....which I love and thick. They feel well made. I haven't had any problems with chipping and cracking like some of the other reviews. And I have 4 kids that use them daily and load and unload the dishwasher and haven't had any problems. They are alittle awkward to fit in the dishwasher because they are so deep...but that is worth the trade off. The bottoms are rough and I do not like that. They should have sealed them. And I have found that they sweat from the ring on the bottom that isn't sealed. But we have had them a couple of months and we love them. Husband did a great job picking them out! Definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Better Homes and Gardens Tuscan Retreat 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Beautiful, sturdy dishes

09/15/2010
By ,
Hubert, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These dishes are absolutely beautiful and very sturdy. I only had a small problem in getting a complete service for 8. I purchased 2 sets originally and one of the plates was broken, when I returned it, they had no more on the shelf so I had to order it online. When that arrived, 1 bowl was cracked. Fortunately for me, the customer service clerk allowed me to trade out that piece for a new one instead of returning the whole set and waiting another 2 weeks. Other than that little issue I am very happy with my set. The plates are too tall to stand in the dishwasher, but as it is only my husband and myself, I just lean the plates to get them to fit. I am so happy I got these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next