Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Equipped with an Aluminum Dual Suspension MTB frame, the men's 26" NEXT Nitro provides riders with the ultimate in comfort and riding performance. Whether tackling the toughest of terrain or just cruising the streets, Nitro's eye-catching sleek design serves to impress.
Average Customer Rating:
3.709 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation75%41 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Best bet for an inexpensive Mountain Bike

03/07/2009
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike with two exceptions. 1.)Frame too short which causes front wheel to rub against feet while turning corners. 2.)Wheel metal not strong enough to take small soft landings which causes rims to bend.
Bike is perfect on all other features. Bike comes almost fully assembled right out of the box. Easy to read instructions, Brakes are set and ready to go. The frame being too short has the above mentioned inconvenience, but it is a head-turner because the shorter frame is much more attractive than the long ugly expensive mountain bikes. Just move your feet in so that your toes don't extend the front of the pedal while making turns and you're set. Speeds work great. Quiet, smooth and comfortable ride. Absorbs shocks very well. Pedals have held up very well, unlike others who have reviewed this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 2 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Good bike

05/12/2009
By ,
King of Prussia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is a good one, meets the expectations but is not for serious bikers who want to go lengths on it. The gears were not meshing properly, needed minor adjustments. Little heavy though. if you are planning to use this for some serious biking, then this is not one for you. try shwins. But for casual once a week or two kind of people. Then it is good. It is worth buying this bike online than buying the bikes in the store from the same manufacture. it is much better than the other "next" brand bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 3 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Great bike

04/07/2009
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had a lot of mountain bikes over the years, of all different prices and this one is one of the best values I've found. I initially bought it just to have as a secondary bike, since I already own a more expensive Schwinn, but since I've gotten this one, I actually ride it more. Its a lot of fun to take through trails. My only complaint is that the handgrips could be more comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Good for the $, needs tuning though

07/26/2009
By ,
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike performs just as I expected it would. I am a grown man. Average height and build. The bike performed well out of the box. The only "issue" that I had was the gear shifting. The owners manual tells you exactly how to adjust the gears though. 10 mins and it shifts like a dream. Yes, a few other people have said that the seat is uncomfortable, it is...if you are on it for more than 30 mins. Going on bike rides with a 9 and 8 year old, they only last 30 mins anyway. Good product. For the money spent, very good product. No complaints here,,,
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 5 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Great bike for a kid

10/05/2009
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before buying this bike, I first read the reviews and most were very good. There was one review stating that the front wheel was too close to the pedals making operation difficult. Well, the box arrived and of course I didn't read the instruction and just quickly tighten everything so my son could ride it... well, he tried a lot and he was very disappointed that his feet were hitting the front wheel when he was trying to turn... boy, what a deception about waiting for your GREAT bike.
Then daddy (yes that's me), decided to take the bike back but before, just looked at it a little and then the great enlightment hit (otherwise known as DUUUUUH): the front wheel was on the wrong side!!! Of course when they ship it, the wheel is turned towards the bike to make the package smaller, if you leave it that way, it just makes things slightly complicated... more like a circus thing (about half aninch between the wheel and the pedal -- go try that).
Anyway, once the front wheel fork is in the right direction, this bike is great. My son, has been using it since and he considers it one of the greatest present ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Decent bike for under 100 dollars.

04/24/2009
By ,
Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros>
Dual shock suspension.
Price under 100 dollars.
Seat is better than most similar priced bikes.
Aluminum frame.
Free assembly at the store.
Cons>
Handlebars seem cheap.
Hand grips are small and a bit uncomfortable
No vertical grips on end of handlebars for uphill riding.
Pedals feel very cheap.
You get what you pay for. In this case, this bike is a pretty good buy for 96 dollars. You shouldn't expect 300 dollar quality for 96.
The front wheel is closer to the pedals than some models, but I don't have an issue. My old Magna mountain bike is exactly the same as this one in this aspect. I wear size 10 shoe and my shoes never touch the wheel when turning. I guess if you are pedaling with your heels it could rub or if you have a very large shoe size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Good buy

08/13/2009
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for my 11 year old nephew, he is about 5'9. He seems to be in love with it. He blends in with his friends, so to him its a cool bike. I dont think he will be riding it this time next year because I think he may be over 6 feet by then. yikes. But for the mean time, Get one, its worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Cheap Bike

05/23/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, Nv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Went out and purchased this bike because it was a cheap bike. and that is what it is. The 26' Nitro Mountain bike did not shift gears that well also the hand grips our to small. I have not been on a bike in 15 years. It is okay for teenager that rides it around the community. I took it back and got the Mongoose XR 200 under $200.00 dollars and it rides like a dream. I am 5'11 and weigh 230 pounds so the mongoose XR-200 can take the weight and Is a great ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-4points
Review 9 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Alright Bike

05/21/2009
By ,
LONG BEACH CALIF
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this bike about 3wks ago. So far have replace seat pole and added brand new brakes. Apparently the brakes that are on the bike are plastic so they had to be replace because of squealing. Especially the back ones. I would replace the seat also. I would recommend the bike for everyday use just remember what some of the post say. You will be replacing stuff but you get what you pay for. I had to have new bearing put in the sprocket because they where not tight when I purchased and cracked the bearing. Also plan on replacing front and back derailleurs and chain with better stuff. Same with rear rim don't want to run into to many problem with I run from beach to beach. I would replace seat also very hard on the bottom especially after long distances.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Mountain bke men's

03/15/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product is well worth the price. However, it was not packaged properly and the spokes on the front wheel were damaged!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 11 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Green with envy

06/03/2009
By ,
Skokie, Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this bike two weeks ago for my 11 year old son. He is 5'5" and an overall big guy. He was a little leery of bike riding before we got him this bike. Now he rides every day. His friends a envious of the bike. He choose this one for looks and price. It does shift a little inconsistently and the breaks needed adjustment from the store. (Not the Bikes problem.) I was apprehensive due to the low price but his success with this purchase led me to buy a Power X for myself. It works fine too. These bikes work as well or better than more expensive bikes. They came assembled from the store and needed some adjustments to be "right". Now we are thrilled. We are enjoying group and individual riding experiences. Good bike at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike
08/11/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I received the bike after site-to-store shipment, the rear sprocket was bent. When I returned it to the store, the two other bikes had the same issue. Also, the seat does not go up high enough for a 26" bike for an average sized person (I'm 5'7"). Also, my toes sometimes hit the wheel when I am turning. I bought this product because it had better reviews than most other bikes in my price range (< $100) but I would not buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Great Value but you need to check assembly

04/21/2009
By ,
Saddle Brook, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very satisfied with the bicycle. However, I would advise anyone who purchases one to completely check the quality of the assembly. I found that the brakes were not adjusted properly by whoever assembled it. Adjustments I made to the brakes included aligning the brake pads and I also found one of the adjusting washers was installed backwards. Also, the handlebars were not aligned with the front wheel. It also seemed that the derailers on some of the bikes at the store needed some adjustment as they were noisy, though the one I chose is fine. The bike rides great - it's very comfortable and a lot of fun. Overall, it's a great value as long as you check it over thoroughly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

NEXT 26"itro Bike

05/31/2009
By ,
Nashua, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this so I could ride together with the family. I had purchased 2 other like this for my sons and ordered this one. I was happy the srtore assembled the bike. When I came home with it, I noticed the rear axle was bent. The rear wheels were not moving much and it was a struggle to pedal. The rear reflector popped our of the wheel, the kick-stand was flimsy and the gears were difficult to select an shift smootly.
On my kids bike - I kid you not - the wind blew and the bike fell and it broke the pedal.
Cheap product, managed to return after and it was already on sale for $54 (original price $109, on sale for $98 whe I got it).
I got a more expensive bike this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Great Value!!!

05/04/2009
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike and love it. I purchased it already assembled and it was already very well put together. I do recommend going over and checking it twice to to make sure everything is adjusted properly. I rode and tested several bikes from $100 to $500 and took my time purchasing a bike. I wasn't looking for cheap bike either, just something that fit my needs. This bike met everything I was looking for and rode great. I am 6'1 and around 220 lbs. The seat is a little uncomfortable so I purcased a wider gel seat and it made a huge difference!! Also the grips are a little hard but other than that, I would recommend this bike to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Good for the money

04/28/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is true that your feet rub the front wheel on turns. But the bike was for my son and his do not rub having smaller feet than me. The bike is otherwise pretty good except mine had a sprocket tooth bent that continually popped the chain. I am mechanically inclined so I was able to fix that and a few other issues. The bike is not ready to ride out of the box but does need adjustments (brakes, shifter,etc.). Do yourself a favor and get someone who is mechanically good to adjust the various items and you will have a good bike. I also had to readjust some things after the cables streched (but that is normal).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Too Small for a Man

08/04/2009
By ,
rochester, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After I put the bike together, I found that it was extremely "small" when I tried to turn the front tire would hit my shoes and I am only 5'9". Had to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 18 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Damaged when arrived

07/13/2009
By ,
Camden, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was originally excited after seeing this bike in the store a few weeks before ordering it online. Well, when it arrived, I couldn't believe how much damage it sustained. After examining it thoroughly, the gears were bent and jammed beyond repair. Also the brakes were maladjusted beyond repair. Unfortunately, I plan to return it to the local store for an exchange. Ironically, this is the second bike that we ordered online from Walmart. Several week ago, we ordered the Spiderman bike for my son. And yes that biked was damaged when delivered also...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 19 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

Great Big Disappointment

01/18/2009
By ,
LA, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pros: Extremely light.
cons: no assembly instructions; easy enough to put together anyway. Pedals are too close to the front tires; every time I want to make a turn my shoes scratch the front tires. It seems more like a boy's/ or women's bike as small as it is. The picture is taken at an angle to be deceptive. The bike came with minor scratches right out of the box.
I have no idea why the others are raving about this bike; it is not like a $300 bike from what I can tell.
DON'T BUY UNLESS YOU CAN FIND BETTER DEAL AND NEED SOMETHING FOR THE MONEY.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 20 for 26" Men's Nitro Mountain Bike

front wheel too close to pedals...

12/27/2008
By ,
Irvine,CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In general this bike seems to look nice, evrything is working, but... The pedals are too close to the front wheel , so if you ride your bike only in the straght line then you won't notice... until you need to turn right or left. You can only have your toes on the pedals otherwise you won't be able to turn.
That's very bad because the price is not bad and the rest of the bike is pretty good. (brakes are kind of cheap quality... so that's another story).
Anyway, i am returning this bike to the store
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next