Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Dorel Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Great for any kid's room, this Twin-Over-Twin Metal Bunk Bed offers a practical, space-saving solution for siblings and friends. Designed with safety in mind, Twin-Over-Twin Metal Bunk Bed includes full length guardrails and a sturdy integrated ladder. Thus, you can stay assured that there is no chance for your kids to tumble down from the top bunk. The kids bunk bed is available in black to complement any light backgrounds. This bed comes with a metal finish that makes a great addition to your bedroom decor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.218 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
60
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation89%179 out of 202reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 266 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
60
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Great for the Price

09/27/2012
By ,
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this bunk bed online through Walmart and had shipped to our home. Shipping was faster than expected.
Pros:
The bed was packaged very well in a sturdy box with all of the parts labeled, individually wrapped in plastic and well protected from being scratched. The instructions were clear and easy to follow and all of the fasteners were packaged in one container and clearly identified. The only tool required per the instructions is a Phillips screwdriver.
I started assembly of the bunk bed with the help on my wife and 2 boys, everything went smoothly, the parts fit together well and the pictures in the instructions were large and clear making it easy to figure out the correct orientation of the parts.
Cons:
When we got to the step in the instructions to attach the rails that will support the slats, connect the ends together and provide an attach point for the top side rail and ladder, that part was missing. This particular rail is different in that it has mounting points for the ladder and upper side rail. What we had was 3 of the bottom rails instead of 2 bottom rails and the one upper ladder side rail. So what I ended up doing was drilling the missing holes in the rail to mount the upper safety rail and ladder. The good thing about drilling the holes myself was that due to the layout of the boy’s room we decided to put the ladder at the foot end of the bed instead of the side. Having to drill the missing holes was really not a big deal, however, if someone without a drill or the ability to modify this standard rail ran into this problem they would either have to do without the ladder and upper safety rail or postpone assembly until they received the replacement part. …and who knows how long that would take.
Assembly Suggestions:
Once assembled this bed is a little shaky. This little bit of movement overtime would certainly result in the fasteners becoming loose. What I did was assemble the bed with the fasteners just snug, then once completely assembled I measured the diagonals to square up the whole thing then tightened each fastener. In order to combat the inevitable loosening of the fasteners, I then removed one fastener at a time, applied Loctite thread locker to it, and then re-installed the fastener and once again tightened it down. I did this procedure to each fastener in the bed. I also fashioned straps to secure the bed to the wall at the head and toe.
Time will tell how this bed holds up to our two boys, but I feel that taking the extra precautions to avoid excessive movement and subsequent loosening of the fasteners should dramatically extend the life of this reasonably priced bunk bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Super Bunkbed

08/13/2011
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish we had gotten the bunk beds sooner..am very happy with them...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Nice bed for small ones!

05/26/2014
By ,
Mobile, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed after realizing I could not purchase the bed I wanted from a more expensive store. Assembly was fairly simple and I managed on my own; however, if you have someone to help you will go more smoothly. Color is nice; all parts and hardware is included. My 5 year old was very excited with the finished product-I just have to remind him it is not a jungle gym!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Wonderful Item...

08/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love them...easy to build and so sturdy... look great ina boys room :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Good bunk bed

05/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Lightweight. Have had two adults use it. The person on top, though, has complained of "wobbling". It feels a little flimsy, but not unsafe.
The ladder sticks out fairly far into the room (it attaches at an angle rather than directly vertical). We have taken to not attaching it, but rather just leaning it against the bed, so that we can move it out of the way when not in use. That seems to work just fine (plus, an adult can comfortably hop down from the top bed even without the ladder).
Make sure you pay attention to which side is which when you are putting it together. I mistakenly built it with the opening against the bedroom wall, and then had to "turn" the entire thing, which ended up scratching my wall (I was building it alone, which can be done easily enough, but makes it hard to turn if you find that you built it backwards).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Good Value

11/01/2010
By ,
Bowling Green, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After having had both metal and wooden bunk beds over the years, I chose to look for a metal set because of the overall sturdiness. I really liked this set because it was an affordable price. We chose site-to-store for our delivery option. It arrived 4 days before the expected delivery date. I was skeptical about the construction of the slats, but was surprised to find it sturdier than expected. It really saved us some room. My only complaint is the upper safety rail could have been a little taller, but I just put the older child on top.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Good Value!

02/09/2011
By ,
Hollidaysburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set of beds are nice. They are well worth what you pay for them. The weight limits (150lbs) are lower than some others i have looked at but if you are using them for lower weight children they work very well. They were very easy to put together and sturdy. The only thing I dont like is the are a little wobbley when you are on the top bunk and move. They arent going to fall apart or anything they just move a bit. There is ALOT of room between the bottom and top bunk so the person on the bottom isnt hitting their head on the top bed. Also they are shorter so they work if you have lower ceiling like i do. Overall they are good beds and if you are looking to find a good price and good beds these will be nice for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

perfect

10/24/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys love this bed. I have a 5 year old and a 12 year old and they both fit perfectly on this bed. I saw a couple of reviews that said the pieces came mangled and destroyed. I got it shipped site to store and mine came in perfect condition. My boys have a small room and this fits just right. Pretty easy to put together, it took my husband about an hour by himself. So worth the money, it looks nice, not at all cheap. Its very sturdy and my boys are rough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Came with wrong legs

11/09/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this bed over a month ago and paid more to have it shipped to my house. The bed arrived 2 days before it's scheduled date, we were thrilled! We took the boys beds apart and started setting the bunk beds up, and then discovered we had 2 of the wrong legs. We then called Dorel customer service and they told us they would send us a new leg within 10 business days, we asked if it could come sooner because we gave their bed frames away and my kids would have to sleep on the floor. She said it was not possible and we would have to wait.... and a month later we are still waiting. We called to check on the order status and were told that they do not have any extra parts, they all have to be ordered and shipped from China. They are are waiting for China to ship the parts.... once the parts arrived it would be 10-14 business days before we could get the correct legs. We now have to wait an entire extra month (at the least). I am not at all pleased and no one seems to care. It has been a terrible experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Serves it's purpose

07/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product serves its purpose. Only problem it appeared that someone used the item and returned it. No manual in the box, but I went online and found the manual at the DHP website.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

fills the bill

08/02/2010
By ,
Jesup, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had no problems assembling this bed.
The hardware all came on a card, no trying to figure what part is what. Comes with all tools needed for assembly except a phillips head screwdriver.
I am happy with this sturdy bunk bed and have no problems recommending it to a friend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
las vegas nv
great bed for the money
Posted 02/21/2012
My two girls have this bed and they love it. We bought a wooden bed and it fell apart the first time we disassembled it. we love this bed.I am actually ordering another for my son
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Just what I expected

12/05/2009
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my kids and they love it. Me and my cousin were able to put it together without the help of any guys so it was not extra hard labor, you do need a second person though. It's just that the heavier people are, the more the metal ladder would hurt their feet so they just better hurry quick to the top!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Should be advertised as frames only

07/05/2014
By ,
Sayreville, nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ad misleading. Even though ad states that the mattresses are optional, the options are more expensive than the bunk beds. I would not have chosen this item if I had known the standard mattresses were not included. Only reason item not retuned, too much of a hassle. And kids need beds now.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

strong sturdy beds

03/24/2012
By ,
Kankakee.IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought these beds for our daughters 10&12.Very limited space in their room. These beds are great. Much sturdier than the wood ones we had before. Also gives room a slick spacious look. The only draw back is the metal ladder, Very hard on feet. We used pipe insulation to compensate for this drawback. It's not perfect but significantly better.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Great for smaller rooms

04/03/2011
By ,
williamsburg, oh.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
on line ordering - fast and easy,
ship to store - arrived in 7 days (could of been sooner but i ordered on a friday nite),
set up - did it myself in less than an hour,
durability - (2 boys 11 & 12, nuff said :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Comfy, Quiet, Saves Space

08/24/2011
By ,
Abilene, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a college student, and when my roommate and I agreed to get bunk beds, I searched the Internet for a good bunk bed option. These have been perfect! I sleep on top bunk. I'm perfectly comfortable. The frame does not squeak at night, a nice change from our dorm-room provided bunk beds last year. It feels solid and sturdy and doesn't take up that much space in the room.
Two caveats: Assembly is a little difficult. My roommate built it, but she said it took her several hours. Also, the rungs are uncomfortable. Placing my feet on thin metal rods was an unpleasant shock at first, but I became used to the sensation after a few days.
All in all, I wish I could always keep this as my bed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Wonderful addition.

12/31/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 4 yr really love his bed. I finally got him out of my bed. I put it together by myself. The lower bunk wasn't set up. I'm using the area as a play/art area.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Great

06/23/2014
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bunk are a great fit perfect for my 10 and 5 year old boys
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Great Bink Bed for small kids

07/15/2011
By ,
Bronx, N.Y.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bunk bed was a great purchase for my smaller kids. It was very easy for one person to put together. It only took a couple of hours to do. Very integral with it's parts design. Everything felt light but very strong. Just wish the ladder didn't stick out so far from the bed. But overall a great looking bunk bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Twin Over Twin Metal Bunk Bed, Black

Missing parts

06/10/2014
By ,
Hattiesburg Ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bunk bed was delivered earlier then expected but when I began to put it together I found out there was no manuel! I downloaded it from online to also find out, some of the parts were missing, being aggravated I returned it to a local Walmart for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next