Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Carex Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Carex Carex 32" Metal Reacher

This Carex 32" Metal Reacher grabber helps users with weakened strength to grasp items from hard-to-reach places in and around their homes. With magnetic tips, this folding reacher can aid in lifting small objects. Measuring 32" in length, this stick grabber is suitable for use by virtually anyone. Made from primarily metal, this Carex 32" Metal Reacher grabber is durable. The convenient size also allows this folding reacher to easily be stored in your home when not in use. This stick grabber can be used for doorknobs, keys, lamps, switches and much more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.157 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation86%71 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

low quality should be cheap

12/10/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this item could go for a lower price. doesn't have much hold on some items.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Good grasp. Sturdy metal handle

06/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was offered a reacher which was inferior to this one for twice the price at the hospital following my hip replacement surgery. So glad I found this one. Sturdy metal handle. Good grasp. Has been a valuable tool, since I can't bend over to pick anything up from the floor.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Grab one of these reachers

11/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using reachers for a long time and finally had to replace the old ones. These reachers are longer, which is very handy. The "trigger" is easy to grasp and pull. They are well made. I would give them 5 stars but for two things: one pair came with a crimp, or bend in the shaft which makes them a little bit clumsy to use. I'm sure it happened in shipping, and it's not bad enough to go through the trouble of a refund. And I don't like the magnet at the tip. It is secured to the reachers with a small, metal pin of some kind. This is good, my old reachers lost the magnet entirely pretty quick, and the location of the magnet was unwieldy. The magnet on these reachers replaces one of my favorite things about the old reachers - and attachment at the tip that I could use for pulling pulling the heels of my shoes up, and a lot of other such things. The magnet is no replacement, it's too short, and not shaped right. Other than that, I have no complaints at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Great price, descent quality

01/19/2011
By ,
Vacaville, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recovering from back surgery in a nursing home I was issued a CAREX brand grabber/reacher to use while there. The picture and brand looked the same so I bought one online from Walmart for under $17.00 and free delivery to the store for pickup. Ebay and the local Med Supply both wanted $30+. This one is sightly less able to grab small objects but I am content with it. The magnet is worthless for more than a small paper clip. I removed it and crazy glued on two small hobby magnets that now can easily lift a set of car keys.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

carex 32 inch reacher

06/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
arrived broken, magnet and rubber missing, in the sealed package.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

32" grabber

06/02/2009
By ,
Richmond, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my back surgery 4 weeks ago I was told by the surgeons not to bend over for 8 weeks. After an eternity of dropping everything on the floor, I decided to find a pickup tool that would serve the purpose. This one definitly fills the need. I was given another one just recently that is a Piece of junk.
Buy one of these and you won't be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Carex reacher is the best!!

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is simply the best grabber/reacher that can be found. Love the magnetic tip. An unbelievable bargain price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Long reach but magnet not strong.

06/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love long length, however magnet not big or strong enough.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Metal Reacher

05/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These reachers have been a life saver for us sine my wife broke her neck, and my back has gotten touchy. I keep one of them on every floor of the house, for everything from picking up laundry from the floor to reaching dry foodstuffs on the top shelves of cabinets. We have had the ones with the suction cups on the ends, and these with the jaws on the end, and these are far superior.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Very handy item to have.

05/25/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice item for picking up things on the ground or floor. But i would prefer a metal trigger handle, not plastic which can crack or break after some use. I do not trust plastic for long term use as it is subject to breakage. So far, I have no problems with this item. Can we get items in America that are all metal and have excellent reliability.?? Too much plastic is being used in my opinion.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Reaches, grasps, and damages.

05/02/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Alas, as indicated in my title, this product reaches well, grabs only fairly well, and can damage anything delicate. The problem would be solved I think if a rubber or silicone pas was added to the side with the teeth. As it is, with bare sharp metal teeth with nothing in the space between them, they can't grab many hard things where the raw teeth cannot sink in, and they can damage delicate items when the teeth sink in and won't let go, or where they scratch the surface. Also it is strung really tight, hard to work for those weaker of hand. Not good in my kitchen but fine in my office picking up wads of crumpled paper.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Good for the price

01/03/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for just a reacher to help get items from the top shelves of our kitchen. It handles most items but not cans or extra large/heavy things.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Get one with rubber tip

05/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm returning this, it does not pick up anything. I have an older one that is identical except for it has a rubber tip that helps grab any item. I can pick up a dime with my old one. I bought this one to keep in the kitchen so I don't have to bring it from room to room. Get one with a rubber tip. I would not recommend this .
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

This is a fantastic idea.

03/09/2014
By ,
Eliot, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a tool for a disabled person, a person with back problems or anyone that needs to reach an item without climbing in, under or around aboat, car, refrigerator, etc.
It's so quick and easy. I love it!
This is my second one and I bought one for my fishing buddy who's alwayss dropping something in his boat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Very good price and so far works as I wanted it to

06/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to pick up small sticks before mowing the lawn. Most of these reacher/grabbers were over-priced. I have used this one for about 2 hours for light duty work and it is fine. I have a small hand and the "trigger" is a little too big for me but it may be adjustable. I have not tried yet to adjust it. It is light weight and I would not trust it to reach for a quart jar of mayonnaise from over-head but for small sticks it works well. I did not check to see if it was rated for light, medium or heavy duty.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Helpful for the price

04/08/2009
By ,
86040
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Having to own this reacher due to a hip replacement, this was the best price and easiest reacher we found. Had to do a slight modification to the end in order to grab all items intended, such as socks. This was an easy fix tho. Much easier to use than the others we found on the web. And the price couldn't be matched.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

Metal Reacher

12/29/2013
By ,
lakewood, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 10 pieces for my Father. He is an older person and he cannot bend to pick something from the floor. So he asked for a Reacher. I saw these at a reasonable price and he is thrilled with them. He keeps them all over.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

No Magnet

10/14/2014
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although this product has great strength, it does not have a magnet on the end as advertised. Therefore, I could not rate it any higher.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

not what I expected

05/15/2010
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this grabber is ok for light weight things but do not use it on any material as it does have very sharp edges and cannot pick up much weight. Dog Toys and small rugs (sometimes not even rugs) are the only things this is good for. I got it to help me do laundry as I am not to bend over but because of the sharp edges it would tear holes in my clothing. Even the "Grabber" as seen on TV works Better than this thing even if it falls apart all the time and doesn't hold worth a hole in a donut
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Carex 32" Metal Reacher

These hold on tight!

08/04/2014
By ,
Northridge, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had several reachers but this is the best one ever! It has a long reach, doesn't fold so it doesn't collapse on you like my folding one did and it has a really good end that grabs even the smallest items and holds on to them until you decide to turn them loose! I bought two and I'm glad I did! Plus the price was amazing!!!! Very good quality - you won't be sorry you got one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next