Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Playskool Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Playskool Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Kindle your child's curiosity about prehistoric creatures and make-believe adventures with his very own life-sized baby dinosaur. This prehistoric pet comes to life with realistic electronic sounds and motion. A hidden handle helps kids hold on once they climb onto the dinosaur's back. Realistic stomping sounds add to the make-believe fun as kids bounce in place on the spring seat. Talk to Kota the Triceratops and he roars back with expressive tail, head, eye, mouth and horn movements. Hold out your hand and Kota sniffs it! Try tickling his belly or chin to make Kota laugh. When you think this dino has worked up an appetite, be sure to feed him his leafy snack — it really sounds like he's munching on it! Four different adventure-themed tunes set the mood for your child's wild imagination. But don't worry: a convenient volume control switch lets you adjust the level or turn it off.
Average Customer Rating:
4.729 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%58 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Kota is KING!

01/16/2009
By ,
Providence Village, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We waited, waited and waited and when Kota got down to $99 right before Christmas I scurried to WalMart and grabbed the last one. Whew, was I glad to get this little fella. Not only was the hit of the Christmas gifts, my son loves him, our friends kids and the adults even like him. At $299 it would have been too much (unless he did walk) but between $99 & $150 I would say it is HIGLHLY worth it. If you paid more I can see where you might be disappointed but if not it is a good price for a great toy. Cute as can be and my little man sits on him to watch his learning shows. For this Christmas Kota was King!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

sooo cute

12/24/2008
By ,
Manchester, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this to my son for his birthday yesterday (12/23) and he loves it! I got a great deal on it that I just couldn't pass up. My son just loves sitting on him, feeding him, and "roaring" with him. My son is 3 and tall for his age and his feet don't even come close to touching the floor so hopefully this is something he can play with for a long time!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Kota the Dinosaur

12/08/2008
By ,
Prescott Valley, Az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Bought Kota for My Great-GrandDaughter Aliyah pictured on Her Christmas Present that I sent to Her, I know She did'nt Open it, it was the Rest of the Family that wanted to Play with it. As You can see, She Looks Pretty Happy with Kota. Big Mike1945.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 4 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Christmas Dinosaur

02/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product in October 2008 ($299.00 + tax) for Christmas. I was afraid I would not be able to get it closer to the holiday. My son- almost three- loves dinosaurs and I could not wait to see his little face when he opened it. I had it sent to the store so I would not have to pay shipping, since it was not in our store yet. Needless to say, it went on sale for $199.00 after we bought it, a few weeks before Christmas. I was devastated! I took it back to the store and asked for a refund so I could purchase it at the new sale price. The day I took it, it went on sale for $99.00. I almost fainted! The ladies at WalMart were fabulous! They refunded my purchase to the credit card, which only took a couple of days and I was able to get the Kota for $99.00 + tax. Thank goodness, because other than the orignal happy face my two year old had on Christmas morning, he barely plays with it at all. It is a great toy, but for some reason, as happy as I was to get it for him, he was not as happy to receive it. Go figure! By the way, he loved the box!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

A Great Dinosaur

12/16/2008
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter just received this for her birthday from my sister and mom. She loves it! My daughter who is 20months also loves it and sits on it! I thought the dinosaur was supposed to walk and stomp it's feet. Does not do that. All that moves is it's head and tail. The different areas where the sensors are work and if you move it's horn by it's nose it lifts up it's head and sniffs. My daughter does something to it's head and makes it completely fall asleep. It starts to purr and then yawns and then starts closing it's eyes slowly till it starts snoring. Every night before she goes to sleep now she has to put Kota to sleep. It is not that big! My 4 year old the birthday girl reaches the floor and the 20 month old can't but holds on. There is a handle for them to hold on. It does have some dort of springs in the back and my daughter jumps up on it and it does bounce. Takes the weight of both my daughter's sitting on it! Entertains them for hours. Even the adults at the party were amused and want one for themselves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Kota The Dinasour

02/27/2009
By ,
Plano, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried to get this little Kota all during Christmas. Every time you would drop the price it would not got through and finally gave up until after Christmas and still didn't get it at the Christmas price of $99.00 but it was so well worth it when I finally got it in February 2009. When my little Grandson and Granddaughter opened my door and saw Kota they both started laughing and jumping up and down and even though it was costly it keeps the children happy and they both just love Kota.
I got Smores the pony for my grandson and he loves that little horse and hope to get Butterscotch for my little granddaughter for her birthday if possible.
Thank you for offering such wonderful toys and well made toys.
MaPeggy2
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Super fun Dinosaur!

09/28/2008
By ,
Comfort, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a super fun toy! We took Kota to our School and all the kids loved him (ages 12 mo to 5 yrs)! And he has held up great. The different music/sounds he does keeps the kids entertained day after day. And there are 2 different volume levels, which is nice for the different ages (the little ones did not like him roaring real loud). While it is a very pricey toy, it is like having Disneyland at our School! I highly recommend Kota!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Absolutely Amazing!!

01/10/2009
By ,
Western NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas gift for my 4 yr old daughter. We researched a lot before making the purchase, being such a big one. We at first were looking for the furreal pony, then stumbled across Kota. He is everything and more that we hoped for. My daughter loves him, and thinks of him as her real pet. He does more than what the description calls for, which is an added bonus! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a animatronic toy. He is just to cool!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Not As Great As I Thought!

12/26/2008
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my 2 year old son who loves dinos.
This seemed to be a great product, boy I was wrong. I thought for as much as I paid for it, it would at least walk and my little guy could ride it around the house, but it does not. All it does is roar, and play a couple of songs, its like a very expensive over sized stuffed animal. I am very disappointed and will be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 10 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Fun! Fun! Fun!

01/16/2009
By ,
Groves, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son LOVES dinosaurs, so it was a no brainer when my grandmother asked what she should get him for Christmas! He talks to it and thinks it's funny when it falls asleep. My only complaint with this product is 1 week after she purchased it, it went on "temporary price cut" for half the price! My grandma paid $199.99 plus tax then called me 1 week later and said it was now $99.99. That is a very big price difference in my opinion. However she has since said the smiles on his face have made it all worth while. So in short...if you can buy one and have a son like mine who loves dinosaurs it's worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Awesome

01/06/2009
By ,
Paris, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great gift for my 3 year old daughter for Christmas! My husband put it together before Christmas and it was ready to go Christmas morning she was so excited. It works great and she loves taking care of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Kota

12/04/2008
By ,
Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would really recommend this toy to a small child. My daughter is 3 years old and really really wants Santa Claus to bring her one for christmas. She dosn't know that the 3 foot tall present beside the christmas tree is kota. I couldn't resist opening the box and checking Kota out myself before i wrapped the box with christmas paper. I wanted to see if he really looked as cool as he did online in the pictures. And it does. Really big and looks real. I cant wait until my daughter opens it on christmas morning and see her little eyes light up. I know she will love it..... Kota may cost alot but i think he is worth it....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 13 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

so cute

12/27/2008
By ,
Saratoga, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I were a little cautious when buying this for our 3 yr. old son for christmas. Spending that much on one toy for a toddler can be tricky, they either love it or it sits in the corner collecting dust. Well, this was well worth it, he loves it and plays with it multiple times a day. I have to admit, I love it too. Kota is so cute! The mechanisms are a little loud, but it does move and roar a lot. For that kind of money I wish it bounced up and down or walked a little, but oh well our son loves it just the same. oh, and very easy to put together, very little assembly required, don't forget your batteries!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Kota dinosaur

01/12/2009
By ,
NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a nice toy but extra features should of been added like able to walk and move its legs. would be great it it had a interactive CD to put on TV. Its a prehistoric rocking horse with limited sound and eats
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Wonderful

12/15/2008
By ,
Waco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We decied to buy Kota for our son this christmas and could not be more pleased!!! We took Kota out of the box to make sure he worked and my husband and I played with Kota for at least an hour. We were able to make a roar noise at him and he would roar back, you can scratch under his chin and he makes a purr sound, when you feed him the leaf it sounds like he is really eating it!!! We only paid 99$ for him in our local store(main reason why we decided to buy him) but now that I know what he does and how he works I would have bought him for 199$ if he wouldnt of been on sale. Great toy a must have!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

excellent

12/31/2008
By ,
mcminnville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 3 year old grandson for xmas and he loves it. He great grandmother got him the one that was remote controlled that would walk, growl and whip it's tail around, but my grandchild was so scared of this that they had to put it in the garage (he still talks about this being "scary"). He loves Kota to death. I don't think I could have gotten him anything else that he would have liked better. When we would go by Wal-Mart before xmas, he would cry and say he wanted to go to walmart to see kota. He loves it.
It is very child friendly, my grandson can turn it off and on.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 17 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Kota is Great!

12/29/2008
By ,
Imboden, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kota is AWESOME!! We alll love him! On christmas eve, my husband and I sat down to assemble Kota. He was damaged a little above his tail during shipping (we could guess that when we saw the box!), and will be returning him as soon as we KNOW we can get another. He still worked, but if I give that much money for a toy, I want it to be damage free. Oh, and as far as the pricing... a week after I bought this, another store had it for 99 dollars! But as long as my 4 year old son had one on christmas morning, I don't care which price we paid!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Nice product

12/26/2008
By ,
Southern Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 4 year old grandson was overwhelmed and a little afraid of it at first, but absolutely adores it now. His favorite feature is bouncing on it to jungle type music.
It is however pricey, but is a large size and is light for an adult to move. The animal wages his tail, moves his head, and makes purring sounds when his sides, belly or head is touched.
It is hilarous when he eats the leaf and burps.
Assembly was not difficult, but batteries are NOT included.
Overall it is a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

Wonderful!

12/31/2008
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 3-year old and 16-month old grandsons absolutely love Kota! The 3-year old says that Kota is his best friend! They love it - it's easy to operate and stays quiet when you turn it off. It was a little frightening for the 16-month old (who is usually the more adventurous of the two) but is quickly warming up to Kota. The 3-year old can easily jump on and off and the 16-month old can pull himself up but has a little trouble swinging his leg over. Great, great interactive toy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Playskool Kota the Triceratops Dinosaur

dinosaurs are back!

10/14/2008
By ,
lansing, michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll admit, I did not actually by this product. However, I'm writing this on behalf of my sister, who purchased it for her son's birthday. He's three and a half, and he absolutely loved it! His whole room is dinosaurs, including the wall border and bedspread, and this was the perfect addition. He'll sit on it to "read" a book, play pretend and even talk to it! It's like his own "little" pet, and he absolutely loves it. Though it's a bit pricey, it's a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next