Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Microsoft Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Microsoft Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Gears of War thrusts gamers into a deep and harrowing story of humankinds epic battle for survival against the Locust Horde, a nightmarish race of creatures that surface from the bowels of the planet. In this third-person tactical action/horror game, players live and breathe the role of Marcus Fenix. A disgraced former war hero, Marcus seeks personal redemption as he leads his fire team against an onslaught of merciless warrior fiends. Gears of War unites next-generation technology with classic, emotional storytelling and a revolutionary tactical combat system. Online, gamers will be able to experience individualized matchmaking, view player statistics, earn player achievements, customize their games, and build and personalize their gamer profiles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%27 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

GEARS OF WAR IS AWESOME!!!!!

11/19/2009
By ,
tarentum
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This game is a must have if you don"t owned this game. Also If you love stroyline alot you should get this game to follow to the second gears of war. This game is Great and i have played it so many times a day. Also you can play in a 2 player local split screen campiagn to play with your brother or your friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

An Amazing Expirience at an Amazing Price

02/13/2009
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gears of war is one of the best games on the Xbox 360. The cover system allows you, as one of the game's key aspects, to take cover behind virtually any surface. There are certain abilities that come with the cover, such as jumping over short walls, and jumping out of cover into the fight, but I won't get into that. The game is fun for every skill level(not young children!! this game is violent, profane, and just plain too mature for any young child, please use discretion if this is for your child! If not at least 13, absolutely not!), from "Casual"(Easy) mode, to "Insane"(VERY hard). There is also play over Xbox LIVE, where players are on 2 teams: COG(Humans) and Locust(Aliens/Enemies), and they must eliminate all members of the opposing team. There is also a Co-Operative mode, where players may play the single-player story as usual, but a second player takes the role of "Dom", the main character's partner.
There has been a squeal to this game, Gears of War 2. This game, while very similar to the first, has many improvements on the Gears formula. Essentially Gears 1.5, it adds many features and systems, and a longer story mode, that help make it an even better game. If you want an extremely active online community, though Gears 1's is no slouch, go for Gears 2. Try to play Gears 1 first, if only for the story, because it will make a LOT more sense if you play 1 before 2 (imagine that). If you can, get both. They are both great games deserving of a slot on every gamer's shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Oh Man!

12/12/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ok i didnt get it when it first came out, but after playing this game for only 5 hours, i HAVE TO GET THE SECOND ONE! This game is awesome! way better then i thought it was going to be! and its one of the first games that has actually given me cold chills during story mode...The best part about this game, is that if you're playing two person mode, if one of you die, or "go down", the other can revive you. All he has to do is fight his way to where you died at! and press a button and you're back in the game! But if you're a lil "slow in the head" and run full speed into a fight, and you get surrounded(like i did quite a few times) your team mate will have to revive you quite a few times, and it will start to anger him! lol. but yes this is a great game!
BUY THIS GAME!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

gears of war

09/04/2009
By ,
oxon hill,MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this platinum edition for the value.this game is for fans of action shooters with online multiplayer capabilities as well. you will not be dissappointed with this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Awesome Game!

01/09/2009
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really, really fun game! It doesn't feel like just another generic shooter game. I've been playing the campaign on co-op and it is awesome! I can wait to play Gears 2
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Very pleased

03/06/2009
By ,
Springfield IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandson had been wanting this game for some time but was very expensive in the stores ($60 or more) Found this one here online and the price was fantastic. He was thrilled---plays it constantly. Thanks Wal-Mart for another great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

great extras

02/22/2014
By ,
virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought new copy for son as he loves the game but he loved the bonuses!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Great Game

10/26/2008
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got my X-Box 360 Elite last year as a gift and Gears of War was my first game. I heard so much about this game and I was so anxious to play it. This game Exceeded my expectation. The graphics are amazing and the gameplay is awesome with a Good story line. Can't wait for Gears of War 2. This game is a Must Have for anyone who owns an X-Box 360.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Awsome start toa trilogy

02/25/2012
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first started playing Gears of War I started with the second one playing at my sisters house cause I had never heard of it before, after I started playing I got into it and then I played the first one and loved it as well. I think that if you are a true hard core Gears of War fan you will love this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

great game

12/25/2013
By ,
aliquippa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband. He loves it . Says it's a great game. A lot of action. It's definitely worth the price too. I'd have bought it if it was the normal Xbox 360 price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

a fun and helpful product

07/22/2008
By ,
chillicothe,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this game is very fun and i highly reccomend it to every one who have an xbox 360.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Amazing action game

07/07/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you love action games Gears of War is a must play.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Adog rock xbox live be friend

08/19/2008
By ,
las vegas nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this game hade great grapics and has good guns and real good bombs...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Best game I've played

09/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thank you walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

War To Learn

06/22/2010
By ,
Clarksville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this game very difficult to play at first, but of course, it is a War game and that's why it starts out at a very fast paced gameplay. I did enjoy the game after hours when I learned how to played it. If this is your first War Game ever, do not get this title. If you want a realistic War Game, do not get this game. If you want a game that you blow someones head off every five seconds then is not the game you want, because you get blown up faster than you can click the trigger button.
Never Played it online.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)

Kinda dull

02/17/2009
By ,
PG County MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wasn't impressed with this game it really isnt all that good. It has some glitches like when you have to push this car sometimes it locks up and wont move and all you can do is restart the checkpoint I read online and others had this problem as well. The game is kinda short and the fight with the final boss is so stupid however it was interesting enough to keep me playing until the end which only took two days. If I could do it all over I would not buy this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)
12/04/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Multiplayer is fun but it's not my type of game.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gears of War w/ Bonus Disk - Platinum Hits (Xbox 360)
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5