Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

First Alert First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Protect your home with the First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit. It can be wired directly into your home's electrical system, and it has a battery backup for protection during power failures. It has an easy-access battery drawer so you can change the battery without removing the alarm from the ceiling. You can check to make sure it is functioning properly with a single button test. This hard-wired smoke detector has a mute feature to silence the detector during false alarms and testing. It can be easily replaced without rewiring, using the included adapter plugs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.262 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation86%36 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Recomended by Consumer Reports

03/04/2011
By ,
Watervliet, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased to replace the old smoke alarm which was a BRK made by First Alert and recommended by the customer service from BRK.
The previous smoke alarm was 9 yrs. old and started to give false alarms ceiling mounted.
Customer service said that it was only guaranteed for only 5 yrs. well over due.
It was easy to install and the hard wire was the same as the old model; nothing to change. I just removed the old bracket (two screws) and installed the new one. Plugged it in and was ready to go.
I have to mention that the battery back up is easy to replace but when installing it REVERSE the battery when you see it in the package. The instructions doesn't show or explain how the battery is installed. If the alarm chirps the BATTERY IS IN WRONG!
It's smaller than other models and the same size as my old one. It comes with a kit for other smoke alarms kiddie, firex and has the wiring for those models. You can't go WRONG!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Excellent Replacement

01/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was concerned about compatibility with the plug in connection to my hardwired system. Not only was this the same connector as I had for a BRK 4120SB, but the adapter kit has wire sets to convert for other manufacturers' connectors.
I also learned in the process that BRK and
First Alert are the same company.
Complete replacement took 5 minutes -all the old parts gone and new parts installed and tested.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Just what we needed

11/17/2010
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had been looking for replacement smoke detectors to change out all the old ones in the house we just bought. They were the old BRK ones that have the old style 3-prong connection. I had purchased new ones, but they didn't come with the adapters and I would have had to rewire all of the smoke detectors to get any of the new ones to work. I found these online as the only ones advertised as coming with adapters. However the actual smoke detectors as is are the connectors we needed. If we ever needed to replace these new ones with something else, we now have adapters and the pigtails that would easily convert new models to what we have.
They've been up for about a week now and I haven't had any false alarms yet. So far I'm happy with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

INEXPENSIVE SAFETY

01/27/2011
By ,
Breinigsvill, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a hardwired smoke detector that was 30 years old and not functioning. It was not battery back up. I was looking for a replacement and found this one while wondering the aisles at Walmart. I didn't think they had one. But there it was on a shelf, and battery back up. It was easy to rewire the adapters. Everything I needed came in the package. I used the mount that came with. In about 10 minutes I was done. Tested and working both with the electric on and off. Wire it up right, and you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Beware! Doesn't adapt to ALL Firex G as they say!

02/08/2014
By ,
Upstate NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
They say in the description and specs that it will adapt to all Firex G models as listed. Then you buy it (and you can't just replace one, but have to replace ALL of your units in line) you'll find in small print in one spot it won't adapt to one specific model. No model number, just a picture of the wire harness which is nearly identicle to the one it will work with. Called the company and they know it isn't listed anywhere you'd find it easily. Nothing they will do about it, just go and rewire your entire set! Nice customer service. Truthful specs would help before I bought the group. Same thing about info on replacing just one. They only tell you that all must be replaced in the small print too! If you only try one, all of the units in your house will go off.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Easy conversion.

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They ship the units with the batteries in backwards (I assume they do this to prevent the battery from unintended discharge).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Good Product

10/23/2010
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. I did not have a plug so I simply wired the one provided, followed the instructions and had it done within 10 minutes. Anyone can do it if they simply use a little common sense and follow the instructions.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Good replacement fire detector

06/13/2014
By ,
Clinton, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was somewhat apprehensive about installing this since I'm not an electrician but it was simple. Just make sure the power is off to the outlet before installing the detector. Any questions can be called in to the 800 number provided.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Read description picture present false ad.

05/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted a co2 and smoke detector I pick this item since I looked at the picture. Guess I should have read it thoroughly however walmart should have an updated picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

too sensitive

11/05/2011
By ,
TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased these to replace old ones and everytime I cook something in oven they are so sensitive they go off. Its easy to disconnect them but a pain when everytime i cook they do this. I clean my oven and they still go off. I use my fan and still goes off. Maybe they can make ones that aren't so sensitive. I will be searching for different ones soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Exactly what I needed

02/01/2014
By ,
Bristol, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As President of my HOA I had a neighbor tell me about these. Also found out 51 of our 106 units were built over 10 years ago so I put the word out to them all that they should consider replacing their with this detector. However when I went to my Wal-Mart in Bristol, VA they no-longer had them in stock so I ordered them on-line but I goofed and only ordered 5 where I needed 6. Checked on-line again and it indicated they were in stock at the Lebanon, VA Wal-Mart so I drove 70 miles round trip to it and they did not have them in stock. I would suggest the Bristol, VA store stock up on them at least for a while as many of my residents have indicated they want to change their's out and this is the perfect detector for our needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

adaptors don't fit

12/30/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The adaptors have the right prongs and holes, but the plastic fixture doesn't fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Great smoke detector at a great price online

11/05/2010
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much online comparison shopping and reading the other Walmart customer reviews we just installed 6 of these smoke alarms to replace ones that were 10 years old and starting to give "false alarms". It took less than 30 minutes to do the job and they work fine as replacements. Although we didn't have to use the extra adapters that come with this alarm because the existing ones matched the new alarms, it would make the job easier than having to hardwire them. I did discover that the exact same alarms at the local Walmart were 5 dollars more each than ordering them online and having them sent free to the local Walmart store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

First Alert

05/30/2009
By ,
Driggs, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was a breeze to install. Tested and functioning. Replaced all our kidd*** smoke alarms. They have been a head ache since we moved in back in 2002 false signals more than normal. Contacted First Alert customer service for additional info before purchase and they answered all my questions and were very nice. I would buy this product again. The only negative I have is Walmart's shipping is too high with their volume they could go with a flat rate. I do not live near a Walmart or I would do a sited to store. This particular model is only sold by Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit
08/30/2010
By ,
Rock Island, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The smoke detectors were easy enough to install but beware!!! If you test each unit as you install them, you will trigger the "which smoke detector sensed the smoke" chirping. You will have to remove the alarm, remove the battery and press the test button to bleed the residual battery power. Then you will have to reinstall the battery and press the test button for one loud beep to reset. After waiting for 24 hours to make sure it doesn't beep anymore, then you can put it back up on the ceiling. After that they have behaved just fine- so far...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Purchased 9 (came with adapter kit) from Walmart

11/13/2012
By ,
Stafford
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Followed the "User's Manual" that came with it. It was a breeze to install. Installed the batteries, make sure to turn the batteries around with +/- terminals facing inside. Per manual tested the batteries, "Pushed and held test button until the alarm sounded: 3 beeps, pause, 3 beeps, pause." Removed the old detector, loosened the two screws that held the old plate and removed it, installed new plate and used the adapter that suited my installation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Great all around Smoke Detector

12/29/2012
By ,
Elk Grove, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The smoke detectors are great! Pretty easy to install for a non DIY homeowner. Connections were easy to match and it comes with a lot of connector parts. One of the smoke detectors came slightly loose and trying to installing it broke the connector and I have to take it back and get another one. I'm happy with the product so far and expect to remain happy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

easy to install smoke detector

03/31/2011
By ,
clarksville,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The installation was easy ,Following the instructions.However when the installation was done it started to beep.indicating a weak batterie.I replaced the batterie and it continue to beep.I disasembled the unit and notice that the contacts were not touching the batterie.Bend the taps forward and the unit works fine.I plan to buy one more for the basement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Good Low Cost Option

03/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. Low cost. Like the silence feature for our cooking mishaps!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert SA9120BPCN Hard Wired Smoke and Fire Detector With Adapter Kit

Great product. Easy install.

12/28/2012
By ,
New Port Richey, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced older hard wired alarm with this hard wired model with battery back-up. Easy to install. Cut connector from old unit because the adapter connectors that come with this unit did not match my hard wire connector. Installed, tested and operational in ten minutes. Excellent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next