Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

First Alert First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Keep your home free from hazardous carbon monoxide; the First Alert Carbon Monoxide Detector, CO615 is a detector that notifies you of its presence. This digital carbon monoxide detector has a built-in electro-chemical sensor that exactly senses the tasteless, invisible, and poisonous chemical in any corner of your room. Just plug-in this carbon monoxide alarm to any 120-volt outlet. You can check the intensity of this harmful gas and the device's battery level illuminated on the digital display in parts per million by pressing any button on the detector. Tone down the ringing alarm with a standard household remote control. You can test the First Alert Carbon Monoxide Detector, CO615 functions of this digital detector with the push of a button. This battery-operated carbon monoxide detector will continue to function even when there is a power outage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation92%66 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Didn't work

11/08/2012
By ,
Reno, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried new batteries and plugging the unit into several different outlets. I couldn't get this unit to work and will be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Excellent unit with great features.

11/07/2012
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After extensive research I decided to purchase this unit and I’m glad I did. I wanted the following features in my CO Detector, and this unit meets those requirements. It must be AC powered with battery backup, have a digital display, use AA batteries, not the expensive 9 volt, have an AC power cord so the unit can be located away from the AC plug-in if necessary, have a long warranty (7 years) from an established company, and be competitively priced.
The only possible negative feature I can see is that the front battery cover is hinged on the bottom. The battery cover retaining latch seems to be rather flimsy, and if it were to break, the battery cover would flip open. The cover hinge should have been placed on the top of the unit or a better latch system used. Hopefully with careful use the latch will not break.
It should be noted that the unit has a built in “in-use” timer that will alert the user and disable the unit after 7 years of operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Good Purchase

11/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Place battery in slot closest to you first. I hope I never have to find out how well these work. They are plugged in and tested.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

CO Detector

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to setup--add batteries and plug in. Make sure to measure height from floor as directed in literature. Appears to be working well when test mode used. Bought on positive reviews of others.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Love the ease of use

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just plugged this unit in, but the instructions were easy to follow. Have a positive attitude that this will work great for us.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Carbon monoxide detector

07/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Carbon monoxide detector for the money, it plugs in to a wall outlet(also has a cord for plug in) and a battery backup. Displays carbon monoxide level when it reaches unsafe level.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Excellent Carbon Monoxide Detector For The Money!

09/14/2010
By ,
Gilbert, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model is recommended by Consumer Reports 2010, and Walmart has the least expensive price out there. Excellent Carbon monoxide detector for the money, it plugs into a wall outlet (also has a cord for plug in) and has a battery backup. This product couldn't be easier to use...Plug it in, test, and that's it. Very easy setup!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Feel Safer

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these for my home based on realizing that I didn't have any CO Detectors. Very easy to install--simply plug in! Put batteries in as a back-up and they were working in the electrical outlets but ready for any power outage down the road. I immediately felt that I was making my home safer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Good product!

01/22/2014
By ,
Midwest US
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Pleasing design, compact, easy to read display (button has to be depressed). Uses three AA batteries for backup in case of power outage.
Cons: The display does not light up when the unit is in use and plugged into an AC outlet. In order to see the display the button has to be depressed.
Other thoughts: No means of calibrating the unit in order to confirm that it is operating as designed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

geniune value for the price

12/14/2013
By ,
Chgo IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched this item before my purchase and found that it had excellent reviews. The price was very competitive. It arrived sooner then expected which was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Top Rated

12/12/2010
By ,
CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer Reports claims this is the best CO detector of 2010, & Walmart had the best price:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

EXCELLENT CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LATEST MODEL CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR. INSTALLS IN SECONDS. USES 2 AA BATTERIES INSTEAD OF (1) 9 VOLT BATTERY. EASY TO READ DIGITAL DISPLAY. GREAT PRICE AND FAST DELIVERY. EVERY HOUSE OR APARTMENT SHOULD BE EQUIPPED WITH THESE UNITS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

DISAPPOINTED

12/19/2010
By ,
Atlanta
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading testing reviews from Consumer Reports I figured this to be a decent product.
The reason I'm disappointed with the First Alert Plug-In With Battery Backup (CO) Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display is this.
I'm a smoker and a home inspector. I am aware that CO detection rates above 35 parts per million (ppm) are considered a health hazard for long term exposure.
I have advanced detection equipment for doing home inspections and as a smoker I'm aware that every puff of a cigarette emits about 40 ppm of CO.
My issue with the First Alert is that it detects CO from my cigarette smoke and indicates approximate accuracy on its digital display BUT DOES NOT produce an audible alarm.
As such I'm disappointed as to how practical it is and therefore give it 3 stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Great portable CO detector for the money

06/26/2011
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used this at home as well as on our boat to check the CO level and make sure that other units we have work correctly, especially on our boat an love the fact that is is power cord as well as battery backup.. Also it shows the CO level which is doesn't talk about when you purchase, but was very happy about!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

necessary

03/15/2014
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. I believe everyone should have at least one in their home. Ours is in the babies room and I plan on getting more. Do not put too close to kitchen appliances as they let off low emissions of carbon monoxide. Rather be safe than sorry! Best buy for your buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Great pricing at Walmart

02/23/2010
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to replace an old unit.
This is a very good unit.
Walmart had much better pricing than
Target or Meijer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Plugged right in and is working great.

11/27/2013
By ,
Provo, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the display and the green on light can be seen in the dark. Feel safer too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

co2 detectors

11/28/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They look good and power up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

poorly made. did walmart sell me old product?

11/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after installing AA batteries, door does not close. called company and they said uniit is now made with 9 volt battery. Walmart sold me an old model?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert CO615 Plug-In With Battery Backup Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display

Excellent product!

02/18/2011
By ,
Mason, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to install and it's easy to use. Hopefully we will never have a need to see it work but I am confident it will warn us of any CO danger. Being able to plug it in and also have a battery backup is a real plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next