Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

First Alert First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

The First Alert SA340CN Sealed Smoke Alarm with Lithium Battery helps protect you and your family from the dangers of smoke and fire. The alarm includes an ionizing smoke sensor effective at detecting smoke particles most commonly produced by fast flaming fires that can spread quickly. The lithium power cells provide at least 10 years of operation - no battery replacement needed for the life of the alarm. Tamperproof, sealed housing prevents unauthorized deactivation of the alarm. Single button tests 85dB alarm function and mutes any nuisance/false alarms. End of life feature alerts you when it is time to replace the alarm. Meets UL standard for smoke and fire alarms. 10-Year limited warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%21 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

Should be in every home.

05/19/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for anyone who forgets to change the batteries in their smoke detectors.This smoke detector has a battery that will last 10 years...and when I broil steaks and the alarm goes off..I can push the button to shut it off for a whle. I used to stand and fan the old detector.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

Can't beat the price!

04/20/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I purchased these I did my research and found that the First Alert Smoke detectors were top notch. Plus, when I installed them I said good bye to those old ones which ate all of those batteries and the headaches of having to replace them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

Excellent product with NO maintenance needed

04/19/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life is 10 yrs and it is cheaper than buying one with batteries that have to be replaced every year. 10 yr warranty
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

On trial.

04/13/2014
By ,
Titusville Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How can I give any stars to a smoke detector that hasn't saved any lives yet?
The battery was easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

Good price and quality

04/07/2014
By ,
22601
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price found for a quality 10 year smoke and fire alarm
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

Fire/Smoke detector

04/06/2014
By ,
clearwater fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice to have a 10 yr no battery change detector.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

No hassle

12/05/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mother's home. This is the second one I have bought and the last one did last nearly 10 years like advertised. In the long run this is much less expensive than replacing a 9volt battery every 6 months like in most smoke detectors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector
06/15/2012
By ,
Universal City , Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
needed smoke alarms for bedrooms to fulfill code requirements. This alarm had a 10 year battery included which means that I should not have to replace it twice a year. Well worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

Easy Installation - will let you know more in time

02/21/2014
By ,
East Hampton, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sure going to be nice to not have to replace the batteries once a year!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

Good value

05/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money. Very easy to install. Be prepared to throw it away in 10 years. Battery not replaceable.
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

Reasonably priced protection for the family.

11/22/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the product without any problems. The product was exactly as the photo depicted. It was extremely easy to install. One reason I like this product is because of the savings for not having to purchase batteries every year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

easy to set up

01/20/2014
By ,
washington la.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very easy to put battery in. I used same screws from old smoke detectors. very sensitive to smell though. I keep setting it off with my toast. doesn't beep for very long
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

great fire and smoke detectors

03/13/2013
By ,
chester,pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought two fire and smoke detectors .the ones I had didn't work. Channel 10 recommended Walmart that was right up my alley price wise And easy to put up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

Does the job

01/21/2014
By ,
Columbus,OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as stated. Saves you money not having to replace batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

Wait ten years

12/27/2013
By ,
St. Louis, Mo.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just got these smoke alarms two weeks ago. I bought 5 of them, but I won't know if they meet expectations for ten years!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector
01/01/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The previous First Alert Smoke detectors had expired and I needed to replace them. WalMart
had the best price of the sites I checked. The Smoke Alarms were easy to install. I am glad
I ordered the alarms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector
07/14/2013
By ,
OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE ARE VERY SATISFIED WITH OUR PURCHASE OF OUR FIRST ALERT 10 YEAR SMOKE ALARM.
THERE ARE NO BATTERIES TO BUY. YOU REPLACE THE SMOKE ALARM IN 10 YEARS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector

It was easy to put together

08/11/2013
By ,
Dalton, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to snap the battery pack onto the back, all I had to do was line up the Pins , and snap it in! It started working and flashing the light as soon as I snapped it in to indicate it was working, I gave the battery a test to see that it was working , It was certainly loud enough to wake you up in case of a fire, would recommend this to anyone, When the 10 years is up ,simply throw it away the battery cannot be taken out. There is a place inside the battery pack to write down the date you activated the battery. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for First Alert SA340CN 10-Year Tamperproof Smoke and Fire Detector
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5