Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

First Alert First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Battery operated smoke alarm reduces nuisance alarms from cooking smoke and shower steam due to photoelectric smoke sensing technology. Escape light illuminates a path to safety when in alarm. Mute feature silences nuisance alarms from cooking smoke or shower steam. Single button also tests alarm functions. Easy access battery drawer: no need to remove alarm from ceiling to change battery. 10-year limited warranty. Meets UL standards.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%18 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Photoelectric versus regular smoke detector.

10/31/2012
By ,
Marinette, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After watching a program on TV concerning particular types of detectors, they convinced me that the photoelelectric is the way to go. They have an approximate early response time of 17 seconds. I also purchased lithuim batteries (10 year), and will check them during the beginning & ending of daylight savings time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Great prices on the products and fast delivery

04/01/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great prices on the products and fast delivery
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Great smoke detector for deaf people

04/21/2010
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smoke detector has a bright light along with the alarm and is very good for deaf or hard of hearing people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

First Alert Smoke and Fire Detector

12/03/2010
By ,
San Antonio TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a friend recommended we get photoelectric smoke detectors (our home has the Ion type of detectors). The First Alert is a great product.
A great feature is a bright light the comes on when the alarm sounds an alert.
That would make it much easier to see in the middle of the night if we ever have a fire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Good product, light a little dim

08/20/2009
By ,
Ukiah, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't expect daylight from this unit's little lamp. It will probably help in a smoky home fire, but I wouldn't count on it. As with most First Alert products, the overall product is fine, and I trust it will work to wake us up if, God forbid, we ever need it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Everyone should have one

02/10/2014
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased 2 of these. One is between grandkids room on main level, the other in family room downstairs. When the kids came over this weekend, we used the test button to let them hear the sound and what it meant. Then we showed them their escape route and an alternate plan if it was blocked. I sleep better now knowing they are protected. For the price, their is absolutely no excuse for anyone not to have at least one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Easy Installation & Loud

06/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very loud siren that should wake up college student in an instant.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Great Smoke Alarm for both price and design.

02/08/2014
By ,
Middle Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product as a replacement for the same model which was damaged due to a leak in my roof which damaged the unit. Amazingly, when water hit it, it also "sounded" the warning sound and told us that something was wrong. I highly recommend this unit for its dependability and design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Good Price/ Great Item/ Fast Shipping to Store

10/14/2010
By ,
Glassboro, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the better First Alert smoke detectors (not false alarms from just cooking). VERY good price and the Ship to Store feature worked well and quickly. Very pleased with the purchase and the experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Great unit!

09/22/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old fire alarm was the same model. I wanted the new one to be just like the old one so I wouldn't have to mount a new frame and it was the same. First Alert has been around for a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

What every house needs

10/08/2010
By ,
Baltimore,MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great quality,great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Great buy

10/26/2012
By ,
Livermore Falls, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these detectors that have the lights. I have one in my basement and one in my upstairs hall at the top of the stairs outside of our bedrooms. It's a wonderful feature.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

great one

10/09/2012
By ,
gallipolis,ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love it and help for deaf n hard of hearing needed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

Smoke and Fire Detector - so far it works

09/29/2010
By ,
SW Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, to date we haven't had any fires or smoke to detect, so I guess it's working.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light

not to be trusted

10/30/2010
By ,
Dundalk Md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
out of the box did not work. sent back
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for First Alert SA720CN Photoelectric Sensor Smoke Alarm with Escape Light
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5