Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

First Alert First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

The First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit is for you if you want to know if your home or workplace is affected by toxic mold. When water is left to sit for even 24 hours, common molds can take hold; if water continues to sit and areas become completely saturated, that's when a more lethal mold can move in. This kit allows you to test for and accurately identify toxic molds in and around your home or workplace. The First Alert MT1 mold test kit comes with test strips, bags for mold samples, and testing instructions. You also have the option of mailing the tested samples to a lab for analysis for an additional fee.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation46%6 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

Saves money in the long run.

12/07/2012
By ,
Sanford, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This kit allows you to collect samples and send them to an independent lab for analysis. Some reviews are negative due to the fact that it does cost for the lab results. I disagree with those reviews because I knew up front what I was getting. I didn't trust the all in one self-test kits that give immediate results.
I also didn't want to pay 3-4 hundred dollars to have tests done by a mold remediation company. They are after your business and may be biased in order to get work. The third party lab allows you to know what and if you have a mold that can be harmful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

Great product! Lower cost than most!

05/08/2010
By ,
Moreno Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I think the bad reviews on this are from people that do not know what mold testing usually costs. If you hire someone to inspect for mold and test it, it costs $300-$400 at the least. Other do-it-yourself mold kits cost more to buy then cost close to double of what this cost per each sample sent to the lab. I have no idea how anyone thought they would pay $12 for the kit and the lab would test the mold for free. The $10-$12 per sample is well worth it. We got quick and professional results within a little over a week. Toxic Black mold was found in our home and we have since moved. We are now going to sue the landlord of the last place die to his failure to maintain, which caused the mold to start growing. I think this is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per year
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

Kit not represented correctly

03/16/2013
By ,
Mason, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The description of this product makes you think that you hang a device or strip at several locations in the home and it takes samples of the air, similar to a radon testing device. This isn't really how it works. You have to obtain samples of the actual mold, carpet snippets, scrapings of the infested area, etc. and press the particles to a sticky piece of tape. This tape is then sent to a lab where it will be evaluated at an additional $10.00 each/sample.
I don't think the cost is a problem, but I do think the description of the product is misleading. It really isn't clear that you have to locate a source and then take a sample. The description make you think that you are taking air samples and this is not the case.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

Not at all useful for my situation.

11/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This kit is basically an envelope, a few plastic bags, and some strips of tape. The instructions say to press the tape against suspected mold and then mail it in. Each tape strip costs an extra $10 to analyze. There is nothing here that lets you test for airborne mold. I wanted a kit that would let me set something out for a few days to check for airborne mold. This kit can't do that. It only lets you verify that a black spot is actually mold and not something else. Most people know mold when they see it without lab verification. $10 wasted. Tossed it into the trash.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

Description not detailed enough

10/04/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read the front & back of the package. I knew I would have to mail the samples & that there would be additional charges for each sample mailed. What I could not gather from the outside packaging was the method in which I had to gather the samples. It was not until I purchased & opened the product that I found out the sample should be gathered by touching a sticky pad to visible mold. It also provided only one sheet for mailing in samples, meaning I could not mail in a few samples & save the rest to mail in for a later project. I would have to buy an entire new package if I wanted to mail samples at different times. I was hoping it would relate to airborne exposures or at least elude to a surface sampling on the outside of the package.
Recommends this product? No
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Carrollton, TX
Answer:
Posted 06/29/2012
If you have any questions about sampling or need help understanding testing directions, feel free to call the lab toll free 1-866-416-MOLD
We are here to help!
Thank you,
Moldlab
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

Great product along with awesome customer service.

09/16/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is awesome and cheap. I am renting an apartment and I found what I thought was mold. After waiting a month for management to take care of the problem I purchased this kit. The lab fee is $10 per sample. That is cheap. As it turns out I have very high levels of aspergillus and black mold on my wall and in the HVAC system. Now I have proof of what is making me sick. The customer service is unbeatable. It is done thru Moldlab in Carrollton, Texas. I will use this product again where ever I move to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

Add $10 per test to the purchase $

01/02/2009
By ,
Montrose, Co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get 9 places to test but you don't get the results untill you send the tests to a lab for the results. They charge $10 per test. They should have said so up front.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

Great value and easy to do

09/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this product and how easy it was to use and how quickly I got the lab results back!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

mold detector

01/19/2009
By ,
ubly, mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased it so that I could identify possible mold in my basement. you do have to sent in the test for results. which is a very lost cost of $10 per site
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

not good

06/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Don't tell you it cost 10.00 doll dollars a strip and they are 9 strips you have to mail to have them checked
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit
11/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
became very expensive once you add up and realize that more then one sample is going to be sent in for analyzing. Results were very vague and customer service was not helpful in answering my questions from the results
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit

Dont buy

01/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is not for regular people wanting to test mold in their homes. You have to send the samples off and that cost extra. Not worth all the additional costs.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for First Alert MT1 Mold Detection Test Kit
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5