Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

First Alert First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

The First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit helps protect the people in your household from exposure to impurities that may be present in your tap water. This item will allow you to test the overall quality of your drinking water and get immediate results. Through this process, you'll also be able to determine if contaminants may be inside aging pipes. Even if you live in a newer home, this tap water test kit will detect traces of bacteria, lead, pesticides and nitrates as well as the pH level. Additionally, your water may contain high concentrations of chlorine. The First Alert water test kit gives you everything you need to get the answers you want without having to wait for a lab analysis. Each test only needs to be used once. You can rest assured that the contents of this complete package conform to the standards of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to give you confidence when drinking tap water from your faucets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.361 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%33 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Quick and inexpensive check of the drinking water

11/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is not a 400 dollar test but it will let you know if there is trouble.
Bacteria test seemed reliable.
Clorine test was 100% accurate,
Will use again next year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

works

05/20/2014
By ,
north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All my water tests came in good, so I wondered if this really worked. I had a back up test done and all is good so I will use it again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

water test kit

07/01/2010
By ,
poplar bluff, mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy straight forward product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Great help

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since we are on well water it is important to check out what is in the water you drink. These test all came out negative. Relief!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

OK; but not 100%

09/01/2012
By ,
NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this to test my well water. Hardness and PH value were in the ball park but bacteria test was incorrect. Test came back as positive so I had to pay an additional $27 from a local lab to re-test; the re-test came back negative. OK to get an indicator of your well water hardness and PH level but not for bacteria test.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Put my mind at ease

02/12/2014
By ,
Maryville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I no longer wonder about the quality of my tap water. The First Alert test kit confirmed that there are minerals in my water that classify it as "hard water". All other tests included in the package were negative. My water is safe to drink. Highlly recommend the test kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

a very useful product

08/02/2010
By ,
Farmington, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are on well water and have in the past had to wait weeks to get official state test results.
We expect to use one each year from now on. It was very easy to use and understand the results. It confirmed that our water is safe to drink and thus very helpful and relieved my mind about it because last year we had an ecoli problem.
Only wish our local Walmart carried the kit, however the service of the site-to-store was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Easy to use test kit

10/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the ease of use and variety of water tests available all in one kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

The price was right for the product.

08/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an easy test to use. I am confident with the results. I will use this name brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Great test for home user

08/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
frienly user. Happy with results
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

It's good

01/17/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no idea how accurate it was, but it did exactly as a said it would, it was easy to use, and the directions were simple to follow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

A great product!

06/19/2012
By ,
Freeville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kit met and exceeded my expectations. It is the best water test kit I have ever used for checking water purity. I have a water system which comes right out of a river and it is not clean water. I have a purification system which I rely on to filter clean and purify the water for drinking and cooking and this kit provides the perfect check for that system to ensure it is functioning.
The price is great too. I have paid much more for water test kits and did not get a kit as good as this one.
It worked very wel and I highly recommend it. I will be using them from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Meets expectations...

03/23/2014
By ,
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything needed to do the water test(s) is included in the package and the instructions are very clear. Works for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Lead test DOES NOT WORK

11/07/2012
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The only reason I bought this First Alert Drinking Water Quality Test Kit was to test for lead in my household drinking water. I bought TWO test kits just in case one did not work. NEITHER WORKED.
The instructions said to drop two suction-dippers-full of water into the test tube supplied, then add the test strips and wait 10 minutes. The dippers did not suction any more than a few drops of water.
The test strips remained unchanged, which the instructions said indicated the test failed. I carefully followed the instructions for each kit, but the suction-dippers did not suction up enough water for the test strips to work. This test kit is a total waste of the purchase price and shipping cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Does the job

05/03/2013
By ,
Germantown, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this kit primarily to test for coliform bacteria – the result was negative. Additional tests in the kit included pH, pesticides, lead, chlorine, hardness, and nitrates. The kit was easy to use and provides a quick, inexpensive test for homeowners.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

good

02/10/2014
By ,
montclair, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Was not what I was expecting.

09/08/2012
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a one time, one sample test. Expected that you would be able to test multiple samples.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Great product

03/26/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
way too long to get here
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

Good quick check

11/03/2013
By ,
here
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good to periodically check your water
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert WT1 Drinking Water Quality Test Kit

great water supply test

03/24/2013
By ,
McBain, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. The only disadvantage and somewhat misleading info is the pesticide and lead test. They tell you whether or not there is traces of these substances and whether or not it is below EPA standards, but it would be nice to know an exact measurement like the other tests in the kit. Otherwise this test kit is ideal for testing whether or not your drinking water supply is safe or not and I plan on purchase another kit in the future for other residences.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next